62 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

tenda ac18, who got firmware

soR
post Dec 19 2018, 09:06 AM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(puteraX2020 @ Dec 17 2018, 07:18 PM)
Router just arrive yesterday..

Not bad on phone for WiFi

Stock firmware ac18

[attachmentid=10139340]
Hi, are you on 300mbps turbo? nice speeds
peguin78
post Dec 19 2018, 09:43 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(EnterYourName @ Dec 18 2018, 11:14 PM)
hmm, how about upstair? i facing the same problem with the stock unifi dlink dir842 router where 5ghz is very weak, while 2.4ghz the download speed is too low on my dell xps 13 laptop
There is no problem for 2.4g for the whole house albeit slow a bit depending on the location. Could it be your laptop having some problems with the wifi?

puteraX2020
post Dec 19 2018, 10:05 AM

763 posts

QUOTE(soR @ Dec 19 2018, 10:06 AM)
Hi, are you on 300mbps turbo? nice speeds
Nope.. I’m on 500mbps turbo

If connect Lan I can get full speed.. my house got 10-12 WiFi devices so get this speed on WiFi is good enough for phones..
SUSEnterYourName
post Dec 19 2018, 11:28 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(peguin78 @ Dec 19 2018, 09:43 AM)
There is no problem for 2.4g for the whole house albeit slow a bit depending on the location. Could it be your laptop having some problems with the wifi?
i got 3 laptops, all of them have slow download speed connecting to the 2.4g of the router downstairs.
then i also borrow my friend powerline adapter and put one of the adapter upstair with 2.4g wifi band also, and all my laptops can get good speed.

however i'm thinking to get a better router instead of powerline to solve this problem.
heng84
post Dec 19 2018, 12:17 PM

307 posts

Hi Sifu's , I just bought tenda ac18 but found out that this router don't have mu-mimo , just shifted house now waiting for internet to be installed but at mean time I want to ask is this router for me?

I play online games mmo fps etc thru wifi, while wife and childrens will use the android tvbox iPhone ipad youtube etc, previously using lan cable no problem even if my bro torrenting also wont affect my gaming. but now new place I only can use wifi , I need consistent ping and I hate spikes , will this ac18 help? or I need to look for mu-mimo 4x4 routers?

prokiller1199
post Dec 19 2018, 12:21 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(heng84 @ Dec 19 2018, 12:17 PM)
Hi Sifu's , I just bought tenda ac18 but found out that this router don't have mu-mimo , just shifted house now waiting for internet to be installed but at mean time I want to ask is this router for me?

I play online games mmo fps etc thru wifi, while wife and childrens will use the android tvbox iPhone ipad  youtube etc, previously using lan cable no problem even if my bro torrenting also wont affect my gaming. but now new place I only can use wifi , I need consistent ping and I hate spikes , will this ac18 help? or I need to look for mu-mimo 4x4 routers?
both ur device need to have mimo tho
heng84
post Dec 19 2018, 12:42 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(prokiller1199 @ Dec 19 2018, 12:21 PM)
both ur device need to have mimo tho
I see my pc using archer t9e pcie ac1900 card but spec din write mimo I assume its not compatible then,
but let say all my wife kids and device use 2.4ghz and my pc alone use 5ghz will my ping be smooth and uninterrupted?
prokiller1199
post Dec 20 2018, 12:12 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(heng84 @ Dec 19 2018, 12:42 PM)
I see my pc using archer t9e pcie ac1900 card but spec din write mimo I assume its not compatible then,
but let say all my wife kids and device use 2.4ghz and my pc alone use 5ghz will my ping be smooth and uninterrupted?
SilentVampire
peguin78
post Dec 20 2018, 01:25 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(heng84 @ Dec 19 2018, 01:42 PM)
Last nite there was a bit crowd at the my house, just a small makan makan.

There were probably about 10 android devices + 5 IOS connected to the internet via the router wirelessly - mixture 2.4 & 5 g. 1 pc with Asus PCE-88 playing Fortnite (5 ghz), another pc with tp link T9e youtubing (2.4g) and a PS4 (Lan) playing Fifa 19.

When I had my AC86U, PCE-88 always connected to the router at least at 1.3G but now it is around 800m at best. The tp link also connected at lower speed. No changes were made on the setting at the client side.

However, no one complained of any lag. Yet, your case could be different from mine.

SilentVampire
post Dec 20 2018, 01:51 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(heng84 @ Dec 19 2018, 12:17 PM)

I play online games mmo fps etc thru wifi, while wife and childrens will use the android tvbox iPhone ipad  youtube etc, previously using lan cable no problem even if my bro torrenting also wont affect my gaming. but now new place I only can use wifi , I need consistent ping and I hate spikes , will this ac18 help? or I need to look for mu-mimo 4x4 routers?
MU-MIMO doesn’t matter as much as you think. The hardware of the router matters more. Use the router first and see if it makes a difference to your speed. I would think not.

Probably but it doesn’t matter as much if you kids and wife is not doing anything that utilizes the bandwidth, or the CPU of the router.

QUOTE(prokiller1199 @ Dec 20 2018, 12:12 PM)
SilentVampire
Thank you for the tag.

This post has been edited by SilentVampire: Dec 20 2018, 01:54 PM
calvin_gsc
post Dec 22 2018, 06:08 PM

10,261 posts

Finally flashed the AC18 to RT-AC68U_380.70_0-X7.9.

Speed test via LAN good can achieve UNIFI 800Mbps

But this is speedtest via 5G (My laptop using Intel® Dual Band Wireless-AC 3165) Laptop directly near router

speedtest via 2.4G

It's horribly lower than stock TPlink AC1200 wifi performance.

Any tips to improve my wifi speeds? Thank you.

This post has been edited by calvin_gsc: Dec 22 2018, 06:35 PM
calvin_gsc
post Dec 22 2018, 06:11 PM

10,261 posts

Speed test via iPhone XS. Device directly near router

Connected via 5G

Connected via 2.4G

This post has been edited by calvin_gsc: Dec 22 2018, 06:12 PM
prokiller1199
post Dec 22 2018, 10:21 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Dec 22 2018, 06:08 PM)

But this is speedtest via 5G (My laptop using Intel® Dual Band Wireless-AC 3165) Laptop directly near router

speedtest via 2.4G

changed region? 80mhz also.
sitescope
post Dec 22 2018, 10:40 PM

4,493 posts

QOS ur wife n kid
calvin_gsc
post Dec 23 2018, 12:25 AM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(prokiller1199 @ Dec 22 2018, 10:21 PM)
changed region? 80mhz also.
Just searched the topic. Change to "all area" for region right? Will give it a try. notworthy.gif

taqu
post Dec 23 2018, 12:29 AM

864 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Dec 22 2018, 06:08 PM)

speedtest via 2.4G

Intel AC 3165 is too old and only 1x1, max around 200 mbps.

calvin_gsc
post Dec 23 2018, 06:26 AM

10,261 posts

Changed router Wi-Fi region to all area and enabled 5G @ 80mhz

Connected to 5G

Connected to 2.4G
prokiller1199
post Dec 23 2018, 09:39 AM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Dec 23 2018, 06:26 AM)
Changed router Wi-Fi region to all area and enabled 5G @ 80mhz
Connected to 5G

Connected to 2.4G
hmmm much improved. and also i also used 3165 last time but i changed to 9260 already 2 months ago.

This post has been edited by prokiller1199: Dec 23 2018, 09:39 AM
taqu
post Dec 23 2018, 06:43 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(prokiller1199 @ Dec 23 2018, 09:39 AM)
hmmm much improved. and also i also used 3165 last time but i changed to 9260 already 2 months ago.
I also use intel AC 9260. It supports MU-MIMO and 160 MHz channel width, which is beneficial with upcoming AX routers
peguin78
post Dec 24 2018, 09:01 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Dec 22 2018, 07:08 PM)

speedtest via 2.4G

Which method did you use to flash the merlin FW?

62 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:55 PM