Xiaomi Xiaomi Mi A1 - A Pure Stock Android Experience V1, Discussion & Opinion - OREO UPDATE!
axxer
Sep 15 2017, 02:14 PM
QUOTE(UnknownH @ Sep 15 2017, 01:05 PM) I'm wondering, does Android One have similar features like MIUI's Second Space, Quickball, Dual Apps? Probably not built in because those were miui specific features, not available on pure Android. But it still can be achieved using third party app on playstore though.
lyrilmaki
Sep 15 2017, 03:51 PM
when will the Pink color come in? Wanna buy for my gf's mom
TSjovigrunge
Sep 15 2017, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(lyrilmaki @ Sep 15 2017, 03:51 PM) when will the Pink color come in? Wanna buy for my gf's mom  Wah, apple polish future mom in law with stock Android....
myahsam
Sep 15 2017, 04:35 PM
Dilemma..... Shall I get RN4 or A1?
Give me your suggestion.
Cyclone X Joker
Sep 15 2017, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(myahsam @ Sep 15 2017, 04:35 PM) Dilemma..... Shall I get RN4 or A1? Give me your suggestion. Price, RN4. Battery, RN4. Camera, A1 Stock Android Experience, A1
petrofsky77
Sep 15 2017, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(NightFelix @ Sep 15 2017, 02:11 PM) The what? For real? Taller? Spoonfeed YouTube link here please? Sorry, my mistake. After checking thoroughly thru multiple sources, YES, the dimensions are similar. I can't seem to be able to locate the video that i saw earlier. Maybe i was mistaken it with taller bezels, not dimensions. Arrangements of the buttons and camera bump and FP scanner not sure whether it's identical or not. If Xiaomi is recycling excess stock of 5X to the A1, everything on the outside should be similar as well.
lyrilmaki
Sep 15 2017, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(jovigrunge @ Sep 15 2017, 04:34 PM) Wah, apple polish future mom in law with stock Android....  she just normal use ma.. just bought her mi4 a year ago.. but someone stole it last week.
adie82
Sep 15 2017, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(petrofsky77 @ Sep 15 2017, 04:59 PM) Sorry, my mistake. After checking thoroughly thru multiple sources, YES, the dimensions are similar. I can't seem to be able to locate the video that i saw earlier. Maybe i was mistaken it with taller bezels, not dimensions. Arrangements of the buttons and camera bump and FP scanner not sure whether it's identical or not. If Xiaomi is recycling excess stock of 5X to the A1, everything on the outside should be similar as well. not your mistake. i also view review from geekyranjit. he compare dimension a1 vs note 4. a1 a bit taller.
TSjovigrunge
Sep 15 2017, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(lyrilmaki @ Sep 15 2017, 05:21 PM) she just normal use ma.. just bought her mi4 a year ago.. but someone stole it last week.  Sad to know that. Anyway I think Mi A1 is the best gift for her. Try Rose Gold yah!
alucard89
Sep 15 2017, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(petrofsky77 @ Sep 15 2017, 04:59 PM) Sorry, my mistake. After checking thoroughly thru multiple sources, YES, the dimensions are similar. I can't seem to be able to locate the video that i saw earlier. Maybe i was mistaken it with taller bezels, not dimensions. Arrangements of the buttons and camera bump and FP scanner not sure whether it's identical or not. If Xiaomi is recycling excess stock of 5X to the A1, everything on the outside should be similar as well. QUOTE(adie82 @ Sep 15 2017, 05:33 PM) not your mistake. i also view review from geekyranjit. he compare dimension a1 vs note 4. a1 a bit taller. I notice he compared with note 4, g5, oneplus 5 but not mi5x? Did I missed a previous video?
mitodna
Sep 15 2017, 06:06 PM
mi 5x is same build as mi a1, i am not sure if mi 5x has the special heat sheet that during the launch event or not, also not sure if the shipped charger is a special one for India
hhoong
Sep 15 2017, 06:10 PM

QUOTE(mitodna @ Sep 15 2017, 06:06 PM) mi 5x is same build as mi a1, i am not sure if mi 5x has the special heat sheet that during the launch event or not, also not sure if the shipped charger is a special one for India seem like they just use the same hardware from Mi 5X, not sure if 5X have the dual heat sheet thing or not... MI A1 Also known as Xiaomi Mi 5X in China
UnknownH
Sep 15 2017, 06:55 PM
QUOTE(Japanties @ Sep 15 2017, 06:45 PM) tonite da nite....hope its rm1029 je la Why not hoping for lower?? Btw I'm not sure on this one. I'm used to MIUI. Quickball, Dual app, Second space, private data/media. Probably can have these features by installing third party apps but built in nicer. Another thing is Mi ecosystem. Auto backup/restore apps when you changing to another MIUI phone is pretty convenient. The only thing nice is the dual camera but the cameras do not have any image stabilization(OIS, EIS) despite the phone marketed as camera centric phone/flagship camera phone. Thought?
alucard89
Sep 15 2017, 07:05 PM
QUOTE(UnknownH @ Sep 15 2017, 06:55 PM) Why not hoping for lower?? Btw I'm not sure on this one. I'm used to MIUI. Quickball, Dual app, Second space, private data/media. Probably can have these features by installing third party apps but built in nicer. Another thing is Mi ecosystem. Auto backup/restore apps when you changing to another MIUI phone is pretty convenient. The only thing nice is the dual camera but the cameras do not have any image stabilization(OIS, EIS) despite the phone marketed as camera centric phone/flagship camera phone. Thought? Because this is bolehland, with sirim approval expect another extra rm100 I'm only choosing this phone because of the stock android, pixel way outside my budget already
TSjovigrunge
Sep 15 2017, 08:02 PM
QUOTE(UnknownH @ Sep 15 2017, 06:55 PM) Why not hoping for lower?? Btw I'm not sure on this one. I'm used to MIUI. Quickball, Dual app, Second space, private data/media. Probably can have these features by installing third party apps but built in nicer. Another thing is Mi ecosystem. Auto backup/restore apps when you changing to another MIUI phone is pretty convenient. The only thing nice is the dual camera but the cameras do not have any image stabilization(OIS, EIS) despite the phone marketed as camera centric phone/flagship camera phone. Thought? I don't really care much as long as the GPS works fine outdoor or better still indoor. I need scapegoats to test the GPS yah.
UnknownH
Sep 15 2017, 08:14 PM
QUOTE(jovigrunge @ Sep 15 2017, 08:02 PM) I don't really care much as long as the GPS works fine outdoor or better still indoor. I need scapegoats to test the GPS yah.  Count me in. Think I can hold for a month or two.
ashraf095
Sep 15 2017, 08:15 PM
QUOTE(UnknownH @ Sep 15 2017, 06:55 PM) Why not hoping for lower?? Btw I'm not sure on this one. I'm used to MIUI. Quickball, Dual app, Second space, private data/media. Probably can have these features by installing third party apps but built in nicer. Another thing is Mi ecosystem. Auto backup/restore apps when you changing to another MIUI phone is pretty convenient. The only thing nice is the dual camera but the cameras do not have any image stabilization(OIS, EIS) despite the phone marketed as camera centric phone/flagship camera phone. Thought? My Redmi Note 4 is capable of EIS and manual mode by enabling camera2.api (need to edit build.prop hence, rooted). Using modded Google Camera it can take better image and videos compared to stock Miui camera. MiA1 should be the same I guess?
Oldskolboyz
Sep 15 2017, 08:23 PM
QUOTE(ashraf095 @ Sep 15 2017, 08:15 PM) My Redmi Note 4 is capable of EIS and manual mode by enabling camera2.api (need to edit build.prop hence, rooted). Using modded Google Camera it can take better image and videos compared to stock Miui camera. MiA1 should be the same I guess? Can not use Google Camera coz this A1 Dual Cam..
UnknownH
Sep 15 2017, 08:28 PM
QUOTE(ashraf095 @ Sep 15 2017, 08:15 PM) My Redmi Note 4 is capable of EIS and manual mode by enabling camera2.api (need to edit build.prop hence, rooted). Using modded Google Camera it can take better image and videos compared to stock Miui camera. MiA1 should be the same I guess? Hoping for Xiaomi will release update to enable EIS on A1. Manual mode too if there isn't. Flagship camera phone is too much for the phone now. Think I avoid/hold A1 for the moment
evilsmile
Sep 15 2017, 08:46 PM

QUOTE(ashraf095 @ Sep 15 2017, 08:15 PM) My Redmi Note 4 is capable of EIS and manual mode by enabling camera2.api (need to edit build.prop hence, rooted). Using modded Google Camera it can take better image and videos compared to stock Miui camera. MiA1 should be the same I guess? do you have comparison image, Redmi Note 4 stock camera app vs Google HDR+ camera app? is the difference massive or just slightly better?