11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Xiaomi Xiaomi Redmi 5/5 Plus Discussion Thread, Snapdragon 450/625.

andrewhtf
post Jan 5 2018, 02:57 PM

1,583 posts

Current price:
32GB ROM / 3GB RAM - RM699 (gold )
32GB ROM / 3GB RAM - RM729 (black )
64GB ROM / 4GB RAM - RM799 (gold)
64GB ROM / 4GB RAM - RM899 (black)
*sos*
https://www.mudah.my/Xiaomi+Redmi+5+Plus+5+...j2tIUYuDZDdB.99

since ayam poorfag i will get the cheapest one rm699. wish me luck not to get a lemon unit
andrewhtf
post Jan 5 2018, 03:15 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Jan 5 2018, 03:05 PM)
Chinese rom right?
should be, unlikely any global rom AP set in Msia yet

anyway not a concern for me, i am still using android 4.4 from 2015 until today.
so even if no update, i can still use android 7.0 for the next 2-3 years, no issue.
they all felt the same anyway. plus i dont tweak or anything, just use the phone for whatsap, fb youtube browsing hotspot and maps only. no play games. no custom roms. so should be ok
andrewhtf
post Jan 6 2018, 12:19 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Jan 6 2018, 12:15 AM)
Why so hard to just have Google playstore installed? Eventually they still need to have it installed for other countries rite?
They'd do it for global rom of course just not for china sets. Something about controlling and restricting google within china. Plus this way also create market for their owm homegrown appstores (which in a way allowed rampant app piracy) and stop outflow of money to those western developers of paid apps. This is china yo.
andrewhtf
post Jan 6 2018, 10:22 PM

1,583 posts

Went and molested it today. Sales guy said since still China ROM, GPS is still inaccurate and doesn't support all telco. Any thoughts?

Now I felt like waiting for official msia set
andrewhtf
post Jan 8 2018, 11:19 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(sengfei @ Jan 7 2018, 09:53 PM)
Just bought 1 from Direct D.  So far quite satisfied with the phone especially the SOT.
did they help you pre-install google apps? is your unit black or gold?

QUOTE(Benefon @ Jan 7 2018, 09:41 PM)
Today fully use the phone from morning 8am till 7pm battery life.
wahlau what do you use untill a 4k batt can dip below 30% within 12 hours?

back then in 2015 my wife's Lenovo P780 with 4k batt can last her 2.5days of normal usage (fb, whatsapp etc)

QUOTE(internaldisputes @ Jan 8 2018, 11:06 AM)
would the price be the same if i walk-in to their outlets?  hmm.gif
yes, walk in same price. but they have 3% charge if pay by CC.

Direct D selling 699 for 3gb and 799 for 4gb versions, no CC charge though. but dont think they have black.

This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Jan 8 2018, 11:22 AM
andrewhtf
post Jan 9 2018, 10:57 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Jan 8 2018, 02:04 PM)
After CNY maybe , can buy from AliExpress come with global rom miui 9 already.
singapore maybe no kacau, but Msia takut kena detain by Customs since handphones need Sirim approval.
andrewhtf
post Jan 10 2018, 11:14 PM

1,583 posts

just got mine from mobile2go.

just kautim install playstore and the few usual apps. later gotta find out which bloatware not useable in msia Kasi delete. global rom please cepat release.
andrewhtf
post Jan 11 2018, 09:55 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(G K Lai @ Jan 11 2018, 03:14 AM)
I don't know much about flashing ROM to the phone.
But if Global ROM come out, does that mean you can flash and "convert" your phone to Global Set and get automatic get  future Global ROM update?
as zher4883 replied above. anyway even if global rom not out yet, but if LineageOS oreo come out earlier, i would give it a try too.

++++++++

while exploring the menus and stuffs, i activated developer options and went in to have a look, apparently there is a button there that says "unlock bootloader" (something to that effect.)

what i understand with xiaomi phones is if u wana install custom recovery (currently i think only TWRP saja), root and flash new firmware, first thing first is to unlock bootloader.

i thought we gotta login into mi account in xiaomi website and send a request, and wait for them to reply with something baru boleh proceed unlock?

anyway another thing i saw - someone said xiaomi ram management sucks - i gotta agree. even with no apps running, out of 4 gb ram, only left 1.7 - 1.9 gb ram. so makan ram one meh... my old alcatel with 2gb ram only utilise about 1 gb ram when no app running. and to think i still havent install whatsapp on this phone yet

This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Jan 11 2018, 09:57 AM
andrewhtf
post Jan 12 2018, 05:22 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Jimat Suratman @ Jan 12 2018, 04:52 PM)
I wish U good luck. Last time my RN4 can unlock in 5minute only. The trick is you ask the permission around 11am or around the time they open office. The other trick to ensure smoothness of unlock process you can download version 2.2.406.5 of Miflash. Doesn't need to wait for 72hours. This trick I learn from RN3 mi forum.

Now I still in a dilemma. Want to buy the 5 or the 5 plus variant. Haiya. Hope I make up my mind before Mi release the phone here officially. Sigh.
plus. for battery and better cpu. the size don't differ much anyway
andrewhtf
post Jan 12 2018, 05:24 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Jimat Suratman @ Jan 12 2018, 04:27 PM)
Hi, New Lyn user here. Just want to share good news. Global Stable rom have been release by Xiaomi. You can check it here.

http://en.miui.com/thread-1501658-1-1.html

Have fun flashing  wink.gif
woohoo!

anyone can help me flash? I'mma retard in this
andrewhtf
post Jan 12 2018, 05:27 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Jan 12 2018, 05:24 PM)
Buy from here is free with global rom.
Original Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus 4GB 64GB Mobile Phone Snapdragon S625 Octa Core MIUI9 5.99" Full Screen 2160*1080 4000mAh 12.0MP
http://s.aliexpress.com/yquiIrIB?fromSns=Copy to Clipboard
(from AliExpress Android)
I already have the plus in my hand now. I was about to get down to transferring my stuff from my primary phone just now when I see this announcement about global rom so i guess it is better to flash before transferring again.
andrewhtf
post Jan 12 2018, 05:38 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Jan 12 2018, 05:28 PM)
If less data can sync all data to your mi cloud will do..
my concern is just the flashing to global rom only. transferring got apps to kautim
andrewhtf
post Jan 12 2018, 06:04 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Jan 12 2018, 05:40 PM)
Make sure you need backup all those data.
Flashing can download here .
http://en.miui.com/a-232.html
I can't find any "updater" app in the phone, so I'll use the recovery method instead.

http://en.miui.com/a-233.html

anyway since this is a fresh factory reset phone there is nothing for me to backup though.

*******edit*******

NVM I found it using search bar. so what is left now is to just download the rom. let me get to a pc.

This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Jan 12 2018, 06:07 PM
andrewhtf
post Jan 12 2018, 06:09 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Jan 12 2018, 06:07 PM)
Can download here for update manually.
http://en.miui.com/download-340.html#502
thanks! how about you? are you going to flash to global rom as well?
andrewhtf
post Jan 12 2018, 07:28 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(zher4883 @ Jan 12 2018, 06:28 PM)
EDL is disabled so the only way is to flash using Recovery mode. Unlocked bootloader is a must.
huh? I don't understand. so mean I cant just download the rom, put in folder and use the updater to update straight away? have to get bootloader unlock then use recovery?
andrewhtf
post Jan 12 2018, 08:14 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(zher4883 @ Jan 12 2018, 07:44 PM)
You can't switch from China ROM to Global ROM via updater. You must use Fastboot ROM to flash in Recovery mode.
ok now another variables. confused sudah.

let's recap and correct me if I am wrong pls.

1. get bootloader unlocked. means gotta wait for xiaomi approval
2. once done, should I flash twrp recovery dulu? or the stock recovery is sufficient?
3. download flashboot rom - any different from the global rom download link given by benefon earlier?
andrewhtf
post Jan 12 2018, 10:06 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(zher4883 @ Jan 12 2018, 08:57 PM)
Once unlocked, just follow the guide below. Fastboot ROM links are also here.
http://en.miui.com/a-234.html

Alternatively, you could flash TWRP after unlocking and use Recovery ROM to flash (which is also known as the common ROM). Official recovery doesn't come with an interface so any attempt to boot into official recovery will end up rebooting you phone without doing anything meaningful. TWRP is also knwo to break OTA update so every time there's an update, you will need to download full ROM to update it.

Just use method 1 to keep it short and simple for once and forever.
nope, no fastboot for redmi 5 plus in the link. only redmi 5 China and redmi 5A

method 1 as in?

for now I have the global rom in my root disk. this one can only be used if I unlock and then install twrp, baru boleh flash this room

otherwise if going the flashtool method, have to wait for the fastboot rom to be available.

this is the flashing guide I found

http://en.miui.com/thread-736923-1-1.html

This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Jan 12 2018, 10:30 PM
andrewhtf
post Jan 12 2018, 10:08 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Jimat Suratman @ Jan 12 2018, 09:19 PM)
Hi, after you getting approval from mi, try to search miflashtool version 2.2.406.5

It will let you flash without the famous 72hours waiting period. All new version of Miflash will make you wait for 72hours or more.

For me, I prefer to flash Mi phone using linux. The fastboot rom they provide already have the command line to flash the phone without delete the data. I think for for windows also have. But the fastboot rom wasn't release yet for Redmi 5/5plus I think.
thanks. if going the flashtool route I'd have to get myself a laptop/pc then. but without the flash boot rom means I still have to wait.
andrewhtf
post Jan 13 2018, 11:30 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Jimat Suratman @ Jan 13 2018, 10:57 AM)
You might want to check this software. It claim it  can flash without unlock boot loader. This seems promising because the user on Mi forum also suggest it. Unfortunately I can't try this now because i'm in the office and currently all my Redmi devices are at home. You may check it here XiaomiTool

Do no if I embedded this Youtube video right. Sorry if I done it wrong  tongue.gif
Fixed your youtube embed, and the creator of that tool said it has a bug that he can only fix later, so no go yet.
andrewhtf
post Jan 14 2018, 05:20 PM

1,583 posts

I don't care about colour of the phone. my eye see screen, not the phone body.

11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0767sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:55 AM