150 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! Ver. 2.

xin
post May 6 2007, 11:27 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(vpire @ May 6 2007, 11:11 PM)
Buying hp laptop didn't provide you with any driver cd, they just ask you to backup a recovery dvd by your own normally take 3-4 dvds (and it takes quite some time to do that). Also remember to get the model number right, got a friend who flash hip hp laptop bios and become black screen and that is because he flash the wrong model bios, and that model is obtain from hp online diagnostic utility. (Proves that their bios flashing utility didn't have check and verify procedure) So just be careful
thanks for the tip.. gonna be xtra careful hen flashing ur bios ..ur this is veri sensitive case ..if there is no problem ...i guess no need to flash ..
vpire
post May 6 2007, 11:55 PM

98 posts

Also one tip for installing xp on hp laptop is you need the SATA driver (if you decide not to use the recovery dvd to restrore the xp)
john_jay2
post May 6 2007, 11:57 PM

Your Trusted Friend
4,496 posts

QUOTE(vpire @ May 6 2007, 11:55 PM)
Also one tip for installing xp on hp laptop is you need the SATA driver (if you decide not to use the recovery dvd to restrore the xp)
or u hv to disable the sata native support .. right ?
but for windows vista ... is no problems right ?
coz already hv sata driver ...
xiane
post May 7 2007, 12:12 AM

15 posts

Hi. New here.

Currently researching on suitable lappys to bring over when I head off overseas soon. I'm generally a heavy user, and my use mainly is for running design programmes like 3DS Max, Sketchup, AutoCAD, Photoshop, Illustrator, Macromedia, Premier Pro, etc (you get the picture yea?), net usage and rather mild downloading.

Models considered has so far been Dell 9400 or the XPS 1210 because well, packaged prices are quite affordable.

So specs looking for will be as below:

1. Processing glory
2. Lots of RAM (minimum 1GB)(preferably 2GB) or at the very least, allocated room to upgrade RAM (currently looking at models with dual channel DDR2^2 which allows for that)
3. A reasonably good graphics card to process everything la.
4. Doesn't have to have to compact size or with large screen or ultra light, but at least be portable enough to not break my back!
5. International warranty ;P

I think for the specs I listed, I can expect a budget of at least RM5000 - RM6000. Meh.

Recommendations pwease!

This post has been edited by xiane: May 7 2007, 09:16 AM
vpire
post May 7 2007, 12:13 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(john_jay2 @ May 6 2007, 11:57 PM)
or u hv to disable the sata native support .. right ?
but for windows vista ... is no problems right ?
coz already hv sata driver ...
Yes, for vista it is no problem
john_jay2
post May 7 2007, 12:19 AM

Your Trusted Friend
4,496 posts

QUOTE(xiane @ May 7 2007, 12:12 AM)
Hi. New here.

Currently researching on suitable lappys to bring over when I head off overseas soon. I'm generally a heavy user, and my use mainly is for running design programmes like 3DS Max, Sketchup, AutoCAD, Photoshop, Illustrator, Macromedia, Premier Pro, etc (you get the picture yea?), net usage and rather mild downloading.

Models considered has so far been Dell 9400 or the XPS 1210 because well, packaged prices are quite affordable.

1. Processing glory
2. Lots of RAM (minimum 1GB) or at the very least, allocated room to upgrade RAM (currently looking at models with dual channel DDR2^2 which allows for that)
4. Doesn't have to have to compact size or with large screen or ultra light, but at least be portable enough to not break my back!

I think for the specs I listed, I can expect a budget of at least RM5000 - RM6000. Meh.

Recommendations pwease!
erm ... if i not mistake ... dell only cover asia pacific warranty right ??
how bout HP pavilion model ?? dv2000 or dv 6000 ??
beyond430
post May 7 2007, 01:49 AM

-----
1,325 posts

QUOTE(xiane @ May 7 2007, 12:12 AM)
Hi. New here.

1. Processing glory
2. Lots of RAM (minimum 1GB) or at the very least, allocated room to upgrade RAM (currently looking at models with dual channel DDR2^2 which allows for that)

Recommendations pwease!
from u req, 9400 not so suitable for since it so heavy.. but so u may aim for 14.1 or below.. but ur budget quite high, shud be no problem, find john la.. smile.gif
john_jay2
post May 7 2007, 02:04 AM

Your Trusted Friend
4,496 posts

QUOTE(beyond430 @ May 7 2007, 01:49 AM)
from u req, 9400 not so suitable for since it so heavy.. but so u may aim for 14.1 or below.. but ur budget quite high, shud be no problem, find john la.. smile.gif
thx for the support bro ..
yeah .. i also think dell is not quite suitable for him/her ..
so i recommend he/she to take the HP ...
vpire
post May 7 2007, 08:16 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(john_jay2 @ May 7 2007, 02:04 AM)
thx for the support bro ..
yeah .. i also think dell is not quite suitable for him/her ..
so i recommend he/she to take the HP ...
Dell got XPS M1710 which have high end 256MB nvidia geforce 7900 however it is a 17in.
Got metalic black or formula red edition.

This post has been edited by vpire: May 7 2007, 08:17 AM

xiane
post May 7 2007, 09:13 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(john_jay2 @ May 7 2007, 12:19 AM)
erm ... if i not mistake ... dell only cover asia pacific warranty right ??
how bout HP pavilion model ?? dv2000 or dv 6000 ??
Yeah, it does, unless I upgrade to the 3-year complete cover thing.
Mmm, about HP, well they are portable and look good too. xp Though I've there's complaints about after-sale-services. :s
Do you have any specific models in mind?

QUOTE(vpire @ May 7 2007, 08:16 AM)
Dell got XPS M1710 which have high end 256MB nvidia geforce 7900 however it is a 17in.
Got metalic black or formula red edition.
Eh, I thought XPS M1710 isn't available in Malaysia.
john_jay2
post May 7 2007, 09:45 AM

Your Trusted Friend
4,496 posts

QUOTE(xiane @ May 7 2007, 09:13 AM)
Yeah, it does, unless I upgrade to the 3-year complete cover thing.
Mmm, about HP, well they are portable and look good too. xp Though I've there's complaints about after-sale-services. :s
Do you have any specific models in mind?
Eh, I thought XPS M1710 isn't available in Malaysia.
i think the dell might not available in malaysia ..
coz cant found in the website .. n i thikn is quite big ...
maybe u can take the dv2202 or dv6203 .. thn upgrade 2gb ram ^ ^
shirohamada
post May 7 2007, 12:23 PM

944 posts

17" is heug like xbox
xiane
post May 7 2007, 01:01 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(john_jay2 @ May 7 2007, 09:45 AM)
i think the dell might not available in malaysia ..
coz cant found in the website .. n i thikn is quite big ...
maybe u can take the dv2202 or dv6203 .. thn upgrade 2gb ram ^ ^
Checked it. Can the graphics card in either models tahan my heavy usage ah?
Out of the two, the most likely is the dv6203 =)

Anymore options to add? I like to keep my options wide open. happy.gif
vpire
post May 7 2007, 02:30 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(xiane @ May 7 2007, 01:01 PM)
Checked it. Can the graphics card in either models tahan my heavy usage ah?
Out of the two, the most likely is the dv6203 =)

Anymore options to add? I like to keep my options wide open.  happy.gif
Actually your big concern is battery. Run graphic heavy usage + c2d, your battery life probably will last you 1-1.5 hour only. So you might need to get a few backup battery.
john_jay2
post May 7 2007, 03:30 PM

Your Trusted Friend
4,496 posts

QUOTE(vpire @ May 7 2007, 02:30 PM)
Actually your big concern is battery. Run graphic heavy usage + c2d, your battery life probably will last you 1-1.5 hour only. So you might need to get a few backup battery.
yeah ... perhaps u need to get another battery o ^ ^
deleted
post May 7 2007, 03:49 PM

Restored
671 posts

Hey guys, I'm a noob when it comes to laptops cause i generally dislike them lol. Anyway my dad is nagging me to checkout laptops for my uni usage instead of getting a rig.
my budget is 4-6k

i need something
- capable of handling video editing
- can run games at high specs
- wont cause back pain due to carrying it in a backpack
- os not an issue, no OS would be best tongue.gif
- osx86 compatible is a plus point

monitor size is not an issue, 14" is good enough though bigger is better. if 14" i can always get a LCD with the extra budget to hook the laptop to when i'm at home laugh.gif

currently considering a benq joybook s73

This post has been edited by deleted: May 7 2007, 03:50 PM
xin
post May 7 2007, 04:08 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(deleted @ May 7 2007, 03:49 PM)
Hey guys, I'm a noob when it comes to laptops cause i generally dislike them lol. Anyway my dad is nagging me to checkout laptops for my uni usage instead of getting a rig.
my budget is 4-6k

i need something
- capable of handling video editing
- can run games at high specs
- wont cause back pain due to carrying it in a backpack
- os not an issue, no OS would be best tongue.gif
- osx86 compatible is a plus point

monitor size is not an issue, 14" is good enough though bigger is better. if 14" i can always get a LCD with the extra budget to hook the laptop to when i'm at home laugh.gif

currently considering a benq joybook s73
- capable of handling video editing - X1600 ati wit 512 hypermemory
- can run games at high specs - X1600 ati can run..depedns wat game
- wont cause back pain due to carrying it in a backpack - 2kg witout batt
- os not an issue, no OS would be best tongue.gif - got linux version cheaper
- osx86 compatible is a plus point -C2D 64bit compatible

all above is S73 !!!!!lol ..

deleted
post May 7 2007, 04:14 PM

Restored
671 posts

but s73 the one i saw processor slack abit, 1.66ghz only (dont think thats a big issue though tongue.gif)

Added on May 7, 2007, 4:15 pmoh and the one i saw the x1600 256mb only.
how much is the one with 512? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by deleted: May 7 2007, 04:15 PM
vpire
post May 7 2007, 04:21 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(deleted @ May 7 2007, 04:14 PM)
but s73 the one i saw processor slack abit, 1.66ghz only (dont think thats a big issue though tongue.gif)

Added on May 7, 2007, 4:15 pmoh and the one i saw the x1600 256mb only.
how much is the one with 512? unsure.gif
You can upgrade it to Intel T7400 4MBCache 2.16GHz if you got the juice but it will increase the temperature about 10 degree.

This post has been edited by vpire: May 7 2007, 04:30 PM

deleted
post May 7 2007, 04:25 PM

Restored
671 posts

wouldnt that make it a benq version of a macbook pro thousands of ringgits cheaper? tongue.gif

150 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:05 AM