Review ASUS RT-AC86U, Feature-packed advanced wireless router

lchee
post Jan 27 2018, 01:21 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(JayceOoi @ Jan 25 2018, 04:36 PM)
Official firmware is stable. No need to install Merlin unless it is needed. For example, OpenVPN is not working on official one (wasted lot of time on this  previously). DLNA issue that I faced. Or you need to customize stuffs that not supported on official one. And so on...

Do check out snbforums for more Merlin stuffs.  smile.gif
Hi, anyone gearbest code for discount on this router? CNY promo code?

This post has been edited by lchee: Jan 27 2018, 01:32 PM
sHawTY
post Jan 27 2018, 02:51 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,629 posts

If anyone wants to buy this router, you can get it from 11street
Even cheaper than buying from GearBest

http://www.11street.my/productdetail/asus-...c-wifi-59886844

With an 11street coupon, you can get this router at only RM682 (Free Shipping)

Vashstam82
post Jan 27 2018, 08:05 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 27 2018, 02:51 PM)

I'm interested.. mind sharing how to get the 11st coupon for mentioned price.. btw anyone else bought from this seller b4? Appreciate the experience.. thanks
sHawTY
post Jan 27 2018, 09:13 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,629 posts

QUOTE(Vashstam82 @ Jan 27 2018, 08:05 PM)
I'm interested.. mind sharing how to get the 11st coupon for mentioned price.. btw anyone else bought from this seller b4? Appreciate the experience.. thanks
Just click add to cart then checkout now, there you'll receive the coupon as per the screenshot beloiw

xperiaVuser
post Jan 27 2018, 09:49 PM

1,186 posts

Ships from China and lowly rated seller... I'd avoid such sellers.
lchee
post Jan 27 2018, 10:57 PM

496 posts

Thanks for the pointer. Made a booking for the router at 11th Street. Hope it arrives fine.
Vashstam82
post Jan 27 2018, 11:22 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 27 2018, 09:13 PM)
Just click add to cart then checkout now, there you'll receive the coupon as per the screenshot beloiw

Thanks man.. thumbup.gif
TSJayceOoi
post Jan 28 2018, 10:26 AM

Pro Blogger
2,679 posts

Great price from 11street. And based International Shipping Policy - custom tax is borne by the global sellers. Does that include SIRIM AP as well?

Anyway, as long as it arrives safely without issue. That's good. FYI, latest firmware DOES improve AC86U 5GHz performance compare to AC68U. A lot!!! smile.gif
lchee
post Jan 28 2018, 06:45 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(JayceOoi @ Jan 28 2018, 10:26 AM)
Great price from 11street. And based International Shipping Policy - custom tax is borne by the global sellers. Does that include SIRIM AP as well?

Anyway, as long as it arrives safely without issue. That's good. FYI, latest firmware DOES improve AC86U 5GHz performance compare to AC68U. A lot!!! smile.gif
when you say new firmware is it original asus firmware or some third party firmware like the merlin firmware?

TSJayceOoi
post Jan 28 2018, 08:22 PM

Pro Blogger
2,679 posts

QUOTE(lchee @ Jan 28 2018, 06:45 PM)
when you say new firmware is it original asus firmware or some third party firmware like the merlin firmware?
Performance wise. Both of them are the same. Merlin firmware won't give you extra boost on that. But does have more features. rclxms.gif
x3BabyLemon
post Feb 2 2018, 03:26 PM

99 posts

Wtfast auto connect use or need download another software?
TSJayceOoi
post Feb 2 2018, 09:02 PM

Pro Blogger
2,679 posts

QUOTE(x3BabyLemon @ Feb 2 2018, 03:26 PM)
Wtfast auto connect use or need download another software?
Built-in at router. No need extra software. smile.gif
Annie@Lee
post Feb 2 2018, 09:29 PM

Hey guys, I want to get this router from tb, but someone from other thread mention about this

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Feb 2 2018, 08:43 PM)
Just some more information:

Usually different countries have different laws on wireless frequency transmission - it's best not to import a router from other countries as the underlying firmware may transmit wireless signals at frequencies that may be forbidden here icon_idea.gif

Also the router from Taobao may have a different firmware (which may have a backdoor installed, due to government regulations) in it instead of the international firmware  icon_idea.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=87881183

This post has been edited by Annie@Lee: Feb 2 2018, 09:30 PM
TSJayceOoi
post Feb 3 2018, 10:51 AM

Pro Blogger
2,679 posts

QUOTE(Annie@Lee @ Feb 2 2018, 09:29 PM)
Hey guys, I want to get this router from tb, but someone from other thread mention about this
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=87881183
It has several regions to select. I select Asia now. As for firmware, just install official firmware from Asus website will do. Or Merlin that I am using now. smile.gif
KIntos
post Feb 4 2018, 08:53 AM

1,131 posts

Hi, was thinking about AiMesh. How goods is the system?

Looking for 2nd hand ac68u to try it out.
TSJayceOoi
post Feb 5 2018, 09:27 AM

Pro Blogger
2,679 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Feb 4 2018, 08:53 AM)
Hi, was thinking about AiMesh. How goods is the system?

Looking for 2nd hand ac68u to try it out.
Great by using cable method. Wireless performance is just like repeater but with same SSID.
may_day
post Feb 7 2018, 02:52 PM

91 posts

Hi Sifus here, i just bought this router from Taobao. Any tutorial for set up Unifi account in this router? (including Hypptv set up) Many thanks.

lchee
post Feb 12 2018, 05:30 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(may_day @ Feb 7 2018, 02:52 PM)
Hi Sifus here, i just bought this router from Taobao. Any tutorial for set up Unifi account in this router? (including Hypptv set up) Many thanks.
How did you manage to buy this from Taobao? I browse two weeks back Taobao was having promotion for this router, about RM500 only right. But all sellers I asked cannot ship it here. In the end ordered it from 11street for RM 680.
sHawTY
post Feb 13 2018, 03:17 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,629 posts

QUOTE(lchee @ Feb 12 2018, 05:30 PM)
In the end ordered it from 11street for RM 680.
Have you received it?
lchee
post Feb 13 2018, 03:43 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Feb 13 2018, 03:17 PM)
Have you received it?
Yup, setup and it will auto download latest official firmware and using it. Signal is better than the default router by time, but not spectacular. Iphone in my room used to be zero or one bar, with asus is one bar to two bar.

p/s: I point all the antenna to the direction of my master bedroom which is furthest from my computer room where I need wifi the most cause there's multiple wall blocking it. Is that the best way to orient the antenna?

This post has been edited by lchee: Feb 13 2018, 04:33 PM

54 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:14 PM