1091 Pages « < 788 789 790 791 792 > » Bottom

Official Honda Civic 10th Gen Owner/Fans Club V7, 10th Gen Dream Machine

clature
post May 27 2020, 10:21 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ May 24 2020, 04:47 PM)
Anyone using this? Worried might fall off ...

Bro, you want to install this to reduce wind noise or to protect your car edges from accidental bumps?

If it's the first reason, I might have something I want to share with you guys here
shinchan99
post May 27 2020, 10:56 AM

619 posts

QUOTE(clature @ May 27 2020, 10:21 AM)
Bro, you want to install this to reduce wind noise or to protect your car edges from accidental bumps?

If it's the first reason, I might have something I want to share with you guys here
Hi.. more towards protection side and edges of door
fabigadervp
post May 27 2020, 11:03 AM

75 posts

Hi, anyone know a reliable locksmith to buy and duplicate a new key (keyless) in klang valley area? Did a check with honda, they charge about 1.8K plus 200 to program a new key which i think is too expensive.
netcrawler
post May 27 2020, 11:09 AM

1,542 posts

Anyone went service during MCO time? My due on 20 May (6 months). The Honda's extended warranty for 30 days after
MCO starts from which date?

This post has been edited by netcrawler: May 27 2020, 11:10 AM
jamesborn5 P
post May 27 2020, 12:23 PM

Probation

QUOTE(clature @ May 27 2020, 10:21 AM)

For the first reason, how to reduce wind noise? Let me know please!
clature
post May 27 2020, 02:41 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(jamesborn5 @ May 27 2020, 12:23 PM)
For the first reason, how to reduce wind noise? Let me know please!
Ok ... so guys. This was my project for the long Raya weekend. tongue.gif

Got some rubber door seals from Shopee and added it on my car.

At first I thought it would be a waste of time cause it probably wouldn't work. But since it was relatively cheap, around 25 bucks for 4 doors, I figured I had nothing to lose. Worse case scenario, it doesn't work and I rip it off. Best case scenario, it works and I'm a happy man.

I had zero expectations, and I have to say this guys. It actually works.

For all veteran Civic owners, whenever a car zooms past you when you're stationary at a traffic light, does the noise ever bother you, like somehow you feel like the windows are not shut tightly? This has bothered the freak out of me since day 1.

This kinda addresses the issue. Having your car doors seal shut like that cuts out lots of annoying frequencies. And yes, wind noise frequencies too. I took the car out on the LDP and kicked it up to 150km/h. Not as much 'whistling' at those speeds. But this is the max speed I dare to bring my car. For those who like to drive at 210km/h I don't know lah. tongue.gif

Here are a few problems though :

1. The car door takes a little more effort to shut now. But having say that, it now shuts with a more respectable sounding 'thump'

2. I am concerned about the long term effect it'll have on the existing rubber. Because doing this is effectively putting rubber on rubber. However, this shopee rubber is extremely soft as opposed to the car's rubber. So if anything, the effect is probably minimal on the car rubber, acting only as an extra layer to 'seal' the car cabin

3. Rain and water issues. I was afraid it would interfere with the car door's water draining abilities. Well, it was raining really heavily the past 2 days so I left the car outside. No problems whatsoever.

So all in all, I'm happy with the results. I hope this helps whoever's been thinking of doing this. Better than sending to those shops who will do the exact same thing and tah pau you RM200+

And just a recap on my journey for the ultimate 'quiet' cabin in an otherwise awesome and perfect car :

1. First and foremost I traded the MC5 tyres for quiet Primacy 4 tyres. Perhaps the most significant reduction in tyre noise

2. Did insulation on all 4 car doors. Not much reduction in overall noise but it helped to enhance the stock sound system

3. Did this project here. An obvious cut in frequencies that are annoying to the driver, most significantly traffic and wind noise, and to a lesser degree, road noise as well.

I have been doing decibel tests on my phone for comparisons since day one. I'll probably post back all my results after completing my noise insulation journey. Last project would be car floor and also wheel arches. But for those I'll probably need to send to shop. laugh.gif

NMZjj
post May 27 2020, 04:00 PM

shine!
755 posts

for these new batch of facelift 1.8s and tc 1.5 civics, Honda still providing Continental MC5 tyres... Imo, Honda should give at least MC6 tyres la...
post May 27 2020, 04:04 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(clature @ May 27 2020, 02:41 PM)
Ok ... so guys. This was my project for the long Raya weekend.  tongue.gif

At first I thought it would be a waste of time cause it probably wouldn't work. But since it was relatively cheap, around 25 bucks for 4 doors, I figured I had nothing to lose. Worse case scenario, it doesn't work and I rip it off. Best case scenario, it works and I'm a happy man.

For all veteran Civic owners, whenever a car zooms past you when you're stationary at a traffic light, does the noise ever bother you, like somehow you feel like the windows are not shut tightly? This has bothered the freak out of me since day 1.

This kinda addresses the issue. Having your car doors seal shut like that cuts out lots of annoying frequencies. And yes, wind noise frequencies too. I took the car out on the LDP and kicked it up to 150km/h. Not as much 'whistling' at those speeds. But this is the max speed I dare to bring my car. For those who like to drive at 210km/h I don't know lah.  tongue.gif

1. The car door takes a little more effort to shut now. But having say that, it now shuts with a more respectable sounding 'thump'

2. I am concerned about the long term effect it'll have on the existing rubber. Because doing this is effectively putting rubber on rubber. However, this shopee rubber is extremely soft as opposed to the car's rubber. So if anything, the effect is probably minimal on the car rubber, acting only as an extra layer to 'seal' the car cabin

3. Rain and water issues. I was afraid it would interfere with the car door's water draining abilities. Well, it was raining really heavily the past 2 days so I left the car outside. No problems whatsoever.

So all in all, I'm happy with the results. I hope this helps whoever's been thinking of doing this. Better than sending to those shops who will do the exact same thing and tah pau you RM200+
And just a recap on my journey for the ultimate 'quiet' cabin in an otherwise awesome and perfect car :

1. First and foremost I traded the MC5 tyres for quiet Primacy 4 tyres. Perhaps the most significant reduction in tyre noise

2. Did insulation on all 4 car doors. Not much reduction in overall noise but it helped to enhance the stock sound system

3. Did this project here. An obvious cut in frequencies that are annoying to the driver, most significantly traffic and wind noise, and to a lesser degree, road noise as well.
I have been doing decibel tests on my phone for comparisons since day one. I'll probably post back all my results after completing my noise insulation journey. Last project would be car floor and also wheel arches. But for those I'll probably need to send to shop.  laugh.gif
thanks for sharing. that step 3 project, it goes full circle along the frame right? so the joining point is just a small gap or you overlapped?
hybirdsin
post May 27 2020, 04:39 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(clature @ May 27 2020, 02:41 PM)
Ok ... so guys. This was my project for the long Raya weekend.  tongue.gif

This kinda addresses the issue. Having your car doors seal shut like that cuts out lots of annoying frequencies. And yes, wind noise frequencies too. I took the car out on the LDP and kicked it up to 150km/h. Not as much 'whistling' at those speeds. But this is the max speed I dare to bring my car. For those who like to drive at 210km/h I don't know lah.  tongue.gif

I have been doing decibel tests on my phone for comparisons since day one. I'll probably post back all my results after completing my noise insulation journey. Last project would be car floor and also wheel arches. But for those I'll probably need to send to shop.  laugh.gif
I like how you dedicated your MCO project to improve the cabin noise rclxms.gif

Can confirm that this is the Shopee link? Am interested to try this out.

clature
post May 27 2020, 05:00 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(0501024 @ May 27 2020, 04:04 PM)
thanks for sharing. that step 3 project, it goes full circle along the frame right? so the joining point is just a small gap or you overlapped?
Yes, it goes full circle along the entire frame. I cut just ngam ngam so that it joins together nicely. No overlap
clature
post May 27 2020, 05:02 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(hybirdsin @ May 27 2020, 04:39 PM)
I like how you dedicated your MCO project to improve the cabin noise  rclxms.gif

Can confirm that this is the Shopee link? Am interested to try this out.
This link here bro

Shopee

It has to be the B type door seal. Any other type, I think it'll be too thick and will cause problems when closing the door and might potentially damage your car rubber
wigilante
post May 27 2020, 06:34 PM

QUOTE(clature @ May 27 2020, 05:02 PM)
This link here bro

Shopee

It has to be the B type door seal. Any other type, I think it'll be too thick and will cause problems when closing the door and might potentially damage your car rubber
I am also interested in trying this if it can cut some of wind noise during high speed. How many meter did you buy for all 4 doors?

This post has been edited by wigilante: May 27 2020, 06:35 PM
clature
post May 27 2020, 07:54 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(wigilante @ May 27 2020, 06:34 PM)
I am also interested in trying this if it can cut some of wind noise during high speed. How many meter did you buy for all 4 doors?
The seller recommended 3 packs for 4 doors. But I got 4 packs to account for any errors or miscalculations. Cause I don’t want later do halfway, suddenly run out and potong stim only

P/S : guys, recommended to just click the link. At least can see hot chick (albeit a very ‘chinaman’ looking chick)

tongue.gif

This post has been edited by clature: May 27 2020, 07:59 PM
denzel88
post May 27 2020, 08:19 PM

Let's Bring it On!
1,432 posts

QUOTE(clature @ May 27 2020, 05:02 PM)
This link here bro

Shopee

Thanks fr sharing biggrin.gif
the facelift civic actually have improved NVH. will get this when i start feeling unsatisfied with the sound hahaha
breonwei
post May 27 2020, 08:54 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(denzel88 @ May 27 2020, 08:19 PM)
Thanks fr sharing  biggrin.gif
the facelift civic actually have improved NVH. will get this when i start feeling unsatisfied with the sound hahaha
Yea agree, was on highway at 110km/h with no significant wind noise, very quiet engine but can hear a bit of tyre noise, rather acceptable noise level. Probably due to the 18" but obviously Michelin PS4 is already the best performance & comfort tyre all in one. Zero complain so far and very happy smile.gif
hybirdsin
post May 27 2020, 09:48 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(clature @ May 27 2020, 07:54 PM)
The seller recommended 3 packs for 4 doors. But I got 4 packs to account for any errors or miscalculations. Cause I don’t want later do halfway, suddenly run out and potong stim only

P/S : guys, recommended to just click the link. At least can see hot chick (albeit a very ‘chinaman’ looking chick)

tongue.gif
Many thanks, since I'm a retard with maths, I will get 4 packs also for insurance purpose icon_rolleyes.gif

Edit: will the rubber seal be visible after installation? White car with that black seal look no nice leh

This post has been edited by hybirdsin: May 27 2020, 09:52 PM
clature
post May 28 2020, 08:55 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(hybirdsin @ May 27 2020, 09:48 PM)
Many thanks, since I'm a retard with maths, I will get 4 packs also for insurance purpose  icon_rolleyes.gif

Edit: will the rubber seal be visible after installation? White car with that black seal look no nice leh
Visible only when you open the car door bro biggrin.gif
hybirdsin
post May 28 2020, 09:34 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(clature @ May 28 2020, 08:55 AM)
Visible only when you open the car door bro biggrin.gif
Thanks for reply, like that I can proceed XD
Ququqaqi P
post May 28 2020, 10:53 AM

Probation

Hi all sifus..nubis here..just get my TCP on thursday..just to ask about navigation menu..need to install or oledy install by honda
Hopefully someone can assist

Tq
mcchin
post May 28 2020, 01:53 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(Ququqaqi @ May 28 2020, 10:53 AM)
Hi all sifus..nubis here..just get my TCP on thursday..just to ask about navigation menu..need to install or oledy install by honda
Hopefully someone can assist

Tq
TCP will have garmin Nav system installed
you just press on the nav and let it connect to satellites

though, using Carplay (iOS) or Android Auto seems much better

This post has been edited by mcchin: May 28 2020, 01:54 PM

1091 Pages « < 788 789 790 791 792 > » Top

0.0324sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:53 AM