127 Pages « < 66 67 68 69 70 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Your Home Theater pics - Show us !, Inspire and motivate, let's share.

pierreye
post Mar 30 2009, 10:31 AM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(Traveler @ Mar 29 2009, 06:36 PM)
My simple HT setup that I built 2 years ago, and needing to be upgraded to 1080p:

1. Yamaha RX-V1600 receiver powering 7.1 Energy speakers.
2. Sony VPL-HS60 projector (want to upgrade to HD 1080p projector when cashflow improves) - screen size is about 100"
3. Pioneer- DV-300 DVD player (to be upgraded to Blu-Ray player in the future, unless I build a HTPC with BD capability)
4. Astro decoder (mostly use it for news, sports and documentaries)
5. HTPC (under construction) - to be used as a DVR, playback of content streamed from my NAS boxes, maybe light gaming?

I'm actually still building and installing software on my HTPC so the area is still messy right now with cables, manuals and stuff.
I only took pictures of the left side of my 7.1 speaker setup, but the right side is basically the same anyway. The Linksys device sitting on top of my subwoofer is actually my Skype/POTS dual-line cordless phone base station. I took the photos when I stopped work on my HTPC to watch the Australian GP tongue.gif
Bro, you can try to get a simple pull down black blind as a masking for the top. I bought one + installation only RM 300++. Poor man masking system to convert 16:9 to 1:2.35 screen.
Traveler
post Mar 30 2009, 12:33 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

Hwoarang45: Been using it for 2 years now (sometimes up to 4-6 hours a day, but average 2-3 hours per day), no bulb change yet. Only need to change air filter (warning message just popped up), but Sony tech advised me to just wash the filter, and reuse.

QUOTE(pierreye @ Mar 30 2009, 10:31 AM)
Bro, you can try to get a simple pull down black blind as a masking for the top. I bought one + installation only RM 300++. Poor man masking system to convert 16:9 to 1:2.35 screen.
What do you mean? Is it a black blind to make the top part of the screen (unused portion) black?

htkaki
post Mar 30 2009, 03:53 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Mar 30 2009, 03:45 AM)
oooow nice projector,,,  watst he bulb life like these days for these babies?
Normally abt 2,000hours
pierreye
post Mar 31 2009, 07:42 AM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(Traveler @ Mar 30 2009, 12:33 PM)
Hwoarang45: Been using it for 2 years now (sometimes up to 4-6 hours a day, but average 2-3 hours per day), no bulb change yet. Only need to change air filter (warning message just popped up), but Sony tech advised me to just wash the filter, and reuse.
What do you mean? Is it a black blind to make the top part of the screen (unused portion) black?
Yep. That's correct.
jchong
post Mar 31 2009, 12:04 PM

5,989 posts

Looking for some advice about what screen ratio to get. Mostly those sold here are 16:9, but I'm thinking of 2.35:1 screen to minimize the letterboxing effect.

I'll be watching movies mainly so that's why I'm looking at 2.35:1 screen. Of course sometimes might do some gaming on the PS3, does anyone know if PS3 can fit to widescreen 2.35:1?

What are you guys comments on getting a 2.35:1 screen?
nakata101
post Mar 31 2009, 02:14 PM

*******(PES&WE)******* Play Like Champion
2,423 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Mar 31 2009, 12:04 PM)
Looking for some advice about what screen ratio to get. Mostly those sold here are 16:9, but I'm thinking of 2.35:1 screen to minimize the letterboxing effect.

I'll be watching movies mainly so that's why I'm looking at 2.35:1 screen. Of course sometimes might do some gaming on the PS3, does anyone know if PS3 can fit to widescreen 2.35:1?

What are you guys comments on getting a 2.35:1 screen?
I thought the best view for movie is 16:9 ???
jchong
post Mar 31 2009, 03:32 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(nakata101 @ Mar 31 2009, 02:14 PM)
I thought the best view for movie is 16:9 ???
Actually many movies are wider than 16:9.
nakata101
post Mar 31 2009, 04:00 PM

*******(PES&WE)******* Play Like Champion
2,423 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Mar 31 2009, 03:32 PM)
Actually many movies are wider than 16:9.
I see, i m just found that got many movie is not at 16:9 screen one... smile.gif
htkaki
post Mar 31 2009, 04:02 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Yes, many movies in 2.35:1 ratio but our pj is only in native 16:9. If there are movies in 16:9, then the picture will overlap the screen. Unless, using anamorphic lense. Correct me if i am wrong.
jchong
post Mar 31 2009, 05:08 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 31 2009, 04:02 PM)
Yes, many movies in 2.35:1 ratio but our pj is only in native 16:9. If there are movies in 16:9, then the picture will overlap the screen. Unless, using anamorphic lense. Correct me if i am wrong.
If you are watching 16:9 movie on a 2.35:1 screen then you will have black bars on the side (opposite of letter boxing).

If you are watching 2.35:1 movie on a 2.35:1 screen the letter boxing is still there but it will fall outside the screen onto the screen's top and bottom border (since projector is still 16:9). If you don't want this then have to use anamorphic lens. Or maybe can use something like black velvet to cover screen top and bottom border.

I hope my understanding is correct smile.gif

This post has been edited by jchong: Mar 31 2009, 05:14 PM
megatron007
post Apr 1 2009, 10:13 PM

4,000 posts

fuyooo the discussion of ratio very "Chimm" deep

canot paham sad.gif
gilbertlhl
post Apr 2 2009, 08:13 AM

386 posts

Hi All tai koh, why this topic(Your Home Theater pics - Show us !, Inspire and motivate, let's share. (Home Theatre) ) now is no HT Pics show d.???

djdyks
post Apr 2 2009, 09:33 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ Apr 2 2009, 08:13 AM)
Hi All tai koh, why this topic(Your Home Theater pics - Show us !, Inspire and motivate, let's share. (Home Theatre) ) now is no HT Pics show d.???
Lately i noticed almost MOST topics all off rail liao ! blush.gif

gilbertlhl
post Apr 2 2009, 12:01 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(djdyks @ Apr 2 2009, 09:33 AM)
Lately i noticed almost MOST topics all off rail liao !  blush.gif
I think some action need to take by lowyat management... Before its too late.. hmm.gif
honamd77
post Apr 2 2009, 03:33 PM

Enjoy Your Life Before You Die
1,008 posts

anybody already owned or got experience for this model below :-

Sony DAV-DZ850W

your advise it's very important to me and very thankful your advise biggrin.gif

note : very sorry if wrong place to ask ... tongue.gif
Barricade
post Apr 2 2009, 03:37 PM

4,151 posts

QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ Apr 2 2009, 12:01 PM)
I think some action need to take by lowyat management... Before its too late.. hmm.gif
this section is the only section without an assigned mod, what u expect? if got mod long long time ago you think rx330 ar ar188 will have so high post count?all spamming and chatting in here. thumbup.gif
just spam, it's free, make it home entertainment cum kopitiam
gilbertlhl
post Apr 2 2009, 05:38 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Apr 2 2009, 03:37 PM)
this section is the only section without an assigned mod, what u expect? if got mod long long time ago you think rx330 ar ar188 will have so high post count?all spamming and chatting in here.  thumbup.gif
Hahaha.. then we just make it happen and just follow the majority..... tongue.gif

djdyks
post Apr 3 2009, 10:44 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Apr 2 2009, 03:37 PM)
this section is the only section without an assigned mod, what u expect? if got mod long long time ago you think rx330 ar ar188 will have so high post count?all spamming and chatting in here.  thumbup.gif
yeah, in tat case i'll spam once every skipping post ... rclxms.gif
SUSSony Trinitron
post Apr 3 2009, 10:49 AM

441 posts

pics where? i want more pics...

*spam
ameeyn
post Apr 4 2009, 09:45 PM

Amn85
394 posts

If this is not cool.I don't know what is..check it out..

127 Pages « < 66 67 68 69 70 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:40 AM