Samsung Samsung Note 8 Discussion Thread v5

Max2006
post Oct 28 2017, 05:58 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Oct 28 2017, 12:11 PM)
If I read correctly... already change the case but still repeat same issue at the same spot?

My orchid grey no such issue so far... been protected with Ringke since day 1...
I also checked my Orchid grey unit. Also no such issue.

Read some comments in other forums. Apparently, this "peeling issue" is quite hot among the Note 8 users all around the world. And most of them are midnight black units. So far, haven't heard any similar issues reported by Orchid grey, Maple gold and Deepsea blue owners yet. Looks like the black color coating on the side of Midnight black unit was a poor rush job by Samsung. I wonder if they already fixed this in 2nd batch....

This post has been edited by Max2006: Oct 28 2017, 05:59 PM
Max2006
post Oct 29 2017, 11:18 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(yang90 @ Oct 29 2017, 10:43 AM)
my phone will shows "No Internet Connection" when I plug or unplug charging cable. It'll shows also when switch off wifi and connected to mobile data. There's internet connection, but system said no..Something wrong....
Could be a glitch. Try reset the network setting and see if it solves the problem.

https://www.verizonwireless.com/support/kno...ge-base-214319/

This post has been edited by Max2006: Oct 29 2017, 11:18 AM
Max2006
post Oct 31 2017, 03:55 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(deathkiss @ Oct 31 2017, 02:04 AM)
The other day, was charging my Note8 with my wireless charger and saw the reflection of the fluorescent light from above off the screen to have round curves. Looked closer and noticed 2 very small dents on the screen glass. Doesn't looked like crack and definitely did not drop my phone. Anyone else having similar issues?
You are not alone. Mine also have a small "dent", which is located at the very bottom bezel. And I can assure you, that, it's not a screen problem. In fact, the small dent is a defect on the oleophobic coating. From what I read from other forums, it seems that the first batch of Note 8 has issues on its oleophobic coating. Some have small dents, some have weird marks, some surface are not even.

https://www.reddit.com/r/GalaxyNote8/commen...coating_defect/

According to tech reviewer Erica Griffin, she did hear some complaints on the internet where some Note 8 have similar issue. She claimed that Gorilla Glass 5 is the one to be blamed on this case.

Mentioned at 3:49

I am sure some users in here would have similar issue on this. But they probably won't notice it at all since it's not easy to spot on.

As for me, it's indeed annoying to look at. And I am a bit disappointed to know that such a silly issue would happened on an expensive premium device. However, since the dent is located at the bottom bezel, plus it's difficult to notice unless there's a light reflection. So I decided to ignore it. Afterall, it doesn't affect my usage at all.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Oct 31 2017, 04:05 AM
Max2006
post Oct 31 2017, 12:42 PM

4,099 posts

Explaination on the light leak.

At 0:40

Conclusion: it's normal for curved screen device.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Oct 31 2017, 12:43 PM
Max2006
post Nov 5 2017, 01:07 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(sam60 @ Nov 5 2017, 12:52 PM)
so today decided to do geekbench.... heres the score...

compared with others android OS and Iphone X

i mean come on...3GB of RAM?? really?
IINM, iPhone X gets higher score due to their new A11 Bionic chip, not because of the amount of ram.

Sadly to say that after so many years, Android still got a lot to catch up with IOS in term of processor speed. However, if you don't care about the scores and if you don't do mobile gaming, you won't notice much difference between Note 8 & iPhone X in real life usage.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Nov 5 2017, 01:09 PM
Max2006
post Nov 5 2017, 05:38 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(1likegadg3t @ Nov 5 2017, 04:18 PM)
according also one of the test...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s-Vn0h8Wfo0
Yup. That's why I said higher scores doesn't mean it is the King of all. Somehow iPhone X is slower than Note 8 in certain extent. Most people believe that the newest IOS is the culprit in here. Software and OS optimization is the key in here. Anyway, unless you are a tech reviewer, if not, then don't be bothered too much with the benchmark scores. As long as you are satisfied with the performance, then it's all good.

However, I do feel very good while knowing that Note 8 is beating down iPhone X. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Max2006: Nov 5 2017, 05:54 PM
Max2006
post Nov 6 2017, 01:03 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(emei @ Nov 5 2017, 10:53 PM)
Do you guys happy/ satisfied with the note's8 speaker?
Above average. In term of single firing speaker I would say it's quite good and loud. But of course, the sound quality is nowhere near to the dual firing speakers

QUOTE(sam60 @ Nov 5 2017, 11:48 PM)
im sure cant coz note series got spen...where to put if got stereo speaker?
They can put it at the earpiece. Similar to other brands such as Mi Max 2 & Mate 10's dual speaker. One at the ear piece, another one at the bottom loudspeaker.

However, I don't think Samsung will go for dual speaker, especially for their flagships. Speaker and sound would never be their first priority when it comes to innovation. So far the only Samsung phone that have dual speakers is C9Pro. So yeah. They rather put the dual speakers on midrange phone but not on Note 8/S8/S8+.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Nov 6 2017, 01:17 AM
Max2006
post Nov 6 2017, 12:50 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(hks1977 @ Nov 6 2017, 11:14 AM)
the price of GS3 still hover below 10-20% of the RRP..  i feel it's a good buy (for me la) and the straps can buy quite cheap on lazada, quality is ok too...
and for the ultimate chick magnet... u can use samsung pay on GS3 ... imagine paying with your watch leh... downside is that u won't get points thru GS3
Hi bro. May I know where to get the GS3 below 10-20% of the RRP? Thinking of getting one in near future.

Max2006
post Nov 6 2017, 02:30 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(ahtom82 @ Nov 6 2017, 01:19 PM)
hey got a question i have been trying to search answer to. the galaxy note 8 say it is IP68 water proof.

What about the sim card slot. how does the sim card slot prevent water from going in? Cause I find that  they only have a rubber gasket there to protect. if for someone who always take out the sd card to copy stuff in, the rubber gasket is easily spoil or not in place. what do you guys think?
I guess it's all about probability of wear and tear, and a little bit of luck. The more you take it out and put in, the higher chances the rubber gasket will getting spoilt. There's no exact answer for this.
Max2006
post Nov 6 2017, 05:23 PM

4,099 posts

Samsung latest ad! Damn! LOL

Max2006
post Nov 10 2017, 06:18 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(neochaser5 @ Nov 10 2017, 05:04 PM)
Singles day sale tomolo.. please feel free to share any links here on products for our Note 8s that are for a good deal... Phones, cases, TPs, etc...
Good idea. As for me I plan to get Gear S3. Hopefully any sifus in here can recommend any good deals tomorrow.

QUOTE(aaron80 @ Nov 10 2017, 04:48 PM)
the future is smart home which is based on wifi
so i don't think they will go back to IR
Very true. Same goes to removable battery. Even LG "the last removable battery smartphone on earth" also already ditched it due to IP68 rating & wireless charging. In future we may see more and more old features getting removed in order to give way to new innovation. It's unavoidable.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Nov 10 2017, 06:20 PM
Max2006
post Nov 13 2017, 06:54 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Nov 13 2017, 03:28 PM)
Dont need to go till bangkok. Digi store also selling around rm160 only
I guess it's time to pay a visit to the Digi store! One question though. I am not Digi user. Is this price eligible to all walk in customers or only Digi users?
Max2006
post Nov 17 2017, 01:17 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Raymond_ACCA @ Nov 17 2017, 11:46 AM)
Anyone here without the "crop to fit" button while watching youtube videos?
it's the new youtube update.

https://www.androidauthority.com/pixel-2-xl...s8-plus-815429/
Max2006
post Nov 17 2017, 07:10 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(adalar99 @ Nov 17 2017, 06:49 PM)
Hey guys , snap the back for the alacantra casing at mobile station ...cheers
Imei stickers checked. Should be genuine one. The only difference is it was made in China, while most of the SME Samsung official covers were made in Vietnam. My LED wallet and Clear standing covers were made in Vietnam. Perhaps Alacantra casing is different?
Max2006
post Nov 17 2017, 11:37 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(meiyi @ Nov 17 2017, 11:24 PM)
After 1.5 day usage.
Based on your consumptions, it's not good. The Android system consume too much of battery life. It should not be at the top of the list. Perhaps you were tinkering with the phone settings the whole day? If that's the case, then it makes sense.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Nov 17 2017, 11:42 PM
Max2006
post Nov 21 2017, 10:22 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(vincetee06 @ Nov 21 2017, 09:38 AM)
May i know what power mode u guy using for best baterry life vs performance?
currently using optimized mode with AOD, but seems batt performance not so good, 20% drop in idle for 6 hours...
One of the culprits in here is AOD. Many in here found out the AOD in Note 8 consumes a lot of battery juice. You can turn it off if you do not need it.
Max2006
post Nov 21 2017, 07:03 PM

4,099 posts

Folks. Samsung is going to release Star Wars edition Note 8 soon. The design is similar to the Iron Man editon S6 edge. Perhaps it's Darth Vader version. That would be very cool!
Max2006
post Nov 21 2017, 08:00 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Nov 21 2017, 07:55 PM)
That is more than not bad. I think it's pretty awesome. Besides that is just with normal configurations. Wait till you try using the power saving modes. Note 8 will not dissapoint.
Do you guys feel the phone is slowing down after using the power saving mode? I haven't used this mode yet. Just wondering if it's worthy to compensate the speed and smoothness for the extra longer battery life.
Max2006
post Nov 22 2017, 06:07 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(vincetee06 @ Nov 22 2017, 06:04 PM)
The clear view flip case is quite thick, and solid build. But a little bit regret that the front mirror surface is real finger print magnet, i need to keep wiping and cleaning to keep it nice looking, tired....
Indeed. That's why I kept it in the drawer and switched back to LED view cover. tongue.gif
Max2006
post Nov 22 2017, 06:16 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(vincetee06 @ Nov 22 2017, 06:09 PM)
Guess i will just continue use it until wear off then only change.
Since it is build like a tank, then we should not waste it.
Mine was free gift from the roadshow, with signature by Song Ji-hyo. So I can't sell it eventhough I don't need it. No choice but to keep it as a good memory. biggrin.gif

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1595sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:37 AM