13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Personal when everyone shoot models......i shoot......, goldfries' gallery

kevinyong84
post Apr 23 2007, 12:57 AM

777 posts

rclxms.gif wow very shoyk la !! can view so many photo !!!!
shinchan^^
post Apr 23 2007, 09:01 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 22 2007, 11:46 PM)
that also over-exposed ah?  tongue.gif well yeah it is, over-exposed here and there but not as bad as those that i didn't upload.  blush.gif

my settings were simple, ISO800, aperture f4, shutter 1/320. M mode leh.
EDITED : oh yeah. and NO FLASH. biggrin.gif  nod.gif

Should lower your ISO a little
TSgoldfries
post Apr 23 2007, 12:30 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

yeah. ISO settings too.

i used ISO 800 last week, so this week also used ISO 800. sad.gif didn't try ISO 400 though so i don't know if it'll be better.

the thing was that last week i used f5.6 and this week i used f4 and i didn't expect the results to be THAT drastic. as usual, on LCD it looks fine.

but yeah, getting to know the camera better now. it's a learning process. all in all i'm glad to see improvements in the shots. wink.gif

This post has been edited by goldfries: Apr 23 2007, 01:42 PM
turbovtec
post Apr 27 2007, 05:59 PM

35 posts

do you use AWB or tungsten?
TSgoldfries
post Apr 27 2007, 10:34 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

ok - shots without yellowish tinge = Tungsten WB.
ac98
post Apr 28 2007, 02:04 AM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

QUOTE(lvyk @ Apr 23 2007, 12:05 AM)
I saw ac98... wub.gif
I got use M mode too... But I can't handle it well... mad.gif
So changed back to A...  rclxub.gif
But when I was using M Mode... I shot "Dai Fu"... laugh.gif
I think everyone shot that cause the dress is shorter than the "Dai Fu" doh.gif
Just read this only ... wahlan ehh dun say you saw me and use the love emoticon-lah, later ppl think we are lovers doh.gif laugh.gif

Oh yeah the 'taifu' incident ... when that happened I lower my camera, looked up and saw everyone was fcking GLUED to their viewfinders and shooting away, some stood by the side and shying off.

See the difference between perverts and shy guys? laugh.gif
ac98
post Apr 28 2007, 02:32 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 23 2007, 12:30 PM)
yeah. ISO settings too.

i used ISO 800 last week, so this week also used ISO 800. sad.gif didn't try ISO 400 though so i don't know if it'll be better.

the thing was that last week i used f5.6 and this week i used f4 and i didn't expect the results to be THAT drastic. as usual, on LCD it looks fine.

but yeah, getting to know the camera better now. it's a learning process. all in all i'm glad to see improvements in the shots. wink.gif
Let me tip you here ...

There are 3 Elements you need to remember for now - The ISO, the Aperture and the Shutter Speed :

1. The ISO setting basically controls how 'sensitive' the sensor/CCD : The higher the number, the stronger its sensitivity is to colour and light (consider it like it's your sex drive, haha!).

2. Shutter Speed, this one abit tricky : The faster the shutter plane closes the less light and colour have a chance to penetrate. By 'penetrate' I know you guys have lotsa ideas already, I will leave it at that for you to remember easier.

3. Aperture setting : Well, the bigger the opening the more light and colour can cum come inside, enough said. The smaller the number the bigger the opening.

The ROT (Rule of Thumb) is : The more light hits the sensor/CCD the brighter the image becomes, if you have a overeposure that means somewhere along the the line you either have too low a shutter speed, too wide an opening or too sensitive an ISO. How you can juggle between this 3 elements would depend on how well you handle your camera, there are no fixed settings for any kind of enviroment.

Hope that helps, happy shooting!:)

This post has been edited by ac98: Apr 28 2007, 02:37 AM
diwant
post Apr 28 2007, 02:52 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Apr 28 2007, 02:04 AM)
Just read this only ... wahlan ehh dun say you saw me and use the love emoticon-lah, later ppl think we are lovers doh.gif laugh.gif

laugh.gif sweat.gif doh.gif whistling.gif shocking.gif

*run for my life...
TSgoldfries
post Apr 28 2007, 03:34 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Apr 28 2007, 02:32 AM)
The ROT (Rule of Thumb) is : The more light hits the sensor/CCD the brighter the image becomes, if you have a overeposure that means somewhere along the the line you either have too low a shutter speed, too wide an opening or too sensitive an ISO. How you can juggle between this 3 elements would depend on how well you handle your camera, there are no fixed settings for any kind of enviroment.

Hope that helps, happy shooting!:)
thank you ac98.

i've been using camera for quite a while and i've always kept those 3 stuff in mind biggrin.gif my problem was like what you mentioned - juggling between them, and also the error in misjudgement based on LCD output. <=-- seems to be my problem. darn.

i guess i haven't been snapping often enough to be a better judge, my photo-count for past 2 years i think less than 2k. tongue.gif

what other tips can you give me? biggrin.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by goldfries: Apr 29 2007, 09:50 PM
TSgoldfries
post Apr 29 2007, 09:50 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

damn. my post with KLCC Petronas Twin Tower shots went missing!!!!

must've been a server rollback or something. anyway here are the shots.

ac98
post Apr 30 2007, 03:17 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 28 2007, 03:34 AM)
thank you ac98.

i've been using camera for quite a while and i've always kept those 3 stuff in mind biggrin.gif my problem was like what you mentioned - juggling between them, and also the error in misjudgement based on LCD output. <=-- seems to be my problem. darn.

i guess i haven't been snapping often enough to be a better judge, my photo-count for past 2 years i think less than 2k. tongue.gif

what other tips can you give me? biggrin.gif  notworthy.gif
Never trust the LCD, do it like you would using film : You cannot see results, the PC's monitor should be your first result reference, hence you need to have a monitor that is very well tuned or else you'll be arguing how others see your pics and how YOU see your pics after post-processing.
shinchan^^
post Apr 30 2007, 07:46 AM

K66
21,256 posts

KLCC looks funny if u show one tower only
TSgoldfries
post Apr 30 2007, 02:33 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Apr 30 2007, 03:17 AM)
Never trust the LCD, do it like you would using film : You cannot see results, the PC's monitor should be your first result reference, hence you need to have a monitor that is very well tuned or else you'll be arguing how others see your pics and how YOU see your pics after post-processing.
yeah. sad.gif just have to learn better judgement. camera LCD always look nicer.

my monitor is Dell 2007 WFP smile.gif nice monitor to view colors. i do graphic design a lot so i need my display unit to be as accurate as possible.

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Apr 30 2007, 07:46 AM)
KLCC looks funny if u show one tower only
haha. wink.gif what to do. want to to closer shot of the tower.
TSgoldfries
post Apr 30 2007, 11:36 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

oh anyway guys, here's what i got from the moon. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by goldfries: May 28 2007, 04:19 AM
wama1go
post May 10 2007, 03:44 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 30 2007, 11:36 PM)

oh anyway guys, here's what i got from the moon. biggrin.gif
Is this captured with the Tamron 70-300 lens as well?

Btw bro, do you have any idea abt the price range of Tamron Macro lens? heard they are famous for that?

Wama1go
TSgoldfries
post May 10 2007, 03:13 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

yes sir wama1go, Tamron 70-300mm. smile.gif

i donno the price of Tamron macro lens. will be looking for them soon. i think. oh wait, after some other things i have to buy. hehe.
TSgoldfries
post May 20 2007, 10:09 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

NEW SHOTS!!!

most of the shots were done on 50mm prime lens - what to do, just bought the night before then straight bring it into action.......... here we go!!!

this one taken with my 70-300mm at 70mm.

this point onwards are taken with 50mm prime lens.
user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

this one taken with kit lens at 18mm. all other subsequent picture are back to 50mm prime lens.

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

notice some with yellowish tinge? they were NOT mistakes. after playing with the WB settings i decided to go with the yellowish tinge because that IS what i saw when i was there. thought of capturing as close to reality as possible.

the final 2 shots i set the WB to tungsten because i find it too yellow.

C&C are always welcome. hope you enjoyed the shots btw.
TSgoldfries
post May 27 2007, 03:38 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

OK - i just had a trip to Awana Genting Highlands.

Here are some shots that I managed to snap, it wasn't a happening place as you all know, so what I did was to go around a bit and snap what I found interesting, or at least make something out of them.

The shots were mainly snapped from either my room, hotel lobby or the pool side. smile.gif I went there for a break, so don't expect me to go around that much. tongue.gif

now let's start off with some scenery objects.

Mixed weather
user posted imageuser posted image

Sunrise (with not much sun)

Gloomy skies

Slightly brighter gloomy skies

Sun manage to shine through as it begins to set, brings some light into gloomy scenery
TSgoldfries
post May 27 2007, 03:41 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

now for some inanimate objects

Lamp in hotel room

Light in hotel room

Lamp holder in hotel room

Decoration at lobby

Lobby lights (those big ones on ceiling)

Rusted rails by the restaurant

Algae growth on rocks in the pond / garden area

Decorations at the lobby
TSgoldfries
post May 27 2007, 03:45 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

View from the lobby. i composed it to contain some blurred closer objects to frame those plants on the wall along with the shadow.

Some nice greens from nearby lobby area. I donno, I just admire how beautiful those leaves are.

Decorations at the lobby. (yes, i snapped them while sitting on the sofa.)

Scenes from the garden

13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0191sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:35 AM