Review ASUS RT-AC86U, Feature-packed advanced wireless router

ppfoong
post Nov 15 2018, 09:45 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(CKKwan @ Nov 15 2018, 05:36 PM)
Thanks, you have saved my day.

It is ridiculous to put this setting under LAN.
Haha... because it is dealing with VLAN setting in the LAN network.

CKKwan
post Nov 16 2018, 12:13 AM

886 posts

Any one know where can I set the default DNS to 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 in this router?
TSJayceOoi
post Nov 16 2018, 09:09 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(CKKwan @ Nov 16 2018, 12:13 AM)
Any one know where can I set the default DNS to 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 in this router?
Advanced Settings - WAN
TSJayceOoi
post Nov 16 2018, 09:10 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

Double post... confused.gif

This post has been edited by JayceOoi: Nov 16 2018, 09:10 AM
peguin78
post Nov 16 2018, 09:12 AM

162 posts

Hi Jayce..

How's the RMA router compared with the old ones?
TSJayceOoi
post Nov 16 2018, 10:57 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(peguin78 @ Nov 16 2018, 09:12 AM)
Hi Jayce..

How's the RMA router compared with the old ones?
I got a new router. Performance wise is the same. But it does fix DLNA issue that I faced previously on official firmware.
sHawTY
post Nov 16 2018, 11:56 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

Already open an advertisement in Mudah.my to sell my one month old ASUS RT-AC86U tongue.gif
Selling because upgraded to ASUS ROG GT-AC5300 wub.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Nov 16 2018, 02:19 PM
TSJayceOoi
post Nov 16 2018, 02:56 PM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 16 2018, 11:56 AM)
Already open an advertisement in Mudah.my to sell my one month old ASUS RT-AC86U tongue.gif
Wider coverage?
sHawTY
post Nov 16 2018, 03:11 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(JayceOoi @ Nov 16 2018, 02:56 PM)
Wider coverage?
No, because I got the GT-AC5300 for RM1000 (new unit) from Taobao during the 11.11 promo laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Nov 16 2018, 03:35 PM
xxboxx
post Nov 16 2018, 05:39 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 15 2018, 04:25 PM)
No. It's Merlin
https://asuswrt.lostrealm.ca/

Temperature reading is not provided on stock firmwre. Never has, never will

No wonder I can't find it laugh.gif

One more question, Merlin firmware have Download Master like Asus firmware?
sHawTY
post Nov 16 2018, 07:53 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 16 2018, 05:39 PM)
One more question, Merlin firmware have Download Master like Asus firmware?
Yes
The only thing Merlin lacks is Mesh network
jimbet1337
post Nov 16 2018, 08:00 PM

meh
2,670 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 16 2018, 11:56 AM)
Yea saw the advert, flashed to Merlin?
sHawTY
post Nov 16 2018, 08:02 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Nov 16 2018, 08:00 PM)
Yea saw the advert, flashed to Merlin?
Offcourse laugh.gif
xxboxx
post Nov 17 2018, 02:48 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 16 2018, 07:53 PM)
Yes
Thanks for the info. I was thinking whether to flash Merlin fw or just stay on Asus fw.
coo|dude
post Nov 17 2018, 07:29 AM

Cool By The Pool!
1,064 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 16 2018, 07:53 PM)
Yes
For Ai Mesh to work greatly, the 2nd router has to be in the 5ghz range of the main router? and 3rd router in the range of the 2nd?
TSJayceOoi
post Nov 17 2018, 09:45 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Nov 17 2018, 07:29 AM)
For Ai Mesh to work greatly, the 2nd router has to be in the 5ghz range of the main router? and 3rd router in the range of the 2nd?
Yes. But the best result is using cable. tongue.gif
lyc1982
post Nov 20 2018, 11:06 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

This post has been edited by lyc1982: Nov 30 2018, 10:14 PM
Garage Flower
post Nov 25 2018, 11:03 AM

46 posts

Hi everyone,

Is it normal it may require a longer time for unifi tv STB to connect to NTP server?

already set to default ntp server 128.199.84.169 but it still remains longer to authenticate
coo|dude
post Nov 26 2018, 09:26 AM

Cool By The Pool!
1,064 posts

Hi, I know this thread is all about AC86U, but I just want to "tumpang" this thread considering the lively and responsiveness this thread has been.

I have an AC5300 unit - just wondering:
1. Are there better antennas out there to increase the range? Or is there a setting to do this? I saw a power saving feature to decrease the range though but nothing on increasing it.
2. Any "accessories" for this beast? Is a cooling fan really needed? Is it noisy?
kopiride
post Nov 26 2018, 02:36 PM

782 posts

My 3 months old ac86u from china have no light on the power LED. Was usable this morning. Weird is power led no light but the lan have light. I guess time for warranty

54 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:39 PM