9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion

andrewhtf
post Nov 22 2019, 10:23 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(clickNsnap @ Nov 22 2019, 10:19 PM)

I have an old folding bike, XDS AFB360, 20" 8x2 speed, changing gear from 1>2>3>4>5>6>7>8 is smooth, but from gear 8>7>6>5>4>3>2>1, 8>7 is not smooth and sometime cannot be shifted. Could it be the rear derailleur or 'teeth' problem?

By the way, how can I check if my bike is having cassette or freewheel? Thinking of changing it.

One more thing, how can I find out the bike's fork is made of what type of material, I tried to use magnet test, the fork was not be attracted to a magnet, could it be made of aluminum alloys?

I tried to search some info about the XDS AFB360 bike model, no much info on the web.

Thanks for your feedback in advance!
U probably just need some lube at derailleurs joints. Squirt some wd40
andrewhtf
post Nov 22 2019, 11:16 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(clickNsnap @ Nov 22 2019, 10:35 PM)
Thanks, will try it. Btw, shall I uses WD40 a degreaser, clean up the derailleur, then apply some lubricants?
Can also, in case got old gunks before lubing.

For me I make sure to squirt abit wd40 everytime after a wash.

This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Nov 22 2019, 11:17 PM
andrewhtf
post Nov 25 2019, 11:59 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Asus @ Nov 25 2019, 09:44 PM)
hi guys, recently i bought used Tern Link N8 for my wife.

she have problem when uphill due to single chain ring at 52T. thinking of buying 45T chairing to ease up a bit. do i need to cut the chain later? how do i want to check the bcd? didn't see any indicator/mark on the crankset..

if i want to upgrade to double chain ring, is there such a thing like special adapter for the front derailleur? is it this one https://bicyclebuysell.com/item/208890/daho...railleur-hanger

i know there is braze on clamp, low clamp, high clamp and etc..just now go to bicycle shop and that guy said if want to upgrade double chain ring just prepare 700-800 and i was like wtf so expensive lol
Allow me to suggest changing the cassette instead of a double chainring. Much cheaper and easier to swap. Since the original is an 8-speed, I'd suggest looking for an 8-speed wide ratio big sprocket. Something like 11-42t. That would give you the lower gears for easier climb without having to change cranks and add derailleur. Much less hassle. Only the rd cage might or might not be changed but rd cage is cheap enough if it needs to be changed anyway.
andrewhtf
post Nov 26 2019, 10:38 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Asus @ Nov 26 2019, 06:21 AM)
oh good suggestion..do i need to change the chain as well?
yes there is a possibility that the chain might have to be changed or lengthened. it has to be decided post change the cassette to see if the RD can support that much of extension flex or not.

QUOTE(Asus @ Nov 26 2019, 09:32 AM)
bro can you determine this rd is medium or long cage? hahaa..

btw the casette is already at 32T..if change to 34T would make no difference right..

Looks like a medium

here's a cassette that could be compatible for a direct swap without changing RD cage:

https://bicyclebuysell.com/item/404546/sunr...cassette-24s-8s

but chain wise, most probably need to lengthen a bit, if your LBS has extra compatible chain bits lying around.

32t to 34t would be abit lighter to pedal. you really can feel the diff.

This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Nov 26 2019, 10:52 AM
andrewhtf
post Nov 26 2019, 09:08 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Asus @ Nov 26 2019, 07:13 PM)
found one the seller said this..is it true?

“When using a 8 speed cassette over 34t, you may have to modify the original derailleur to be compatible. Loss of shifting performance may occur”
Possible. Bigger ratio between cogs will increase chance of rougher shifting. But that's the trade off when you want to mod and achieve lighter pedalling with the same base bike. Win some lose some.

Don't want all the trouble of modding? Sell off current bike, get another bike with all the bells and whistles already on it wink.gif

Mongoose with 21 speed below rm600 can kautim.
andrewhtf
post Dec 6 2019, 03:56 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(icedlink @ Dec 6 2019, 03:29 PM)
Any advice for stray dog issue while cycling?

Today I encountered a pack of dogs... they were barking and chasing me, incline road for about a short distance, I made no eye contact and continued my pace. Luckily a passer by Car gave the dogs a good Horn, then they stopped chasing after me ...  phew..  cold sweats
street dogs are all bark and no bite. especially when they're in a pack. masing2 tunjuk hero. bila ramai dia gangster, bila sorang dia hamster.

2 things you can do:

1. ignore and continue pedalling. they'll come close but do not be afraid, just go steadily. once you're out of their "teritory" they'll stop chasing.
OR
2. stop, turn around and chase them back.

but what i would do if i plan to cycle that route regularly, i'll buy some dog dry food and feed them.

do that a couple of times once they recognise your smell, they wont be aggressive to you anymore. in fact you'd gain a few bodyuards while cycling there.
andrewhtf
post Dec 9 2019, 10:36 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Dec 9 2019, 08:52 AM)
+1 for Andrew's advice.
When the dogs get close, you can also shout at the top of your lungs to scare the dogs away.
Also, don't agitate the dogs any further than necessary or else the next group of cyclist will also kena.  shakehead.gif 

mytaffeta
Don't pedal full speed because it gives the dogs the impression that you are their "prey" / target.  sweat.gif
this is the exact reason.

often time i see ppl jogging while carrying stick. i know it's for them to defend themselves against dogs (or robbers, if some may insist), but tell you what, when the dog sees a stick, their defense mechanism kicks in and they enter into fight or flight mode. they become more aggressive against the jogger (or anyone with a stick), which in return the jogger would swing the stick or actually beat the dog. the next time dog automatically sees anyone carrying a stick (even walking stick or umbrella) as a threat. things get repeated until it becomes a chicken or egg case as to whose fault it was.

often times it is the dogs that are the weaker victims when councils gets called in. sure once in a while you do get story about ppl getting bitten by dog BUT it is more rare in comparison to the untold stories of dogs getting whacked/poisoned/caught.

people should know these facts :

1. dog packs are territorial, yes and when they sense strangers, they'll be "protective". it's just their natural instinct.

2. it is because they're afraid of these strangers whose level of threats are unknown that they bark and act aggressive - being defensive. remember, they're scared of you in the first place. they'll run after you because they're "chasing you away" from their territory. that is why i said ignore and go your way steadily. dont react. i know some ppl would be scared and shocked, bcoz, again, it's just natural instinct, remember, those are dogs, we are human. we have control over our emotions. they dont. so are you a human or a dog?

3. there are also cases where dogs are just being playful. google and learn some basic dog body languages. some dogs just chase for fun because they're just being mischievous friendly/playful and of no threat at all. if you are non-muslims with no issue about touching dogs, then do indulge them, play abit with them, feed them. they may be wary at you in the first place, but dont force it. know when to leave. after a few more times, they'll recognise you and wont bother with you. but pay extra attention to growling & fang baring. oh, and if you see foam at their mouth, stay the hell away. that's the sign of a rabid dog. dont continue, dont approach, turn around and pedal the other way round. find other routes.

i may sound like a dog apologetic, but trust me, i am just sharing some knowledge so all of us can go our way in peace. i cycle in taman alot so encountering street dogs are common thing for me.

p.s. : i am a cat person more than a dog person.
andrewhtf
post Dec 10 2019, 01:06 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Dec 9 2019, 04:22 PM)

Special drillz for Andrew.  wub.gif  brows.gif

jibekhikerscat?
andrewhtf
post Dec 12 2019, 11:20 AM

1,583 posts

Eh guys, i have something that really confused me for a while - between 451 & 406. when i google, i always get conflicting answers. what are the differences and can the tires between this 2 be used interchangeably since they're supposed to be 20-inch? so which one is the better wheel to be used?

my wife's Java Fit is bought in 2012, is it a 451? reason is yesterday's ride yesterday we rode in rocky gravel for 2 kms and when i reach home i can see the stock SCT tyre is pretty much deteriorated. considering it has been there for 7 years, it's about time for a new tyre, but i am still undecided on what tyre to get. plus i am also undecided whether to stick to 1-1/8, or go slightly larger for comfort. mostly slow rides just between us, no join group for speed but i kinda like the low rolling resistance of the smaller tyre. Any recommendations?
andrewhtf
post Dec 12 2019, 07:13 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Dec 12 2019, 04:14 PM)
451mm vs 406mm
both are not the same. in some cases, u can strecth the innter tube for 406 to fit 451. but still not recomended.

tyre suggestion?
451 got kenda kriterium, kenda kwest (1 3/8 if im not mistaken) cst, schwalbe durano, schwalbe shredder (1 3/8) andschwalbe one

the latest schwalbe one

classic feel with colored wall
What is your opinion about those tyres sold in Decathlon?
andrewhtf
post Dec 13 2019, 09:26 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Dec 13 2019, 08:26 AM)
never try, coz ipoh dont have decathlon. whistling.gif

oh ya,
forget panaracer also got for 451, its call panaracer mini lite pt.

i had used 3 types of tyre on 451. here is the summary to guide u

1. panaracer mini lite pt
- one of the best tyre for 451, and the lightest of all i had try
- the best grip, the best low resistance tyre
- a bit comfy
- slick tyre, fast worn out est around 800km+
- easy koyak becoz the soft tyre

2. schwalbe durano
- durable, i had used for more than 1000km
- bumpy, and harsh feel
- good grip, good low resistance also
- if more 1000km, standy it would koyak also (but rarely)

3. kenda kriterium
- est life span around 500km+
- soft wall, easy to koyak
- the cheapest tyre among 3
- not so grip on wet condition
- low resistance

others?never try laugh.gif
Thanks so much for your input. Panaracer abit on the mahal side. Anyway been looking at BBS. Either a maxxis DTH or a schwalbe durano. There is also this bran INNOVA that sells for rm105 for a pair. Pretty cheap. Alternatively buy another CST.
andrewhtf
post Dec 21 2019, 11:33 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(vhs1 @ Dec 21 2019, 01:14 AM)
Schwalbe Durano tyre

Durano would be last choice because Azam said it is harsh. Plus my wife rides it, so speed isn't important, comfort is. Targeting maxxis overdrive
andrewhtf
post Feb 29 2020, 11:48 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(mytaffeta @ Feb 29 2020, 03:43 AM)
wah bos your house ceiling so high....
Exactly my thoughts too
andrewhtf
post Mar 6 2020, 09:23 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Mar 6 2020, 08:30 AM)
I use a BUFF bandanna / tube under the Synthe so I don't get my hair trap.
Also the BUFF helps absorb sweat dripping into my eyes.  sweat.gif  cry.gif
i find the buff doesnt help with sweat on forehead especially when it is fully soaked.

i used a silicone sweat band instead

andrewhtf
post Mar 18 2020, 10:29 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(lerijiso @ Mar 18 2020, 09:42 PM)
Is it the norm to have the rear brake on the right lever and vice versa?

I remember when i last ride bicycles, which was circa 20 years ago, its always right lever for front brake and left lever for rear brake.

im still not used to it.
It's easily switchable.

I switched mine because I am used to motorcycle, front brake on the right lever
andrewhtf
post May 31 2020, 05:21 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(yingchai @ May 31 2020, 05:07 PM)
i just bought a TRS HUGE 20" folding bike from Kimbell Jaya. Planning to change the seat coz its very hard.

Any comfortable seat to recommend for newbie?
Wear cycling shorts with paddings first
andrewhtf
post Jun 1 2020, 12:40 PM

1,583 posts

Sold off my road-MTB. While shopping around for an RB, I took over my wife's first-gen Java Fit (16-speed Altus) and after riding it a short while yesterday I find that the pedalling is not smooth. Felt like a damaged BB.

HOWEVER I noticed it only happened over gear 5-6-7 at both small and large chainrings so I concluded it could be the cassette that is worn down. I put in an order for a HG51 8-speed cassette immediately. Then come night time I saw this being posted on sale :

[url=https://pictr.com/image/77fynu]
user posted image[/url]

9-speed sunrace cassette 11-42 complete with alivio derailleurs and shifters. I am seriously tempted and wonder if it could be a direct swap... As in can the hub on this old java fit accommodate 9 speed cassette or I have to find another hub/wheel? Any advice?
andrewhtf
post Jun 1 2020, 02:39 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Jun 1 2020, 02:25 PM)
What type roadbike you're looking for?  hmm.gif
Endurance?
Aero?
Endurance, i guess.

Not looking to ride fast as i am not gonna join race or events, just ride far for exercise and occasionally join ppl.

after few days of poisoning i am roughly looking at - 105 11-speed sets, mixed set oso ok. size more or less about 50, looking at either merida or polygon with budget at 2k thereabout. used bikes of course, no way i can buy new with that budget unless go for open mold frames, which i was advised against.

anyway just scouting for deals lah, got good, dont have nvm, not in rush. now i just wan fix up that old foldie dulu
andrewhtf
post Jun 1 2020, 03:36 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(vhs1 @ Jun 1 2020, 03:32 PM)
That day I saw ads on polygon
If not mistaken, Sora is about 1,900 & 105 about 3,400
rodalink got advert, Polygon Strattos S2 (sora) RM1.7k

I forgot which one is 105 though but already out of bajet.

This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Jun 1 2020, 03:36 PM
andrewhtf
post Jun 1 2020, 04:23 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(vhs1 @ Jun 1 2020, 04:02 PM)
I also ride relek relek only, around tepi longkang saja. Same for exercise also.
Average speed not more than 20km/h
My old groupset was Claris, but have changed to 105 last year

Looking at polygon pricing, its very affordable with the components attached.

Oh ya, another brand may be you can check out is Geometric
So how much of an improvement you can feel? friend of mine was telling me that it is night and day difference between the 2.

Claris is an 8-speed while 105 is either 10- or 11-speed, did you have to change the hub as well to accommodate the extra cogs or it's a plain direct swap?

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1335sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:40 PM