The Official iPhone X Discussion Thread | V2, Most expensive iPhone to date

fadzly
post Nov 10 2017, 09:30 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 10 2017, 09:20 PM)
After the hassle and losses you experienced to get it in the first place?
possible. ive regreted going to singapore for all this. the phone seems to be just like my previous other iphone. and its boring. the only different is OLED and face ID. and i will lose my JB which we rarely get a JB nowdays. Ive should just wait malaysian launch or else i will never feel like this. Once u got it, its already boring. the hype feeling will only last a few days. And i dont see many singaporean using Iphone X either. Unlike previous days where u sit on MRT, u saw person next to u, infront of u, everywhere are using the latest iphone. I think, this phone X is too expensive, even for a singaporean not to mentioned for us too. I will suggest everyone who planned to collect at Orchard or buying from scalpers/flippers to hold it for a while. Get the phone with a contract from our telco. In fact, 2 weeks is not that long either. Totally not worth a few hundred more just to get the phone. Unless if u bought it cheaper than the RRP.

fadzly
post Nov 10 2017, 10:05 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 10 2017, 09:50 PM)
Relax la bro. It has always been like that. The urge in getting the phone is more exciting actually getting it. Tbh, i get tired of new phone models in a day or two after using it. Why? Because its almost the same thing. Buy a phone, die die must be the earliest few to get it, use it for a month or two and buy the next new model. Rinse and repeat. This year alone I think I have bought 5 or 6 phones. rclxub.gif  Since I had the X last Saturday, Im already looking forward to the OPO 5T already which is launching next week and I know very well its going to be almost the same s#@$ like my current OPO 5. doh.gif
dont know la bro. every year i always wait for every version of iphone. i dont use android. u might realised me every year when the phone almost launching, u will see me tegur u in this thread showing how excited i am with this phone. ntah la.. this year so much different because buy it directly at singapore kot.. mungkin because no tied contract with telco. ive refrained my self from buying singapore set since the era of iphone 3gs. Never in history, our rrp price is more expensive than singapore (after converting) although its only few ringgit difference. And thats the reason of my theory, Apple Singapore is controlling our market.
fadzly
post Nov 10 2017, 10:36 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(Agent001 @ Nov 10 2017, 10:18 PM)
Anybody has experience of claiming AppleCare+ For iPhone in Malaysia?  Can it be done?

Thinking of buying AppleCare+ from Singapore, considering how expensive it would be if the screen cracks...
If it can, I rather buy an apple care at US store and claim it here. It's cheaper.
fadzly
post Nov 10 2017, 11:43 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Nov 10 2017, 11:38 PM)
yes. this was the one that ive posted earlier.
fadzly
post Nov 10 2017, 11:46 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(fadzly @ Nov 8 2017, 10:30 PM)
Yellow or Green line? who has the sharpest eyes? #notagain #oledsaga
[attachmentid=9315861]
this one. What do you think?

Yellow line? Or Green Line? LOLZ.

This post has been edited by fadzly: Nov 10 2017, 11:48 PM
fadzly
post Nov 12 2017, 07:46 AM

1,757 posts

Iphone X replenish at Apple store online SG. Only pickup at Orchard available. Good luck. Grab em fast. U can take it within 20 days. Attached Image
fadzly
post Nov 12 2017, 08:15 AM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 12 2017, 08:12 AM)
Some Apple diehard fan had reported my post of my friend selling off his ipX after 3 days. What a jerk he is reporting such post. I guess he couldn't stand any negative reporting ? PM me if he need to contact that forumer to verify and  know more about why he decided to sell after 3 days. As said he is a more pro Android guy.
Relax. I dont think he is an iPhone diehard fan. He is more like a scalpers to me
fadzly
post Nov 12 2017, 08:19 AM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 12 2017, 08:16 AM)
Well, the Malaysian launch is just 12 days away.
Well, u will be surprised those messaging me about trying to get the phone at Singapore. LOL. Or else I won't bother to post it here.
fadzly
post Nov 12 2017, 05:46 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(666devil @ Nov 12 2017, 05:30 PM)
Yeah this time with ridiculous price, it makes more sense to order from telco. Get the cheapest monthly package, still have at least 1k rebate. Need a monthly data plan anyway.
indeed. a wise thing to do. but no more 1 year contract.

the reason of me not sticking with any telco this year and bought it directly at SG was because I dont want to lose my RM68 98 Maxis one plan which was rebated since the maxis saga. I dont want to renew the contract without the rebate and we dont spend more than 100 for a telco plan. And there was no great plan nowdays with Iphone plan except during the early iphone which have their own Iphone plan with "i" at the front and the <RM50 so called lite iphone plan. But the <RM50 phone plans are usually not heavily subsidised. Unless Maxis can continue provide the rebate after renewing the contract with the same plan which i doubt so.

fadzly
post Nov 13 2017, 10:28 AM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(kc6012 @ Nov 13 2017, 02:12 AM)
U mean last the secret package?
I got it too but if not mistaken valid for two years only
I'm thinking of getting a contract and buy it for my younger brother
Mine now on MOP 98 with RM10 rebate and additional 2GB
Ya. I know that. This is the 88 plan right? They reduce the 128 to 98 plan. It's already more than 2 years Bro.
fadzly
post Nov 13 2017, 04:28 PM

1,757 posts

I'm going to register interest on all Telco. Then ffk.
fadzly
post Nov 13 2017, 04:44 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 13 2017, 04:31 PM)
Good luck getting more spam on your mailbox.  laugh.gif
QUOTE(attw @ Nov 13 2017, 04:34 PM)
ROI here means nothing more than sending you a useless email to tell you when the phone is available, which you already know anyway.
It's a rough idea on what should they expect. I will spam using fake email of course. LOL
fadzly
post Nov 13 2017, 04:46 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 13 2017, 03:53 PM)
I knew about the green lines but wasn’t aware of the distorted audio. Anyone here experienced it?

https://www.lowyat.net/2017/147679/iphone-x...audio-earpiece/
Never yet. And I will pass this phone to the next owner soon. So Goodluck to her.
fadzly
post Nov 13 2017, 08:00 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Nov 13 2017, 07:35 PM)
usually will have penalty, check with your telco

for maxis and digi
penalty is your previous phone (RRP - what you pay) x (remaining months / contract duration)

let say RRP is 3699, you pay 2500(telco subsidize 1199), remaining months is 3 months, contract duration 24 months

(3699-2500) x (2/24) + 100(admin fees for termination)

i know Maxis and Digi use the above calculation for penalty

I see. I tot I've terminated one plan at digi before. With idigi. Then next year they said u need to terminate the old digi before u purchasing new iPhone with them. I've told them, im going to prolonging the contract, but they say can't. So I just pay the penalty which was rm200 even the contract is less than 2 months. Complaint to DiGi email with all sort of cursing and they refund the penalty. Rm200 flat rate with no calculation. That was 2 years ago. I dont know now
fadzly
post Nov 13 2017, 10:45 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(D-Frog @ Nov 13 2017, 07:29 PM)
Guys, those that got their phone,
Any idea what to check upon receiving the phone?
1) check the box for any dent especially at the corner. The plastic is not like last time, its folded sticked with glue, so no need cutter or knife.

2) make sure your capacity is correct

3) open it, and check the following items available or not: the phone itself, the booklet with apple stickers + sim eject pin, earphone (no longer in a clear plastic box - cut cost maybe), 3 pin + USB.

4) check the phone for any visible defect. Don't check for finger prints on the screen. its useless, and u cant change the phone due to some stupid reason.

5) turn on the phone and don't insert the sim card first. WHY? as reason no 6

6) DO NOT ACTIVATE THE PHONE YET. Once u insert the sim card, they will try to connect to the internet and activate the phone. Once u activate the phone and u have found a manufacturing defect after that, GG, u will need to send it for warranty and u will suffer for few days or maybe weeks. SO PLEASE DONT LET THE MAXIS CS SERVICE TO DO WHAT EVER HE LIKES. be strict with them. Its a 5k item anyway and you don't want a defect item.

7) Inspect the screen, make sure there is no green or yellow single line especially the edge of the phone. If u find one, request a replacement on the spot. Make a noise if the maxis CS is trying to bullshit u of not giving u any replacement on the spot.

8) Insert simcard now after u have found no green/yellow line and activate the phone using the cellular data/wifi. Yes, now. Yellow tint screen is normal, and u can only disable the true tone once u activate the phone. So accept it as it be, unless u think its abnormal, just claim the warranty, and suffer for few days of not managed to show everyone at Facebook.

9) Test the face ID. Should be easy to set it and it will works flawlessly.

10) If u wanna test Siri, make sure remove the plastic screen protector first.

11) Close the phone, and restart back.

12) Test the charger, test the earphone.

Other tips: GET A SCREEN PROTECTOR AND CASING READY AS SOON AS POSSIBLE or BEFORE U GET THE IPHONE. U will never want to use this phone naked.

All tips above i've gather from my previous experiences buying the iPhones from maxis 2 years ago and before, together with my experience with the iPhone X at SG. The tips might be outdated as there's might be some improvement or change in maxis policy. Goodluck.

===
ive just realised, this is a general iphone x thread and not maxis thread. But most of it may seems to be valid. I know if DiGi at SS2, they will not open the box and let you open the box yourself even at home.

This post has been edited by fadzly: Nov 13 2017, 10:53 PM
fadzly
post Nov 14 2017, 11:11 AM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 14 2017, 11:09 AM)
Exactly. Sounds like too much trouble anyway!
any hacking will be so much trouble pun. so this one no excuse. but i get the point, its useless. Ha ha ha ha. this clown should not be called as a hacker by the way.
fadzly
post Nov 14 2017, 11:58 AM

1,757 posts

dah jgn gaduh2. dont get the phone la. boring la this phone. sampai sekarang i dont know why i bought this phone x except the Hype surrounding it..

1) Pig face Animoji "limited-to-10-secs"? sent it to few friends, and u will get bored with it within few days.
2) Face ID? It works flawlessly, but finger print better.
3) No home button. Yeah. swiping up is the "new trend".
4) great camera - nahh....
5) Oled screen - this is the only big point of having an iphone X. But i do compare it on previous iphone, the different seems negligible with naked eye.

Its a great phone. No doubt. But its a hype and expensive. The thing will fades after 2 days of using it. And i no longer feel proud of using it. So yes. u nak beli u beli. u tak nak beli u jgn beli. simple. Ha ha ha ha.
fadzly
post Nov 14 2017, 12:45 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(johnm @ Nov 14 2017, 12:28 PM)
hi bro thanks for your points. what interests me is your 4th point. the camera is nahh?
really no differencve even wioth dual cam OIS?

that's the deciding point for me the camera ... and of course the battery life. how do you find that?

prefer points/ feedbacks and reviews like yours where a proper discussion can be had...
The ipx camera has an advantage. But I don't see much different from previous generation

Nah take a guess which one is iPhone X. And which one is iPhone 6s plus
fadzly
post Nov 14 2017, 12:54 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(koonghx @ Nov 14 2017, 12:52 PM)
Second pic is X.
Wrong.
fadzly
post Nov 14 2017, 12:58 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(johnm @ Nov 14 2017, 12:55 PM)
the one at the bottom? 6S plus? maybe?

how's the battery life bro?
I don't use much with X. Maybe it's better. Slightly?

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0786sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:05 PM