4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

aggro issue, to warriors

TSintothefantasy
post Apr 13 2007, 07:18 PM, updated 19y ago

1,561 posts

does any warrior here having problem with holding aggro with full proc spec? i mean single mob and 2-3 mob...wat skill do u guy use? and does ur teammate cooperate with u? like wait for sunders to dps etc etc..
xiaosin
post Apr 13 2007, 07:31 PM

86 posts

put on your best 2hd weapon charge in, bloodrage, use sweeping strikes, ww cleave
TSintothefantasy
post Apr 13 2007, 07:42 PM

1,561 posts

u are simply spamming here my fren
plaz
post Apr 13 2007, 08:45 PM

1 - Shield Slam
2 - sunder/revenge
1 - sunder/shield slam
# - focus on the mob raid is targetting

Shield slam + 3 sunders should be able to hold on to the 2nd mob you tanking. when you think you have enough aggro on the mob the raid is targeting, switch back to the other mob for shieldslam/sunder then switch back .

thats what i usually do, it varies from player to player, also it depends on your shortkey that you can access easily, for my case i can access shield slam/sunder/revenge/devastate easily while tanking. All the short keys are on my bar.

Yeah maybe other warriors can post if there are any special tips on multiple mobs.

This post has been edited by plaz: Apr 13 2007, 08:47 PM
Kurei
post Apr 14 2007, 12:32 AM

19 posts

bloodrage -> TC(thunderclap) -> shield block -> shield slam marked target -> revenge 2nd mob -> sunder 3rd mob -> TC again and focus threat generation on marked target and spam Tc whenever its up. nvr failed me. TC is ur fren in multi-mob tanking. If there is alwaz an issue of a cced mob, just get it cced first i.e sheep/seduced n pull the rest back before u TC.
Kidicarus
post Apr 14 2007, 12:41 AM

727 posts

QUOTE(plaz @ Apr 13 2007, 08:45 PM)
1 - Shield Slam
2 - sunder/revenge
1 - sunder/shield slam
# - focus on the mob raid is targetting

Shield slam + 3 sunders should be able to hold on to the 2nd mob you tanking. when you think you have enough aggro on the mob the raid is targeting, switch back to the other mob for shieldslam/sunder then switch back .

thats what i usually do, it varies from player to player, also it depends on your shortkey that you can access easily, for my case i can access shield slam/sunder/revenge/devastate easily while tanking. All the short keys are on my bar.

Yeah maybe other warriors can post if there are any special tips on multiple mobs.
Single mob tanking:

Bloodrage, shield slam. For aggro sensitive hard hitting bosses i sometimes queue up heroic strike before the shield slam. This way if either 1 of the attacks is missed, dodged or parried i'll increase the chances of landing a high aggro move at the start.

Revenge whenever it's available, build up the sunders then proceed to devastate if you have it. Whenever you have rage make sure you queue up a heroic strike.

Also if it's a hard hitting boss, try to keep shield block up as often as possible. Throw in a demoralising shout and thunderclap to reduce incoming damage and pray your healers are on the ball.

Tbh it's not really a science as long as you spam your instant attacks and make sure you throw in an occasional heroic strike it should be enough to hold aggro.

Heroic Multi mob tanking:

Bloodrage, thunder clap, demoralising shout, shield slam first target, sunder, switch sunder/revenge or whatever is up, cleave when you have the rage and keep switching biggrin.gif. Spend more time on the mob that's meant to go down first. Go on feel esp if mobs keep dodging and parrying to see how much aggro to pump on a mob. Also, just make sure that a kill target is assigned and your group doesnt dps all the mobs at the same time. Throw in an occasional concussion blow, disarm to reduce incoming damage. And by all means taunt away if you lose a mob or 2. You can use your intimidating shout if it's safe to do so and things get hairy or challenging shout if you need to pull mobs onto you if it's an emergency.

The moral of the story is: don't stick to shield slam, sunder and revenge and hope to keep aggro especially on multiple mobs.
myremi
post Apr 14 2007, 08:34 AM

1,846 posts

into, which mob/boss is it you're having this problem? perhaps that would help better? certain mobs and bosses are harder to hold aggro on than others.

btw, question to the warriors. i heard once that if a warrior has a full bar of rage, that it would also help to hold aggro on a boss. it sounded weird to me but what do you guys think?
Kurei
post Apr 14 2007, 09:18 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 14 2007, 09:34 AM)
btw, question to the warriors. i heard once that if a warrior has a full bar of rage, that it would also help to hold aggro on a boss. it sounded weird to me but what do you guys think?
threat generating moves all require rage.
Quazacolt
post Apr 14 2007, 09:49 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 14 2007, 08:34 AM)
into, which mob/boss is it you're having this problem? perhaps that would help better? certain mobs and bosses are harder to hold aggro on than others.

unless the warrior is taking a shit load of dmg such as heroics or raid bosses for example, having a full bar of rage = the warrior isnt ultilizing his shits and needs to go die cuz he will suck on aggro.

YES KIDS, THE RAGE BAR IS NOT, I REPEAT, NOT YOUR AGGRO BAR.

(my friend actually encountered idiots that thought having a full bar of rage = his aggro kao, next thing you know a mage aggro instantly in just one fireball)
Kidicarus
post Apr 14 2007, 11:40 AM

727 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 14 2007, 09:49 AM)
unless the warrior is taking a shit load of dmg such as heroics or raid bosses for example, having a full bar of rage = the warrior isnt ultilizing his shits and needs to go die cuz he will suck on aggro.

YES KIDS, THE RAGE BAR IS NOT, I REPEAT, NOT YOUR AGGRO BAR.

(my friend actually encountered idiots that thought having a full bar of rage = his aggro kao, next thing you know a mage aggro instantly in just one fireball)
Aye.. It's not about how big your rage bar is - it's how you use it.

or to rephrase it - It's not the size of the oar, it's the motion in the ocean biggrin.gif
plaz
post Apr 14 2007, 01:06 PM

the thing bout HS is, i won't have enough rage in beginning if i start with bloodrage with 0 rage.

If you have imp. Bloodrage, you will be able to hit Shield slam and sunder then you are empty.

maybe Shield slam + HS would work as HS triggers directly once you are near the target rather then Sunder.

yeah, revenge everytime you have the chance, even at full rage (which you don't want to)
Quazacolt
post Apr 14 2007, 01:12 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(plaz @ Apr 14 2007, 01:06 PM)
the thing bout HS is, i won't have enough rage in beginning if i start with bloodrage with 0 rage.

If you have imp. Bloodrage, you will be able to hit Shield slam and sunder then you are empty.

maybe Shield slam + HS would work as HS triggers directly once you are near the target rather then Sunder.

yeah, revenge everytime you have the chance, even at full rage (which you don't want to)
what kidicarus said
eternallove
post Apr 16 2007, 04:40 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Apr 13 2007, 07:18 PM)
does any warrior here having problem with holding aggro with full proc spec? i mean single mob and 2-3 mob...wat skill do u guy use? and does ur teammate cooperate with u? like wait for sunders to dps etc etc..
yes i have a little problem holding aggro with prot spec if dder (like shadow priest,fire mage,des lock) dont have blessing of salvation.but i think its because of my latency problem,show as 400ms~500ms,but its actually more like 600~900ms due to the lag spike.......really fuxx up..

single mob,usually start with revenge,shield slam,sunder and so on,if i have too much rage,then queue in a hs.shieldblock every 6sec if its a boss or hard hiting mobs,otherwise i wont use it since my Avoidance is high enough(26%dodge,16%parry,22%block unbuff)to keep revenge up.

multi mob,well..tc,cleave,tab sunder/revenge and taunt...
xiaosin
post Apr 16 2007, 05:16 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(eternallove @ Apr 16 2007, 04:40 PM)
yes i have a little problem holding aggro with prot spec if dder (like shadow priest,fire  mage,des lock) dont have blessing of salvation.but i think its because of my latency problem,show as 400ms~500ms,but its actually more like 600~900ms due to the lag spike.......really fuxx up..

single mob,usually start with revenge,shield slam,sunder and so on,if i have too much rage,then queue in a hs.shieldblock every 6sec if its a boss or hard hiting mobs,otherwise  i wont use it since my Avoidance is high enough(26%dodge,16%parry,22%block unbuff)to keep revenge up.

multi mob,well..tc,cleave,tab sunder/revenge and taunt...
how do you get rage to hold aggro when your avoidance is so high? even after using bloodrage, i believe at some point you will be crying for rage and the threat created by revenge (5 seconds cd + gcd ) wont be enough to hold the mob
eternallove
post Apr 17 2007, 05:20 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(xiaosin @ Apr 16 2007, 05:16 PM)
how do you get rage to hold aggro when your avoidance is so high? even after using bloodrage, i believe at some point you will be crying for rage and the threat created by revenge (5 seconds cd + gcd ) wont be enough to hold the mob
In heroic nor raid,i have no problem with rage generation.I usually swap in some hit rating gears for trash mob though.
if i dont have rage or my skill normal hit miss parry dodge alot,i will just taunt it and follow by a shield slam+heroic strike.

Reis
post Apr 17 2007, 08:56 AM

344 posts

Lemme explain a bit. I suck at every other aspect of a warrior but I'm pretty confident when it comes to tanking.

Your talents and choice of gear affects the outcome of your aggro. First off, you can armory me out with this char, Jindo @ Stormscale. I have all the rage reduction talents you can get, and on my gear, I dint go full stam. I noticed that when I did that my threat dropped. DPS is one of your main source of threat income. Crits on aggro skills spells awsomeness.

Heroic Strike. This is basically the skill I used the most, because it doesnt trigger the GBC, its on next hit. You can pair this up with sunder / shield slam / revenge / devastate or any other skills available. I'm generating 2 types of threat skill where ur only generating 1 at a time without using it.

Shield Slam. Use this whenever possible, nothing much to say, its friggin awsome.

Revenge. Use it whenever it lights up, and always pair it up with a HS. It only consumes 2 rage c'mon, whack in a HS along with it. But once 5 sunders kicks in I stop using it cuz my aggro is already damn solid and I cant spare the GCD for this. I'd rather use devastate.

Sunder. While most tanks use this most at the start, mine comes up the slowest. There is a reason tho, its because with all the HS spamming, GCD for revenge and shield slam, you basically wont have much chance of applying this at the start, dont forget about the dreaded dodge miss parry too. When I feel that my aggro is solid enough I will start spamming this to apply 5 on my target, else, nope.

Devastate. Basically I'm only spamming this when I reach 5 sunders and making way for shield slam sometimes. Ofcourse dont forget HS.

Tclap. I use this all the time and make sure my guys focus on the right target. I can hold every mob at every pull with this. If mobs are more than 4 you gotta take care of the rest with your skills but its really doable if everyone is focusing, cuz healing can never beat Tclap in aggro. But for real AoE tanking look for a pally, a warrior cannot do even as close to what they can, I'm convinced of that.

And like Kidicarus said, you really need to know how to manage your rage. All this can only give you a rough guide on what to do, the rest is up for you to experiment. Aggro is your main priority but minimizing damage taken is your second priority. So you gotta know what to use at certain situations, all comes from trial and error, experience.

This is as much as I'll explain now. But there are other things that you need to know before you can be more effective. Do you know the mechanism of taunt? If not we can explain to you, once you know it, things will get a lot easier.

P/S On the side note, if ur holding every mob at a pull you wont face rage problem, ur bar will be maxed out most of the time. If its 1 mob, or 1 boss, unless ur party members blast ALL their timers right at the start or get some lucky string of crits, or everything you used got dodged miss parried and resisted, theres no way in hell they can pull aggro off a tank if he started with a charge or bloodrage.

This post has been edited by Reis: Apr 17 2007, 09:00 AM
xiaosin
post Apr 17 2007, 09:25 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(eternallove @ Apr 17 2007, 05:20 AM)
In heroic nor raid,i have no problem with rage generation.I usually swap in some hit rating gears for trash mob though.
if i dont have rage or my skill normal hit miss parry dodge alot,i will just taunt it and follow by a shield slam+heroic strike.
swaping gear, nice never thought of that.

the only thing i do not before pulling is activate zerk rage before pulling, then ill have plenty of rage to hold aggro smile.gif

@ reis - checked your build, why do you have imp sunder when you have devestate? and also you already mention that you dont often use sunder to hold aggro i believe those points can be spent somewhere else biggrin.gif
Kurei
post Apr 17 2007, 11:46 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(eternallove @ Apr 16 2007, 05:40 PM)

single mob,usually start with revenge,shield slam,sunder and so on,if i have too much rage,then queue in a hs.shieldblock every 6sec if its a boss or hard hiting mobs,otherwise  i wont use it since my Avoidance is high enough(26%dodge,16%parry,22%block unbuff)to keep revenge up.
U must have sacrificed quite a bit for stam for such high avoidance.

PS - I prefer to wear more block gear w/o gimping too much stm on multi-trash mob pulls. the more u block for the more the mob hates u. And higher block gives u extra threat on ur shield slam ( 530 per block any1? rclxm9.gif ) And i dun see it alot in ppl's rotation but shield block everytimes its up!

xiaosin
post Apr 17 2007, 11:50 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(Kurei @ Apr 17 2007, 11:46 AM)
U must have sacrificed quite a bit for stam for such high avoidance.

PS - I prefer to wear more block gear w/o gimping too much stm on multi-trash mob pulls. the more u block for the more the mob hates u. And higher block gives u extra threat on ur shield slam ( 530 per block any1? rclxm9.gif ) And i dun see it alot in ppl's rotation but shield block everytimes its up!
shield block is to prevent crushing blows le... so we dont usually use it unless its a boss and dont think you have enough rage to keep it up also
Kurei
post Apr 17 2007, 11:52 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(xiaosin @ Apr 17 2007, 12:50 PM)
shield block is to prevent crushing blows le... so we dont usually use it unless its a boss and dont think you have enough rage to keep it up also
I'll find the post but block generates hate from the mob....

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:12 PM