Home Theatre Your Home Theater pics - Show us !, Inspire and motivate, let's share.
jchong
Mar 31 2009, 12:04 PM
Looking for some advice about what screen ratio to get. Mostly those sold here are 16:9, but I'm thinking of 2.35:1 screen to minimize the letterboxing effect.
I'll be watching movies mainly so that's why I'm looking at 2.35:1 screen. Of course sometimes might do some gaming on the PS3, does anyone know if PS3 can fit to widescreen 2.35:1?
What are you guys comments on getting a 2.35:1 screen?
jchong
Mar 31 2009, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(nakata101 @ Mar 31 2009, 02:14 PM) I thought the best view for movie is 16:9 ??? Actually many movies are wider than 16:9.
jchong
Mar 31 2009, 05:08 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 31 2009, 04:02 PM) Yes, many movies in 2.35:1 ratio but our pj is only in native 16:9. If there are movies in 16:9, then the picture will overlap the screen. Unless, using anamorphic lense. Correct me if i am wrong. If you are watching 16:9 movie on a 2.35:1 screen then you will have black bars on the side (opposite of letter boxing). If you are watching 2.35:1 movie on a 2.35:1 screen the letter boxing is still there but it will fall outside the screen onto the screen's top and bottom border (since projector is still 16:9). If you don't want this then have to use anamorphic lens. Or maybe can use something like black velvet to cover screen top and bottom border. I hope my understanding is correct This post has been edited by jchong: Mar 31 2009, 05:14 PM
jchong
Apr 5 2009, 12:19 PM
QUOTE(ameeyn @ Apr 4 2009, 09:45 PM) If this is not cool.I don't know what is..check it out..   Now that's what I call a BatCave!
jchong
Apr 5 2009, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Apr 5 2009, 11:03 AM) Go for Onkyo 805 it however run very hot ( u need to diy two cooling fan ) & it is a 'discontinue' model. The Yammy I think is a newer model. If possible go for Onkyo 875, u wouldn't regret it.  Onkyo 876 is the newer model. Compare to 875 it got more feature & two HDMI out & of cause more expensive. Onkyo is more suited for movie whereas yammy is better for music. Just my humble opinion. It is better 4 u 2 try out both first. When u bought your 875 how much was it? I got quoted 5.6k for the 876 recently.
jchong
Apr 7 2009, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(choontoy @ Apr 6 2009, 06:13 PM) Yamaha rx-v1900 soo damm expensive. How much is the RX-V1900?
jchong
Apr 7 2009, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(choontoy @ Apr 7 2009, 03:00 PM) last prices quoted @ rm4.2k I got quoted RM4290 by A&L Amcorp. Added on April 7, 2009, 10:46 pmQUOTE(choontoy @ Apr 5 2009, 12:58 PM) Got quoted Onkyo 875 for Rm5k while 905 for rm7k,wow ! Still selling tooo bloddy expensive.But i did survey till few shop which few of them quoted veri attractive prices for 805 as i will decide soon liao.Any idea can get better pricing for Onkyo 875 ? What's the best price you got for the 875 so far? Which shop? This post has been edited by jchong: Apr 7 2009, 10:46 PM
jchong
Apr 9 2009, 01:58 PM
QUOTE(choontoy @ Apr 8 2009, 10:10 AM) 875 @ rm5k new set.location at penang. I just confirmed that Onkyo 876 can get at 5k from Desa Home Theater in Kepong! So 875 should be a few hundred below 5k. This post has been edited by jchong: Apr 9 2009, 01:59 PM
jchong
Apr 10 2009, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(choontoy @ Apr 10 2009, 10:02 AM) i would prefer 875 or 805 coz it heavier than 876 or 806 but due to prices i decided go for 805 at attractive prices offered by another hifi shop. Are u sure the 875 is heavier than 876? I just downloaded both brochures and checked the weight, both also same at 23.3 kg. But big difference between 805 vs 806 - 23.3 kg vs 17.8 kg This post has been edited by jchong: Apr 10 2009, 12:27 PM
jchong
Apr 10 2009, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(choontoy @ Apr 10 2009, 08:18 PM) Anyway i had decided to go at 805 at good offered prices instead 875 which i cannot afford. A good choice. I read on AVS Forum that the 805 may be the best bang for the buck from Onkyo.
jchong
Apr 12 2009, 05:58 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 12 2009, 04:53 PM)  Entry level only. Heh, your entry level is a lot of people's dream system!
jchong
Apr 12 2009, 09:09 PM
Nice! What's the RRP on the RF-62 system?
jchong
Apr 13 2009, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(sonyman @ Apr 13 2009, 10:08 AM) hahaha i if i have the moolah, so much of it, i will custom make my home theater into a multiplex cinema, like the goldmund one, forget about getting speakers like this man gold mund system starts at 300k US which is a whopping 1.2mil ringgit,, custom built to ur statisfaction. If we all had loads and loads of moolah then needless to say we all also aim for the sky for our HT. But first must buy big enough house so you can build big enough dedicated HT room  . Then only look at the equipment... USD300k? That's cheap compared to this.
jchong
Apr 13 2009, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(mpyw @ Apr 13 2009, 03:39 PM) then take Yammy 3900 alr...all 7 channel Burr Brown DAC  I think the Yammy 3900 would be much more expensive than the 805. Added on April 13, 2009, 4:17 pmQUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 13 2009, 02:42 PM) Less likely that heavier will be better in this case. I didnt check its review or spec for both. Normally, a replacement model should perform better. Unless, there is a review that says otherwise. I was reading about the 805 vs 806 on AVS Forum. Apparently the 805 is just only slightly scaled down from 875 and therefore too close in terms of product differentiation. When they moved to the next gen, Onkyo had to introduce more differences so the 806 was scaled down a lot more to distinguish from 876. That's why many feel that 805 better than 806 and why 805 higher spec than 806. This post has been edited by jchong: Apr 13 2009, 04:17 PM
jchong
Apr 13 2009, 04:58 PM
While we are dreaming about uber high end systems, have a look at these 2 projectors (as used by Kipnis): Sony SRX-R220Meridian 810Didn't even know such shockingly high end stuff existed...
jchong
Apr 13 2009, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(choontoy @ Apr 13 2009, 05:16 PM) Anyway i had decided to select Onkyo tx-sr805 Congrats!
jchong
Apr 13 2009, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(choontoy @ Apr 13 2009, 09:23 PM) Tooooo Bad for me,just wanna pay out deposit then the hifi owner told me that Onkyo tx-sr805 no longer available liao even demo set also sold out.  Aiyoh! U're in Penang right? Maybe shops in KL got stock?
jchong
Apr 14 2009, 07:40 AM
QUOTE(choontoy @ Apr 14 2009, 06:42 AM) May i know location for Desa? I'm from Pg anyway. Desa Home Theater is located in Kepong, KL.
jchong
Apr 14 2009, 08:04 PM
QUOTE(choontoy @ Apr 14 2009, 07:56 PM) My fren check it out at Desa also no stock liao,looks like i have to buy Onkyo tx-sr875 which more expensive lol  Maybe one last try is to call the Onkyo distributor, Hwee Seng at 03-7875 4840
jchong
Apr 14 2009, 10:10 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 14 2009, 10:05 PM) Probably no more as well. Last year, Onkyo Malaysia (factory) had a special offer for 805, 875 and 905. Freaking low price. That was in August if not mistaken How to find out about such sales? I didn't manage to hear about it.