Used Citroen DS5
when2meets2boy
Feb 7 2018, 01:54 PM
In Malaysia, circa 2016 DS5s distributed by Naza, are the THP 163(165) EP6CDTM. My brand new DS5 is not covered by the 7 years warranty offer (the oft mentioned 2 years extention). Hence its very likely that circa 2016, the new Citroen DS5 and DS facelift DS5 has the latest THP 1.6 engine. I suspect circa 2016 DS5s get the latest dampers too, as my ride was never harsh as described by others (there's an active Whatsapp group with at least 10-15 Malaysian DS5 owners in it)
@portalese, I am particularly interested with ECU tweaks to get the THP up to speed with the 2018 new turbos. Stock DS5 is already competent in handling balanced with confort as it is, and there's room for a performance mod boost. I am closely following the mods in Europe, biding my time so that at the 5 year mark when warranty ends, its upgrade time. Theres so much room in the engine bay that its quite possible to make it THP 275, new cooling and all. Probably even replace some internals with carbon fibre to reduce weight
This post has been edited by when2meets2boy: Feb 7 2018, 02:01 PM
when2meets2boy
Jun 21 2020, 03:01 AM
QUOTE(pg84 @ Aug 17 2018, 08:32 PM) Let me tell you my story . I'm a fan of French car .Bought 406D9 from eBay while uni in UK. No problem at all , beautiful car .Sold it at eBay when going back msia . Next bought 407 used . No problem at all except AL4 become problematic with sudden lock at 3rd gear . Sold it and got myself 5008 thp. That's when the problem start. It's so problematic ,parts failure , oil leak , abs sensor multiple failure etc etc ...until I had phobia driving it . So scared to bring family for long journey trip. Until I finally sold it with a 30k top up. Got a Toyota n never been happier since. My advice ......dun buy. U will have the urge n there will be a voice telling u "hey , how bad could it be ? " But sorry to say....pls avoid French with thp engine recent French cars, like any modern contis, need "mothering' from day 1. Buy a used on the cheap, but didn't fact check its maintenance record, then you're in big trouble, owners of contis will know. 406 and 407s are relatively simple cars. The THP is a twin scroll turbo and excellent engine able to kick above is weight (low rpm torque and hp output) for a tiny 1.6 engine. But anyone owning a turbo know the result when you abuse the car maintenance wise. Same goes for all the sensors. More eletricals means and tech means you need good and knowledgeable techs to maintain it. Applies to all modern cars filled with sensors, electronics and computers. Toyota's on the whole area just simple machines, any old school mechanic can fix. I forsee Japanese makes will become more unreliable as they start introducing tech and turbos into their modern lineup. Just check Mazda reliability. Similarly Honda's with its turbos will too. Toyota, just Google Lexus, their more advanced tech marque.
when2meets2boy
Mar 5 2025, 05:44 PM
Warranty is out, time to play with the car. Anyone tried Racechip chiptuning or the other options out there, any reviews or recommendations? https://www.racechip.co.uk/shop/ds/ds5-from...Fkw2L-Sw4uXOIhT+35 HP+72 Nm , hence it will become 200 HP 312 Nm , enticing isn't it? This post has been edited by when2meets2boy: Mar 5 2025, 05:48 PM