63 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Dell XPS M1210 Support Thread #1, COD4? No problem...

derred
post May 10 2007, 12:08 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ May 9 2007, 10:47 PM)

Added on May 10, 2007, 2:24 am

are u sending it to depot? if u do it is always a good idea to format ur system before let anybody touches ur pc.. for security and privacy purposes.. unless all u have is nothing important. good luck to u..

doesnt get what you mean,why do i need to format my system after downloading a huge size of drama?i'll actually transfer it into my desktop & burn it to DVD.

will post my 3Dmark06 result ASAP,you guys can download it from the 3dmark website..i got the ahem thingy..then post your result too..curious to know what you guys score
oh sorry i somehow thot ur lappy defects and u were planning to send it to dell centre.. the way u describe the download drama made me confuse sorry about that.. yeah good luck on the score

Added on May 10, 2007, 12:13 pm
QUOTE(unknowndevices @ May 9 2007, 10:22 PM)
wah!...what you guys been discussing about?... hmm.gif
is it about the 3D and graphics thingy?mind to elaborate more... smile.gif
those this kind of thing related to graphics and multimedia? cool2.gif
hmm.. unknowndevices, its mainly about our graphic card performance.. we will basically know what is our GC + CPU performance range based on the software result. i think u need to read more urself for this. Better if u know point out what you dont understand. Try to read the previous posts to understand better. Give it a try.

FOR GC temperature & core memory MONITORING on system tray or dekstop, please scroll to my previous reply. Its somewhere up there..(right now its for Nvidia cards only tho,sorry i dont have ATi card so.. anyone with ATi card please post if already know-how)

This post has been edited by derred: May 10 2007, 12:27 PM
NewbieBetta
post May 10 2007, 12:28 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

here you go..today i score 200..where yesterday is 204.. doh.gif

eyen
post May 10 2007, 12:51 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(kwws @ May 10 2007, 12:32 AM)
generally vista is good...u need to work out with the tweaking of the 3D settings for ur nvidia awhile to master it...sometimes when settings are not in good mode, the animation of Aero lags abit more...overall still ok...hehe  icon_rolleyes.gif

i will try to help out if anyone having problem optimising the aero effects of vista icon_rolleyes.gif
Can you teach me how to optimize the 3d settings? Or point me to some site?

Thanks!

derred
post May 10 2007, 01:27 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

how u actually see the points ? im using the free one and this is how i always obtain the points(3dmark05). It seems different than NewbieBetta's ones. Im sorry if im not qualify as im not in the same league. but this is my first test with 3dmark06 so.. theres actually something surprising about my points.. for the comparisons tab, i rank #1 for the same configuration that others have.. probably im just lucky.. see picture 2

1)

2)

3)

FOR GC temperature & core memory MONITORING on system tray or dekstop, please scroll to my previous reply. Its somewhere up there..(right now its for Nvidia cards only tho,sorry i dont have ATi card so.. anyone with ATi card please post if already know-how)

Added on May 10, 2007, 1:54 pm
QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ May 9 2007, 11:28 PM)
here you go..today i score 200..where yesterday is 204.. doh.gif
hmm.. is it on Vista ? it seems like it isnt.. the points seems unfair to me.. what is ur temp reading during/after the test ? I saw u have some programs open in system tray. Try to off everything unnecessary before running 3dmark. I assume u know-how. Ask if u have anything in mind. Oh and please make sure ur temp isnt going more than 85 to 90 Celcius tops. If it does stop running 3dmark from now on. You might not want an overheat GC. I suggest to call dell and see if they can help with anything. If its GC problem, they must switch u for a new one. Let us know if u have news.

If anyone here using XP I could help with some performance boost on OS tweaking but NO OC.I dont have the guts to risk my warranty "investment".Voided warranty is a nightmare especially when u pay for more than a year-warranty.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by derred: May 10 2007, 02:02 PM
NewbieBetta
post May 10 2007, 02:01 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

5000score..are you using a desktop for that? 5000score are very high for just a Go7400,its imposibble...

weird..u will sure get a panel like mine for the result before sending it online..

do you download the latest 3dmark06 v1.1.0 do u have the cd-key?cause i do..mine are professional edition 1.1.0

and do select all for the test.

derred:yeah..im on xp..& my GC temp will reach 101C when running 3dmark on the bottom tray those are the temp reading..even im in idle no games..my temp min is 81C..normally it will be 85~88..i will call them as soon I finish transfering my important stuff to another pc..lol..3years warranty roxx thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by NewbieBetta: May 10 2007, 02:05 PM
derred
post May 10 2007, 02:05 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ May 10 2007, 01:01 AM)
5000score..are you using a desktop for that? 5000score are very high for just a Go7400,its imposibble...

weird..u will sure get a panel like mine for the result before sending it online..

do you download the latest 3dmark06 v1.1.0 do u have the cd-key?cause i do..mine are professional edition 1.1.0

I dont have the cd-key.. i do mention mine is the free one tongue.gif

its not a desktop but like i said im sorry if im not qualify as im not in the league. If u watch the tutorial closely u will see "7900 GO GS".. so.. erm..and its not likely to get 5000 with just 7900 gs too.. i hope u get my hint..
kwws
post May 10 2007, 02:11 PM

2,040 posts

damn...i just have a new problem...u guys know the dreamscene wallpaper on vista? its like using a short animated video wallpaper...it uses the graphics acceleration...
it was running smoothly lasnite but i encountered problems this morning when i start up...it starts become lagging n the HDD icon keeps flashing like hell!!! the whole XPS lags n i was forced to turn it off...i notice some evident buzzing sound when i was using it in quiet environment...
shit...could it be mobo or graphics module failure?
i duno how to report this to dell technical staff...doubt they have the solution to it though...
derred
post May 10 2007, 02:11 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ May 10 2007, 01:01 AM)

derred:yeah..im on xp..& my GC temp will reach 101C when running 3dmark on the bottom tray those are the temp reading..even im in idle no games..my temp min is 81C..normally it will be 85~88..i will call them as soon I finish transfering my important stuff to another pc..lol..3years warranty roxx thumbup.gif
Ok what i will suggest stop running the 3dmark for now. As soon we discover whats up with the high temp than we will go on test ur GC. For such heat problems, it can be from the environment temps to the tiniest dust that "wrap" ur fans. First thing struck my mind is how long since ur last shut down ? sorry in advance i dont want u to think im saying its ur fault but i prefer not to assume it has sumthing problem with the hardware. Bcoz we cant fix the hardware instead if its our probs, we could fix it rite away. biggrin.gif

Added on May 10, 2007, 2:16 pm
QUOTE(kwws @ May 10 2007, 01:11 AM)
damn...i just have a new problem...u guys know the dreamscene wallpaper on vista? its like using a short animated video wallpaper...it uses the graphics acceleration...
it was running smoothly lasnite but i encountered problems this morning when i start up...it starts become lagging n the HDD icon keeps flashing like hell!!! the whole XPS lags n i was forced to turn it off...i notice some evident buzzing sound when i was using it in quiet environment...
shit...could it be mobo or graphics module failure?
i duno how to report this to dell technical staff...doubt they have the solution to it though...
im sorry to hear that from u.. i would suggest call dell right now.. from my experience, its best to keep our patience high for these hard situations..
or u could try again one last time and see the workload on Task Manager. See whats bugging ur cpu and memory. I heard such problems when u update wrong GC drivers. Idk as i couldnt reach any further about ur prob. Try Dell tech support."solutions only come when we as customers willing to co-operate; even if hes the best techie in the world, he will fixes nothing not until us willing to listen,follow and co-operate"

i bet they have.. even if they dont sort it out.. they need to fix/replace you with the usable one if u still didn't void anything..

This post has been edited by derred: May 10 2007, 02:30 PM
dingding
post May 10 2007, 04:06 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ May 9 2007, 02:11 PM)
weird..when i compare my xps lcd with my samsung lcd...when on white color display for both lcd panel I had compare them both..i notice the xps look alittle yellowish,while the samsung is real white..how come the xps look alittle yellowish?

something wrong ah?
i guess you probably have a toshiba panel....
do you have the integrated webcam? look between the gap of it and the lcd, do you see some yellow light when the power is on?
that's what i observed from the toshiba panel i got in the replacement unit. requested to swap the samsung screen from the old one to the replacement unit.
coz feel a bit unhappy with it's slightly lower contrast (hardly noticable, but still, dont feel nice that the old one appear nicer)
and also there's some irregular leakage over the upper right corner.....
NewbieBetta
post May 10 2007, 04:08 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

QUOTE(derred @ May 10 2007, 02:05 PM)
I dont have the cd-key.. i do mention mine is the free one  tongue.gif

its not a desktop but like i said im sorry if im not qualify as im not in the league. If u watch the tutorial closely u will see "7900 GO GS".. so.. erm..and its not likely to get 5000 with just 7900 gs too.. i hope u get my hint..
ic..sorry..i tought u are using xps..yeah i notice you are on 7900GS the score are ok..im not a nvidia 7 series user..not sure about how a 7900GS will score..

well im actually not complaining my high temp GC,cause i will call definitely call dell on this problem..I had PM you regarding the 3Dmark06
kwws
post May 10 2007, 04:21 PM

2,040 posts

QUOTE(derred @ May 10 2007, 02:11 PM)
im sorry to hear that from u.. i would suggest call dell right now.. from my experience, its best to keep our patience high for these hard situations..
or u could try again one last time and see the workload on Task Manager. See whats bugging ur cpu and memory. I heard such problems when u update wrong GC drivers. Idk as i couldnt reach any further about ur prob. Try Dell tech support."solutions only come when we as customers willing to co-operate; even if hes the best techie in the world, he will fixes nothing not until us willing to listen,follow and co-operate"

i bet they have.. even if they dont sort it out.. they need to fix/replace you with the usable one if u still didn't void anything..
i think i've found the problem...so far im not sure whether its vista prob or my hardware problem...but i believe the main issue should be software based i suppose...
i jus found out that evrytime i boot up vista ultimate, my HDD light will keep blinking for around 5-10 minutes maybe...not too sure...all i noe is it will take some time...if im loading the dreamscene wallpaper when the HDD is still running initially, i will experience problems i've stated jusnow...driver stop responding, lagging...blabla

so off i set, i patiently wait for the HDD to stop blinking in the end, n i load the dreamscene after that, evrything went smoothly without hassle nod.gif no frequent blinking in HDD icon anymore...

so any dreamscene users out thr, beware...
i think its advisable not to set ur dreamscene wallpaper whenever u reboot, only set it after u finish booting up, so its better to turn it off evrytime u wanna shut down...
im still experimenting this..

any vista ultimate users out thr plz note this problem...i suppose 5400rpm HDD is not enuf for vista sweat.gif

Added on May 10, 2007, 4:25 pm
QUOTE(dingding @ May 10 2007, 04:06 PM)
i guess you probably have a toshiba panel....
do you have the integrated webcam? look between the gap of it and the lcd, do you see some yellow light when the power is on?
that's what i observed from the toshiba panel i got in the replacement unit. requested to swap the samsung screen from the old one to the replacement unit.
coz feel a bit unhappy with it's slightly lower contrast (hardly noticable, but still, dont feel nice that the old one appear nicer)
and also there's some irregular leakage over the upper right corner.....
u mean if got yellow light on the gap of webcam n lcd over thr means is toshiba lcd unit?
i think my white contrast oso abit yellow....but dunno...i think jus the colors abit warmer....its ok for me though...the last replacement unit i have was a pure white one, perhaps its samsung im not sure, n doesnt have the yellow light above the webcam thr like my old unit...but the colors seems unreal to me, lighter contrast, less saturation and abit of light leakage, so i reswap the lcd...

wad i did is i tweaked the color n contrast settings in nvidia panel...i managed to get good colors after that...but be warn u need to spend some time fixing that...colors r v sensitive icon_rolleyes.gif
but for my vista now, cant tweak it anymore...no such settings on vista driver sweat.gif

i think ur just too sensitive with it...overall its nothing much...jus bear with it...some LCDs are worst off out thr

This post has been edited by kwws: May 10 2007, 04:28 PM
dingding
post May 10 2007, 04:31 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ May 9 2007, 04:38 PM)
OMG i run 3dmark06 & i got 204 marks only...omg..wth..my fps is like 0~1

any of you guys test your 7400 before..& my temp shot up to 101C..siao..i will call DELL..so "dell" la.. doh.gif

and need to change which setting to make it looks cooler..?
i'm using the full version also.....
I got fps 0~1 also....
=.=''
the whole thing is like so..... lag!
i din let the test go to completion....
maybe will try to let it go to completion later....
but not expecting much also.....

the full version comes with a stupid small game in it.... tried playing it, it's so darn laggy unless i set the settings to the lowest......

kwws
post May 10 2007, 04:57 PM

2,040 posts

Dell's D630 is out...i just configured with almost similar spec with my XPS for around 5.4k only...santa rosa man!!!
but anyway its heavier though...heard that intel's base media graphics should be way better than Go7400
unknowndevices
post May 10 2007, 07:02 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(kwws @ May 10 2007, 04:57 PM)
Dell's D630 is out...i just configured with almost similar spec with my XPS for around 5.4k only...santa rosa man!!!
but anyway its heavier though...heard that intel's base media graphics should be way better than Go7400
wah!...finally...santa rosa is in our shore... rclxms.gif
looking forward for thread the full with santa rosa owners... cool2.gif
how many models Dell planning to launch with santa rosa? hmm.gif
wah!...really?...intel's base media graphics is better?... rolleyes.gif
TSEiraku
post May 10 2007, 08:06 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(kwws @ May 10 2007, 04:21 PM)
i think i've found the problem...so far im not sure whether its vista prob or my hardware problem...but i believe the main issue should be software based i suppose...
i jus found out that evrytime i boot up vista ultimate, my HDD light will keep blinking for around 5-10 minutes maybe...not too sure...all i noe is it will take some time...if im loading the dreamscene wallpaper when the HDD is still running initially, i will experience problems i've stated jusnow...driver stop responding, lagging...blabla

so off i set, i patiently wait for the HDD to stop blinking in the end, n i load the dreamscene after that, evrything went smoothly without hassle nod.gif no frequent blinking in HDD icon anymore...

so any dreamscene users out thr, beware...
i think its advisable not to set ur dreamscene wallpaper whenever u reboot, only set it after u finish booting up, so its better to turn it off evrytime u wanna shut down...
im still experimenting this..

any vista ultimate users out thr plz note this problem...i suppose 5400rpm HDD is not enuf for vista sweat.gif

Added on May 10, 2007, 4:25 pm

u mean if got yellow light on the gap of webcam n lcd over thr means is toshiba lcd unit?
i think my white contrast oso abit yellow....but dunno...i think jus the colors abit warmer....its ok for me though...the last replacement unit i have was a pure white one, perhaps its samsung im not sure, n doesnt have the yellow light above the webcam thr like my old unit...but the colors seems unreal to me, lighter contrast, less saturation and abit of light leakage, so i reswap the lcd...

wad i did is i tweaked the color n contrast settings in nvidia panel...i managed to get good colors after that...but be warn u need to spend some time fixing that...colors r v sensitive  icon_rolleyes.gif
but for my vista now, cant tweak it anymore...no such settings on vista driver sweat.gif

i think ur just too sensitive with it...overall its nothing much...jus bear with it...some LCDs are worst off out thr
I think that's Vista's indexing system at work... It indexes your hard drive every time you add something new, or delete something so make searches faster... I personally set my HDD to NOT be indexed for this very reason, so that it doesn't use the HDD unnecessarily... icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on May 10, 2007, 8:12 pm
QUOTE(kwws @ May 10 2007, 04:57 PM)
X3100 is just a mobile version of the GMA X3000, so comparable to the 7400go, yes... Way better, I don't think so... It's still running DirectX9.0c with Shader Model 3 too... icon_rolleyes.gif

But it's sure WAYYYYY better then any 900 series GMA out there... thumbup.gif

EDIT: I've checked online, it seems that the X3000 IS better then the NVs GF6150 onboard chip, at least... The mobile X3100 should be around that point too... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: May 10 2007, 08:22 PM
dingding
post May 10 2007, 08:35 PM

248 posts

My score on 3DMark06...
Using Nvidia Go 7400, 2.0GHz Core 2 Duo, 2 x 1024MB DDR2 Ram at 667MHz, Windows Vista Home Premium

kwws
post May 10 2007, 08:45 PM

2,040 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ May 10 2007, 08:06 PM)
I think that's Vista's indexing system at work... It indexes your hard drive every time you add something new, or delete something so make searches faster... I personally set my HDD to NOT be indexed for this very reason, so that it doesn't use the HDD unnecessarily... icon_rolleyes.gif
i disabled indexing part...but the problem still persists...evrytime i boot up vista, the HDD will keep on blinking for around 3-5 minutes...checked thru task manager couldnt find anything suspecting... sweat.gif
dingding
post May 10 2007, 09:03 PM

248 posts

yeah...
mine too...
the hdd blinks for 3-5 minutes every time when the system boots up.
and when i use the reliability and performance monitor to check, it's svchost that is the culprit. still not sure of why that svchost stresses the hard disk so much every time during system bootup.....
it's like reading all the dll files in the computer...
try monitoring it by searching for "reliability and performance monitor" in ur vista.....

Added on May 10, 2007, 9:06 pmyeah...
mine too...
the hdd blinks for 3-5 minutes every time when the system boots up.
and when i use the reliability and performance monitor to check, it's svchost that is the culprit. still not sure of why that svchost stresses the hard disk so much every time during system bootup.....
it's like reading all the dll files in the computer...
try monitoring it by searching for "reliability and performance monitor" in ur vista.....

This post has been edited by dingding: May 10 2007, 09:06 PM
kwws
post May 10 2007, 09:38 PM

2,040 posts

watchout for nvidia users...'nvlddmkm' pop up error has been very common
i recommend u guys to stop using dreamscene if anyone of you has one, as the current nvidia driver has problem with dreamscene...it keeps on hanging n crashes...after that ur dreamscene becomes very laggy n so is ur gaming...
normally it happens after u done gaming with dreamscene working in background and oso normal bootup...so far nvidia hasnt solve this problem yet

man...nvidia just sucks big time! regret having it
derred
post May 10 2007, 10:04 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

QUOTE(kwws @ May 10 2007, 08:38 AM)
watchout for nvidia users...'nvlddmkm' pop up error has been very common
i recommend u guys to stop using dreamscene if anyone of you has one, as the current nvidia driver has problem with dreamscene...it keeps on hanging n crashes...after that ur dreamscene becomes very laggy n so is ur gaming...
normally it happens after u done gaming with dreamscene working in background and oso normal bootup...so far nvidia hasnt solve this problem yet

man...nvidia just sucks big time! regret having it
Im sorry to hear that.. i dont think its just nvidia's fault. Like i mention earlier, it would be better for us laptop user to stick with XP for the time being. As we all know all our laptops are not dx10-capable, so why bother Vista unless u see some performance gains etc.

By the way, NewbieBetta.. thanks thank thanks !! rclxms.gif So here is the pro result:

its about the same as the free one.NewbieBetta, i really appreciate ur help. And for those who lazy to read the whole thread, i know im not qualify as im not in XPS league. but still, my system is a mobile system. I guess i beat my own 1st score on the comparison for d same configuration.

here it says #1(You) the score is just 5375 but the other one is 5377. Just beat myself by 2 points ! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by derred: May 11 2007, 01:17 AM

63 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:49 AM