Dell XPS M1210 Support Thread #1, COD4? No problem...

dingding
post May 7 2007, 12:25 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(Guardian @ May 4 2007, 09:13 AM)
Yes,you should.If not mistaken,heat will reduce the battery life,correct me if I am wrong.
i called dell and asked them regarding whether i should remove it, and they told me it's not neccessary. They say mobos will cut off the power to it once it's fully charge.
And one thing i'm concerned of is the possibility of dust accumulation at the contact if you remove the battery.
dingding
post May 7 2007, 04:34 PM

248 posts

is the new nvidia 7400 driver compatible with vista?
it's not listed when i put my os as vista...
only comes out when i put my os as xp....

and my firmware is 97.46 already, the one recently added is v.94.22 (does higher number mean newer version??)
dingding
post May 8 2007, 04:14 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(kwws @ May 7 2007, 04:55 PM)
yea compatible...dell have updated a newer driver oledi...
but somehow the new driver has less settings compared to old one...powermizer n screen color settings are gone
how do they name the version of the driver ar??
how come newer one has a lower value? 94.22
while the older one has a higher value? 97.46
should i install it eh?
i got 3.4 for gaming graphics and 3.7 for graphics currently...
scared later drop after installing the newer version....
coz maybe it's juz compatible with vista, but not optimum and maybe that's why they didn't list it under the vista os?

This post has been edited by dingding: May 8 2007, 04:19 AM
dingding
post May 8 2007, 03:13 PM

248 posts

yealor... not much settings...
wan set like overlay, can let other ppl watch movie on the tv and me continue doing my stuff.... but cannot.... can make two screens though, but a bit mafan....

kwws u get 3.6 is because of the hard disk u're using. i think it's a toshiba which has a slightly lower speed i guess. u get 4.3 for hard disk rite? if yes then i guess it's a toshiba.....

the replacement unit i got is using toshiba hard disk and i got 3.6 for graphics also... but after swapping the hard disk with a hitachi that has 4.4, the graphics rating rose to 3.7....

This post has been edited by dingding: May 8 2007, 03:15 PM
dingding
post May 10 2007, 04:06 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ May 9 2007, 02:11 PM)
weird..when i compare my xps lcd with my samsung lcd...when on white color display for both lcd panel I had compare them both..i notice the xps look alittle yellowish,while the samsung is real white..how come the xps look alittle yellowish?

something wrong ah?
i guess you probably have a toshiba panel....
do you have the integrated webcam? look between the gap of it and the lcd, do you see some yellow light when the power is on?
that's what i observed from the toshiba panel i got in the replacement unit. requested to swap the samsung screen from the old one to the replacement unit.
coz feel a bit unhappy with it's slightly lower contrast (hardly noticable, but still, dont feel nice that the old one appear nicer)
and also there's some irregular leakage over the upper right corner.....
dingding
post May 10 2007, 04:31 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ May 9 2007, 04:38 PM)
OMG i run 3dmark06 & i got 204 marks only...omg..wth..my fps is like 0~1

any of you guys test your 7400 before..& my temp shot up to 101C..siao..i will call DELL..so "dell" la.. doh.gif

and need to change which setting to make it looks cooler..?
i'm using the full version also.....
I got fps 0~1 also....
=.=''
the whole thing is like so..... lag!
i din let the test go to completion....
maybe will try to let it go to completion later....
but not expecting much also.....

the full version comes with a stupid small game in it.... tried playing it, it's so darn laggy unless i set the settings to the lowest......

dingding
post May 10 2007, 08:35 PM

248 posts

My score on 3DMark06...
Using Nvidia Go 7400, 2.0GHz Core 2 Duo, 2 x 1024MB DDR2 Ram at 667MHz, Windows Vista Home Premium

dingding
post May 10 2007, 09:03 PM

248 posts

yeah...
mine too...
the hdd blinks for 3-5 minutes every time when the system boots up.
and when i use the reliability and performance monitor to check, it's svchost that is the culprit. still not sure of why that svchost stresses the hard disk so much every time during system bootup.....
it's like reading all the dll files in the computer...
try monitoring it by searching for "reliability and performance monitor" in ur vista.....

Added on May 10, 2007, 9:06 pmyeah...
mine too...
the hdd blinks for 3-5 minutes every time when the system boots up.
and when i use the reliability and performance monitor to check, it's svchost that is the culprit. still not sure of why that svchost stresses the hard disk so much every time during system bootup.....
it's like reading all the dll files in the computer...
try monitoring it by searching for "reliability and performance monitor" in ur vista.....

This post has been edited by dingding: May 10 2007, 09:06 PM
dingding
post May 13 2007, 02:46 AM

248 posts

haha...
i dont like the speaker jack also....
i'm using Cooler Master NotePal, and having the jack in front makes it troublesome!
but then they got no place to place it anymore. The side is already full and so is the back.....
dingding
post May 19 2007, 03:23 PM

248 posts

congrats hi54ever...
so how much is ur xps eh?
usin vista?
dingding
post May 23 2007, 10:43 AM

248 posts

laihuhng... may i know ur specs please??
using nvidia geforce go 7400 or intel GMA 950?
if it's nvidia then i think there's something wrong lor...
there may be slight difference from units to units depending on things like ur hard disk, but you should get at least over 3.0...
i've got a replacement unit and the replacement unit scored 3.3, which is 0.1 lower than the 3.4 scored on the old unit....
and the reason for this difference is because of the hard disk... the old one uses hitachi hard disk that has a slightly faster rate than the toshiba used in the new one.....

i discovered that the keyboard for the replacement unit feels cheap too... it's like when you press it it's not so bouncy or sth... dunno how to describe..... this batch they use keyboard from other manufacturer i guess..... and i requested to swap the keyboard from my old unit...
dingding
post May 23 2007, 01:33 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(laihuhng @ May 23 2007, 10:58 AM)
Hi dingding,

Here is my spec...

- Intel C2D T5500
- MS Vista 32bit
- TrueLife display without webcam
- 2G (2 x 1024MB) 667 Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
- 80GB SATA Hard Drive
- Internal 8X DVD+/-RW Combination Drive with dual layer capabilities
- 256MB NVIDIA(R) GeForce(R) Go 7400 TurboCache <--- misleading, only 64MB
The rest should be common items...
Go to the performance there, click Update my score.
The first time u boot up windows, it will first do a benchmark on your computer and give you the windows experience index. But as what i've experienced, that first benchmark isn't accurate one. Last time at first i also get a lower benchmark. After i click on Update my score, it will do the benchmark again and then the gaming graphics score got up higher to 3.4...
So juz click 'Update my score' and your score should get up to 3.4 or at least 3.3 depending on your hard disk speed or other components.

dingding
post May 26 2007, 01:43 AM

248 posts

well, i guess most of the technicians dont really know all the systems. there are like so many types of model of laptops and they dun have like specific team to deal with certain models.....
everytime they open, they seem uncertain of the stuff. some are juz like trial and error.... some always forget to remove certain screws and then try pulling it out hard then oni realise..... =.=''.....
dingding
post May 26 2007, 04:10 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(death_nite @ May 26 2007, 02:29 AM)
alamak...like dat he cannot be technicion laa..

if wanna dismantle smthg...there's 1 rule must follow....make sure u did wat ever u did b4 in reverse format...

like step A B C D E then when we wanna put everythg back we should do step E D C B A...

dismantling a notebook is easier than wat it look...one should hv good memory as if one does not hv good memory, one should not be a technicion laugh.gif

but seriusly laa...even he dismantling many system, he shoudl rmmbr the step he did b4...i cant forgive such mistake...

last time, rite after dell techie change my procs...after several week, i decided to dismantling my notebook....bcos last time he didnt apply new thermalpaste...temp kindaa high then usual...do rmmbr...this is my 1st notebook...nvr dismantling any notebook...n dat was my 1st time wacthing people dismantling a notebook...with my 1st attempt, i successfully dismantle n putting it back together without forgeting any step....y? bcos i am carefull...as long as u carefull, sure wont forget any steps...haih....

if clumsy....haih...no hope sweat.gif actually i should complaint to dell...but donwan larr... smile.gif
if you're careful, it's gonna be fine.... and moreover, it's ur own lappie sure u're gonna sayang it more, scared to scratch it or do any damage.... but for the technicians, they are kinda rushing coz they still need to go to other customers one.... so basically, they juz need to solve the problem complained by the customer.... they don't mind cropping up new problems.... =).... juz like my system.... every time they come = new problems cropping up after they get the initial problem fixed.....

This post has been edited by dingding: May 26 2007, 04:14 PM
dingding
post May 26 2007, 05:31 PM

248 posts

if you wish to, juz ask for it. I think your request is quite reasonable after giving so much trouble and defacing to it.....

Added on May 26, 2007, 5:39 pmn for my case, dell said in view of the problems i faced, if i'm still unsatisfied, they can giv a full refund (mine is long over 14 days adee)..... so if you wish to get a refund i think you can too request for it....

This post has been edited by dingding: May 26 2007, 05:44 PM
dingding
post May 27 2007, 01:50 AM

248 posts

the linksys one i suppose it's a WRT54G
dingding
post Jun 2 2007, 01:48 AM

248 posts

it's 1330 not 1310 =P
dingding
post Jun 3 2007, 01:23 PM

248 posts

regarding the electricity leakage problem, i suppose u guys are using extension plugs right? izzit sirim approved? previously my brother's latitude laptop had this problem too. Dell changed the power cord and mobo, and the problem persists, till another technician came, and suspected about the extension plug...... and the problem is solved.... try not using any extension cord n c.... that should fix it...
dingding
post Jun 3 2007, 03:52 PM

248 posts

those 4 pin extension plug should be fine, the one that my brother's had problem with is those... erm... how to say.... the small cuboidal thingy (dunno what izzit called.. LoL)....
dingding
post Jun 3 2007, 10:59 PM

248 posts

Hey guys, juz discovered something regarding the humming noise frm the fan area....

I get the humming noise only when the Wifi is on!
When the wifi is off, there's no humming noise at all!
I don't know why also.....
Weird...

Try yours and see! i guess it should be the same too....

0.0186sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:07 PM