125 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

The SSD Thread V6, Solid State Drive, Continued.

x-1o8-x
post Feb 23 2018, 11:29 AM

Prosekaist
1,250 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Feb 23 2018, 11:10 AM)
Sup fellas. Been a while since i last drop by here. laugh.gif rclxm9.gif Still awaiting 1TB ssd cheaper further. laugh.gif rclxms.gif
at least SSD prices have remained stagnant or even dropping, unlike other parts biggrin.gif
TShorns
post Feb 23 2018, 11:29 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Feb 23 2018, 11:10 AM)
Sup fellas. Been a while since i last drop by here. laugh.gif rclxm9.gif Still awaiting 1TB ssd cheaper further. laugh.gif rclxms.gif
haha actually what's your target price for 1tb ssd?
The Wonder
post Feb 23 2018, 03:00 PM

Bang Bang Club
1,059 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 23 2018, 03:56 AM)
no the write speed for pm951 128gb is this slow.

usually we don't compare speeds with rapid mode turned on. if you wanna run nvme ssds with speeds as rapid mode, use primocache.
okay doh.gif
TShorns
post Feb 23 2018, 04:47 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(The Wonder @ Feb 23 2018, 03:00 PM)
okay  doh.gif
not all nvme ssds are built with the same performance, due to various reasons that we might not know of, so it's important to do a little bit of research before purchase.
skylinelover
post Feb 23 2018, 04:53 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,244 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 23 2018, 11:29 AM)
haha actually what's your target price for 1tb ssd?
Less than 500 laugh.gif brows.gif
TShorns
post Feb 23 2018, 05:12 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Feb 23 2018, 04:53 PM)
Less than 500 laugh.gif brows.gif
.. that might need to take some time. maybe it's possible when qlc ssd is out, but the endurance rating might not be what you want.
dragonteoh
post Feb 26 2018, 10:04 AM

711 posts

Dear All,

I am new to SSD, plan to purchase a 240GB or 256GB SSD drive for my PC just for OS and program.

Can i know what should i aware when choosing a SSD ?
Budget really limit and as cheap as possible.

So far the cheapest i saw in Low Yat is Transcend 220 Series ... any feedback on this brand and model ?

This post has been edited by dragonteoh: Feb 26 2018, 10:06 AM
TShorns
post Feb 26 2018, 10:31 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(dragonteoh @ Feb 26 2018, 10:04 AM)
Dear All,

I am new to SSD, plan to purchase a 240GB or 256GB SSD drive for my PC just for OS and program.

Can i know what should i aware when choosing a SSD ?
Budget really limit and as cheap as possible.

So far the cheapest i saw in Low Yat is Transcend 220 Series ... any feedback on this brand and model ?
the rule of thumb for ssd purchase is always, 'you get what you pay for'. a good ssd is worth the price, and it will last for a long time. common brands with better quality controls are intel, samsung, crucial, sandisk (and maybe western digital), kingston. for ssds with tlc nand, choose those with 3d-nand.

sorry not sure about the performance of transcend 220. perhaps you should check out garage sales section for good deals also.

dragonteoh
post Feb 26 2018, 10:59 AM

711 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 26 2018, 10:31 AM)
the rule of thumb for ssd purchase is always, 'you get what you pay for'. a good ssd is worth the price, and it will last for a long time. common brands with better quality controls are intel, samsung, crucial, sandisk (and maybe western digital), kingston. for ssds with tlc nand, choose those with 3d-nand.

sorry not sure about the performance of transcend 220. perhaps you should check out garage sales section for good deals also.
Thanks for the info. thumbup.gif

TShorns
post Feb 26 2018, 01:31 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(dragonteoh @ Feb 26 2018, 10:59 AM)
Thanks for the info.  thumbup.gif
you're welcome.

these days we have many choices for consumer ssds. for sata-based options, we have entry-level, mainstream, and performance grades. for pcie-based options, we have mainstream and performance grades.

personally, i suggest skipping entry-level sata ssds which use planar tlc if possible, unless you're sure that their general performance, reliability and endurance are acceptable for your usage. if you intended to reuse them in new systems later on, then it's better to get at least mainstream options.

also, get new models if possible. the main reason for this is the recent change of warranty policies for some brands. for instance, 860 evo has much higher tbw warranty than 850 evo.

i know budget is a concern. however if price gap is acceptable, i really suggest you top up and get better ones.
SnoopyDevil
post Feb 26 2018, 02:43 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 26 2018, 01:31 PM)
you're welcome.

these days we have many choices for consumer ssds. for sata-based options, we have entry-level, mainstream, and performance grades. for pcie-based options, we have mainstream and performance grades.

personally, i suggest skipping entry-level sata ssds which use planar tlc if possible, unless you're sure that their general performance, reliability and endurance are acceptable for your usage. if you intended to reuse them in new systems later on, then it's better to get at least mainstream options.

also, get new models if possible. the main reason for this is the recent change of warranty policies for some brands. for instance, 860 evo has much higher tbw warranty than 850 evo.

i know budget is a concern. however if price gap is acceptable, i really suggest you top up and get better ones.
which would be the best value mainstream ssd to get?
TShorns
post Feb 26 2018, 05:23 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(SnoopyDevil @ Feb 26 2018, 02:43 PM)
which would be the best value mainstream ssd to get?
imo wd blue 3d nand/sandisk ultra 3d, and samsung 850/860 evo. it's too bad new crucial ssds are hard to get here.
pcdsb
post Feb 26 2018, 05:27 PM

104 posts

hi sifu here , i plan to upgrade my old sata2 laptop , any good entry level ssd recommended ?
TShorns
post Feb 26 2018, 06:40 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(pcdsb @ Feb 26 2018, 05:27 PM)
hi sifu here , i plan to upgrade my old sata2 laptop , any good entry level ssd recommended ?
a final boost to an old system? imo you should get something mainstream, so that you can reuse it later when a new system arrives.

i'm not familiar with entry-level sata ssds because they were not good enough for my usage (serious drop of performance, which is slower than hdd, when they run out of cache)
iwubpreve
post Feb 26 2018, 10:31 PM

1,829 posts

guys, wanna ask samsung 850 evo 250gb won't recognize in uefi boot? just replace laptop hdd to samsung evo 850 250gb. it just can't detect in uefi boot
TShorns
post Feb 26 2018, 11:24 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Feb 26 2018, 10:31 PM)
guys, wanna ask samsung 850 evo 250gb won't recognize in uefi boot? just replace laptop hdd to samsung evo 850 250gb. it just can't detect in uefi boot
check laptop bios to see if it's detected first. i installed some on laptops also; no issues.

QUOTE(Piak Piak Piak @ Feb 26 2018, 10:43 PM)
Guys , is the WD SSD good ?
wd blue 3d nand should be ok.
iwubpreve
post Feb 26 2018, 11:57 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 27 2018, 12:24 AM)
check laptop bios to see if it's detected first. i installed some on laptops also; no issues.
not detected. but able to install it. just that no uefi boot. uefi should have faster boot.
TShorns
post Feb 27 2018, 12:00 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Feb 26 2018, 11:57 PM)
not detected. but able to install it. just that no uefi boot. uefi should have faster boot.
uh? by 'install', you mean installing the ssd physically without issues? what's the form factor of your ssd? 2.5"? m.2? msata? also, can you tell us your laptop model?

edit: laptop bios must be able to detect it before you can use it.

This post has been edited by horns: Feb 27 2018, 12:02 AM
chocobo7779
post Feb 27 2018, 12:02 AM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Feb 26 2018, 11:57 PM)
Also, did you use Rufus to format the USB stick as an UEFI boot media for Windows? icon_idea.gif
iwubpreve
post Feb 27 2018, 12:07 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 27 2018, 01:00 AM)
uh? by 'install', you mean installing the ssd physically without issues? what's the form factor of your ssd? 2.5"? m.2? msata? also, can you tell us your laptop model?

edit: laptop bios must be able to detect it before you can use it.
2.5" 850 evo 250gb. bios no detect, but when i boot from usb windows installer, did see that.

125 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:06 AM