QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Sep 5 2018, 11:21 AM)
if no clunk sure the gearbox broken one la.. Kawasaki Z900 1-month review, & views after being a 9-month old biker
Kawasaki Z900 1-month review, & views after being a 9-month old biker
Sep 5 2018, 11:41 AM
64 posts Joined: Jun 2014 |
Sep 5 2018, 11:49 AM
157 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
Sep 5 2018, 11:50 AM
88 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Naked bike have to handle well, with bar up high. Its gonna be shite if it handle poor, that is why ppl get it in the first place. Who wants to buy a bike that handle like shite.
Unless u r talking bout supersport, constant crouch. Even that, there is plenty of way riding a sportbike comfortable. |
Sep 5 2018, 12:09 PM
31 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
okay. now already 50:50 between Z900 & MT-09 Tracer....
hehehehe... |
Sep 5 2018, 12:11 PM
2,311 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Dark Zone, NYC |
Sep 5 2018, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(mat_7824 @ Sep 5 2018, 12:09 PM) Test both first, but z900 engine is super smooth, besides even if its a naked bike, you can turn it to touring no problem, theres ton of tall windshield for z900, just the downside it will look uglier |
Sep 5 2018, 04:53 PM
0 posts Joined: Oct 2014 |
Thanks for the informative review OP!
QUOTE(testkindtest @ Sep 5 2018, 09:37 AM) Sorry for bumping this thread, i want to share my experience owning a z900. My previous bike was blade 250->z800->street triple 675->z900 Given that you've ridden both the z800 and z900, how would you compare the two against each other? I've only test-ridden a z800 and the biggest issues were the weight and seat height. Loved the rest of the bike, but didn't like the huge amount of plastic on what is supposed to be a naked bike. Does the z900 resolve the seat height/weight issues? |
Sep 5 2018, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(deadwolf @ Sep 5 2018, 04:53 PM) Thanks for the informative review OP! If I may, Z9 weighs 213 kg. Z8 weighs 231 kg.Given that you've ridden both the z800 and z900, how would you compare the two against each other? I've only test-ridden a z800 and the biggest issues were the weight and seat height. Loved the rest of the bike, but didn't like the huge amount of plastic on what is supposed to be a naked bike. Does the z900 resolve the seat height/weight issues? Seat height wise, I can flat foot on Z9, but not on Z8. I'm 5' 8". This post has been edited by Cyphereza: Sep 5 2018, 05:47 PM |
Sep 5 2018, 08:00 PM
Scary. Just now accidentally wheely. Scared.
Sep 5 2018, 08:04 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(deadwolf @ Sep 5 2018, 04:53 PM) Thanks for the informative review OP! Yup the seat height of z900 is lower than z800, the weight even though doesnt seems alot on paper, in real world the z900 feels alot lighter because it seats lower...not to mention z900 is a refined model of z800, its a no brainer if you chooose z800 unless you got the bike for cheap price...Given that you've ridden both the z800 and z900, how would you compare the two against each other? I've only test-ridden a z800 and the biggest issues were the weight and seat height. Loved the rest of the bike, but didn't like the huge amount of plastic on what is supposed to be a naked bike. Does the z900 resolve the seat height/weight issues? |
Sep 5 2018, 08:07 PM
Sep 5 2018, 08:17 PM
Sep 5 2018, 08:33 PM
Sep 5 2018, 10:33 PM
87 posts Joined: Oct 2017 |
QUOTE(testkindtest @ Sep 5 2018, 09:37 AM) Sorry for bumping this thread, i want to share my experience owning a z900. My previous bike was blade 250->z800->street triple 675->z900 ... Imo z900 is far off to be a beginner bike, yes the bike feel tame and slow because the power delivery of this bike is so smooth you wont notice how fast youre going. If you compared z900 with the so called master of torque mt09, z900 still faster even though it doesnt feel like it, that alone tells you how fast z900 actually is. Above are valuable thoughts on the z900 as well, and of course you had way more experience then me. So since i have own couple of bikes before this, i can tell you that z900 is the best bike i have ever own currently. -The engine is so refined and smooth it gives you alot of confidence on riding. -The gearbox is smooth and comparable to street triple -The brakes on this bike is ok but not great, i did activate the abs couple of time. -The handling of this bike is the gem, it handles so easily and confidence inspiring, taking corner felt effortless and easy, i did upset my rear tire many times because i taking corner too fast without realising it, just because the bike asking me to push it harder and harder. - Electronic, for me z900 dont need any electronic aid because the bike itself is refined, unlike mt09 *cough* - Price...yeah its cheap at rm50k for brand new, but i bought mine 2nd with 3k mileage at rm39k, so yeah My own "review" was based on myself as a complete noob who never had any bikes to compare with, z900 was my first bike and i still stand by that it's a bike i will recommend to a normal civilized human that does not have a deathwish. I most probably will not recommend this bike to a so called "expert, aku dah naik kapchai 15 tahun, tadahal bero" type of people as they will be overconfident. Z900 is a bike that, gives what you ask for, in a very linear way. It does not prevent human stupidity but at least it's very predictable! QUOTE(testkindtest @ Sep 5 2018, 10:15 AM) I own str for a year, i can tell that z900 is better in corner because the bike feels more planted and gives more feedback than str, str is famous for their handling too but that because the bike is so light, but as far i can tell, i can ride faster in corner with z900 than str... As for power yes its powerful but i just dont feel the adrenaline rush anymore, it just feel fast. I recently tested my friend str675 as well, and correct - z900 does feel more planted. It's because of z900's weight & the way it's distributed, when you turn-in a corner you can feel that "pressure" pushing on you while you're leaning. Stripple have that feeling as well, but you need to go faster in order to experience the same "push", more "push" equals more centrifugal weight, and more weight on the tyre equals to more traction, and more traction "feel" gives you more confidence. For Str, you really need to have the confidence to push it. For Z900, it's again linear, you can feel it in your gut it can handle more and more and more, of course until a patch of sand or some uneven patch of road screw your day up (z900 suspension is crap for hard riding) QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Sep 5 2018, 11:49 AM) Scary some times. You'll get used to it, i hated it for the first 2 months of ownership One thing I hate about this bike is the side stand . Difficult to flip it down. "Hidden" behind the gear lever. Now i always use my heel, and "step" right under my gearshifter - i can now deploy sidestand like a boss when parking at mamak QUOTE(testkindtest @ Sep 5 2018, 01:08 PM) Test both first, but z900 engine is super smooth, besides even if its a naked bike, you can turn it to touring no problem, theres ton of tall windshield for z900, just the downside it will look uglier I bought 2 windshield for z900, one is the PUIG tall windscreen (rm650-700), and another from china (rm120) - both are exact same shape. I bought 2 because the first tall windscreen causes too much wind buffeting right below my helmet, thus causing too much windnoise. It's way quieter if i get direct clean wind with the stock low windshield, thought because of chinamade, manatau puig official windshield also same.So any future potential windshield buyer, beware of buffeting, and if u really want to buy, just buy a chinamade 1 lah... same exact design as PUIG, just not as cantik/refined, but after awhile it'll look all the same with all the dead bugs and dirt splattered all over your tall windshield. QUOTE(deadwolf @ Sep 5 2018, 04:53 PM) Thanks for the informative review OP! i also recently test-ridden my friend's z800, and indeed the weight is THE major difference between 800 & 900, what makes it worst is actually where that extra 20kg is placed, it's too high up, and too "front" - this translates to sluggish feel (only if you're used to z900 handling), and does not really inspire confidence or "easy-riding" feel, tired u know to quickily bring the bike up left and right @ KKIC. Also, because the weight is so high above the wheel axle, crosswind actually DO affect z800 more then 900. So, yes - unless you compare the z900 with Str765(same category) - the z900 is one of the easier handling bikes, and definitely better then z800.Given that you've ridden both the z800 and z900, how would you compare the two against each other? I've only test-ridden a z800 and the biggest issues were the weight and seat height. Loved the rest of the bike, but didn't like the huge amount of plastic on what is supposed to be a naked bike. Does the z900 resolve the seat height/weight issues? Weight distribution is very important, the gs1200 is way more heavier, then z900 but when i ride the gs - it feels effortless actually... with the majority the weight %'s so near to the wheel axle, they can afford to add more weight higher up without sacrificing too much "feel". Thanks for bumping this thread, i did not realize it's already 9 month old, and i've been a biker for 9months! Crazy how i went from learning how to use the damn clutch to having an awesome day @KKIC now, self-promote my youtube video sikit - support abit haha, my Z900 removing all it's chicken strips @ KKIC --> https://youtu.be/x4GHEWZ7sxc This post has been edited by TheOnly: Sep 5 2018, 10:40 PM |
Sep 6 2018, 08:43 AM
QUOTE(testkindtest @ Sep 5 2018, 08:04 PM) Yup the seat height of z900 is lower than z800, the weight even though doesnt seems alot on paper, in real world the z900 feels alot lighter because it seats lower...not to mention z900 is a refined model of z800, its a no brainer if you chooose z800 unless you got the bike for cheap price... I think the chassis is designed from scratch, and the engine is refined from Z1000 (2014).QUOTE(TheOnly @ Sep 5 2018, 10:33 PM) I bought 2 windshield for z900, one is the PUIG tall windscreen (rm650-700), and another from china (rm120) - both are exact same shape. I bought 2 because the first tall windscreen causes too much wind buffeting right below my helmet, thus causing too much windnoise. It's way quieter if i get direct clean wind with the stock low windshield, thought because of chinamade, manatau puig official windshield also same. I, too, experiencing the buffeting problem.So any future potential windshield buyer, beware of buffeting, and if u really want to buy, just buy a chinamade 1 lah... same exact design as PUIG, just not as cantik/refined, but after awhile it'll look all the same with all the dead bugs and dirt splattered all over your tall windshield. I have tried 4 windshields: - Tall OEM meter cover - noisy and wind directed to the helmet (if not wearing ear plugs, you would go deaf earlier) - Low OEM fly screen - most less noise but wind hitting chest hard - Original Puig Rafale (adjustable) - less noisy, expensive, adjusting to the right position is hell - China made MRA design windscreen - less noisy, cheap, does the job but still not as quiet as low OEM fly screen I would like to try Puig Next Generation Naked screen, but don't want to fork out RM500-700 for it. It seems like no ayam brand for this one. If anyone has this, please give a review. |
Sep 6 2018, 01:28 PM
10,530 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Petaling Jaya & Mid Valley |
*ehem*
nak join? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Sep 6 2018, 03:01 PM
Sep 6 2018, 03:44 PM
31 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
Sep 6 2018, 04:07 PM
10,530 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Petaling Jaya & Mid Valley |
QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Sep 6 2018, 03:01 PM) for Z9MO Central whatsapp group? im already in there.... Izrin...unless its a diff group?windscreens: (u can see installed pictures in the feedbacks) SE lookalike Double bubble QUOTE(mat_7824 @ Sep 6 2018, 03:44 PM) nyahahahhahaha..... dah bro... baru pickup last week and done 700km dah.... |
Sep 6 2018, 04:16 PM
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 6 2018, 04:07 PM) for Z9MO Central whatsapp group? im already in there.... Izrin...unless its a diff group? Later give review on the double bubble screen...windscreens: (u can see installed pictures in the feedbacks) SE lookalike Double bubble nyahahahhahaha..... dah bro... baru pickup last week and done 700km dah.... |
| Change to: | 0.0233sec
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:35 AM |