Need help to find kapcai for everyday commute, For short distance travel

TSamoura
post Jan 15 2018, 08:46 AM, updated 8y ago

120 posts

Hello, I'm a working class guy traveling from home to KL for work every single day. The distance for my daily commute is about 40km in a single day.
I'm currently riding a Honda Wave 125s. But as my beloved workhorse is getting old as I am, I need a new bike with better stability(no more vibration at speed more than 90km/h), better fuel economy, cheap maintenance, and better ride overall(more power and large luggage space is a plus). But no scooter please.

I have listed a few bike that is available in Malaysia from different manufacturer

Honda
1. Wave 125Fi
2. Wave Dash
3. Wave Alpha

Yamaha
1. Lagenda 115z
2.135 LC Super Sports

Modenas
1. CT 115s
2. GT 128 (Still available?)
3. Kriss MR2

Feel free to add any feedback and comment on which bike should i choose next. Money is not a problem. And you can add other bike that are not listed for consideration.

Thank you for your help.
TSamoura
post Jan 15 2018, 08:54 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(zhiwee0645 @ Jan 15 2018, 08:48 AM)
ninja 250r
Thanks for the reply. can you give me the reason please? I think its kinda expensive to maintain and a little bit pricey.
andrewhtf
post Jan 15 2018, 09:27 AM

1,583 posts

work commute? dowan scooter? wont go wrong with yamaha fz150i then.

12 litres tank guarantees at least 300km per tankful so u dont have to fill up every other day. speed is decent 90-110 is not straining the bike. not as thief-magnet as Y15zr and less issue compared to honda rs150.

only problem is that no bakul, so installing rear rack with top box is highly recommended. that, and the most common makan minyak hitam issue which is easily solvable with a swap of aftermarket jap-brand piston ring.
TSamoura
post Jan 15 2018, 09:27 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(zhiwee0645 @ Jan 15 2018, 08:58 AM)
it is the cheapest fun ride... rolleyes.gif
Thanks, I actually looking for a kapcai, I'll consider it if I got extra buck to spent.
TSamoura
post Jan 15 2018, 09:31 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jan 15 2018, 09:27 AM)

12 litres tank guarantees at least 300km per tankful so u dont have to fill up every other day. speed is decent 90-110 is not straining the bike. not as thief-magnet as Y15zr and less issue compared to honda rs150.

only problem is that no bakul, so installing rear rack with top box is highly recommended. that, and the most common makan minyak hitam issue which is easily solvable with a swap of aftermarket jap-brand piston ring.
My younger brother ride fz150i. Quiet a good bike from what I heard. How much is the price new? How is the fuel economy? And whats wrong with Honda RS150 if i may ask?
Justin.Loong
post Jan 15 2018, 10:04 AM

8,363 posts

QUOTE(amoura @ Jan 15 2018, 09:31 AM)
My younger brother ride fz150i. Quiet a good bike from what I heard. How much is the price new? How is the fuel economy? And whats wrong with Honda RS150 if i may ask?
Nothing's wrong with the RS150. thumbup.gif

I read that there was (were?) issues where the cam chain tensioner, alternator and MAP sensor rosak at early stage but I'm not sure what's the current situation.
You could go to Boon Siew Honda Cawangan KL Facebook to read the owner's comments.

Since you mentioned the Honda RS150, you might also consider the Y15ZR. brows.gif nod.gif
Or the Benelli RFS150.

Comparison CLICK HERE!! : )
credit to bikesrepublic thumbsup.gif
TSamoura
post Jan 15 2018, 10:33 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Jan 15 2018, 10:04 AM)
Nothing's wrong with the RS150.  thumbup.gif

I read that there was (were?) issues where the cam chain tensioner, alternator and MAP sensor rosak at early stage but I'm not sure what's the current situation.
You could go to Boon Siew Honda Cawangan KL Facebook to read the owner's comments.

Since you mentioned the Honda RS150, you might also consider the Y15ZR.  brows.gif  nod.gif
Or the Benelli RFS150.

Comparison CLICK HERE!! : )
Ive been looking into RS150 and Y15ZR for quiet a while. Never really consider Benelli RFS150 because my friend have a bad time dealing with his Benelli bike. I heard that Y15ZR is quiet panas. Could anyoune who have a Honda RS150 for a while would tell me is it any good?
andrewhtf
post Jan 15 2018, 11:06 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(amoura @ Jan 15 2018, 09:31 AM)
new is about rm9k+ close to but not exceed 10k otr if buy cash. however at that price range, many would say go for modenas's 200cc offerings - i am not saying it is not a good bike but rather i just preferred a jap brand over an indian rebadge, that's all.

fuel economy depends on the road you travel and how hard you throttle it. if you keep your revs below 6k all the time, there has been reports of achieving 470km per tank. keep yor rev below 7k, u get about 400km. anything higher about 7-8k, you get 350km on average. keep it full throttle (about 9.5-10k) all the way on highway - max dapat 250km only. except for 470km, the rest is based on my own experience. so for mixed hiway+city riding keeping a sensible max 8k rpm you can roughly get 330-350km per tank before the reserve indicator blinks. masuk reserve can jalan another 40-50km before run dry.

problem with honda is electrical issues and lack of ready spareparts. plus if u crash the bike, be ready to wait 1-2 months for replacement body parts. dunno apalanjio boonsiew is doing but two bike shop tauke i personally know oso said the same thing about the lack of parts.
chikuera
post Jan 15 2018, 11:08 AM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jan 15 2018, 09:27 AM)

FZ150i is a good daily commute..not so big to mencelah, can always add box for storage (side and top box) and also very good in fuel saving (rm20 per week)

of all the model you have listed, please get a bike with fuel injection compared to carb

if you really want kapchai on cheap, I would suggest you the SYM Sport Rider 125i. from the fb group, I rarely seen any reliability issue brought up by the users and sparepart is pretty much easy to get these days for SYM

andrewhtf
post Jan 15 2018, 11:08 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Jan 15 2018, 10:04 AM)

Or the Benelli RFS150.

this morning i already saw 3 rfs150 otr. 2 blue 1 red.
but benelli... i wonder how steady is its parts network.
Justin.Loong
post Jan 15 2018, 12:40 PM

8,363 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jan 15 2018, 11:08 AM)
this morning i already saw 3 rfs150 otr. 2 blue 1 red.
but benelli... i wonder how steady is its parts network.
Just to share.
My friend bought a Benelli TNT 135 and is using it for the past few months as his 2nd fun bike.
His feedback is that the bike is OK and can get spare parts but the QA/QC needs to improve a bit from the CKD factory.
For example; he has had wiring connectors disconnecting and several minor annoyance. But it's still OK.
TSamoura
post Jan 15 2018, 12:58 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jan 15 2018, 11:06 AM)
new is about rm9k+ close to but not exceed 10k otr if buy cash. however at that price range, many would say go for modenas's 200cc offerings - i am not saying it is not a good bike but rather i just preferred a jap brand over an indian rebadge, that's all.

fuel economy depends on the road you travel and how hard you throttle it. if you keep your revs below 6k all the time, there has been reports of achieving 470km per tank. keep yor rev below 7k, u get about 400km. anything higher about 7-8k, you get 350km on average. keep it full throttle (about 9.5-10k) all the way on highway - max dapat 250km only. except for 470km, the rest is based on my own experience. so for mixed hiway+city riding keeping a sensible max 8k rpm you can roughly get 330-350km per tank before the reserve indicator blinks. masuk reserve can jalan another 40-50km before run dry.

problem with honda is electrical issues and lack of ready spareparts. plus if u crash the bike, be ready to wait 1-2 months for replacement body parts. dunno apalanjio boonsiew is doing but two bike shop tauke i personally know oso said the same thing about the lack of parts.
Thanks for the in depth explanation. I'm not into speed so much, just daily driver to get from point a to b. I'll put your feedback into considerations when i buy a new one. For now I prefer underbone type body.

Well, maybe I should wait if I want to go for a RS150 anytime soon.
TSamoura
post Jan 15 2018, 01:00 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Jan 15 2018, 11:08 AM)
FZ150i is a good daily commute..not so big to mencelah, can always add box for storage (side and top box) and also very good in fuel saving (rm20 per week)

of all the model you have listed, please get a bike with fuel injection compared to carb

if you really want kapchai on cheap, I would suggest you the SYM Sport Rider 125i. from the fb group, I rarely seen any reliability issue brought up by the users and sparepart is pretty much easy to get these days for SYM
Never really consider SYM motorcycle before. If anyone have one, please give me a your thought on SYM bike. Thanks
COOLPINK
post Jan 15 2018, 01:02 PM

3,666 posts

wave dash
BuncitPesonawan
post Jan 15 2018, 01:06 PM

142 posts

budget? below 7K go Dash / LC. 7 to 9.5K go for Y15 / RS150.

Using Y15 now. stim wehh
TSamoura
post Jan 15 2018, 02:11 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(BuncitPesonawan @ Jan 15 2018, 01:06 PM)
budget? below 7K go Dash / LC. 7 to 9.5K go for Y15 / RS150.

Using Y15 now. stim wehh
How about honda Wave 125Fi? Is it any good? It got a large fuel tank and luggage space.
BuncitPesonawan
post Jan 15 2018, 02:16 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(amoura @ Jan 15 2018, 02:11 PM)
How about honda Wave 125Fi? Is it any good? It got a large fuel tank and luggage space.
Wave 125 better in fuel tank capacity. I think it's more than 5L tank, Dash 4L, 110CC.
chikuera
post Jan 15 2018, 02:29 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(amoura @ Jan 15 2018, 01:00 PM)
Never really consider SYM motorcycle before. If anyone have one, please give me a your thought on SYM bike. Thanks
check out their group on fb..not much major problem that's need recall. also, it seems that MFORCE (SYM/Benelli distributor) is quite aggressive in the after sales compared to Boon Siew or HLYM

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jan 15 2018, 01:02 PM)
wave dash
I honestly think Wave Dash Fi is overpriced..110 only..but looks good

QUOTE(amoura @ Jan 15 2018, 02:11 PM)
Wave 125i iinm is the same model as Future Fi, but with different aesthetics..

I have a Future old model (using carb) and it is one of the worst motorcycle I have ever rode..before, I have rode Wave 125R, Wave 125X, EX5 Class 1 (all owned by my dad) but so far, Future is the worst with its vibration..cant stand..ass kebas everytime go back to work..also need to ikat coverset with cable tight due to all screw missing because of the vibration vmad.gif
COOLPINK
post Jan 15 2018, 02:40 PM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Jan 15 2018, 02:29 PM)
check out their group on fb..not much major problem that's need recall. also, it seems that MFORCE (SYM/Benelli distributor) is quite aggressive in the after sales compared to Boon Siew or HLYM

I have a Future old model (using carb) and it is one of the worst motorcycle I have ever rode..before, I have rode Wave 125R, Wave 125X, EX5 Class 1 (all owned by my dad) but so far, Future is the worst with its vibration..cant stand..ass kebas everytime go back to work..also need to ikat coverset with cable tight due to all screw missing because of the vibration vmad.gif
all of the honda wave models famous for their vibration after 1 year laugh.gif laugh.gif

TSamoura
post Jan 15 2018, 03:30 PM

120 posts

Never rode an SYM motorbike before. If its any good, maybe I'll consider it on my next visit to the shop.

This model look nice especially the black one.

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jan 15 2018, 02:40 PM)
all of the honda wave models famous for their vibration after 1 year  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Yeah, my wave vibrate like crazy with speed. Already changes the cover set three times, still broken with time.
chikuera
post Jan 15 2018, 04:31 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jan 15 2018, 02:40 PM)
all of the honda wave models famous for their vibration after 1 year  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
QUOTE(amoura @ Jan 15 2018, 03:30 PM)
Never rode an SYM motorbike before. If its any good, maybe I'll consider it on my next visit to the shop.

This model look nice especially the black one.

Yeah, my wave vibrate like crazy with speed. Already changes the cover set three times, still broken with time.
coz they got 'wave' that cause the vibration tongue.gif tongue.gif

that model is the one I mentioned above..cheapest 125cc with injection in this country. I read that the engine is basically based on the Wave's from Honda but different bore x stroke iinm

the black one is the SE model
andrewhtf
post Jan 15 2018, 05:09 PM

1,583 posts

my dad rides a wave dash.

when new fuh, feels solid.

one year later the engine sound like got loose stuffs.

and to think that this is old man bike who doesnt even ride past 60kmj
TSamoura
post Jan 15 2018, 11:33 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Jan 15 2018, 04:31 PM)
coz they got 'wave' that cause the vibration  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

that model is the one I mentioned above..cheapest 125cc with injection in this country. I read that the engine is basically based on the Wave's from Honda but different bore x stroke iinm

the black one is the SE model
Engine from honda wave? Is it gonna vibrate to at slightly high speed? hmm.gif
chikuera
post Jan 16 2018, 09:25 AM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(amoura @ Jan 15 2018, 11:33 PM)
Engine from honda wave? Is it gonna vibrate to at slightly high speed?  hmm.gif
not sure..dont see any complains on the vibration in fb group rclxms.gif

btw, i found an article of comparison between Future and Sport Rider..but in BM

Future vs Sport Rider
chikuera
post Jan 16 2018, 09:29 AM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jan 15 2018, 05:09 PM)
my dad rides a wave dash.

when new fuh, feels solid.

one year later the engine sound like got loose stuffs.

and to think that this is old man bike who doesnt even ride past 60kmj
i think Boon Siew quality has been decreasing.my Wave 125 (year 2005) is OK. Just gone kaput last year. Wave 125X (year 2009) still going strong..but Future (year 2014) feel like shit already
ajaibman
post Jan 16 2018, 09:46 AM

233 posts

at least get the kapchai that can go on par with the national speed limit, 110 km/h - true speed.

Some of the kapchai like 100cc and below they can't keep up with the car speed on the highway..

this may cause accident, due some the car drivers dont care about slower vehicle on the road except for lorries
chikuera
post Jan 16 2018, 02:24 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Jan 16 2018, 09:46 AM)
at least get the kapchai that can go on par with the national speed limit, 110 km/h - true speed.

Some of the kapchai like 100cc and below they can't keep up with the car speed on the highway..

this may cause accident, due some the car drivers dont care about slower vehicle on the road except for lorries
if not on highway like nkve or plus, shouldnt be a problem. around city can cope with low cc

my minimum is 125cc..die2 cannot go lower..
TSamoura
post Jan 16 2018, 02:33 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Jan 16 2018, 09:46 AM)

Agree, but i'm only driving in traffic jam, so not so much space for speed. But at least when i can get it to 100, I wish fir a bike that didnt vibrate so much that it make my hand and feet hurt. I'm getting old sweat.gif
TSamoura
post Jan 16 2018, 02:58 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Jan 16 2018, 02:24 PM)
if not on highway like nkve or plus, shouldnt be a problem. around city can cope with low cc

my minimum is 125cc..die2 cannot go lower..
Is GT 128 viable? I know it doesn't have fuel injection and an old model (2009?), but it seem reliable enough and fc is quite good for an old model.
chikuera
post Jan 16 2018, 03:10 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(amoura @ Jan 16 2018, 02:58 PM)
Is GT 128 viable? I know it doesn't have fuel injection and an old model (2009?), but it seem reliable enough and fc is quite good for an old model.
why not get the latest offering like CT115 or even cheaper, MR2

CT115 looks sporty enough with rear monoshock
hitz
post Jan 16 2018, 04:51 PM

225 posts

Don't get the GT 128, full of minor problems.
andrewhtf
post Jan 16 2018, 05:23 PM

1,583 posts

mine had some problems - hard to start if not ridden more than a day. for example if i left it over the weekend, so on monday morning either i run the battery dry or i would be kicking until my leg sore to start it. then that time my workplace motor parking is open air. if that day hujan, after finish work again hailat cannot start have to drain out all the fuel from carb. these two issue annoyed me enuff to trade it in for an FZ
chikuera
post Jan 16 2018, 05:48 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jan 16 2018, 05:23 PM)
mine had some problems - hard to start if not ridden more than a day. for example if i left it over the weekend, so on monday morning either i run the battery dry or  i would be kicking until my leg sore to start it. then that time my workplace motor parking is open air. if that day hujan, after finish work again hailat cannot start have to drain out all the fuel from carb. these two issue annoyed me enuff to trade it in for an FZ
that's why im against carb for future rides..

FZ, can mod to become like MT series? wider handlebar? dropped front fork?
MISMan
post Jan 16 2018, 05:51 PM

718 posts

i have fz150i year 2016/7, hardly use. selling cheaper den market price

andrewhtf
post Jan 16 2018, 06:05 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Jan 16 2018, 05:48 PM)
FZ, can mod to become like MT series? wider handlebar? dropped front fork?
Can. duit saja ma. ada duit mau mod apa macam pun boleh.

but if u have that much of money to throw u might as well go buy an MT

SUSAmeiN
post Jan 16 2018, 06:19 PM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

How about NMAX? hehe

TSamoura
post Jan 16 2018, 06:44 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(hitz @ Jan 16 2018, 04:51 PM)
Don't get the GT 128, full of minor problems.
Thank you for the advice.

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jan 16 2018, 05:23 PM)
mine had some problems - hard to start if not ridden more than a day. for example if i left it over the weekend, so on monday morning either i run the battery dry or  i would be kicking until my leg sore to start it. then that time my workplace motor parking is open air. if that day hujan, after finish work again hailat cannot start have to drain out all the fuel from carb. these two issue annoyed me enuff to trade it in for an FZ
Well, GT 128 is not a good choice then, thanks for the info. The CT115s looks nice. Anybody using it? Could I get others opinion on CT115s?

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jan 16 2018, 06:05 PM)
Can. duit saja ma. ada duit mau mod apa macam pun boleh.

but if u have that much of money to throw u might as well go buy an MT
Is that the M-Slaz 150?

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Jan 16 2018, 06:19 PM)
How about NMAX? hehe

Not really interested in Scooter. Thanks anyway.

This post has been edited by amoura: Jan 17 2018, 03:11 AM
andrewhtf
post Jan 16 2018, 11:39 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(amoura @ Jan 16 2018, 06:44 PM)
Thank you for the advice.
Well, GT 128 is not a good choice then, thanks for the info. The CT115s looks nice. Anybody using it? Could I get others opinion on CT115s?
<a href='https://<link removed>/2018/01/16/2018-yamaha-m-slaz-150-in-malaysia-by-mid-year/' target='_blank'>Is that the M-Slaz 150?</a>

Not really interested in Scooter. Thanks anyway.
Yes mslaz. basically a bodykit souped up version of fz.

I cant say anything about ct115 but i used ct110 before trade in to get gt128. Boleh pakai lah nothing special but definitely less problem than I had with gt128.
haturaya
post Jan 17 2018, 07:29 AM

2,556 posts

QUOTE(amoura @ Jan 15 2018, 10:33 AM)
Ive been looking into RS150 and Y15ZR for quiet a while. Never really consider Benelli RFS150 because my friend have a bad time dealing with his Benelli bike. I heard that Y15ZR is quiet panas. Could anyoune who have a Honda RS150 for a while would tell me is it any good?
2 of my brothers bought RS150 (early last year). Both use it to go to work on daily basis (Ampang to Glenmarie & Bukit Jalil to Glenmarie). One already developed that famous cam chain tensioner issue but the other one still in tip top condition. sweat.gif Ride and handling - soft and comfy. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jan 15 2018, 11:06 AM)

Yup, Honda very bad in maintaining parts availability. As for my PCX, I just order it direct from Thailand. Faster than relying from BSH. whistling.gif
TSamoura
post Jan 21 2018, 02:26 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Jan 17 2018, 07:29 AM)
2 of my brothers bought RS150 (early last year). Both use it to go to work on daily basis (Ampang to Glenmarie & Bukit Jalil to Glenmarie). One already developed that famous cam chain tensioner issue but the other one still in tip top condition.  sweat.gif  Ride and handling - soft and comfy.  thumbup.gif
Yup, Honda very bad in maintaining parts availability. As for my PCX, I just order it direct from Thailand. Faster than relying from BSH.  whistling.gif
Hi, can you elaborate on the cam chain tensioner issue on the RS150?

and is the matte color scheme is no more?

Is modenas GT150 gonna be a reality? Looks cool btw.

This post has been edited by amoura: Jan 21 2018, 02:52 PM
haturaya
post Jan 21 2018, 02:56 PM

2,556 posts

QUOTE(amoura @ Jan 21 2018, 02:26 PM)
Hi, can you elaborate on the cam chain tensioner issue on the RS150?

and is the matte color scheme is  no more?
The cam chain not as tension as it should be, becoming noisy and my brother's bike idle RPM getting higher than before the issue developed. Unresolved at the moment. He's too busy to take it to Honda dealer.

As for matte colour scheme, I'm not sure what's available now. Sorry. sweat.gif

Mrsaitama
post Jan 21 2018, 10:07 PM

353 posts

Wait mslaz if u can. If not just get fz150i. Put box settle.
Justin.Loong
post Jan 22 2018, 11:28 AM

8,363 posts

QUOTE(Mrsaitama @ Jan 21 2018, 10:07 PM)
Wait mslaz if u can. If not just get fz150i. Put box settle.
During several visits to the Yamaha plant, as well as conversations with industry insiders, it can be surmised the replacement for the long-serving FZ150i will be launched “sometime this year, probably before mid-year.”

Just read this from the Pau Tin (nama betul dia x blh pakai kat forum ni yer oops.gif ) .
brows.gif
BuncitPesonawan
post Jan 22 2018, 02:54 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Jan 22 2018, 11:28 AM)
Just read this from the Pau Tin (nama betul dia x blh pakai kat forum ni yer oops.gif ) .
brows.gif
Wonder why kenot pakai real name of Pau Tin in this forum hmm.gif
haturaya
post Jan 22 2018, 04:26 PM

2,556 posts

QUOTE(BuncitPesonawan @ Jan 22 2018, 02:54 PM)
Wonder why kenot pakai real name of Pau Tin in this forum  hmm.gif
'Fight' with se7en (LN owner)
chikuera
post Jan 22 2018, 05:18 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

M-slaz is outdated lor..hopefully HLYM will bring the R15 and new FZ 155

also, Modenas dono when can arrive that super-moped..heard it is 175..but no new news from July last year..now busy with all the bajaj bike
Justin.Loong
post Jan 22 2018, 05:20 PM

8,363 posts

whistling.gif sweat.gif
chikuera
post Jan 22 2018, 05:21 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Jan 22 2018, 04:26 PM)
'Fight' with se7en (LN owner)
QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Jan 22 2018, 05:20 PM)
whistling.gif  sweat.gif
long time issue..can google to find hehe
Justin.Loong
post Jan 22 2018, 05:27 PM

8,363 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Jan 22 2018, 05:18 PM)
M-slaz is outdated lor..hopefully HLYM will bring the R15 and new FZ 155

also, Modenas dono when can arrive that super-moped..heard it is 175..but no new news from July last year..now busy with all the bajaj bike
“Kami masih belum buat keputusan kerana R15 sedang menjalani ujian enduran 10,000km. Bukan senang nak bawa masuk model baharu macam tu saja. Banyak perkara perlu diberi perhatian, seperti hal komponen yang perlu tahan lasak dengan suhu cuaca dan keadaan jalan Malaysia. Lain negara, lain spesifikasi,” katanya (Datuk Jim Khor).

Jadi, selepas ujian enduran selesai, pengeluar perlu memikirkan hal jualan pula. Antara perkara yang perlu diambil kira, jika R15 dibawa masuk, apakah kesan terhadap produk sedia ada seperti Y15ZR dan FZ150i? Semua tahu, pasaran Malaysia tidak sebesar negara jiran seperti Indonesia, Thailand dan Filipina. Setiap pengeluar di Malaysia memang perlu jadi sangat kritikal tentang jumlah pengeluaran setiap model. Tidak boleh main tabur saja.

Credit to Pandulaju. notworthy.gif
chikuera
post Jan 22 2018, 05:42 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Jan 22 2018, 05:27 PM)
Credit to Pandulaju.  notworthy.gif
they need to get the price right..FZ150i is OTR 11k..Pulsar NS and RS is also around that range..both 200cc. Next is 250cc region, Naza N5R at 14k otr and Kawa 250SL is 18k.

R15 should be priced at around 13k-15k i think
Justin.Loong
post Jan 22 2018, 05:48 PM

8,363 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Jan 22 2018, 05:42 PM)
they need to get the price right..FZ150i is OTR 11k..Pulsar NS and RS is also around that range..both 200cc. Next is 250cc region, Naza N5R at 14k otr and Kawa 250SL is 18k.

R15 should be priced at around 13k-15k i think
Betul... HLY shouldn't price it too expensive that it's beyond reach of normal bikers. moneyflies.gif doh.gif moneyflies.gif
The problem is, kedai moto jack up the price like crazy.
Like we have seen for the Y15ZR and the NVX. (and also the RS150 la...) bangwall.gif mad.gif vmad.gif ranting.gif

chikuera
post Jan 22 2018, 05:51 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Jan 22 2018, 05:48 PM)
Betul... HLY shouldn't price it too expensive that it's beyond reach of normal bikers.  moneyflies.gif  doh.gif  moneyflies.gif 
The problem is, kedai moto jack up the price like crazy.
Like we have seen for the Y15ZR and the NVX. (and also the RS150 la...)  bangwall.gif  mad.gif  vmad.gif  ranting.gif
ya lor..both Y15 and RS all OTR already 10k++..damn mahal.. vmad.gif
TSamoura
post Jan 23 2018, 08:28 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Jan 22 2018, 05:51 PM)
ya lor..both Y15 and RS all OTR already 10k++..damn mahal.. vmad.gif
What? Really? So Expensive.sweat.gif

How about Suzuki. Nobody seem to talk about it much. Is it any good?

How bout the Smash Revo and Smash V115?

Or Shogun Axelo?

Or Smash Fi?

Justin.Loong
post Jan 23 2018, 09:17 AM

8,363 posts

QUOTE(amoura @ Jan 23 2018, 08:28 AM)

Suzuki technology is good. thumbsup.gif thumbup.gif
For example; the Belang, the engine has oil cooler and it's DOHC.
IIRC, it also has 3 engine modes (Suzuki Drive Mode Switch (SDMS) System - Normal, PWR & ECO).
These kind of technology wasn't available in other competitors at that time. brows.gif

But re-sale value and certain spare parts are expensive / hard to get compared to Honda and Yamaha.
That's why not as sellable as other brands. sweat.gif cry.gif
TSamoura
post Jan 23 2018, 10:13 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Jan 23 2018, 09:17 AM)
Suzuki technology is good.  thumbsup.gif  thumbup.gif

But re-sale value and certain spare parts are expensive / hard to get compared to Honda and Yamaha.
That's why not as sellable as other brands.  sweat.gif  cry.gif
The Belang R looks are... unique? And different. Not my taste tbh. But the scarce of spare part have some truth to it, I've rarely encountered a Suzuki kapcai on the road.
Justin.Loong
post Jan 23 2018, 11:12 AM

8,363 posts

QUOTE(amoura @ Jan 23 2018, 10:13 AM)
The Belang R looks are... unique? And different. Not my taste tbh. But the scarce of spare part have some truth to it, I've rarely encountered a Suzuki kapcai on the road.
+1. Agreed. nod.gif
Not everyone in MY likes this "half fairing" kind of mopeds.
Previously Suzuki sold the RC80 in this half fairing and Honda with its Hurricane.
Read more here:
LYN Suzuki thread thumbsup.gif
chikuera
post Jan 23 2018, 11:23 AM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(amoura @ Jan 23 2018, 08:28 AM)

Or Shogun Axelo?

Or Smash Fi?

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Jan 23 2018, 09:17 AM)
Suzuki technology is good.  thumbsup.gif  thumbup.gif
IIRC, it also has 3 engine modes (Suzuki Drive Mode Switch (SDMS) System - Normal, PWR & ECO).
These kind of technology wasn't available in other competitors at that time.  brows.gif 

That's why not as sellable as other brands.  sweat.gif  cry.gif
Suzuki has closed its factory in Malaysia two years ago..now only focus on big bikes CBU..

No new models if you want one..2nd hand probably got

yes, they are good in introducing new technology here..but somehow people reluctant to buy one compared to the other two Japanese giants, Y and H
Justin.Loong
post Jan 23 2018, 11:38 AM

8,363 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Jan 23 2018, 11:23 AM)
Suzuki has closed its factory in Malaysia two years ago..now only focus on big bikes CBU..

No new models if you want one..2nd hand probably got

yes, they are good in introducing new technology here..but somehow people reluctant to buy one compared to the other two Japanese giants, Y and H
After beli the Suzi, who will do the warranty, keep the spare parts and after-sales? icon_question.gif
Do you know? hmm.gif
Because I have seen some new V-Strom in KL area. So I'm curious to know. brows.gif
basilisk
post Jan 23 2018, 11:42 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Jan 23 2018, 11:38 AM)
After beli the Suzi, who will do the warranty, keep the spare parts and after-sales? icon_question.gif
Do you know?  hmm.gif 
Because I have seen some new V-Strom in KL area. So I'm curious to know.  brows.gif
aiya got dealers punya mar.. for eg the bike shop sinsienhuat? (name wrong) in klang is a big susuki dealer..

so everthing is go back to dealers.. jz like normal bike..
basilisk
post Jan 23 2018, 11:49 AM

30 posts

got alot of old rg on the road.. old timers r still using it.

they r still able to maintain it bcos got alot of not ori spare parts.

the issue of suzuki parts expensive is cause by local dealers all gang up to 'destroy' susuki malaysia.

they (dealers) will jack up the price of ori parts. refuse to stock parts, use non ori parts to cheat customers say is ori..

tis is wht i found out as susuki kapchai owner for 22years.

why? i m not sure.

as for belang.. why i choose it instead of lc (at tht time) is bcos. less parts - air cooled, no fairing.. will give less problem in the long run..

wana diy oso ez.. cos so much less plastic hassle to remove..
Justin.Loong
post Jan 23 2018, 11:50 AM

8,363 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jan 23 2018, 11:42 AM)
aiya got dealers punya mar.. for eg the bike shop sinsienhuat? (name wrong) in klang is a big susuki dealer..

so everthing is go back to dealers.. jz like normal bike..
OK! thumbsup.gif
basilisk
post Jan 23 2018, 11:55 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Jan 23 2018, 11:50 AM)
OK!  :thumbsup:

see susuki big bike dealer... lol..

taukey busat wit gsx.. the king is back...!!

This post has been edited by basilisk: Jan 23 2018, 11:56 AM
chikuera
post Jan 23 2018, 12:03 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Jan 23 2018, 11:38 AM)
Do you know?  hmm.gif 
Because I have seen some new V-Strom in KL area. So I'm curious to know.  brows.gif
they still have presence here..but as I said..only for big bikes..all CBU unit..that's why you will see SV650 is aroung rm41k..where you can get the CKD Kawa Z650 at only rm35k and Y MT-07 around 37k..

if small bike spart parts, might need to source to Indo

their new website
Suzuki Malaysia
chikuera
post Jan 23 2018, 12:06 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jan 23 2018, 11:49 AM)

the issue of suzuki parts expensive is cause by local dealers all gang up to 'destroy' susuki malaysia.

they (dealers) will jack up the price of ori parts. refuse to stock parts, use non ori parts to cheat customers say is ori..

why? i m not sure.

as for belang.. why i choose it instead of lc (at tht time) is bcos. less parts - air cooled, no fairing.. will give less problem in the long run..

my family last suzuki was the GSX110..my grandpa has a few cub model dono what exactly..then we moved to Honda..from Ex5 class1, Wave 125R, Wave 125x to Future..now start with Yamaha..FZ..and I plan to get Y15..hehe
-oc-gassa
post Jan 23 2018, 12:07 PM

967 posts

for me depends on few criteria.

1. How KM of daily commute? (for me of below 100km daily better use below 150cc bike)
2. Most of route Hiway or federal road? (for me if most route is federal road with jam better use below 150cc bike)
3. what is your size(height and weight)? (for me some person body size better suite above 150cc bike)
4. What is your budget ?
5. Planning to use Box storage? (for me some bike look weird wih box, while some just look nice with box)

for me Yamaha LC135 suite me well, in term of

1. Price (mid range price for kapchai)
2. Usability (no klac easy ride on jam road)
3. Reliability (130k mileage , change some part not major but for me still acceptable)
4. Maintenance (easy and affordable, can go any shop mostly they have spare part ready)
5. Fuel consumption 90-100km per full tank (3± litter)
6. Speed standard LC135 can go 115±km/h GPS (since route not involve in high speed most of the time, LC135 sufficient for me)

but then.. still depends on luck.. some new bike got problem.. some old bike still ride strong.. one thing muse be done is maintenance... once bike maintenance is maintain.. the longevity bike life span will be..

This post has been edited by -oc-gassa: Jan 23 2018, 12:10 PM
basilisk
post Jan 23 2018, 12:08 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Jan 23 2018, 12:03 PM)

if small bike spart parts, might need to source to Indo

their new website
Suzuki Malaysia
for current models still got alot ori parts la.. ive jz been to their hq to buy parts..

oso still got parts stockist in every state tht order for user fom hq.

and oso can buy frm their former staff who will ship direct to user..

so thts how it is now..

chikuera
post Jan 23 2018, 12:10 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jan 23 2018, 12:08 PM)
for current models still got alot ori parts la.. ive jz been to their hq to buy parts..

oso still got parts stockist in every state tht order for user fom hq.

and oso can buy frm their former staff who will ship direct to user..

so thts how it is now..

soon will hard to get maybe..seen less of the small suzuki kapchai now..I actually wanted the Shogun with clutch..but got Future instead..
eidrag
post Jan 23 2018, 12:38 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jan 23 2018, 11:49 AM)

why? i m not sure.

Boss, still pakai belang lagi? Baru beli sekenhen tak sampai sebulan, tengah pecut tetiba power loss temporarily.... any idea why? Planning to change carb/cdi lepas dapat gaji anyway.
basilisk
post Jan 23 2018, 12:46 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(eidrag @ Jan 23 2018, 12:38 PM)
Boss, still pakai belang lagi? Baru beli sekenhen tak sampai sebulan, tengah pecut tetiba power loss temporarily.... any idea why? Planning to change carb/cdi lepas dapat gaji anyway.
ya still pakai belang, but i not kaki pulas..
so i kinda bought the wrong bike..
wht todo cos tht time.. 2009 oni tis belalang got 150cc..

ur power loss is on or off or everytime when exceed certain rpm like 5k?

if everytime happen when pulas.. maybe is diaphram pecah.. hv u change that part?
basilisk
post Jan 23 2018, 12:51 PM

30 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3495227/all
eidrag
post Jan 24 2018, 01:13 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jan 23 2018, 12:46 PM)
ya still pakai belang, but i not kaki pulas..
so i kinda bought the wrong bike..
wht todo cos tht time.. 2009 oni tis belalang got 150cc..

ur power loss is on or off or everytime when exceed certain rpm like 5k?

if everytime happen when pulas.. maybe is diaphram pecah.. hv u change that part?
Not yet change because later want to change whole carb anyway. Thanks to your comment, read that diaphragm problem is common (weak diaphragm?), and explains power losing after pulas over certain rpm.
KKLeong
post Jan 24 2018, 04:38 PM

59 posts

Would it be late to get a motobike licence? I mean i have 5 yrs car driving (parents car) experiences and i still in my 20s. I would consider motobike as mode of transport for work route becos it is cheap to maintain, less traffic jam issues, low installment and cheapest mode of transportation. IT is wise to consider???

But there is cons as well, incident happened more often as motobike, road hazard to motobike will cause much more serious damage....i open to all kind of advice and judgment.
BuncitPesonawan
post Jan 24 2018, 04:45 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(KKLeong @ Jan 24 2018, 04:38 PM)
Would it be late to get a motobike licence? I mean i have 5 yrs car driving (parents car) experiences and i still in my 20s. I would consider motobike as mode of transport for work route becos it is cheap to maintain, less traffic jam issues, low installment and cheapest mode of transportation. IT is wise to consider???

But there is cons as well, incident happened more often as motobike, road hazard to motobike will cause much more serious damage....i open to all kind of advice and judgment.
do you have riding experience? well it's not hard, and it's never too late to get license. so no worries.

you'll save more than 50% of transportation expenses and of course time spent on the road once you ride to work, believe me thumbsup.gif
EyraYus
post Jan 24 2018, 04:52 PM

sTRe3tHunt3R
2,152 posts

Did you decide on which bike yet? Lazy to read the whole thing so I will just give my input here

Go for the Modenas MR2. My dad currently using one (well..more like abusing one..) One of the cheapest at RM3200 OTR (cash bought here in Gombak middle of 2017), good quality ride for city (bit underpowered for highway travel), quite reliable engine and quality, and Modenas will come to your place and repair your bike on the spot if there is any problem (as long as it is under warranty).

Mind you my dad is the type of use for 2 year max then sold off and get new bike type of guy. He have no understanding of motorcycle servicing and maintenance.

Spare part wise will never be an issue..

It is a good choice and very cheap too.
Eilrach
post Jan 24 2018, 06:03 PM

Get the license first, then decide whether riding a bike is your thing or not. I have 13 years driving experience, and then i decided to learn motor in November, passed my B Full test early this month. Then got a KTM Duke 390 and really enjoying the feeling of riding a motorcycle.

As for safety, yea if you get hit the damage is more significant than compared to when you get hit in a car. But avoiding an accident is easier on a motorcycle as its smaller and you have a better view around you due to the height and unrestricted view. If you see the statistics, the highest fatal accident rate comes from the 17-20 age group, young riders who have no road experience and riding dangeriously. 90 percent of motorcycle accidents can be avoided if the rider was careful and skillful.
chikuera
post Jan 25 2018, 12:09 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(BuncitPesonawan @ Jan 24 2018, 04:45 PM)
do you have riding experience? well it's not hard, and it's never too late to get license. so no worries.

you'll save more than 50% of transportation expenses and of course time spent on the road once you ride to work, believe me  thumbsup.gif
QUOTE(Eilrach @ Jan 24 2018, 06:03 PM)
Get the license first, then decide whether riding a bike is your thing or not. I have 13 years driving experience, and then i decided to learn motor in November, passed my B Full test early this month. Then got a KTM Duke 390 and really enjoying the feeling of riding a motorcycle.

As for safety, yea if you get hit the damage is more significant than compared to when you get hit in a car. But avoiding an accident is easier on a motorcycle as its smaller and you have a better view around you due to the height and unrestricted view. If you see the statistics, the highest fatal accident rate comes from the 17-20 age group, young riders who have no road experience and riding dangeriously. 90 percent of motorcycle accidents can be avoided if the rider was careful and skillful.
it's never too late to take bike riding license thumbup.gif

need to be a little more careful then

i think people should take both license..and experience both driving and riding..so they would know, understand and tolerate each other better rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
BuncitPesonawan
post Jan 25 2018, 01:27 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Jan 25 2018, 12:09 PM)
it's never too late to take bike riding license  thumbup.gif

need to be a little more careful then

i think people should take both license..and experience both driving and riding..so they would know, understand and tolerate each other better  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif
agree. when we have both experience, we tolerate more towards each other on the road. greater sensitivity too thumbsup.gif
TSamoura
post Jan 25 2018, 01:43 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(EyraYus @ Jan 24 2018, 04:52 PM)
Did you decide on which bike yet? Lazy to read the whole thing so I will just give my input here

Go for the Modenas MR2. My dad currently using one (well..more like abusing one..) One of the cheapest at RM3200 OTR (cash bought here in Gombak middle of 2017), good quality ride for city (bit underpowered for highway travel), quite reliable engine and quality, and Modenas will come to your place and repair your bike on the spot if there is any problem (as long as it is under warranty).

Mind you my dad is the type of use for 2 year max then sold off and get new bike type of guy. He have no understanding of motorcycle servicing and maintenance.

Spare part wise will never be an issue..

It is a good choice and very cheap too.
Thanks for the in depth review on Modenas MR2. But the problem is I rarely see one of this bike in the market. How is the fc? Is it using carburetor or fi?
chikuera
post Jan 25 2018, 02:33 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(amoura @ Jan 25 2018, 01:43 PM)
Thanks for the in depth review on Modenas MR2. But the problem is I rarely see one of this bike in the market. How is the fc? Is it using carburetor or fi?
rarely see because you will be mistaken it for sym or demak models..honestly, it doesnt look like anything that came out from Modenas. Because it is a China-source design

it still use carb. Modenas really need to step up its game. Rebadging Bajaj only for the upper end of the CC but not the kapchai..wrong move, kaput la..nasib baik cheap..
basilisk
post Jan 25 2018, 10:49 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(eidrag @ Jan 24 2018, 01:13 PM)
Not yet change because later want to change whole carb anyway. Thanks to your comment, read that diaphragm problem is common (weak diaphragm?), and explains power losing after pulas over certain rpm.
ya change carb no nid change lo... cos d getah very thin. will bocor in a few years. cost oni ~12.xx wit gst. but some mofo bike shop will charge over 30.xx not including labour..
bibirbieber
post Jan 26 2018, 11:14 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(amoura @ Jan 15 2018, 10:33 AM)
Been using Honda RS150 for the past 1 year. So far I didnt face any problem with the bike. Personally I think this bike is good enough for city ride.
JamesCloud
post Jan 26 2018, 12:21 PM

92 posts

i have no vibration issue on my future(carb). but engine rod spoiled below 23000km. rclxub.gif

chikuera
post Jan 26 2018, 03:20 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(JamesCloud @ Jan 26 2018, 12:21 PM)
i have no vibration issue on my future(carb). but engine rod spoiled below 23000km. rclxub.gif
lucky you..it's quite a famous issue for Honda Future.. rclxub.gif
basilisk
post Jan 26 2018, 04:20 PM

30 posts

i hv tested future wave fi 2017. new bike few months old.

i would say the vibration is the engine's characteristic..
it oni got 4gear, so @ top gear @ 60kmh. can feel the small bakul very very buzzy..

no tacho, so dono wht rpm..
for sure alot rider kenot tahan 60kmh. n will pulas to 100 or over. so i can imagine how the vibs will go..

so if ride like tht, sure very fast go longgar.. esp if ride long distance everyday. if one day use like 30km-50km mebe can tahan abit..

This post has been edited by basilisk: Jan 26 2018, 04:31 PM
TSamoura
post Jan 26 2018, 04:31 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jan 26 2018, 04:20 PM)

it oni got 4gear, so @ top gear @ 60kmh. can feel the small bakul very very buzzy..

for sure alot rider kenot tahan 60kmh. n will pulas to 100 or over. so i can imagine how the vibs will go..

so if ride like tht, sure very fast go longgar.. esp if ride long distance everyday. if one day use like 30km-50km mebe can tahan abit..
I don't really mind for the bike to go longgar, I just mind if my bone gone longgar. sweat.gif 2 hours ride everyday with vibration will broke this brittle body of mine. biggrin.gif
basilisk
post Jan 26 2018, 04:34 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(amoura @ Jan 26 2018, 04:31 PM)
I don't really mind for the bike to go longgar, I just mind if my bone gone longgar.  sweat.gif 2 hours ride everyday with vibration will broke this brittle body of mine.   biggrin.gif
as the bike is kinda new. i din feel it on my butt tht much. hands ya can feel. feet oso can feel..
but if i touch the basket.. kinda like whoa.. buzz kinda high..

n tht was oni 60kmh liddat.. biggrin.gif

i think u hv to get kapchai at least 5 gear punya.. wit abit more overdrive feel..

This post has been edited by basilisk: Jan 26 2018, 04:35 PM
JamesCloud
post Jan 26 2018, 05:40 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(Eilrach @ Jan 24 2018, 06:03 PM)

Hi. is that 2018 version KTM? heard previous model had air box problem. how's the new version?
Pls share more on riding experience. pros & cons. thinking to get one
JamesCloud
post Jan 26 2018, 05:43 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Jan 26 2018, 03:20 PM)
lucky you..it's quite a famous issue for Honda Future..  rclxub.gif
yes. after kenah. then i go ask around. quite common for most people.

it has good distance 200km per tank. and convenient helmet space.
Justin.Loong
post Jan 29 2018, 09:15 AM

8,363 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jan 26 2018, 04:20 PM)

But already modify the exhaust? blink.gif shakehead.gif shocking.gif
chikuera
post Jan 29 2018, 10:04 AM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jan 26 2018, 04:34 PM)
as the bike is kinda new. i din feel it on my butt tht much. hands ya can feel. feet oso can feel..
but if i touch the basket.. kinda like whoa.. buzz kinda high..

n tht was oni 60kmh liddat.. biggrin.gif

i think u hv to get kapchai at least 5 gear punya.. wit abit more overdrive feel..
4th gear at 60kmh? i usually rode 4th gear at 80-100..but for a 125cc, 60kmh at top gear is very surprisingly low

QUOTE(JamesCloud @ Jan 26 2018, 05:43 PM)
yes. after kenah. then i go ask around. quite common for most people.

it has good distance 200km per tank. and convenient helmet space.
my future got problem now..engine need to set very high rev..due to too hard to start in the morning..resulting in bad fuel consumption (rm5 every 2 days) cry.gif

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Jan 29 2018, 09:15 AM)
But already modify the exhaust?  blink.gif  shakehead.gif  shocking.gif
some shop will give you mod exhaust foc.. rclxms.gif
basilisk
post Jan 29 2018, 11:11 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Jan 29 2018, 10:04 AM)
4th gear at 60kmh? i usually rode 4th gear at 80-100..but for a 125cc, 60kmh at top gear is very surprisingly low
my future got problem now..engine need to set very high rev..due to too hard to start in the morning..resulting in bad fuel consumption (rm5 every 2 days) cry.gif
some shop will give you mod exhaust foc..  rclxms.gif
lol.. 60kmh is the speed tht i tested the bike @ 4th gear.

of cos it is not the max speed of the bike n sure it can go faster

for me i don like to ride a bike screaming @ high rpm

it is very stressfull to feel the bike kena stress liddat.. lol

sumore tis engine is very vibby, ekzos oso noisy.. lol..
chikuera
post Jan 29 2018, 11:14 AM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jan 29 2018, 11:11 AM)
lol.. 60kmh is the speed tht i tested the bike @ 4th gear.

of cos it is not the max speed of the bike n sure it can go faster

for me i don like to ride a bike screaming @ high rpm

it is very stressfull to feel the bike kena stress liddat.. lol

sumore tis engine is very vibby, ekzos oso noisy.. lol..
oh i see i thought it can only capped at 60 notworthy.gif

redjol
post Jan 29 2018, 11:18 AM

224 posts

currently using fz150i for daily commute. It wont failed you and you can always lenjan it for a long time, also reduced the visit count to fuel station as well. But please keep it standard. Been using fz for 10 years already.
JamesCloud
post Jan 29 2018, 05:47 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Jan 29 2018, 10:04 AM)
some shop will give you mod exhaust foc..  rclxms.gif
what's ur fuel consumption in KM by one litter? i can achieve 48km/L with Max throttle almost all the time for honda future

RS150R
48KM/L if speed below 80km/J
40KM/L if around 95Km/J
33KM/L if i goes to 125km/J

This post has been edited by JamesCloud: Jan 29 2018, 05:48 PM
chikuera
post Jan 29 2018, 05:54 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(JamesCloud @ Jan 29 2018, 05:47 PM)
what's ur fuel consumption in KM by one litter? i can achieve 48km/L with Max throttle almost all the time for honda future

RS150R
48KM/L if speed below 80km/J
40KM/L if around 95Km/J
33KM/L if i goes to 125km/J
not sure. i always max throttle one..but never calculate. 2 years back, I can do rm5 per 5 days
basilisk
post Jan 29 2018, 06:08 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Jan 29 2018, 05:54 PM)
not sure. i always max throttle one..but never calculate. 2 years back, I can do rm5 per 5 days
u eday lenjan of cos fast longgar la.. lol..

if switch to china bike better don lenjan too much..
chikuera
post Jan 30 2018, 10:10 AM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jan 29 2018, 06:08 PM)
u eday lenjan of cos fast longgar la.. lol..

if switch to china bike better don lenjan too much..
everyday using nkve cannot ride slow lor.. biggrin.gif
ajaibman
post Jan 30 2018, 10:42 AM

233 posts

Switched to Vespa Sprint 150 3V from a Barley Davidson. as my daily communting weapon..

As for Vespa.. Yamaha Y15R and Honda RS150 faster.. however I can safely sit on the middle lane of NKVE crusing 100 km/h All day..

Maybe when i managed to pull out bank heist.. will plonk in a 200cc bore up kit and an akra exhaust..
TSamoura
post Jan 30 2018, 11:12 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Jan 30 2018, 10:42 AM)
Switched to Vespa Sprint 150 3V from a Barley Davidson. as my daily communting weapon..

As for Vespa.. Yamaha Y15R and Honda RS150 faster.. however I can safely sit on the middle lane of NKVE crusing 100 km/h All day..

Maybe when i managed to pull out bank heist.. will plonk in a 200cc bore up kit and an akra exhaust..
Vespa huh? Not really into scooter type bike, but appreciate the view. How is the vespa? Is the fc is good? Maintenance cost? Ride and handling?

The price is a bit steep for me.
ajaibman
post Jan 30 2018, 11:38 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(amoura @ Jan 30 2018, 11:12 AM)
Vespa huh? Not really into scooter type bike, but appreciate the view. How is the vespa? Is the fc is good? Maintenance cost? Ride and handling?

The price is a bit steep for me.
Well to be honest, its a lifestyle item.. not really daily jepunis machine.. but hey its 100% made in Vietnam with weird Italian design.. (like 3v engine - why can't they put 4Valve SOHC like even Taiwanese scooter done that long time ago)..

FC is full tank 6 to 7 Litre can go up to almost 200km? but mostly 150 to 170 km already had amber light on..

Strong pickup pulls, running out of juice after 80 km/h.. struggling going to 100 km/h but the meter is accurate.. only 3 km/h different from GPS reading.. so when i reached the 110 km/h top speed (long time).. I am way ahead faster than the average had laju kebangsaan...

Maintenance.. its a premium scoot.. belting original cost you around 250 Rm.. and only last for 10k km.. roller about 80 to 100 rm to change per set.. engine oil changed ever 3k km.. using 10W-40 .. and has oil filter.. will set you back 60 Rm for ori vespa brand.. (more expensive than my harley filter)

Handling.. since I am used with the chaotic nature of riding a 1950's bike design.. I would say Vespa is much more stable.. however if you want to compare with jepunis scooter or kapchai stability.. don't.. (unless u change both shock absorber with Ohlins which set you back like buying a 2nd hand kapchai price a pair)..

This post has been edited by ajaibman: Jan 30 2018, 11:43 AM
TSamoura
post Jan 30 2018, 11:49 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Jan 30 2018, 11:38 AM)
Well to be honest, its a lifestyle item.. not really daily jepunis machine.. but hey its 100% made in Vietnam with weird Italian design.. (like 3v engine - why can't they put 4Valve SOHC like even Taiwanese scooter done that long time ago)..

FC is full tank 6 to 7 Litre can go up to almost 200km? but mostly 150 to 170 km already had amber light on..

Strong pickup pulls,  running out of juice after 80 km/h.. struggling going to 100 km/h but the meter is accurate.. only 3 km/h different from GPS reading.. so when i reached the 110 km/h top speed (long time).. I am way ahead faster than the average had laju kebangsaan...

Maintenance.. its a premium scoot.. belting original cost you around 250 Rm.. and only last for 10k km.. roller about 80 to 100 rm to change per set..  engine oil changed ever 3k km.. using 10W-40 .. and has oil filter.. will set you back 60 Rm for ori vespa brand.. (more expensive than my harley filter)

Handling.. since I am used with the chaotic nature of riding a 1950's bike design.. I would say Vespa is much more stable.. however if you want to compare with jepunis scooter or kapchai stability.. don't..  (unless u change both shock absorber with Ohlins which set you back like buying a 2nd hand kapchai price a pair)..
Thanks for the info. Vespa doesn't event have Malaysian official website. I once heard a joke from a friend about vespa, he told me "You can always tell the different between vespa and other motorcycle convoy, because the vespa spent most of the time on the side of the road, not on it." lol.gif This joke is for the old vespa of course.

I dont think i will ever bought one to be honest. Maybe if i have too much money. On the other hand, thanks for the well written info.
Justin.Loong
post Feb 2 2018, 11:00 AM

8,363 posts

Strong pickup pulls,  running out of juice after 80 km/h.. struggling going to 100 km/h but the meter is accurate.. only 3 km/h different from GPS reading.. so when i reached the 110 km/h top speed (long time).. I am way ahead faster than the average had laju kebangsaan...

Maintenance.. its a premium scoot.. belting original cost you around 250 Rm.. and only last for 10k km.. roller about 80 to 100 rm to change per set..  engine oil changed ever 3k km.. using 10W-40 .. and has oil filter.. will set you back 60 Rm for ori vespa brand.. (more expensive than my harley filter)

Handling.. since I am used with the chaotic nature of riding a 1950's bike design.. I would say Vespa is much more stable.. however if you want to compare with jepunis scooter or kapchai stability.. don't..  (unless u change both shock absorber with Ohlins which set you back like buying a 2nd hand kapchai price a pair)..
Are the CKD Vietnam Vespa sold in MY already? blink.gif drool.gif hmm.gif
I remember when Naza Premira launched Vespa S 125 and Piaggio Medley S 150 ABS, they said Vespa will sell the Vietnam CKD Vespa to Vietnam market first followed by Thailand as those are bigger scooter markets in SEA region. So no plans to import CKD VIetnam Vespa into MY. doh.gif
Justin.Loong
post Feb 2 2018, 11:03 AM

8,363 posts

QUOTE(amoura @ Jan 30 2018, 11:49 PM)
Thanks for the info. Vespa doesn't event have Malaysian official website. I once heard a joke from a friend about vespa, he told me "You can always tell the different between vespa and other motorcycle convoy, because the vespa spent most of the time on the side of the road, not on it."  lol.gif This joke is for the old vespa of course.

I dont think i will ever bought one to be honest. Maybe if i have too much money. On the other hand, thanks for the well written info.
But they have FB. My Vespa brows.gif nod.gif
ajaibman
post Feb 2 2018, 02:54 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Feb 2 2018, 11:00 AM)
Are the CKD Vietnam Vespa sold in MY already?  blink.gif  drool.gif  hmm.gif
I remember when Naza Premira launched Vespa S 125 and Piaggio Medley S 150 ABS, they said Vespa will sell the Vietnam CKD Vespa to Vietnam market first followed by Thailand as those are bigger scooter markets in SEA region. So no plans to import CKD VIetnam Vespa into MY. doh.gif
Its Vietnam CKD, all the manual book in Viet language 1st then English 2nd..

Naza strategy bro, because similar with Harley they tend to sell as "premium" product, in order to avoid the ASEAN CKD matters all together, the story as above came out.

The actual price is on par with Jepunis Scooters..
Justin.Loong
post Feb 6 2018, 10:30 AM

8,363 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Feb 2 2018, 02:54 PM)
Its Vietnam CKD, all the manual book in Viet language 1st then English 2nd..

Naza strategy bro, because similar with Harley they tend to sell as "premium" product, in order to avoid the ASEAN CKD matters all together, the story as above came out.

The actual price is on par with Jepunis Scooters..
OK! Good to know this! thumbsup.gif
saikia2046
post Feb 6 2018, 12:50 PM

414 posts

Scomadi 125, no high tech thing like new generation bikes so easy on maintenance. Classic design and the resale value will be better than common bike after many years. New unit priced at around RM8k+ and used unit from RM6k to 7k. Whatever you wear, it will fit the bike, not like normal kapchai, looks weird if wear formal clothes with tie or a leather jacket, or even with a full face helmet. New Vespa is better because can put helmet under the seat but the price is almost double.

saikia2046
post Feb 6 2018, 12:56 PM

414 posts

I have Vespa Sprint 3Vie. My puppy pulled the wire from the O2 sensor and it cost RM880 exclude GST and labor. Few months already I left it collecting dust at a corner and try to figure out if I can modify and put Myvi O2 sensor onto it or not.
basilisk
post Feb 6 2018, 01:26 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(saikia2046 @ Feb 6 2018, 12:56 PM)
I have Vespa Sprint 3Vie. My puppy pulled the wire from the O2 sensor and it cost RM880 exclude GST and labor. Few months already I left it collecting dust at a corner and try to figure out if I can modify and put Myvi O2 sensor onto it or not.
can u solder it back?

can buy online?
https://www.scooterwest.com/item_details/Ox...io-150-3V/10699

not cheap but almost half the price u get here...
saikia2046
post Feb 6 2018, 02:59 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Feb 6 2018, 01:26 PM)
can u solder it back?

can buy online?
https://www.scooterwest.com/item_details/Ox...io-150-3V/10699

not cheap but almost half the price u get here...
Pulled off from the sensor itself. No way can be repaired.
dudester
post Feb 20 2018, 09:56 PM

1,229 posts

interested to know the decision

TanJy1814
post Mar 8 2018, 09:48 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(real lee @ Mar 8 2018, 08:45 AM)
hi,i also looking for a new kapcai with storage under the seat to put normal size helmet with visor in it.....and dont 1 got cluch,
btw honda alpha wave can fit helmet ka under the seat?
Wave 125i or sym sport rider can👍
PedangGila
post Mar 8 2018, 11:15 AM

918 posts

If you guys can get your hand on this Honda Hurricane cub, still a good bargain but your shoes or feet will get the full brunt of water splashes. It might still go 110kmh or more. Below is not my bike but there's pretty solid group dedicated to this machine really since Im in two of their whatsapp group.

Add: Though if you go wild with the throttle this will easily makes you wanna cry.

This post has been edited by PedangGila: Mar 8 2018, 11:18 AM
haturaya
post Mar 8 2018, 09:31 PM

2,556 posts

QUOTE(real lee @ Mar 8 2018, 08:45 AM)
hi,i also looking for a new kapcai with storage under the seat to put normal size helmet with visor in it.....and dont 1 got cluch,
btw honda alpha wave can fit helmet ka under the seat?
Not Wave Alpha.

but Wave 125i can
wira020
post Mar 13 2018, 10:39 PM

111 posts

Hey guys. I am also looking to buy a new kapcai to replace my 135lc v1. Its gotten too old and need to be retired soon. So am looking at SYM sport rider or Modenas MR2. My job is only 10km away from my house. So I feel like spending too much would just be a waste and am only looking for a bike that could easily last me another 10 years or so.

I saw some interchange plate number bike on sale. Can anyone explain to me what thats actually about? Whats the pros and cons of buying those? I mean, whats the catch?
Justin.Loong
post Mar 14 2018, 08:55 AM

8,363 posts

QUOTE(wira020 @ Mar 13 2018, 10:39 PM)
Hey guys. I am also looking to buy a new kapcai to replace my 135lc v1. Its gotten too old and need to be retired soon. So am looking at SYM sport rider or Modenas MR2. My job is only 10km away from my house. So I feel like spending too much would just be a waste and am only looking for a bike that could easily last me another 10 years or so.

I saw some interchange plate number bike on sale. Can anyone explain to me what thats actually about? Whats the pros and cons of buying those? I mean, whats the catch?
Some people want to buy (reserve) special numbers for their new cars that has not arrived so they buy a cheap cubchai to "park" the special number temporarily.
When their car arrives, then they will interchange the bike's special numbers with their new car.
HaiiSuan
post Mar 16 2018, 04:13 PM

I would go for RS150R

common issues are with the engine coil and tensioner.
engine coil can use honda sonic
tensioner can use sbr250r tensioner

TSamoura
post Mar 23 2018, 12:16 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(Joe Kreutz @ Mar 16 2018, 04:09 PM)
Has ts made a decision yet? Im looking to get a bike too.

Was looking at honda dash, but if the vibration issue is real i might rethinking my decision.

Btw, honda dash or yamaha lagenda can go max what speed without overstressing the engine?
I gotta be honest with you guys, I actually bought a brand new laptop because my younger brother laptop (which is used to be mine) already kaput. So I give him my current laptop and bought a new (RM4k gaming) laptop. And any leftover money will be saved cause about to get married soon. Such life. Thanks for the feedback guys but sorry to disappointed you all. Its look like i will still riding the wave (125) to work.
BuncitPesonawan
post Mar 23 2018, 09:45 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(amoura @ Mar 23 2018, 12:16 AM)
I gotta be honest with you guys, I actually bought a brand new laptop because my younger brother laptop (which is used to be mine) already kaput. So I give him my current laptop and bought a new (RM4k gaming) laptop. And any leftover money will be saved cause about to get married soon. Such life. Thanks for the feedback guys but sorry to disappointed you all. Its look like i will still riding the wave (125) to work.
no worries bro. been there done that biggrin.gif
apple_crumble
post Mar 23 2018, 09:51 AM

QUOTE(amoura @ Mar 23 2018, 12:16 AM)
Don't worry bro, its call life cycle. Priority the important 1st.
New bike won't go any where. There will be new type of bike every year, new face lift, new system.
After all, rumors been chit chat, Y15ZR will upgrade to VVA Head system.
Is it true @BuncitPesonawan?
BuncitPesonawan
post Mar 23 2018, 10:09 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(apple_crumble @ Mar 23 2018, 09:51 AM)
Don't worry bro, its call life cycle. Priority the important 1st.
New bike won't go any where. There will be new type of bike every year, new face lift, new system.
After all, rumors been chit chat, Y15ZR will upgrade to VVA Head system.
Is it true @BuncitPesonawan?
haha rumors always there. our neighbor (Indo) already have their Vixion R with this VVA spec. Kalau Malaysia nak buat pun maybe follow model Vixion la, so jadi FZ R laugh.gif
apple_crumble
post Mar 23 2018, 10:16 AM

QUOTE(BuncitPesonawan @ Mar 23 2018, 10:09 AM)
haha rumors always there. our neighbor (Indo) already have their Vixion R with this VVA spec. Kalau Malaysia nak buat pun maybe follow model Vixion la, so jadi FZ R  laugh.gif
Ahahahaha, rumors too much bro.
Y15ZR VVA, M-Slaz will replace FZ, 175CC moped 6 Speed Gear.
Macam2x bro. FZ-R fuh mcm mengancam jer nama. heh rclxms.gif
BuncitPesonawan
post Mar 23 2018, 10:33 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(apple_crumble @ Mar 23 2018, 10:16 AM)
Ahahahaha, rumors too much bro.
Y15ZR VVA, M-Slaz will replace FZ, 175CC moped 6 Speed Gear.
Macam2x bro. FZ-R fuh mcm mengancam jer nama. heh  rclxms.gif
takpa la kita tengok ja orang pakai FZ-R pi depan dulu nanti. kita pakai Y15ZR ja datang dari belakang pelan2 brows.gif

0.0777sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:24 PM