LYN Mazda 3 Owners/Fans Club V10, Zoom-Zoom w/ Kodo

tehoice
post Dec 24 2019, 10:01 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(silverwl @ Dec 23 2019, 09:57 PM)
CX30
boot space, slightly more headroom, in/out car easier, entry level get 2.0L engine, more comfort ride, higher driving view, SUV/CUV is current trend now, interior colour not just black only, chances to get ckd is higher thats mean could end up cheaper than m3 in future.

M3
sport handling, sporty look, sedan variance boot space about same with cx30, slightly lighter, design better.
agree with you on most of the things. but the only setback for me is the black cladding being way too big for many's liking I believe. Otherwise it would be a perfect car for me as well.
tehoice
post Dec 24 2019, 04:29 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(Yongy @ Dec 24 2019, 03:24 PM)
Well, it's a SUV, so that have to make it look a bit rugged. Do note that I have not seen the car in person, just watching some video reviews. To me, the CX-3 is a bit cramped but the CX-5 is a bit big for some people. So, the CX-30 probably sit nicely in between the two.

Also, some reviewers commented that the CX-30 seems to have a slightly higher NVH (more noise intrusion) compare to the M3 maybe due to the bigger & wider wheel arch areas.
tested the car myself. i'd say the drivability is the same as m3. it's very quiet too. power wise also the same.
tehoice
post Jan 16 2020, 02:57 PM

5,529 posts

Mazda 3 (sedan or liftback) vs Mazda CX-30

how would you choose and why?

Let's discuss.
tehoice
post Jan 16 2020, 06:44 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Jan 16 2020, 03:04 PM)
Centre of gravity vs vision (so called) and comfort. To be quite frank, I don't know why most drivers prefer taller cars now. It's heavier, higher fuel consumption, needs more effort fighting gravity at corners etc. It's more comfortable at low speed due to better compliance on uneven surface (bigger wheel overall size). But then, mazda3 is quite comfortable already right?  sweat.gif
In this case, let's just compare M3 and CX30.

Well, I'd say both drive about the same, tested both, but obviously CX30 has better vision as it is slightly higher (7-10cm or so?), so it's not really high there. same goes for the centre of gravity and stability, i'd say each has slight advantage. But after test driven both cars, I'd say the drivability is about the same, don't you guys think so?

On fuel consumption, it's about the same for both right? on paper, it's like 0.1L of petrol difference /100km. not much diff there to me.

The only advantage i can think of/see for CX30 is due to its height (ground clearance) and not so easy to hit the kerb and can overcome shallow flashfloods nowadays. the ground clearance for the mazda 3 is really very low, don't you think so? but again, it's stylish as many would say. but it's about the practicality too on our malaysian roads, probably CX30 can take on the roads better when crossover suv is meant for offroad track too.

On the demand for SUB, SUV is the trend now, everyone is coming out with SUV models, sedan/liftback has lost its appeal a little somehow.

tehoice
post Jan 17 2020, 04:11 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(silverwl @ Jan 16 2020, 10:27 PM)
unlike those day, modern suv may not equip wuth AWD system. They try to do a "raise up" sedan for practicality. Improve handling and nimble close to a sedan but more space for practicality. Ya, you could argue that suv handling definitely cant match with sedan but good enough for daily use.

dun follow the trend but your needs and heart if you want buy a car.

space wise cx30 is about the same as mazda 3. not really noticeable difference. i would say the sedan has the same practicality as cx30 coz both car with about same boot space. m3 sedan has deeper boot space while cx30 is taller.
Agree with you on most of the aspects, but I’m considering between the liftback vs the CX30 (crossover SUV), so boot space definitely a huge difference for me.
Kinda difficult for me to make a decision also, in fact sedan can also be a good option, but just because I have not driven a liftback before, so I thought it would be now or never for me.

Relating to the post below:
1. I’m a short dude stand at 170cm only.
2. In my early 30s, married but no kid, not sure when would have one, even if I have one, the liftback can also serve me for a while right. Assuming I can use this car for let’s say 7-8 or even 10 years, my kid/kids would also be a few years old, don’t think so it would be a big problem if I don’t own the so called SUV family car right.

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 16 2020, 10:45 PM)
*AWD if that's your thing.. Fewer sedans with AWD than SUVs. Both the M3 and CX30 are only front wheel drive right.
*Much easier entry and exit, especially for taller folks (193cm here) or the elderly.. Those legs aren't as strong as they used to be.. okay fair point, ingress and egress, but I stand only at 170cm, don’t find it difficult for both the available options, but suv would have an advantage here. Also, I would be mostly driving the car myself, at least Monday to Friday, would be me alone only.
*Definitely more comfortable and spacious seats (but this is subjective la.. Materials, etc.. plus most D segment sedan cars are wider and comfy too) for bigger folks...Also, more head and leg room. I find both the same, in fact the back passenger seat is a bit too straight upright to my liking (not sure if you guys notice this).
*Superior outward visibility.. I can see over most cars on the road and drive accordingly.. Far less surprises then. Yes, better visibility for SUV, but don’t think it is far superior over the sedans.
*Pulling up to toll or parking entry/exit machines. At minimum, it's level or one has to reach down slightly vs reaching up and out of the seat. Fair point, but can be too mynute, at least for me. I find driving a sedan is easier when I wear my long sleeve working shirt, I don’t need my hand to touch the bottom of the outside window which sometimes can carry some dust/dirt, when I drive cx5, I would dirty the sleeve of my shirt when I use the touchngo at the toll touchpoint. Maybe because I’m short. The touchpoint will be sort of at the mid air (so no contact between my hand and the bottom of the outside window.
*I stand straight up and load the (often more spacious) boot.. No need to bend at an awkward angle to toss or bring out stuff deep within. Hard to quantify how great this is until you get used to it. Great point, especially when you age and have backache. This is also another point for me to consider the CX30 as it comes with the powerboot, but my only concern is, I rarely use the boot, maybe not even once in a month or so.
*Better ride quality on our bad roads.. Prior to this, have to worry about banging the car's bottom and feeling it all the way through my bones to my skull. Similarly with certain road bumps. Sedan fully loaded, you'll have to slow down to take it and high chance still scrape your bottom or bumper.. Typical SUV just rolls right ahead no fear.. Agree on this, I find that the mazda 3 ground clearance is like a little too low? Is it lower than a normal standard? Or is it still standard and all you have to do is slow down more at the speed bumps? Or just ram over with the CX30?

As for heavier, higher fuel consumption, needs more effort fighting gravity at corners etc? Come to the dark side... With the diesel turbocharged engine.. Weight, FC & effort are a thing of the past..  brows.gif comment not so applicable as I’m looking at the 2.0 petrol engine.

Okay.. I'm done plugging SUVs and particularly the CX-5... Haha..Just my 2 sen lah.. I'm sure others like you who love sedans more have your reasons..Grab what makes you happy. Cuz, it's going to depreciate each year anyways.
See above... Ultimately, depends on what you want and will enjoy.. I switched from sedan to SUV and loving it. Doesn't mean I won't still own another sedan? Far from it.. Still have my eyes on the bimmer 5 series. Heck, the Myvi or Jazz type cars still make good safe choices for short town runs.
QUOTE(D-Frog @ Jan 16 2020, 11:15 PM)
Tried all 3 of them, even most of the specs.

1.5 M3 Sedan/Liftback - Pretty Great, just don't like the fabric seats and that cheap non-chrome stuff all over. Don't like how there's so many blind spot.
2.0 M3 Sedan High Plus - Sufficient Power, but power isn't really my concern. Love the leather interior and design, felt just like my 330e.

CX-30 - Best view and driving experience wise abit lesser handling compare to m3 overall but the brown interior I don't dig.

So ended up with 2.0 High because I don't need the MRCC feature.
Thanks for your sharing, I share the same views as yours on the CX30. I find double tone colour scheme nicer, but maybe not with this brown that they use in the interior, maybe burgundy would be better, like those they use for the other markets.

But do you mind elaborating the blind spot? I tried and tested the car, it drives like normal (I mean surrounding observation), so I don’t quite get what others meant by that. Yes, agree that the rear windscreen is a bit small compared to the other cars, so they sacrifice some small visibility for a more stylish look.

So in the end, booked the liftback, waiting for the car arrival in march. Hopefully I won’t regret in near future.

tehoice
post Jan 17 2020, 04:25 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 17 2020, 04:16 PM)
meh i've driven the m3 from menumbok to kota kinabalu to kundasang to sandakan and sukau  no issues.
i believe that's like covering 70% of Sabah alright. but never been there before, how's the road conditions like? highway or trunk road?
tehoice
post Jan 17 2020, 05:02 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 17 2020, 04:35 PM)
not exactly 70% lol. all trunk road la. got some parts pure rubble cause they demolished the roads to re-tar for the Pan Borneo Highway.
hahaha, it simply means the car has no issue despite taking somewhat harsh road conditions. So the crossover SUV could be taking it better right.
tehoice
post Jan 17 2020, 06:49 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(D-Frog @ Jan 17 2020, 06:42 PM)
It felt cramped. Just didn’t like the overall feeling. Some may say otherwise where it felt cosy. Congrats bro! I bought the sedan. When did you salesman promise you? Early or late March?
maybe i should go and relook again.... my SA says by March, for me end or beginning is also fine. doesnt matter.
tehoice
post Jan 20 2020, 04:20 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Jan 17 2020, 09:35 PM)
Never driven CX30...so, I cannot comment haha. Do not own a mazda 3 either to see if it's too low. I'm a Satria R3 driver...I think any car's ground clearance is very likely higher than it hahaha.
If AWD, might as well look at Subaru? tongue.gif
Ah they offered turbo diesel for SUV only. Ever wonder why they do that for SUV only?
Go get your 5 series!  thumbup.gif

Oh ya. Today I sat in my colleague's 3rd gen Mazda 2 CBU (the one that shared platform with Ford Fiesta). To my surprise, the car is damn quiet! It's easily as quiet as a C segment. Not sure why though.
it's not as bad as the other car, it's still a standard ground clearance range, but it's on the lower end. if those sports car can do it on our malaysian road, surely this has no problem.

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 17 2020, 10:25 PM)
Since it's mostly you doing the driving and you don't require much interior/boot space.. Then I say go with your heart as most practical concerns that make some of us choose an SUV (actually CSUV) over sedans, doesn't apply to your use case scenario. Perhaps a couple years down the line..  thumbup.gif
Absolutely...

As for the brakes... IMO, Mazda cars (at least here) have poor braking system... Sure you can get used to it with a little training and cursing.. But I recommend spending extra to replace with custom... Bigger bite...
Will do... Now have to do the sensible thing for the family..  biggrin.gif
yeah, mind has been made, wish my luck! haha. will only think about a family sized car in the future.

Now, rclxub.gif about the colour. undecided.
Come chip in some guys.

tehoice
post Jan 21 2020, 09:16 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(Yongy @ Jan 20 2020, 11:06 PM)
Ground clearance? Don't think it's an issue since the suspension is on the firm side, it should be able to clear like any normal car.

As for the colour, well, it's a personal preference but for me, I went for Polymetal! Love it!  tongue.gif
Machine Grey or Soul Red looks stunning to on the LB too! So, you wouldn't go wrong with these 3 colours, IMHO.

Lastly, I'm totally enjoying every minute driving the M3 from day 1 of getting the car. wub.gif
haha just thinking a little too much. i think i would probably be going for white, i think the white is stunning paired with the piano black finishing front and lower back.

How long have you been driving the M3? any issue so far? What about the possible SCBS faulty like what have been occured in the other market?

QUOTE(ayamback @ Jan 20 2020, 11:55 PM)
u guys are making me jealous... i feel like selling my 2018 mazda 3 now  sweat.gif
come come, join the dark side. hahaha
tehoice
post Jan 21 2020, 03:17 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(silverwl @ Jan 21 2020, 02:51 PM)
Happened once earlier when i drove at very slow speed around 30km/h. A "Brake" warning message pop up and i immediately apply a light brake and the warning gone. I still figuring out whether the sensor detected something which was beside the lane at that moment. At the same time i suspect it could be a faulty sensor since the sensor is in the middle. FYI, my car collected in Dec 19.
bring back and get it checked at the SC?
tehoice
post Feb 5 2020, 08:58 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(D-Frog @ Feb 4 2020, 11:37 PM)
Aww man, yeah the waiting sucks ... I am still waiting.
did your sa says when is the expected delivery?
tehoice
post Feb 5 2020, 06:10 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(D-Frog @ Feb 5 2020, 09:11 AM)
Earliest end of feb or mid of march, wbu
i think should be about the same gua, or should be the same shipment lol
tehoice
post Feb 6 2020, 11:20 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(D-Frog @ Feb 5 2020, 06:53 PM)
Should be same shipment 🚚
What color you picked?
white. you?
tehoice
post Feb 24 2020, 09:24 AM

5,529 posts

for 7th gen M3 owners, would you be interested to join a car club in collaboration with the 7th gen CX-30 together?

Since we are sharing the same platform and the interiors too.

What do you say?
tehoice
post Feb 25 2020, 09:18 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(studentsurvey @ Feb 24 2020, 05:49 PM)
Hey guys, just bought a new dashcam, anyone knows where I can send it to be fixed (where they are able to hide the cable as well). Don't want it to dangle around.
GS accessories near/at jalan 222. installation fee should be under RM100.
Sekian.
tehoice
post Feb 25 2020, 02:47 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Feb 24 2020, 09:24 AM)
for 7th gen M3 owners, would you be interested to join a car club in collaboration with the 7th gen CX-30 together?

Since we are sharing the same platform and the interiors too.

What do you say?
anyone?
tehoice
post Feb 27 2020, 11:35 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(kin0512 @ Feb 27 2020, 11:17 AM)
I feel that some older soul red M3 do look like solid red now, maybe those are not properly maintained, or special care is needed.
definitely.
actually any paint will also fade if there's no proper care taken for it.

Separately, are you guys satisfied with your skytint?
tehoice
post Mar 3 2020, 11:21 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(D-Frog @ Feb 27 2020, 09:59 PM)
For me is Mazda3 high+ Sedan white 2020 collecting on Saturday.  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(D-Frog @ Feb 28 2020, 04:44 PM)
But my SA delivering two other hatchback this weekend. Did you buy from branch?
QUOTE(D-Frog @ Mar 2 2020, 12:16 AM)
Vroom
congratz on your new car bro!
wah your SA is very efficient. i haven't get mine yet also. hahah....

Wanna join me and the fellow Mazda 7th gen's vehicle discussion chat on WS?
tehoice
post Mar 3 2020, 03:15 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Mar 3 2020, 11:21 AM)

Wanna join me and the fellow Mazda 7th gen's vehicle discussion chat on WS?
those who wanna join us (our numbers are growing), please PM me ya! rclxms.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:20 PM