Samsung Samsung Note 8 Discussion Thread v5

Max2006
post Dec 19 2017, 07:32 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Dec 19 2017, 06:46 PM)
You know any apps i could use to check warranty. Korean set that is. Just wanna check just incase. Where I bought they provide in house warranty
I only know how to check local set warranty via SMS method. Since yours is AP set, you should contact the seller who should have registered the warranty for you. Ask him/her for some sort of certificate or proof. That's the most accurate and effective way to obtain your warranty info for AP set.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Dec 19 2017, 07:33 PM
Max2006
post Dec 20 2017, 01:36 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(xHj09 @ Dec 20 2017, 01:28 PM)
recently phone keep getting delayed notification

any idea what went wrong? software prob? twitter and instagram delay like 2 hours, others about 30mins i guess

didnt install anything the past few weeks, last install was arena of valor, i think 2 months ago?

this issue started happening recently, last thurs or friday iinm as i was chatting with someone on instagram, i didn't even know my friend replied.
Since when it happened? After the recent android update? If got free time, try to uninstall and reinstall the apps. Go to the Monitoring apps section and uncheck those apps. Also wipe the phone cache and restart. 80% of the software problems will be resolved automatically after doing these moves.
Max2006
post Dec 24 2017, 10:16 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(SweeJ @ Dec 24 2017, 07:28 AM)
Hey guys,

Does any one know if and when will the 128GB and 256GB variants of the Note 8 be launched in Malaysia? Only the 64GB version seems to be sold at most places I've searched.

Thanks!
Doubted that SME will release 128GB variant in here. Even if they do so, they will only release it 1 or 2 months before Note 9 launching.

As for 256GB variant, no. This variant is specially for Korea and China's market.
Max2006
post Dec 25 2017, 11:32 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(realitec @ Dec 25 2017, 10:39 AM)
Besides the storage, any different for 64gb compared to 128gb and 256gb? I thought we can put sd card in, so the storage doesnt matter tongue.gif
There's a few advantages to consider when it comes to internal storage compared to external storage. For example, internal storage load stuff faster. And also reducing the risk of corrupted files. If there's an option, larger internal storage is always welcomed among the hardcore users.
Max2006
post Dec 25 2017, 04:49 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(defqon1 @ Dec 25 2017, 04:16 PM)
Going to get korean ap set 256gb SM-N950N single sim at only RM3500. Anyone here owns one?
IINM, Rei7 is using one.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Dec 25 2017, 04:50 PM
Max2006
post Dec 28 2017, 05:08 PM

4,099 posts

Geez. Not sure how many times we already explained this. There's no such thing called light leaking in Samsung Flagships because it's using Amoled screen (no backlight) instead of LCD screen (using backlight). So no need to worry too much.

If still feel skeptical about this, please watch the video below.

Explanation at 0:40

It's not a defect. At most it should be considered as a tiny imperfection from immature design. Perhaps there's some perfect units out there which don't have such "flaw". But the chances is very slim. Even if you insist to change to a new unit, you probably will end up getting another same "light leaking" unit again.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Dec 28 2017, 05:23 PM
Max2006
post Dec 30 2017, 02:38 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(pakmulau @ Dec 30 2017, 12:38 AM)
https://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_pushes_out...-news-28905.php

Samsung has started rolling out a new update to its Galaxy Note8 flagship smartphone. The update doesn't change the build number (which remains at N950FXXU2BQKG), but it includes a fix for an LTE-related issue.

anyone know what this issue all about? maybe my set got this problem

last friday went to CS because my signal cannot lock to 4g only H+

they said might be because of software. then they said need 20 minutes to reinstall(?)

lucky it just software. if hardware need to claim warranty some more
Probably only for Taiwan units since they are facing LTE issue since last update. This explains why the build number is still remain the same.
Max2006
post Jan 2 2018, 06:30 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(steel52 @ Jan 2 2018, 06:16 PM)
any idea when note 8 will update to Android 8.0 Oreo ?
Many people expected that it will be arrived in Jan. But my best guess is around Feb-March, for SME units.
Max2006
post Jan 3 2018, 06:22 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jan 3 2018, 04:25 PM)
Anybody ever encounter this? While tapping on an image sent/received from a chat in whatsapp, the image will auto clipped to top left instead of the centre.
Ya. Encountered that before. But mine will only happened on the images I sent. The images that other people sent don't have such issue. And I found out how to solve it temporily. Switched the display resolution to FHD instead QHD. Somehow that bug would only happened if you are using QHD.
Max2006
post Jan 4 2018, 06:09 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(aaron80 @ Jan 4 2018, 05:47 PM)
saw in oversea forum that is talking the app ForceDoze
it says that Android will only go into doze mode after screen off for some times, such as 30 minutes to 1 hour
and it will not in doze mode while moving even screen off

so with this app, can immediately put the phone into doze mode after screen off

not sure that will it impact data connection, notification, certain sensors, etc or not
IMO, I will wait for Oreo first since the Doze mode in Oreo is improved a lot compared to Nougat. If not satisfied, then only consider this ForzeDoze. Since Oreo is around the corner, so no rush.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 4 2018, 07:52 PM
Max2006
post Jan 5 2018, 05:15 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Jan 5 2018, 03:33 PM)
Hopefully they will bring it back in the forth coming Note 9 Bro. Chill there!
Will all due respect bro, not sure why you keep giving him false hope while we all know that all the future Samsung flagships (even their low/mid-range phones) will not have IR feature for sure, never. And I think that deep down in his heart he already knew about this fact, it's just that he couldn't accept it and he keeps coming back into here and rant about it? If I was in his shoes, I would have gave up and just stick to other brand that have IR feature. hmm.gif

I know the pain when they took away something that you need the most. For example the removable battery. But what to do? The phone manufacturers already made up their mind and they won't turn back. We better accept it and move on.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 5 2018, 05:28 PM
Max2006
post Jan 5 2018, 07:35 PM

4,099 posts

https://www.sammobile.com/news/galaxy-note-...domly-released/

Looks like we may get Oreo much earlier than we expected?
Max2006
post Jan 8 2018, 11:24 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Jan 8 2018, 10:33 AM)
well there are some people who can afford full price without question and there are people who relies on discount to get the latest phones.

just because you felt 3799 is still expensive does not mean 3799 is expensive to others.

you earn 7k and buy it at 3799 = expensive
someone else earning 15k and buy it at 3799 = its not expensive for them

just like how some can afford to pay for iphones while some need to give away their kidney just for a phone.

as long as the phone is happily in the hands of the owner

nothing else matters anyway laugh.gif

since at the end of the day we are all/will be note 8 owners
cant wait till the promo day to get my phone though laugh.gif
Hi bro mafioso! Good to see another Note 5 owner in here (me as well)! Finally decided to switch over to Note 8 ya? You won't regret it! I switched from Note 5 to S8+ to Note 8, all in 2017. Quite a long journey! LOL. thumbsup.gif

Btw, save your energy on explain why you purchase it with retail price. Some people in here tend to look down, or make fun of the people who have bought the device with higher price. Then they keep showing off and said how cheap are their device, what kind of gift they have received.

Mine was purchased during roadshow, had to go early, had to queue up, wasted about 2 -3 hours, paid with retail price. So what? I could say that I got a free VR headset (RM499), a clear view standing flip cover (RM249) with signature from Korean star (priceless?), screen protection 1 year (RM149), and also a selfie with Korean star (again, priceless). After round it up I could say my device is only RM3102 + a selfie with Korean star which is priceless. Should I be proud of it and keep showing off?

The answer is definitely no. Everyone has their own interpretation about how worthy of the price when they were getting their devices. As long as you, the owner is happy, then there's nothing to worry/regret about. And nobody should judge you on what price you have paid for. thumbup.gif

Hope to see you more often in here bro! Just ask question if you have any doubts on the device. We are gladly to help. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 8 2018, 11:25 AM
Max2006
post Jan 8 2018, 12:02 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(aaron80 @ Jan 8 2018, 11:37 AM)
if you round up free gift to be cash to get RM3102 then for them, should be below 3k  tongue.gif
Haha. Indeed bro. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(mafioso @ Jan 8 2018, 11:43 AM)

also nothing worth to show off if you bought it at a cheaper price (if they really want to go that childish way of comparison, i can also say i can afford it at retail price without thinking twice. who's the better income earner? brows.gif brows.gif icon_idea.gif )
Well said bro!

i just hope we can get oreo before 17th so that i can upgrade + set it up
very lazy to wipe and re-set up again hahaha (i always practise wiping the phone on major upgrades of the firmware) laugh.gif

Oh. I don't think we will get Oreo so soon. AFAIK, S8 already finished the beta test and expected to receive Oreo at the end of January. As for Note 8, probably will receive Oreo in Feb, or March (depends on how fast SME is working on this).

yours what color? i reserved midnight black tongue.gif
Mine is Orchid Grey. My ex-S8+ is also Orchid Grey. Not sure why. I always prefer Grey. tongue.gif

Btw, according to some user's review, midnight black has some painting issue, where the color on the side will be peeled off after wear and tear. So I suggest you to buy a case that can cover the side, to prevent the possible peel off. wink.gif

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 8 2018, 12:04 PM
Max2006
post Jan 8 2018, 12:20 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Jan 8 2018, 12:05 PM)
- oh no, no oreos for CNY then laugh.gif laugh.gif

- the grey is nice but it feels weird for me lah (personal taste, nothing against the color).. black on top, grey at the back laugh.gif.. BUT it is very elegant looking, truth! nod.gif

- went with black cuz grey felt weird for me
Haha. Actually no matter what kind of color we are getting, eventually at the end, it will be unseen once we put a case on it. tongue.gif

- as for the paint chipping, maybe wont affect me? i plan to get a dark TPU case (something like adding smoke effects to car tail lights  cool2.gif ) and also im buying a fully covered tempered SP

should be safe from paint chip? hmm.gif
Hmm..based on the feedbacks, it seems that most people only found out the paint chip after quite some times and they even don't know how it got peeled off. I just assume that putting a case to cover all four sides of the phone will at least prevent/reduce the chances of getting the paint chip.

Max2006
post Jan 8 2018, 01:10 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Jan 8 2018, 12:26 PM)
cant wait now bro. LOL

9 days feels freaking long!! laugh.gif

Be patient bro. May be you can watch some youtube videos, the reviews of the phone, the tips and some fun facts. That's how I spent my free time before I was waiting for the official launching date. biggrin.gif

so far hows your usage on the note 8? better than 2015's note 5 experience?
Absolutely better than Note5. Don't get me wrong. Note 5 is a great device too! I am sure you agree too. But Note 8 is even better!

Display - Freaking awesome! Nothing can beat Samsung down when it comes to display! This is the biggest reason, probably the only reason why I always go for Samsung brand. biggrin.gif

18.5:9 screen body ratio - A bit weird but you will get used to it. Although it's easier to hold on hand due to its slimmer body, the long size body (some people called it long size brick) may be a bit troublesome if you put it in your pocket. So make sure your pocket is deep enough. LOL.

Oh and don't forget that weird position of the finger print sensor on the back. If your fingers is short, that will be a problem. however, to be compensated there's iris scanner and face unlock.

Software and OS - Faster, smoother, and much improved compared to the old days. The new Touchwiz (now is called Samsung experience) is much lighter and lesser bloatwares. You can even uninstall some Google apps and Samsung apps as you wish. You will have much more "freedoms" in this new version of Touchwiz.

Bixby - Some people hate it. But I personally like it. It's a good feature for the users who want to use the phone without touching it. It's a great combination with Google assistant.

Sound - The bottom firing speaker quality is slightly above average. The earphone jack sound quality is better than Note 5. I am not a professional audiophile. All I know is that when I listen to music pairing with my good old reliable Xiaomi piston v4, Note 8 is much pleasing compared to Note 5.

Camera - Note 5 camera is already great. Note 8 is even better! With dual pixels, dual lens with dual OIS, Zoom x2 feature, freaking awesome low light shooting...etc. If you love Note 5 camera, you will definitely love Note 8 camera even more!

S-Pen - The function is improved a lot compared to Note 5 version. The Live message is quite handy, especially when you want to send love messages to your special love ones. But the build quality of the Note 8's S-pen is a bit dull, and not shiny enough compared to Note 5's S Pen. LOL.

Battery life - Much better than Note 5. During the Note 5 days, I had to use PDP to disable many system apps in order to prolong the battery life. For Note 8, I never use PDP and it can give me full day usage (heavy use) , or 2-3 days usage (mild use).

In short, Note 8 is the greatest device that Samsung ever made so far (before Note 9 comes out)! You will appreciate it and love it even more if you are coming from previous Samsung Note generation! thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 8 2018, 01:30 PM
Max2006
post Jan 8 2018, 01:13 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jan 8 2018, 12:46 PM)
Why do samsung take off the ACTION MEMO , Pin to Home screen !!!  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
Hi bro. The action memo is still there. You have to dig deeper. it's been simplified though.

And if you want the old version of the S-Note to bring back the old version of Action memo,

Max2006
post Jan 8 2018, 03:30 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Jan 8 2018, 03:10 PM)
nope... its never work out on me. the damn snote keep updating to newer one.
Try to turn off the auto update in Playstore and Galaxy appstore so that it will not auto update by itself.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 8 2018, 03:30 PM
Max2006
post Jan 8 2018, 03:54 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Jan 8 2018, 03:44 PM)
was searching around xda to disable bixby button

seems like it will work but samsung will always patch it

hmm maybe i'll just use the phone as intended to and give bixby a go when i start using the note 8!
Don't worry bro. If you don't want to use bixby, just turn it off in their setting. The latest bixby version already provided that. Once you turn it off, the bixby button will be no longer respond no matter how many time you press on it. smile.gif

http://bgr.com/2017/11/05/galaxy-s8-how-to...e-bixby-button/

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 8 2018, 03:56 PM
Max2006
post Jan 8 2018, 04:00 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Jan 8 2018, 03:57 PM)
thats nice..

means it will not even trigger at all despite accidental press? even in pocket?

Yes. The bixby button will be dead, literally.

but then wouldnt that render the button useless?

they should at least provide us the alternative to make it open something else  shakehead.gif
Yes. for now. Perhaps they will allow us to remap it in the future update. It could be done in a small update though. So it's up to them whether they want to give us that alternative or not.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0244sec    1.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:31 PM