Bodybuilding [Bodybuilding] V2, come here and share with the pros

gtoforce
post Jun 23 2007, 01:16 AM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

"Now the question (this is the key to the concept that will change everything):

If the last few reps of a high intensity set really do recruit extra muscle fibers, then why aren't the last few reps the easiest?"

haha...very enlightening

but i thought strength is developed not during workouts, but after workouts? which means, we can lift more later after recovery...i dunno...thats what i tot
IMHO if we already pakai the energy pool + water, cannot lift more la after the deciding last rep...what more if we take psychology in account too...where we penat and give up the last rep...

gtoforce
post Jun 23 2007, 11:21 AM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Jun 23 2007, 10:31 AM)
actually.......fiberoptic, i'll tell you benching bodyweight in 2-3 months is KINDA ez you know~
I think in 4 weeks of training (when I was 16 or so), I could already benchpress 61KG's which was my bodyweight. Then again, i was a major push-up'er ....so i guess that kinda helped.

They say, there're a few stages where the weights seem to never go up.

135LBS
225LBS (I can attest to this, been stuck here on bench for months!)
315LBS

It seems there's a psychology thing attributed to these 3 sections. So they suggested using more plates in smaller numbers to cut off the psychology effect.

btw....can post those threads?
but this also depends on how u recover and whats the consistency of training kan?
i dunno but i was told that usually people who go gym at 3 times per week and do splits they gain the strength little slower la
i dunno...
haha...

gtoforce
post Jun 23 2007, 03:53 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jun 23 2007, 11:51 AM)
How would you define light? How would you define heavy? If you move a poundage which is 80% of your 1RM, it would be considered heavy for you but light to a stronger individual. But you still would be trying to move that weight up in the concentric phase as fast as possible even though it would look slow to an observer because it's "heavy". And as for the eccentric phase of the lift, I'm sure as hell when he says fast, he doesn't mean dropping the poundage on your chest while doing the bench press with no form of control over the weight.

And as for the subject of going to failure, a trainee needs to learn how to reach near failure in most of his sets; eg. one to reps shy of failure. This comes with experience and knowing your own body. Because going till failure all the time will severely tax your central nervous system and nobody wants that. We're not talking about physiological recovery in this aspect, we're talking about neural failure. And also, there's concentric failure, eccentric failure but that's another story.

And no, that's too broad of a statement already, benching bodyweight that easily so soon. Too many factors involved. A skinny 60kg kid can obviously bench bodyweight easier and faster than a 90 kg trainee. The former doesn't impress me but the latter does.
How you recover depends on your nutrition and what you do outside the gym. Most Malaysian trainees do not take care of their factors OUTSIDE the gym. Your muscles grow while you're resting, eating and sleeping, not in the gym. Like what T + 1 says, you stimulate hypertrophy and improve neural efficiency in the gym, you grow outside the gym.
well, i know that to me to bench 50kgs is still a lot but to most people its featherweight
haha...im still benching at 45kgs...still need muscle strength and balance...
if i add more, i'll do less and the bar will goyang more which is bad...

on failure, whatever i do, i'll stop 1-2 sets before i cannot angkat no more...
then i'll train with that current failing weight until i can complete the current set with full form....

but darklite, mind explaining when u mentioned bout taking care of the factors outside gym...n0ob here on this as well

This post has been edited by gtoforce: Jun 23 2007, 03:53 PM
gtoforce
post Jun 23 2007, 04:21 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(f1br3opt1c @ Jun 23 2007, 04:18 PM)
Darklight means u have to fight with people outside the gym to get stronger. Haha. Im just joking, i think what he means is you have to take care of you nutritions and rest outside of the gym.
haha...
well nutrition now becomes a burden
i think i undereat la...cuz sumtimes got no time to eat well
kat office, busy giler
and the boss plak garang and always has some errands for me to do
and im most of the time on the road...
my protein depends on meat,fish,eggs,ayam and whey + milk
my carbs are roti and some little amount of nasik...and whey + milk...sumtimes a choc bar...
but i do know that since im at home, people cook pakai minyak or in other words goreng la...thats really hard for me...
i love vegies...but at most times they are cooked which to my knowledge, the nutrients 90% gone...hahaha
gtoforce
post Jun 23 2007, 07:27 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Jun 23 2007, 06:50 PM)
its not do or dont. do everything, is the best way IMO. like the westside program. dynamic, repetitive and maximum effort.
rather than do everything better do those yang affect the muscles significantly kan
haha
dudes, my berat naik la
i dont remember makan fattening foods and dont remember minum too much air
what eh?
i think fat but my body sama je
i dont think muscle cuz badan still buruk
haha
gtoforce
post Jun 24 2007, 11:19 PM

2,967 posts

gtoforce
post Jun 25 2007, 02:31 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jun 25 2007, 01:35 PM)
Water is optimal. I sometimes drink 3 litres of water in a single workout session. Not forcing myself mind you, i get that thirsty.
3 litres normal but thats because i only have that in thy gym
but if got milk there, i take milk
ahaha...
i really hate plain water
gtoforce
post Jun 25 2007, 11:43 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(victor_hoh @ Jun 25 2007, 04:12 PM)
u mean drinking 3 litre of water during a workout session that last around 1 hour is normal?
i didnt say normal for me...
haha...
i'd drink lesser..maybe 1.5-2
normal days, just 2l

wah...i usually neglect creatine...although sumtimes i take...
darn...this time will take la...even for my swim
gtoforce
post Jun 26 2007, 09:33 PM

2,967 posts

wah chris more than 60kg's per hand eh?
haha...
my limit is still 30kg's...but i must say im proud of it
cuz last time at terry's gym, i can only curl dumbells at 10pounds...haha
gtoforce
post Jun 26 2007, 11:51 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(T+1 @ Jun 26 2007, 10:49 PM)
he pressed 90lbs dumbbells.
30kg dumbbells are quite heavy for incline bench press. i press less than u, just 65lbs blush.gif
incline ke?
incline im still at 20-22kg's with barbells or dumbbells...im stuck at this for the moment... 3 x 8-12
i actually thought differently thats why i mentioned sumthing else
hahaha
silap statement la...haha... tongue.gif

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jun 26 2007, 11:11 PM)
Lol... I wish! That's already like a pro bodybuilder's standard. Those aren't 60kgs man. Dumbell progression isn't easy like barbells.
haha...
inclines are hard...thats where i was mistaken...
bench's different...got the wrong message...
but even if i can do presses with medium weight dumbbels...my curls with barbells still stuck at 18kg...and that's with ezy bar...

Added on June 26, 2007, 11:56 pmi saw this guy progresses so fast at curls
when i first came to gold's, die pun baru 3 hari joined

now already 2 1/2 months
he's curling at 35kg's
darn...
his hands exploded...

tapi i gain the upperhand cuz my overall workout upgraded
yay...
and i did my 800m swimming freestyle at just 12mins 40sec...yay
continued to 1km which ended at 16mins...haha
darn

This post has been edited by gtoforce: Jun 26 2007, 11:57 PM
gtoforce
post Jun 27 2007, 12:06 AM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Jun 26 2007, 11:58 PM)
gto force u do quite an amount of swimming eh. u like swimming? lol
haha
i find joy in it...
tapi nanti i show u my swimming pool pic
its small...
but to complete 1km, u gotta ulang 110 laps...
gile penat sial...hahaha

and jones, i edited my journal
care to check...
haha...
some questions over there need answering
gtoforce
post Jun 27 2007, 12:31 AM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Jun 27 2007, 12:24 AM)
replied your journal! tick the do not merge iwth previous post tag to bump up your journal
much thanks
haha...

btw i sold my dumbbells to one guy called lkc in the forum
told him to join this forum

gtoforce
post Jun 30 2007, 12:48 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Jun 30 2007, 12:40 PM)
u mean those machine they use in the market to weigh fish and vege? lol
HELLO DUDES
been off la lepas ni
streamyx said i havent paid for 3 months and its been 3 days since my net ok
sucks la...my dad never missed any payments
assholes
haha
anyways, i yesterady went gym...
and dare i say i've increased my incline bench, triceps extension and bench press for about 5-10kg's
haha...
today nak tengok wat else to increase...

the swimming helps i think
gtoforce
post Jul 2 2007, 08:46 PM

2,967 posts

wah i missed all the stuffs here ke?
sheesh
stupid tmnet...go and cut off my net when my dad's been religiously paying this stupid service for years...

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jul 1 2007, 03:55 PM)
I go clubbing sometimes but when people force me to drink, I pretend to sip at it and empty the cup elsewhere if i have no choice and they don't take no for an answer. Alcohol + creatine = bad combo. Cell dehydration = extreme catabolic effect.

Alcohol alone decreases testosterone levels. Ever figured why some of you aren't growing as much as you'd like?
haha...just my part la
i go club too
and as a muslim, and darn right i am, i dont drink...and i dont smoke
for god's sake, i only see those orang putih je yang can excel in bb with drinking and smoke... tongue.gif
anyways, i got all the insults and condemnation from my fellow malays for not drinking and not smoking in clubs....
yippeee ki yay....no wonder they all boroi and have chicken ass legs...haha

gtoforce
post Jul 2 2007, 08:49 PM

2,967 posts

something for u guys k?
haha
its nearby where i stayed in adelaide few weeks back

nah....
gtoforce
post Jul 2 2007, 10:00 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(egoeagle @ Jul 2 2007, 09:59 PM)
LOL...I laughed really hard when i saw that pic.They must have some sorta holy steroids there.Divine steroids.LOL.
haha
only for christians
its a gym under one christian mass
haha
never saw it opened though
i think the mass pindah already
gtoforce
post Jul 3 2007, 01:02 AM

2,967 posts

what does satan shield means?
gtoforce
post Jul 5 2007, 12:10 AM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Jul 4 2007, 11:34 PM)
Lol...Sorry...I am kinda like economical guy...I will normally go for price first...That's why most of my bb mechanism are second hand brows.gif
but lets hope u spend right on food k
cuz makan is really a bit mahal to maintain healthy
haha

gtoforce
post Jul 5 2007, 12:19 AM

2,967 posts

rm20 a day?
mahal nyer
well i makan at home usually
so i tend to eat free...save my money but not my parents' la
hehehe

gtoforce
post Jul 5 2007, 01:34 AM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Jul 5 2007, 12:40 AM)
one post workout minimum cost me 7 bucks at mamak, rice + meet + vege + egg la. i spend 1-2 meals every day outside. usually pre pre bed or dinner
well
i usually take milk...haha
inside or outside
tapi outside, i usually lepak coffeebean or stabux
and have americano...tanak all thsoe fatty fraps

if at mamak, take eggs but discard the yellow
and some ikan or seafood
haha

so basically memang mahal la nak hidop sihat

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top