Used Citroen DS5

jimmylkw86
post Jan 25 2018, 04:53 PM

QUOTE(Portalese @ Jan 25 2018, 09:41 AM)
Actually I did my enhancement for free, all your mentioned parts, new sensors and more, except mapping and pistons. Finance side Naza claimed from PSA France directly. Lots of strict Terms and conditions applied though. I've been told some Singaporean Cycle and Carriage Citroens also benefitted under the same programme. Seems like a PSA global thingy. I didn't even bought the car from local distributor.

The reason I rejected mapping and pistons because I have different vision for the car. Third party ECU tweak and remain as high compression FI. The quest for 250hp 320Nm. :-)

Too many new turbo cars on the road nowadays. Older cars must update a bit.
The programme until when? how you request for enhancement? just tell SC that you want enhance your engine and they will do it for your FOC? how long it's take for enhancement?
Portalese
post Jan 25 2018, 06:06 PM

QUOTE(jimmylkw86 @ Jan 25 2018, 05:53 PM)
The programme until when? how you request for enhancement? just tell SC that you want enhance your engine and they will do it for your FOC? how long it's take for enhancement?
The programme is part of 2 years extended warranty. For my case, my service advisor (Last time Glenmarie. Now Puchong branch) informed me right after my 5 years warranty ended.

There is a long list of terms and conditions from PSA for your car to be eligible. One of them is your car must have full service record from official service centre, no skipping no outside workshop. Secondly, your car must be specific year specific VIN code. The rest I can't remember.

What I remember was they gave me a new service booklet. Then PSA guys came to inspect my car, Naza guys just support. On my 80,000km service, they ordered the parts, waited for 3 months, then I left my car for 2 weeks for them to swap everything. Whenever the car has something faulty now, they'll check whether the programme covers free replacement first. So far the most expensive items I replaced was the whole KKK turbo kit (includes down pipe and manifold). Next service I'm going to replace the clutch kit (was told cost around RM4k. Yes, my car is manual).

Hope this helps.

P/S : By the way, Mercedes and BMW have similar programme too. Some of them listed under recall programme. That's why owner of German marques should be familiar with these kind of things.

This post has been edited by Portalese: Jan 25 2018, 06:15 PM
jimmylkw86
post Jan 28 2018, 07:33 AM

QUOTE(Portalese @ Jan 25 2018, 05:06 PM)
The programme is part of 2 years extended warranty. For my case, my service advisor (Last time Glenmarie. Now Puchong branch) informed me right after my 5 years warranty ended.

There is a long list of terms and conditions from PSA for your car to be eligible. One of them is your car must have full service record from official service centre, no skipping no outside workshop. Secondly, your car must be specific year specific VIN code. The rest I can't remember.

What I remember was they gave me a new service booklet. Then PSA guys came to inspect my car, Naza guys just support. On my 80,000km service, they ordered the parts, waited for 3 months, then I left my car for 2 weeks for them to swap everything. Whenever the car has something faulty now, they'll check whether the programme covers free replacement first. So far the most expensive items I replaced was the whole KKK turbo kit (includes down pipe and manifold). Next service I'm going to replace the clutch kit (was told cost around RM4k. Yes, my car is manual).

Hope this helps.

P/S : By the way, Mercedes and BMW have similar programme too. Some of them listed under recall programme. That's why owner of German marques should be familiar with these kind of things.
Manual?? I thought all Citreon DS5 in Malaysia only Auto?? What modified you did to make it 250hp? I think we should have DS5 TT
sikentut
post Jan 28 2018, 02:42 PM

87 posts

There’s a WhatsApp group for all Citroen owners in malaysia. Pm me
Portalese
post Jan 29 2018, 01:36 PM

QUOTE(jimmylkw86 @ Jan 28 2018, 08:33 AM)
Manual?? I thought all Citreon DS5 in Malaysia only Auto?? What modified you did to make it 250hp? I think we should have DS5 TT
My daily is a new AP unit bought 6 years ago, I already mentioned I didn't bought my car from local official distributor. And yes, even you didn't buy from official distributor they cannot deny your aftersale service. If you have Xsara, Xantia, Berlingo, Evasion etc, they will service too.

Major ones is ECU and mapping. Minor ones are here and there. EP6CDT is capable of delivering solid power, but very susceptible to heat issue. Your cooling system is the key to first step. Secondly, Aisin 6 speed auto box is just no no. If I'm not mistaken, Citroen sourced their manual box and EGS from Magnetti Marelli. HP isn't difficult, torque is.

But then, I'm more of a Petrolicious guy than an Option guy, so heavily modified cars with big wings and canards here and there are just no no for me. To me, it's a total disrespect for the designers. Now you see why I love Citroen so much, their design is original!

(P/S : Citroen had Donato Coco, the very same designer penned some of the Ferraris and Lotuses.)

This post has been edited by Portalese: Jan 29 2018, 01:37 PM
therain01
post Feb 3 2018, 12:44 AM

257 posts

Found this nice car few weeks ago which left by some poor soul who couldn't complete their loan.

This car was taken by some used car (I guess) at rm69k without car key.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
when2meets2boy
post Feb 7 2018, 01:54 PM

315 posts

In Malaysia, circa 2016 DS5s distributed by Naza, are the THP 163(165) EP6CDTM. My brand new DS5 is not covered by the 7 years warranty offer (the oft mentioned 2 years extention). Hence its very likely that circa 2016, the new Citroen DS5 and DS facelift DS5 has the latest THP 1.6 engine. I suspect circa 2016 DS5s get the latest dampers too, as my ride was never harsh as described by others (there's an active Whatsapp group with at least 10-15 Malaysian DS5 owners in it)

@portalese, I am particularly interested with ECU tweaks to get the THP up to speed with the 2018 new turbos. Stock DS5 is already competent in handling balanced with confort as it is, and there's room for a performance mod boost. I am closely following the mods in Europe, biding my time so that at the 5 year mark when warranty ends, its upgrade time. Theres so much room in the engine bay that its quite possible to make it THP 275, new cooling and all. Probably even replace some internals with carbon fibre to reduce weight

This post has been edited by when2meets2boy: Feb 7 2018, 02:01 PM
williamchang
post Aug 17 2018, 11:38 AM

QUOTE(sikentut @ Jan 28 2018, 02:42 PM)
There’s a WhatsApp group for all Citroen owners in malaysia. Pm me
Hi can add me to group bro, William here 0102340333,thanks
pg84
post Aug 17 2018, 08:32 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(Hey_Dexx @ Jan 15 2018, 09:26 PM)
Decided to purchase used DS5 as a 2nd car.   Price wise quite reasonable 80-90K for 2013-2014 model.  Any feeback from owners in terms of reliability and the total cost ownership.  Tq 🙏😀
Let me tell you my story . I'm a fan of French car .Bought 406D9 from eBay while uni in UK. No problem at all , beautiful car .Sold it at eBay when going back msia . Next bought 407 used . No problem at all except AL4 become problematic with sudden lock at 3rd gear . Sold it and got myself 5008 thp. That's when the problem start. It's so problematic ,parts failure , oil leak , abs sensor multiple failure etc etc ...until I had phobia driving it . So scared to bring family for long journey trip. Until I finally sold it with a 30k top up. Got a Toyota n never been happier since. My advice ......dun buy. U will have the urge n there will be a voice telling u "hey , how bad could it be ? " But sorry to say....pls avoid French with thp engine

This post has been edited by pg84: Aug 17 2018, 08:33 PM
alexloon
post Aug 20 2018, 10:47 AM

100 posts

Ex owner of Ford, Honda, Hyundai, and currently Peugeot 3008, planning to get DS5 2014 model soon as second car. This is my layman advice - Don't have spare car, spare money, spare time and passion to try other type of car, don't get these car.

Yes, it's complicated but some people gone thru it and love it for a reason, unless you think they're crazy - They're not, just they put effort on it. If you have those, try something different and excitement in your ordinary life. This is choice of life how you wanna spent with it, no biggie. I love Silvia a lot but base on what i mentioned above, i need to make a choice base on personal taste and ability. Mix feeling sometimes but more with love, peace guys... Conti or JDM not a big deal.

If you failed, just take a deep breath and move on.
when2meets2boy
post Jun 21 2020, 03:01 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(pg84 @ Aug 17 2018, 08:32 PM)
Let me tell you my story . I'm a fan of French car .Bought 406D9 from eBay while uni in UK. No problem at all , beautiful car .Sold it at eBay when going back msia . Next bought 407 used . No problem at all except AL4 become problematic with sudden lock at 3rd gear . Sold it  and got myself 5008 thp. That's when the problem start. It's so problematic ,parts failure , oil leak , abs sensor multiple failure etc etc ...until I had phobia driving it . So scared to bring family for long journey trip.  Until I finally sold it with a 30k top up. Got a Toyota n never been happier since. My advice ......dun buy. U will have the urge n there will be a voice telling u "hey , how bad could it be ? " But sorry to say....pls avoid French with thp engine
recent French cars, like any modern contis, need "mothering' from day 1. Buy a used on the cheap, but didn't fact check its maintenance record, then you're in big trouble, owners of contis will know. 406 and 407s are relatively simple cars. The THP is a twin scroll turbo and excellent engine able to kick above is weight (low rpm torque and hp output) for a tiny 1.6 engine. But anyone owning a turbo know the result when you abuse the car maintenance wise. Same goes for all the sensors. More eletricals means and tech means you need good and knowledgeable techs to maintain it. Applies to all modern cars filled with sensors, electronics and computers.

Toyota's on the whole area just simple machines, any old school mechanic can fix. I forsee Japanese makes will become more unreliable as they start introducing tech and turbos into their modern lineup. Just check Mazda reliability. Similarly Honda's with its turbos will too. Toyota, just Google Lexus, their more advanced tech marque.
Heavenly Superperson
post Oct 18 2020, 10:44 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(Portalese @ Jan 23 2018, 10:34 AM)
Ok. Engine talk. You can see your engine code on mountings and turbo heat shield.

Marketing terms : THP155 (155hp), THP165 (165hp), THP200 (200hp)
(Note 1 : EP6 engines are underrated on paper. I always get 5~10hp more on dyno run. On wheels, Petron RON100, cooler weather)

Car guy terms : EP6CDT, EP6CDTM, EP6CDTX
(Note 2 : Most Malaysian Citroens are EP6CDT. Newer facelifts EP6CDTM. EP6CDTX on DS4 racing THP200)

Don't worry if you got EP6CDT. Remember the 2 years extended warranty programme? They came with PSA Enhancement programme. Basically you can change new turbo kits, mountings etc, technically updating EP6CDT to EP6CDTM, FOR FREE! That's why I recommend long term wise stick with official service centre. You're banging couple hundreds extras for these ten of thousands juicy parts! Yes, as an owner I'm that calculative! *GRIN* But this shouldn't be new to you if you own Germans, they'll do the same.

Oh, they'll update your ECU mapping too. But I dislike the new one. Less growl, less emission, slightly tamer, greener.

Last note. I think we, as newer Citroen owners should band together for knowledge and defence against common hearsay. Although a lot of Citroen enthusiasts in Malaysia, but majority of them are classic Citroens or Xsara / Xantia era.
Hi a couple of questions:
1) when you said the facelift model, do you mean the ones where they drop the citroen branding and stick with the DS logo? I couldn't see the difference between the citroen ones despite of which manufacturing years.
2) where exactly would the engine code be? I wanna make sure that I could inspect them when I visit the dealership.

peter_pj
post Oct 26 2020, 12:13 PM

110 posts

The DS5 facelift without the Citroen branding are definitely with fitted with the enhanced EP6CDTM engines.

You will not see this in the engine number, but the registration card will state the "Buatan / Name model" as "Citroen /DS5 Midlife A"
when2meets2boy
post Mar 5 2025, 05:44 PM

315 posts

Warranty is out, time to play with the car. Anyone tried Racechip chiptuning or the other options out there, any reviews or recommendations? https://www.racechip.co.uk/shop/ds/ds5-from...Fkw2L-Sw4uXOIhT

+35 HP+72 Nm , hence it will become 200 HP 312 Nm , enticing isn't it?

This post has been edited by when2meets2boy: Mar 5 2025, 05:48 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0222sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:50 AM