The Official iPhone 8/8+ Thread (V2), User & Discussion
tsg_7
Aug 14 2018, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Aug 14 2018, 01:37 PM) lol but among the 3 new releases coming, the LCD display iphone is labelled as a cheap phone. So cheap phone is already consider rm3.5k now? lol Maybe i can say that average RM3.5K for flagship is lower spec and higher spec of coz cost you more. Like recent Note9 release cost you from RM3,699.00. So with bigger storage of course charge you more. Unless you wanna take the free Samseng Smart Watch into consideration then you may think the phone cost you much lesser. But thats during pre-order package only.
benny888
Aug 14 2018, 04:28 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Aug 14 2018, 12:05 PM) Is iphone 8 RM3.5k refer to 64GB? Anyway, i agree with @attw, with the new tax system, our weak currency and also, do u see nowadays flagship phone price starts with RM2xxx.xx? Lol. Hardly. Don't think mobile phones will get the SST tax
attw
Aug 14 2018, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Aug 14 2018, 12:03 PM) Monthly lose couple of hundred, 1 year can buy new phone liao with the money. Lol. Being say that, u have a special thinking to comfort yourself ya...lol.. Yup, as long as my Finance Minister (aka wife) approved of this habit, I'm fine
tsg_7
Aug 14 2018, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 14 2018, 04:28 PM) Don't think mobile phones will get the SST tax Erm, maybe i should address it as import tax? Because previously is GST and now they replace it with SST, so i assume import tax sure kena lor. QUOTE(attw @ Aug 14 2018, 04:37 PM) Yup, as long as my Finance Minister (aka wife) approved of this habit, I'm fine  Lol.
krishtiano86
Aug 14 2018, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Aug 14 2018, 05:43 PM) Erm, maybe i should address it as import tax? Because previously is GST and now they replace it with SST, so i assume import tax sure kena lor. Import tax has always been there. Even during GST. But phones will not get SST, unless Foxconn builds a factory here and locally manufacture iPhones.
tsg_7
Aug 14 2018, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(krishtiano86 @ Aug 14 2018, 08:58 PM) Import tax has always been there. Even during GST. But phones will not get SST, unless Foxconn builds a factory here and locally manufacture iPhones. Oo...thanks sifu...
attw
Aug 23 2018, 08:28 AM
kietto
Aug 25 2018, 11:44 PM

sifu iphone 8 support wireless charging or no o.o?
attw
Aug 26 2018, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(kietto @ Aug 25 2018, 11:44 PM) sifu iphone 8 support wireless charging or no o.o? Yes it does
Devil4life
Aug 27 2018, 05:51 PM
When is the next iPhone expected to launch? I ordered an iPhone 8 plus from AEON but if it's another 2 months probably will wait for it.
StarPrimo
Aug 27 2018, 06:32 PM
QUOTE(Devil4life @ Aug 27 2018, 05:51 PM) When is the next iPhone expected to launch? I ordered an iPhone 8 plus from AEON but if it's another 2 months probably will wait for it. It will be launched September. But you won’t be able to get it immediately., earliest would be late November.
screwedpeep
Aug 27 2018, 07:41 PM
QUOTE(StarPrimo @ Aug 27 2018, 06:32 PM) It will be launched September. But you won’t be able to get it immediately., earliest would be late November. Last year oct already launch. Depends on which batch msia is in. If maintain like last year, mid oct can already place pre order.
attw
Aug 28 2018, 08:16 AM
QUOTE(screwedpeep @ Aug 27 2018, 07:41 PM) Last year oct already launch. Depends on which batch msia is in. If maintain like last year, mid oct can already place pre order. I think last year was an exception because iPhone 8/8 Plus was not much different from previous generations hence many people in the tier 1 and tier 2 countries didn't upgrade hence Malaysia got the phones a little quicker since Apple had ample stocks. The iPhone X on the other hand didn't make it here till end November. Based on the new designs of the upcoming generation, I would predict November/December before it gets to Malaysia.
krishtiano86
Aug 28 2018, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(Devil4life @ Aug 27 2018, 05:51 PM) When is the next iPhone expected to launch? I ordered an iPhone 8 plus from AEON but if it's another 2 months probably will wait for it. I don't get you, ordered means you have already bought? If yes why this question. iPhone 8 will be the last of touch ID. That's the only thing you should consider.
lowyatguy
Aug 28 2018, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(krishtiano86 @ Aug 28 2018, 02:20 PM) I don't get you, ordered means you have already bought? If yes why this question. iPhone 8 will be the last of touch ID. That's the only thing you should consider. I guess order can be cancelled since there is no deposit collected. As for touch ID, you will never know if Apple will be coming out with "on-screen touch ID" , rumors spread that some patent registration has been on going regarding this.
krishtiano86
Aug 28 2018, 07:52 PM
QUOTE(lowyatguy @ Aug 28 2018, 03:42 PM) I guess order can be cancelled since there is no deposit collected. As for touch ID, you will never know if Apple will be coming out with "on-screen touch ID" , rumors spread that some patent registration has been on going regarding this. Maybe true. But not on this years phones. This year all will use face ID.
attw
Aug 29 2018, 08:39 AM
QUOTE(lowyatguy @ Aug 28 2018, 03:42 PM) As for touch ID, you will never know if Apple will be coming out with "on-screen touch ID" , rumors spread that some patent registration has been on going regarding this. https://www.lowyat.net/2018/168040/apple-pa...ner-technology/Imagine. Anywhere on your screen is a fingerprint sensor. How cool will that be
krishtiano86
Aug 29 2018, 08:52 PM
QUOTE(attw @ Aug 29 2018, 08:39 AM) https://www.lowyat.net/2018/168040/apple-pa...ner-technology/Imagine. Anywhere on your screen is a fingerprint sensor. How cool will that be  Won't that be an accidental unlocking nightmare?
attw
Aug 30 2018, 07:28 AM
QUOTE(krishtiano86 @ Aug 29 2018, 08:52 PM) Won't that be an accidental unlocking nightmare?  Also true, ha ha ha. Maybe you'll need to 3D touch it or something, ha ha ha...
annoymous1234
Aug 30 2018, 07:40 PM
Do u guys think it's worth it to take advantage of the changing battery promo by end of this year, even though it's at 98% health?