Review ASUS RT-AC86U, Feature-packed advanced wireless router

NoobHacker
post Oct 9 2018, 04:24 PM

1,728 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Oct 9 2018, 04:21 PM)
i faced 2 issues when i started with aimesh earlier this year:

1. phone app was buggy & sometimes unusable. worked fine at first, but started to show problems when i manage my network via phone.
ended up with the app uninstalled from my phone and using the standard webpage admin.

2. aimesh node unable to detect (very first settings) - made me perform factory reset, update FW, roll-back older FW before 'magically'
able to detect and add mesh node. don't know what triggered it first and not sure what solved it.  laugh.gif

but once those 2 issues settled, no further issues until the latest firmware mishap.

my target is to pass over aimesh to family home and migrate to ubiquiti, and you're right - professional but doesn't seem that hard.
i've started viewing youtube vids about ubiquiti unifi solution and am planning to get that.

only the matter of $$$ & wiring planning for my 2-storey house though.
I had better experiences with AC68U firmware - the firmware never gave me problems.

For the passing thing - exactly what I'm thinking, an AI mesh unit can pass to another person anytime, and they will fully utilize it such as upgrade from stock router. A ubiquiti infra component will not that effective when passing only few component to the others.

QUOTE(andrew16 @ Oct 6 2018, 10:48 AM)
Hi bro,

nice review on the router.

but can anyone give me some recommendation on which router to get?

planning to buy a router for the unifi turbo upgrade to 800mbps

1) router signal must be strong enough for 2 storey house, 22x75 house
2) with mu-mimo
3) budget around RM600 +/-
4) support unifi
5) wifi speed is not a big issue for me.
6) Saw your mi router pro review, but it must have smart switch right? is it worth to get for unifi?

Thank in advance.
I second AC86U - from my perspective it's another level than xiaomi routers. They make good electronic products but when it comes to something that highly rely on software, especially networking, still not comparable with existing technologies.

EDIT: I've seen people getting around 91c on this router shocking.gif For that case, I recommend use something like 12cm fan to make the environment around it colder, attaching fans will make internal component dusty.

This post has been edited by NoobHacker: Oct 9 2018, 04:48 PM
Frankiefc
post Oct 9 2018, 07:53 PM

Bought the Asus router RT-AC86U twin pack a month ago, still encounter this issue up to now even after updated to the latest firmware 3.0.0.4.384.32799

Each time switch on HyppTV cannot connect, error message displayed on TV

Error code: 102004
Network unreachable.
Please reboot set-top-box

After switch off set-top-box using remote and switch back on, HyppTV can only connect and display. A hassle every time switch on HyppTV.

Anyone found alternative solution to overcome this issue. TQ
rts_4
post Oct 9 2018, 10:37 PM

QUOTE(pokchik @ Oct 9 2018, 03:48 PM)
in addition, i just found out that the latest firmware is buggy. my internet connections always lost (started with intermittent connection and then permanent disconnected).
rolled back to FW 21140 yesterday and currently monitoring.
I have the same issue. Do update if you found the FW 21140 performed better. Thanks
Ebony & Ivory
post Oct 9 2018, 11:40 PM

953 posts

QUOTE(Frankiefc @ Oct 9 2018, 07:53 PM)
Bought the Asus router RT-AC86U twin pack a month ago, still encounter this issue up to now even after updated to the latest firmware 3.0.0.4.384.32799

Each time switch on HyppTV cannot connect, error message displayed on TV

Error code: 102004
Network unreachable.
Please reboot set-top-box

After switch off set-top-box using remote and switch back on, HyppTV can only connect and display. A hassle every time switch on HyppTV.

Anyone found alternative solution to overcome this issue. TQ
QUOTE(rts_4 @ Oct 9 2018, 10:37 PM)
I have the same issue. Do update if you found the FW 21140 performed better. Thanks
can login the router web interface and use the feedback form report to Asus.

This post has been edited by Ebony & Ivory: Oct 9 2018, 11:41 PM
sHawTY
post Oct 11 2018, 09:07 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,628 posts

ASUS RT-AC86U definitely doesn't need extra cooling unlike the older ASUS RT-AC68U, but I just installed 2 fans anyway to suck the hot air out (not blow air in)

Without fans the router runs at 70°C ~ 72°C
With fans the router runs at 52°C ~ 55°C

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Oct 11 2018, 09:35 AM
omzeuea
post Oct 11 2018, 12:16 PM

QUOTE(pokchik @ Oct 9 2018, 03:48 PM)
in addition, i just found out that the latest firmware is buggy. my internet connections always lost (started with intermittent connection and then permanent disconnected).
rolled back to FW 21140 yesterday and currently monitoring.
i am also facing the same problem.. is it a hardware/defect problem? how do u find using the previous fw?
TSJayceOoi
post Oct 11 2018, 12:21 PM

Pro Blogger
2,679 posts

QUOTE(omzeuea @ Oct 11 2018, 12:16 PM)
i am also facing the same problem.. is it a hardware/defect problem? how do u find using the previous fw?
Haha... Bug is one of the reasons that I stopped using official ASUS firmware. tongue.gif

Merlin FTW!!!
sHawTY
post Oct 11 2018, 11:16 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,628 posts

Anybody can get UTorrent Port Forward working on their RT-AC86U?
I've tried lots of things but the Speed Guide still failed bangwall.gif
TSJayceOoi
post Oct 12 2018, 07:08 AM

Pro Blogger
2,679 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Oct 11 2018, 11:16 PM)
Anybody can get UTorrent Port Forward working on their RT-AC86U?
I've tried lots of things but the Speed Guide still failed bangwall.gif
Just wondering... Anything special about UTorrent than the built-in download master? No need to use PC some more with DM.
nikobellic
post Oct 12 2018, 11:23 AM

121 posts

Should we turn on Asus smart connect?
Noticed my devices only showed connection to 2.4Ghz and not 5Ghz even i am sitting just in front of the router.
peguin78
post Oct 13 2018, 08:02 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(nikobellic @ Oct 12 2018, 12:23 PM)
Should we turn on Asus smart connect?
Noticed my devices only showed connection to 2.4Ghz and not 5Ghz even i am sitting just in front of the router.
Based on my experience, devices connect to 2.4 first only then they will connect to 5 if they are supported. I don't really like the smart connect feature as i don't have control to which ssid a device connects to.
Barricade
post Oct 14 2018, 02:05 PM

3,046 posts

QUOTE(JayceOoi @ Oct 11 2018, 12:21 PM)
Haha... Bug is one of the reasons that I stopped using official ASUS firmware.  tongue.gif

Merlin FTW!!!
Merlin firmware can update via the interface “check for new firmware” or ASUS app?

Or every time need to go Merlin website to check?
TSJayceOoi
post Oct 14 2018, 02:13 PM

Pro Blogger
2,679 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Oct 14 2018, 02:05 PM)
Merlin firmware can update via the interface “check for new firmware” or ASUS app?

Or every time need to go Merlin website to check?
It will highlight you at admin page when there is new firmware. Still need to download manually and install then.
nikobellic
post Oct 14 2018, 05:52 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(peguin78 @ Oct 13 2018, 08:02 AM)
Based on my experience, devices connect to 2.4 first only then they will connect to 5 if they are supported.  I don't really like the smart connect feature as i don't have control to which ssid a device connects to.
The problem is my 5Ghz channel is no longer available on my WiFi list including my gadgets that support 5Ghz. Just wonder am I no longer enjoying 5Ghz speed under the so call smart connect 🧐🧐

peguin78
post Oct 14 2018, 10:10 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(nikobellic @ Oct 14 2018, 06:52 PM)
The problem is my 5Ghz channel is no longer available on my WiFi list including my gadgets that support 5Ghz. Just wonder am I no longer enjoying 5Ghz speed under the so call smart connect 🧐🧐
Then can you try manually disable the smart connect and set up 2.4 and 5 separately? Radio 5 malfunction?

Ebony & Ivory
post Oct 15 2018, 06:01 PM

953 posts

QUOTE(nikobellic @ Oct 14 2018, 05:52 PM)
ur 5GHz and 2.4GHz is having the same ssid?

try update to latest firmware, it fix some WIFI stability issue.

or u can just flash to merlin.

This post has been edited by Ebony & Ivory: Oct 15 2018, 06:02 PM
nikobellic
post Oct 15 2018, 10:43 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Ebony & Ivory @ Oct 15 2018, 06:01 PM)
ur 5GHz and 2.4GHz is having the same ssid?

try update to latest firmware, it fix some WIFI stability issue.

or u can just flash to merlin.
Guys, sorry it was my mistake.
Did some research on Asus website. I mistakenly include 2.4Ghz in my SSID When I set the smart connect function I.e XXXX_2.4Ghz. I should just name it XXXX without the 2.4Ghz as the router will automatically connect my gadget to the most apropriate (fastest n stable) connection (I.e 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz).
As on my experience with the smart connect function - so far so good. No complain. Connection is stable. Speed is within expectation.

GRO
post Oct 18 2018, 08:33 AM

Hi guys, just get my RT-AC86U yesterday and successfully connect to internet wirelessly from my desktop. However when trying to connect through WiFi from my Samsung S7 and Iphone7, both can connect to the WIFi but no internet access.

Need advise from sifu what possibly could be the problem? I suspect it could be the setting in firmware but don't know which to look at.

Btw, I already flashed with the latest firmware downloaded
from ASUS website

This post has been edited by GRO: Oct 18 2018, 08:36 AM
peguin78
post Oct 19 2018, 06:52 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(GRO @ Oct 18 2018, 09:33 AM)
Hi guys, just get my RT-AC86U yesterday and successfully connect to internet wirelessly from my desktop. However when trying to connect through WiFi from my Samsung S7 and Iphone7, both can connect to the WIFi but no internet access.

Need advise from sifu what possibly could be the problem? I suspect it could be the setting in firmware but don't know which to look at.

Btw, I already flashed with the latest firmware downloaded
from ASUS website
Parental control enable?
GRO
post Oct 19 2018, 02:32 PM

QUOTE(peguin78 @ Oct 19 2018, 06:52 AM)
Parental control enable?
Latest update. Now all my wireless devices are able to connect to the router. Just need to forget the SSID and reconnect again (I setup up using the same SSID and password as previous router). Some devices immediately recognized the SSID (including my TP-Link Repeater) but "Smartphones" however need to re-connect blush.gif . Not too "Smart" after all. Btw, I flashed to Merlin 384.7 yesterday, hope the system is stable.

54 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0411sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 03:46 AM