124 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Bottom

Xiaomi Xiaomi Redmi 5/5 Plus Discussion Thread, Snapdragon 450/625.

BigSaver
post Feb 8 2018, 02:15 PM

v(^_^)V
1,029 posts

QUOTE(wcnew @ Feb 8 2018, 12:27 PM)
manage to trade in with what phone?
Honor nova 2i biggrin.gif since it also 18:9 screen

QUOTE(magnesium @ Feb 8 2018, 12:30 PM)
U return to their branch?
At their federal highway (PJ) branch. Either trade to any phone with same value or above. If below they will not return remaining balance.

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Feb 8 2018, 01:14 PM)
need to be nifty before updating..
hopefully these cases of bootloop phones will make the seller aware

// cheers
From early conversation with the service centre guy, my unit is not the first case. i guess some else also already return back problematic unit.

Emo_Boy
post Feb 8 2018, 02:32 PM

★Safe_Trader★
1,808 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Feb 8 2018, 01:14 PM)
need to be nifty before updating..
hopefully these cases of bootloop phones will make the seller aware

// cheers
if plan to get the phone better go for another seller...

I think directD will flash it again & resale it thru online....
arefiq09
post Feb 8 2018, 02:35 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Feb 8 2018, 01:12 PM)
activate developer options, and see if your bootloader is locked or unlocked. if unlocked you should be safe. if locked, unlock it.

maybe your set is official set with official rom, and OTA update wont brick it unlike others, but my advice is just trying to be on the safe side.
It is locked, maybe I should just request for bootloader unlock just to be safe.
andrewhtf
post Feb 8 2018, 02:37 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(arefiq09 @ Feb 8 2018, 02:35 PM)
It is locked, maybe I should just request for bootloader unlock just to be safe.
yes please do
gastacopz
post Feb 8 2018, 02:37 PM

4,928 posts

QUOTE(magnesium @ Feb 8 2018, 11:16 AM)

anyone please explain to me

my set from wow phone have same rom version with this local malaysia set

how come wow phone set go into bootloop when update ota?
this is also make me confuse...

and why does xiaomi forced to unlock bootloader 1st?

what about those not phone expert?also need to unlock ka??

doesnt make sense at all rclxub.gif
pcdsb
post Feb 8 2018, 02:38 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(BigSaver @ Feb 8 2018, 02:15 PM)
Honor nova 2i  biggrin.gif since it also 18:9 screen
At their federal highway (PJ) branch. Either trade to any phone with same value or above. If below they will not return remaining balance.
From early conversation with the service centre guy, my unit is not the first case. i guess some else also already return back problematic unit.
is it they direct repair in front you ?
gastacopz
post Feb 8 2018, 02:42 PM

4,928 posts

btw, if you guys noticed, 9.2.6.0 rom cannot be extracted..trying to save boot.img from it.. 3x downloaded...1 OTA from phone, 1 from miui donwload links, 1 from redmi 5 thread...

all d same..

not sure me only or others all d same..

but 9.2.3.0 can extracted..and based on my previous experience with mi and flashing,zip rom should be able to extract..or maybe im wrong
pcdsb
post Feb 8 2018, 02:42 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(gastacopz @ Feb 8 2018, 02:37 PM)
this is also make me confuse...

and why does xiaomi forced to unlock bootloader 1st?

what about those not phone expert?also need to unlock ka??

doesnt make sense at all  rclxub.gif
because the import set we buy is design to sell in china only. if simple can flash to global rom and use same like global set . xiaomi malaysia dealer sure dead kao kao lo , ppl most will buy china set as the price more lower.
gastacopz
post Feb 8 2018, 02:46 PM

4,928 posts

QUOTE(pcdsb @ Feb 8 2018, 02:42 PM)
because the import set we buy is design to sell in china only. if simple can flash to global rom and use same like global set . xiaomi malaysia dealer sure dead kao kao lo , ppl most will buy china set as the price more lower.
nah...some people care bout warranty more...doesnt matter how cheap it is..die2 also want malaysia set..

me no care..as long cheap..sapu je..

pcdsb
post Feb 8 2018, 03:09 PM

104 posts

is anybody success to unlock with the fake global rom ? mine keep show error 86006 , look like the only way is test point to china dev rom already
gastacopz
post Feb 8 2018, 03:15 PM

4,928 posts

QUOTE(pcdsb @ Feb 8 2018, 03:09 PM)
is anybody success to unlock with the fake global rom ? mine keep show error 86006 , look like the only way is test point to china dev rom already
how u know its fake global rom?

9.2.3.0 right?and i thought if fake/unofficial, will show its unofficial..

i think yours also not show any right..
andrewhtf
post Feb 8 2018, 03:20 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(gastacopz @ Feb 8 2018, 02:42 PM)
btw, if you guys noticed, 9.2.6.0 rom cannot be extracted..trying to save boot.img from it.. 3x downloaded...1 OTA from phone, 1 from miui donwload links, 1 from redmi 5 thread...

all d same..

not sure me only or others all d same..

but 9.2.3.0 can extracted..and based on my previous experience with mi and flashing,zip rom should be able to extract..or maybe im wrong
i had no problem, downloaded both full rom and fastboot rom before which eventually i flashed using fastboot. had already deleted both otherwise i can upload to dropbox kasi share.

QUOTE(gastacopz @ Feb 8 2018, 03:15 PM)

9.2.3.0 isnt exactly fake, it was an official release but only for a short while, xiaomi removed it from official list after discovering bugs. since it was only available for short time, there isnt enough time for ppl to go through the unlock bootloader waiting time, plus for reseller, mana dia mau cari so many mi account id to request unlock? so they go and force flash it without unlocking. sure they managed to get it run on the device but then when 9.2.6.0 came up in the OTA, that's when shit hits the fan.

QUOTE(pcdsb @ Feb 8 2018, 03:09 PM)
if u kena error 86006 testpoint flash is the only way forward

This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Feb 8 2018, 03:26 PM
pcdsb
post Feb 8 2018, 03:28 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(gastacopz @ Feb 8 2018, 03:15 PM)

ya no show any , but keep error 86006 when try blind account with device .
gastacopz
post Feb 8 2018, 03:57 PM

4,928 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Feb 8 2018, 03:20 PM)
i had no problem, downloaded both full rom and fastboot rom before which eventually i flashed using fastboot. had already deleted both otherwise i can upload to dropbox kasi share.
9.2.3.0 isnt exactly fake, it was an official release but only for a short while, xiaomi removed it from official list after discovering bugs. since it was only available for short time, there isnt enough time for ppl to go through the unlock bootloader waiting time, plus for reseller, mana dia mau cari so many mi account id to request unlock? so they go and force flash it without unlocking. sure they managed to get it run on the device but then when 9.2.6.0 came up in the OTA, that's when shit hits the fan.
if u kena error 86006 testpoint flash is the only way forward
where u downloaded from?

why i cant extract the latest one... hmm.gif

pcdsb
post Feb 8 2018, 04:17 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(gastacopz @ Feb 8 2018, 03:57 PM)
where u downloaded from?

did u try extract with 7 zip ?
horukuru
post Feb 8 2018, 04:31 PM

44 posts

So those using this phone, so far the performance is good?
andrewhtf
post Feb 8 2018, 04:53 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(gastacopz @ Feb 8 2018, 03:57 PM)
where u downloaded from?

from xiaomi itself lor.

for full rom : http://en.miui.com/download-340.html

for full rom, no need extract, just rename as update.zip and straight throw into phone root folder and kasi flash via recovery. but some ppl in forum say thet get invalid file error.

for fastboot : http://en.miui.com/a-234.html (scroll down the list and look for "Redmi 5 Plus Latest Global Stable Version Fastboot File Download" and click on it the file will be downloaded automatically)

i extracted the fastboot rom using winzip. as mentioned by another forumer yesterday, it would first extract to a .tar file which would then need to be extracted again to get a folder.

magnesium
post Feb 8 2018, 05:01 PM

1,130 posts

good news for those who purchased from direct d

anything i need to be aware of when send my phone?

andrewhtf
post Feb 8 2018, 05:05 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(magnesium @ Feb 8 2018, 05:01 PM)
good news for those who purchased from direct d

anything i need to be aware of when send my phone?
lol, i guess they'll just testpoint flash a china rom kasi lu. i dunno if they could instead testpoint flash 9.2.6.0 in. would be interesting to know.
wcnew
post Feb 8 2018, 05:08 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Feb 8 2018, 05:05 PM)
lol, i guess they'll just testpoint flash a china rom kasi lu. i dunno if they could instead testpoint flash 9.2.6.0 in. would be interesting to know.
if they can testpoint it and warranty it fine with me. But dun kasi scratch the phone while doing it..

124 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Top

0.0194sec    1.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:18 AM