The Official iPhone X Discussion Thread | V2, Most expensive iPhone to date

TOMEI-R
post Nov 8 2017, 03:38 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(limchee @ Nov 8 2017, 03:27 PM)
probably he is talking about the model number eg A1901?

in this case 7+ HK model is different from MY and SG model number
HK A1661
MY SG A1784

https://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/
No bro.. Im just giving of an example of the model number which I made up myself. laugh.gif
TOMEI-R
post Nov 8 2017, 03:51 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(limchee @ Nov 8 2017, 03:42 PM)
then what happen to those who said u can claim SG set in MY...  confused.gif
The claim Sg set is true. Because I claimed one Iphone 6 before. But like I mentioned, it is based on Good will basis. That is what Mac City staff told me.

The model code is just to show how to check which country the phone originated from.
TOMEI-R
post Nov 8 2017, 04:04 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(St. Teh @ Nov 8 2017, 03:57 PM)
I think thats ppl personal experience, not necessary to share to 3rd parties who dont have direct/interest involvement.
It's up to you to trust or not to trust, judge at own risk
Correct. When I claimed the Sg set Iphone 6 with Mac City, the staff even told me that my claim will be processed by their Apple Store SG as my set is from them. So they will just help me ship the phone back to them.

I would not suggest anyone take the risk of buying an overseas set unless it is absolutely necessary. Safest would be to buy Malaysian sets as warranty could be easily sorted out. Resale value of used My units also will fetch better prices. nod.gif Personally the furthest I would go for would be only Sg sets.

irenic

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Nov 8 2017, 04:06 PM
TOMEI-R
post Nov 8 2017, 05:19 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Nov 8 2017, 04:31 PM)
my guess all telco will have pre order date on 17/11  brows.gif
[ne] ... What are you waiting for? tongue.gif
TOMEI-R
post Nov 8 2017, 05:26 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Nov 8 2017, 05:21 PM)
waiting for sponsorship but likely to have  laugh.gif
What are boyfriends for? whistling.gif

Again... what are you waiting for? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
TOMEI-R
post Nov 8 2017, 05:57 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Nov 8 2017, 05:34 PM)
same same peasant as me.. lolz.. please don't poison me ok  laugh.gif
Oh... and I forgot to tell you how good the camera is.

Read this.

The IPhone X's camera is like having a photo studio in your pocket.

What are you waiting for????? brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
TOMEI-R
post Nov 8 2017, 06:14 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 8 2017, 06:00 PM)
Too lazy to read the article just yet but in summary, besides the front selfie Portrait Lighting effects, anything else different compared to the 8 Plus?
The X's front facing camera has "TrueDepth" which includes an infrared camera, sensors and light projectors capable of perceiving depth.

-Wide lens is f/1.8 on both, with optical image stabilization (OIS)

-Telephoto lens is slightly faster on the X (f/2.4 vs. f/2.8)

-Telephoto lens has OIS on the X only

In short, meaning that you can start putting up your 8 + for sale now. whistling.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Nov 8 2017, 06:16 PM

TOMEI-R
post Nov 8 2017, 09:53 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Nov 8 2017, 08:53 PM)
When is Apple going to have a store here. Blardy Machines, Mac City are growing like mushrooms and I am sick and tired of seeing them. However, there is one place in Malaysia and a high profile mall that has yet to open its doors which is non other than the KL Echo City Mall.

Apple is SP Setia's largest office tenant in their Bettersea project in London. I hope the power in SP Setia can convince them to finally open their first Malaysia Apple Store. So damn fedup depending on SG our smaller neighbor when our markets here are bigger.
Why would SP Setia be interested in asking Apple to open their stores here? hmm.gif Btw, how many billion dollars is SP Setia worth? laugh.gif
Yes, Sgp is a smaller country with lesser natural resources but they are managing their economy and country so well that Sgd is $1 = Rm3.12. Their purchasing power is much stronger and hence major brands will prefer to be selling their products there. Common sense bro!

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Nov 8 2017, 09:35 PM)
btw mountain tortoise is hokkien direct translation of sua ku or kampung people
never visited apple store orchard,but visited apple store macau. and got my 6s battery replaced there(1hr done vs 1week waiting for QCD/other AASP here)
Thanks for your explanation. thumbup.gif So attw bro is a sua ku? laugh.gif
TOMEI-R
post Nov 9 2017, 11:22 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(lchee @ Nov 8 2017, 09:48 PM)
Which credit card going to give the best cash back if purchase from Machine?
You have to ask this question on the credit card threads.

QUOTE(Whyiy @ Nov 9 2017, 12:20 AM)
Miss my home button...
Ah... you will get used to it in a day or two.
TOMEI-R
post Nov 9 2017, 11:28 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Nov 9 2017, 09:33 AM)
Actually iphone X without button is nicer than the button on other iphones. I get used to it on just a single day. The only I miss is the finger print which alot faster.
You have got that right. Now you have to look into your phone and wait for it to unlock which actually takes abit of time to unlock. Fingerprint is way faster and more convinient because you have already unlock when you hold your phone and at the same time place your thumb on the thumbprint sensor. I hope Apple gets this right during the next update.

QUOTE(kian811210 @ Nov 9 2017, 10:25 AM)
hi, asking some question
i'm currently using 6plus 64GB and phone memory still remain 20Gb++
so if i buy iphone X 64gb, should be good enough for me, right?
Looking at it should be enough but is it futureproof enough is another question.
TOMEI-R
post Nov 9 2017, 12:49 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(PHI_1.618 @ Nov 9 2017, 12:24 PM)
I agree that Touch ID could be quicker. I can press the home button while I am pulling out the phone from my pocket and by the time I look at the screen, it is already unlocked.

However, I read some reviews (I yet to get mine, delivery in end Nov) that there is a quicker way (might not as quick as Touch ID though) where you do not wait for the padlock to show unlock before swiping up to unlock the phone. You can straight swipe up once u pull it out from you pocket and and have the phone in front of your face (with eyes open of coz..). Not sure not to describe that in words, but basically what you do is once u have you phone out and you at looking at it...just swipe up. Don't wait for the padlock to show unlock. Then the Face ID unlock and screen unlock will be like working simultaneously. That should make it slight quicker and maybe comparable with Touch ID?

Anyone got the phone can give it a try and see if this make ti slightly quicker to unlock? Of coz, it might still not as quick as Touch ID... icon_rolleyes.gif
Yes it works but no matter what you have to have your face facing the phone first. Im still used to my previous 7+ fingerprint recognition which I still think is a notch faster than face id because I usually unlock when pulling the phone out of the pocket or even with the phone lying on my office desk. With the X I have to pick up the phone everytime to unlock. I also develope a bad habit of having to keep looking at the lock/unlock sign to activate before I start using the phone. Maybe I still havent got the hang of it but I still do think finger print is faster.
TOMEI-R
post Nov 9 2017, 12:51 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(fentanyl @ Nov 9 2017, 12:49 PM)
Good polarized sunglasses should be no problem.
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Nov 9 2017, 12:49 PM)
thanks for your feedback. then i gonna think twice on this cz i will wear specs  hmm.gif  jz afraid the lens whether the infrared can penetrate through or not as u mentioned
I have no issues unlocking with my Oakleys on. If yours are reading glasses then definately no problem. So no excuses ya. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Nov 9 2017, 12:52 PM
TOMEI-R
post Nov 9 2017, 01:05 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Nov 9 2017, 12:54 PM)
sunglasses or specs?
Cycling sunglasses but with a clear lenses. tongue.gif It will be a hit and miss with dark lenses. So it would be troublesome to unlock if you are on holiday with sunglasses on.
TOMEI-R
post Nov 9 2017, 01:14 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Nov 9 2017, 01:10 PM)
thanks guys. that clear my doubts. my main concern is specs as i seldom wear sunglasses so not a big issue..  thumbsup.gif
Send actual picture of you with glasses on for Iphone X facial recognition unlock analytical purposes. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Nov 9 2017, 01:15 PM
TOMEI-R
post Nov 9 2017, 03:23 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Nov 9 2017, 02:40 PM)
I’m hoping Apple could at least use Apple Watch as a companion device when near the phone to allow the phone to unlock.
But when you were wearing the watch then won't your phone be always unlocked?

QUOTE(Sunnygray @ Nov 9 2017, 03:08 PM)
I’m using the RM50 type from lazada. Works like a charm.
How long does yours charge... lets say from % to full? IMO wireless charging is really slow. Not that charging by cable is fast but wireless is even slower. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Nov 9 2017, 03:24 PM
TOMEI-R
post Nov 9 2017, 03:50 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Nov 9 2017, 03:35 PM)
Idea is Watch has to be in range connected to the phone, Watch also has to be on the wrist and unlocked in order for phone to remain unlocked. Hopefully Apple has at least thought of something similar like this.
Something like in Car Mode in Android. But then this will make us all buy Apple Watch. sweat.gif
TOMEI-R
post Nov 9 2017, 04:04 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Nov 9 2017, 03:57 PM)
better put on casing  ohmy.gif
Looks like got run over a car to me.
TOMEI-R
post Nov 9 2017, 04:17 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(PHI_1.618 @ Nov 9 2017, 04:10 PM)
it is like telling the iPhone to:
[attachmentid=9318682]

QUOTE(fadzly @ Nov 9 2017, 04:13 PM)
Anyone can recommend me a wireless qi charger that is cheap and also fast charge?
Fast charge is still not enabled/available on the Iphone X at the moment.
TOMEI-R
post Nov 9 2017, 04:47 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Dio Escobar @ Nov 9 2017, 04:40 PM)
can we use the samsung note 8 wireless charger for iphone x too?
because i have both note 8 & ipx (not yet arrived) so i'm thinking to buy 1 wireless charger that i can use for both phone.
note 8 wireless charger has fast charging feature so is it ok to use with ipx which doesn't support fast wireless charging yet?
Im using the same wireless charger from the Note 8 to charge my iphone x too. Rather slow charging though if you ask me so I dont bother.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Nov 9 2017, 04:48 PM
TOMEI-R
post Nov 9 2017, 04:49 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Nov 9 2017, 04:46 PM)
Can. It wont draw power more than what it supports so dont worry.

[attachmentid=9318952]
How long does yours take to charge from about 0% to full on wireless charging?

About 29k of unread mails. How are you going to clear that? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Nov 9 2017, 04:53 PM

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1869sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:40 PM