Review ASUS RT-AC86U, Feature-packed advanced wireless router

lchee
post Jan 27 2018, 01:21 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(JayceOoi @ Jan 25 2018, 04:36 PM)
Official firmware is stable. No need to install Merlin unless it is needed. For example, OpenVPN is not working on official one (wasted lot of time on this  previously). DLNA issue that I faced. Or you need to customize stuffs that not supported on official one. And so on...

Do check out snbforums for more Merlin stuffs.  smile.gif
Hi, anyone gearbest code for discount on this router? CNY promo code?

This post has been edited by lchee: Jan 27 2018, 01:32 PM
lchee
post Jan 27 2018, 10:57 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 27 2018, 02:51 PM)
If anyone wants to buy this router, you can get it from 11street
Even cheaper than buying from GearBest

http://www.11street.my/productdetail/asus-...c-wifi-59886844

With an 11street coupon, you can get this router at only RM682 (Free Shipping)

Thanks for the pointer. Made a booking for the router at 11th Street. Hope it arrives fine.
lchee
post Jan 28 2018, 06:45 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(JayceOoi @ Jan 28 2018, 10:26 AM)
Great price from 11street. And based International Shipping Policy - custom tax is borne by the global sellers. Does that include SIRIM AP as well?

Anyway, as long as it arrives safely without issue. That's good. FYI, latest firmware DOES improve AC86U 5GHz performance compare to AC68U. A lot!!! smile.gif
when you say new firmware is it original asus firmware or some third party firmware like the merlin firmware?

lchee
post Feb 12 2018, 05:30 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(may_day @ Feb 7 2018, 02:52 PM)
Hi Sifus here, i just bought this router from Taobao. Any tutorial for set up Unifi account in this router? (including Hypptv set up) Many thanks.
How did you manage to buy this from Taobao? I browse two weeks back Taobao was having promotion for this router, about RM500 only right. But all sellers I asked cannot ship it here. In the end ordered it from 11street for RM 680.
lchee
post Feb 13 2018, 03:43 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Feb 13 2018, 03:17 PM)
Have you received it?
Yup, setup and it will auto download latest official firmware and using it. Signal is better than the default router by time, but not spectacular. Iphone in my room used to be zero or one bar, with asus is one bar to two bar.

p/s: I point all the antenna to the direction of my master bedroom which is furthest from my computer room where I need wifi the most cause there's multiple wall blocking it. Is that the best way to orient the antenna?

This post has been edited by lchee: Feb 13 2018, 04:33 PM

lchee
post Mar 9 2018, 11:18 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Mar 5 2018, 08:21 AM)
According to Linus, the best way the orientate any antenna is by having them in 3 different position.

My AC86u is coming tomorrow.  I hope it's better than the 5 year old AC66u I have.
My issue isn't so much the range as I've a second router as an access point. Rather it's the transfer speed between a NAS and my desktop.
Thanks, i pointed my router to 3 different direction. Signal strength still the same but less drop wifi connection. I think the walls are really blocking the wifi strength alot. Though distance is not far, the walls are a killer. Is there any other settings within to router to boost strength across multiple walls or to boost signal towards that one specific spot which is my master bedroom?

0.0397sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:42 PM