34 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Discussion A 'real fan', How do we become one?

TSDuke Red
post Apr 21 2007, 06:45 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(ic3johan @ Apr 21 2007, 05:59 PM)
i grew up grooming by my dad to be liverpool scouser
but all my fren support MU.. in the end
i buy gigs no 11 jersey ( canot resist always wish to be like him hahahahhaahha) but i not support MU...

then i understand wat "scousers" means... later always suport them the spice boys.. so i guess it goes by your age.. the younger u r... more confused u r..

but.. i love watch arsenal brand of football, 3 prong attack by barcelona, the technicality of ac milan so what am i?
You sound exactly as you claim yourself to be, confused. When you say you know what it is to be Scouse, what do you mean?
aba9785
post Apr 21 2007, 07:38 PM

el aba9785
743 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Apr 21 2007, 06:45 PM)
You sound exactly as you claim yourself to be, confused. When you say you know what it is to be Scouse, what do you mean?
Scouse is the accent and dialect of English found in the north-western English city of Liverpool and in some adjoining urban areas of Merseyside. The Scouse accent is highly distinctive and sounds wholly different from the accents used in the neighbouring regions of Cheshire and rural Lancashire. Inhabitants of Liverpool are called Liverpudlians, but are more often described by the slang term Scousers.
dont be confused icon_rolleyes.gif

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scouse
maxizanc
post Apr 21 2007, 08:12 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(aba9785 @ Apr 21 2007, 07:38 PM)
Scouse is the accent and dialect of English found in the north-western English city of Liverpool and in some adjoining urban areas of Merseyside. The Scouse accent is highly distinctive and sounds wholly different from the accents used in the neighbouring regions of Cheshire and rural Lancashire. Inhabitants of Liverpool are called Liverpudlians, but are more often described by the slang term Scousers.
dont be confused  icon_rolleyes.gif

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scouse
hahaha.. i guess Duke Red already know this.. that was not what he asked i guess.. biggrin.gif
aba9785
post Apr 21 2007, 09:51 PM

el aba9785
743 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Apr 21 2007, 08:12 PM)
hahaha.. i guess Duke Red already know this.. that was not what he asked i guess.. biggrin.gif
just trying to make ic3johan understand what Scousers is icon_rolleyes.gif
FauxHawk
post Apr 21 2007, 11:46 PM

<3
1,340 posts

A real fan...For me....=Someone who shares the ups and downs with the team, the cheers and the tears, to stay a fan even when all your fellow supporters switch allegiance after the team gets relegated..

Well, i very well cant watch championship matches on TV, so I haf to stream them illegally from the Net,resulting in super laggy matches,but still, listening to the commentary is good enough for me. Jersey? Can't get them around here,but is now waiting for a friend to go holiday in England,so she could help me get my jersey.
Bepeon
post Apr 21 2007, 11:57 PM

Tennis Lover
3,768 posts

A real fan will support and believe in his club even when the club is in bad form.
RtP|DEV
post Apr 22 2007, 03:43 AM

266 posts

I love my club. I feel like like i'm part of a great institution called Valencia Club de Futbol. That why i use we when im trying to describe something about the club, not they.
ex."Holy cow, we beat Merengues 10-0 last night"
I dont know if im actually a true fan or not but its not for others to decide either.

One day when i have a job ,im planning to become a socio(club member). Although VCF socio dont have voting power like Madrid, Barca and Athletic i still think becoming a VCF socio will make you one of them. Tbh, i envy those 3 clubs fan. I mean if they become socio they're part of the club,they're the actual owner of the club, and they can vote for new president and club policy. Because VCF is PLC(private limited company) , our socio dont have that kind of privilleges.
aztechx
post Apr 22 2007, 04:07 AM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

well i have sumthing different to share..mentioned this before in the man utd thread..and i dun mind mentioning it again here.. smile.gif

well..honestly i started supporting man utd in 99..the treble season..why was that?mainly..2 reasons..the first one wud be a rather funny one..my first ever football match was the FA cup final between man utd and liverpool..i was 11 i think..that time..i only had a slight interest in man utd..knowing a bit here and there but not knowing when are they playing and so on..but when we won the treble..i started to seriously support them..why?bcos they were strong..i didnt care much about anything else bcos i was 12 and evryone around me was watching football..my love for the team increased year after year but i couldnt watch all their games as i didnt have astro yet..when my dad installed astro,i watched about 70% of the games..(no late games..still schooling that time) sad.gif

that was how it all started..i still consider myself new to man utd compared to sum of the old timers in this forum..so i wont call myself a true fan just yet..tongue.gif
but if i do..ill be proud to say that my reason wud be that altho i started supporting man utd bcos they were strong,i stayed supporting them all thru the difficult years we had until this season..and i didnt for once consider jumping ships altho everyone around me were..and only after my SPM..any MU match is a must for me...i searched high and low for man utd merchandises..i pasted pics from newspapers on my wall beside the posters..i keep my newsnow window open 24hours a day..and i hissed at random people wearing jerseys other then that of man utd.....ok i made the last one up.. so do i pass the test to be a true fan?i sound more like a poser.. laugh.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by aztechx: Apr 22 2007, 04:30 AM
verx
post Apr 22 2007, 04:55 AM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(RtP|DEV @ Apr 22 2007, 03:43 AM)
ex."Holy cow, we beat Merengues 10-0 last night"
Keep dreaming tongue.gif

One day when i have a job ,im planning to become a socio(club member). Although VCF socio dont have voting power like Madrid, Barca and Athletic i still think becoming a VCF socio will make you one of them. Tbh, i envy those 3 clubs fan. I mean if they become socio they're part of the club,they're the actual owner of the club, and they can vote for new president and club policy. Because VCF is PLC(private limited company) , our socio dont have that kind of privilleges.
I know how u feel. It's my dream to become a socio of RM but i know my chances are pretty slim. But that won't stop me from trying nod.gif
TSDuke Red
post Apr 22 2007, 12:31 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(aba9785 @ Apr 21 2007, 09:51 PM)
just trying to make ic3johan understand what Scousers is  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks for the help biggrin.gif Scousers also have characteristics that are distinct to them, just like locals in other parts of the world.

QUOTE(FauxHawk @ Apr 21 2007, 11:46 PM)
A real fan...For me....=Someone who shares the ups and downs with the team, the cheers and the tears, to stay a fan even when all your fellow supporters switch allegiance after the team gets relegated..

Well, i very well cant watch championship matches on TV, so I haf to stream them illegally from the Net,resulting in super laggy matches,but still, listening to the commentary is good enough for me. Jersey? Can't get them around here,but is now waiting for a friend to go holiday in England,so she could help me get my jersey.
Good to see a Saints fan on here. The problem with your kit is that it's only available in Southampton. As you do not have a kit sponsor, Southampton manufacture their own and thus they are only available in Southampton.
ic3johan
post Apr 22 2007, 06:17 PM

108 posts

and as we know wikipidea not accurate enuf as it based on member who post it..yeah scouse mean dialect like kelante n terenganu diferent diaclet

scourser for me means ppl who support liverpool if i not mistaken everton is also inside liverpool area within few min from anfield so i called whole liverpool inhabitans as liverpudlian.
and as we know most scousers are working class ppl, n working class ppl are usualy very vocal n tight bond among themselve.. gerrard himself from those area so he knew wat hardwork means. we dont call evertonian scouser dont we?

so when i say scouser, for me its mean hardworking, supportive, vocal, up n down together, who cares when we losing when we can sing out loud like we winning. (but if win better lorr happy.gif)

thanks for enlighten me maybe we can share infos n history.. but most of all i like watch GOOOOOOOOD FOOTBALL match played by watever teams.. ah i miss good ol selangor days.. ktm komuters full of yellow n red marching from batu tiga to stadiaaaa
TSDuke Red
post Apr 22 2007, 06:51 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(ic3johan @ Apr 22 2007, 06:17 PM)
scourser for me means ppl who support liverpool if i not mistaken everton is also inside liverpool area within few min from anfield so i called whole liverpool inhabitans as liverpudlian.
and as we know most scousers are working class ppl, n working class ppl are usualy very vocal n tight bond among themselve.. gerrard himself from those area so he knew wat hardwork means. we dont call evertonian scouser dont we?
Scousers are simply natives of Liverpool. Both Liverpool FC and Everton FC are football clubs originating from Liverpool and thus both are Scouse. It doesn't matter which club you play for, you are Scouse as long as you are born in Liverpool.

wk_wong
post Apr 22 2007, 06:56 PM

Harapan Baru Untuk Malaysia
736 posts

a real fan is always with the team no matter which form they r in, no matter how badly u lost your bet on it biggrin.gif
easypeasy
post Apr 22 2007, 09:48 PM

564 posts

I think you've messed up with Scouse/Scousers. Imagine it like this:

Scouse - dialect from Liverpool
Scousers - people from Liverpool (also called Liverpudlians)

It's the same like:

Bahasa Kelantan/Kelate - dialect from Kelantan
Orang Kelate - people from Kelantan

When you said Scousers, we all understand that they are people from Liverpool. Everton is also a district in Liverpool. So the locals who are from Merseyside (the Liverpool area) are called Scousers. The hardworking man is called the hardworking man, no matter he is a Scouser or a Cockney or a Malaysian or a Russian. wink.gif

This post has been edited by easypeasy: Apr 22 2007, 09:52 PM
stereothug
post Apr 23 2007, 01:01 PM

63 posts

try The Kop, mate. The Kop.
aerikh
post Apr 23 2007, 02:56 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(7chai @ Apr 18 2007, 01:43 PM)
1) my jersey not yet arrive
2) I shout damn loud actually  blush.gif
3) I went to ramp guinness if Liverpool lost, but if win then Carlsberg.
4) I do this everyday wor.
5) Sorry, dunno how to sing.
hehe..consider u a real fan lah! =p

btw, ic3johan... u supporting ManUtd doesn't make u Mancunian... tongue.gif
& rooney will always be a scouser...

"25 million pounds, what d heck! we bought a scouser who looks like Shrek!"

think that's how d chant went.. tongue.gif

the Kop is definately spot on, mate.. smile.gif
raymen9
post Apr 24 2007, 08:44 PM

437 posts

A TRUE FAN SUPPORTS HIS TEAM NO MATTER IN SHINE OR RAIN....
AN ONLY BUY THE ORIGINAL MERCHANDISE AND WATCH EVERY SINGLE GAME....

BUT 1 SHUD ALSO KNOW HOW TO GIVE AND TAKE THE CRITICISM FROM OTHER CLUB FANS AND THIS HAPPEN TO ME VERY OFTEN....HEHHE
penew
post Apr 24 2007, 08:53 PM

393 posts

a true fan is just about the same as a true player...
support his 'only' team no matter rain or shine
that's why my football idol is no other than Paolo Maldini..
and my blood is red and black..

raymen9
post Apr 24 2007, 10:06 PM

437 posts

IT'S easy to lose faith in football when the constant talk is of sky high salaries, super-inflated egos and sour grapes, whenever things go wrong.
But surely even those who have long since given up on the game will have felt a glow at seeing the behaviour of the Barcelona supporters at Anfield this week, and the response they drew from Liverpudlians.

Because it was refreshing, not to say uplifting, particularly as at the same time back in Spain, Valencia and Inter Milan players were serving up some of the most disgraceful scenes seen on a European stage for several years.

As players threw post-match punches and kicks in a mass televised brawl at the Mestalla which then spilled into the tunnel, Barcelona and Liverpool supporters reached across the divides of victory and defeat in the Anfield Road end to shake hands, swap scarves and slap each other's backs.

The Barca fans sang 'You'll Never Walk Alone' while being stripped of the European Cup they won in Paris last year, while in return, Kopites chanted Barcelona's name to register their appreciation and mutual respect.

Of course, Anfield was on show at its inspirational finest on Tuesday night and the display and the din clearly stunned new owners George Gillett and Tom Hicks.

But the Americans attending their first game were by now surely the only ones surprised by sights and sounds which have become customary at Anfield on such big European occasions.

In truth, what was just as impressive in its own way was the warm display of sportsmanship by the Barcelona fans who did their great club credit - and proved that born winners don't have to be bad losers, too.
Sadly, there is increasing evidence that the two aspects go hand in hand these days, when they do not and should not.

It is one thing to hate defeat and never countenance it mentally while a contest is alive. But it is quite another to refuse to accept defeat when it happens and behave with distaste or disgrace, rather than dignity.

The Barcelona supporters in Liverpool this week did themselves proud on that front.

They had thoroughly enjoyed Liverpool during the day - even their president, Joan Laporta, headed for the Cavern Club - and continued to try and do so after they had won the game but lost the tie on Tuesday night.

They mingled good naturedly with Liverpool supporters in bars around the ground and the city centre, without a hint of malice or ill feeling before or after the match on either side.

It can be argued it was easy for the Reds supporters to smile and engage them having claimed victory and less so for the Nou Camp faithful who had been shocked and hurt at defeat and it's clear prospect beforehand.

The sportsmanship, friendliness, warmth and respect which they brought from one great city in Catalonia to another in the north of England will not be forgotten.

It is how the game should be. But how it too often isn't.

SOURCE LIVERPOOLFC.TV
guyfrmars
post Apr 25 2007, 12:05 AM

222 posts

real fan = someone who cuts down on food so he could watch his team play live, and still eat maggie coz he spent too much at the team shop lol

im hungry......

34 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0202sec    0.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:25 AM