Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! Ver. 2.

xiane
post May 7 2007, 12:12 AM

15 posts

Hi. New here.

Currently researching on suitable lappys to bring over when I head off overseas soon. I'm generally a heavy user, and my use mainly is for running design programmes like 3DS Max, Sketchup, AutoCAD, Photoshop, Illustrator, Macromedia, Premier Pro, etc (you get the picture yea?), net usage and rather mild downloading.

Models considered has so far been Dell 9400 or the XPS 1210 because well, packaged prices are quite affordable.

So specs looking for will be as below:

1. Processing glory
2. Lots of RAM (minimum 1GB)(preferably 2GB) or at the very least, allocated room to upgrade RAM (currently looking at models with dual channel DDR2^2 which allows for that)
3. A reasonably good graphics card to process everything la.
4. Doesn't have to have to compact size or with large screen or ultra light, but at least be portable enough to not break my back!
5. International warranty ;P

I think for the specs I listed, I can expect a budget of at least RM5000 - RM6000. Meh.

Recommendations pwease!

This post has been edited by xiane: May 7 2007, 09:16 AM
xiane
post May 7 2007, 09:13 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(john_jay2 @ May 7 2007, 12:19 AM)
erm ... if i not mistake ... dell only cover asia pacific warranty right ??
how bout HP pavilion model ?? dv2000 or dv 6000 ??
Yeah, it does, unless I upgrade to the 3-year complete cover thing.
Mmm, about HP, well they are portable and look good too. xp Though I've there's complaints about after-sale-services. :s
Do you have any specific models in mind?

QUOTE(vpire @ May 7 2007, 08:16 AM)
Dell got XPS M1710 which have high end 256MB nvidia geforce 7900 however it is a 17in.
Got metalic black or formula red edition.
Eh, I thought XPS M1710 isn't available in Malaysia.
xiane
post May 7 2007, 01:01 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(john_jay2 @ May 7 2007, 09:45 AM)
i think the dell might not available in malaysia ..
coz cant found in the website .. n i thikn is quite big ...
maybe u can take the dv2202 or dv6203 .. thn upgrade 2gb ram ^ ^
Checked it. Can the graphics card in either models tahan my heavy usage ah?
Out of the two, the most likely is the dv6203 =)

Anymore options to add? I like to keep my options wide open. happy.gif
xiane
post May 8 2007, 02:50 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(vpire @ May 7 2007, 02:30 PM)
Actually your big concern is battery. Run graphic heavy usage + c2d, your battery life probably will last you 1-1.5 hour only. So you might need to get a few backup battery.
Mm okay. Noted that.

My parents chopped my budget to RM 4-4.5K. :/ So, re-researching

Still plenty of time though. I can wait out a few more months and see how much the prices drop.

xiane
post May 8 2007, 05:44 PM

15 posts

just need to ask, what's the diff between turionx2 and coreduo, in terms of performance and the heat generated?

or is it just the same thing?

This post has been edited by xiane: May 8 2007, 05:52 PM

0.0181sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:34 AM