9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion

andrewhtf
post Jul 10 2020, 10:13 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(clickNsnap @ Jul 9 2020, 11:14 PM)
Hi all,

I am trying to change my seatpost, can I use back the 'old seatpost seat cramp'? Or I need to buy a new one?

I tried to remove 'old seatpost seat cramp' (pls refer image attached)... but It seems like not removable.

Please advise.

is that part even removeable?

i thought when you buy a new seatpost, the saddle rail clamp would come along. i didnt know the saddle clamp can be removed and swapped.

i bought my litepro seatpost, it came with the clamp

when you first said seatpost clamp i was thinking of this :

This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Jul 10 2020, 10:15 AM
andrewhtf
post Jul 20 2020, 12:02 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Edwinlkj @ Jul 20 2020, 11:02 AM)
Will  def take a nicer pic next week.
Just went for a short ride from Rimbayu to Jenjarom on Sun morning. Enjoyed the ride and noticed the pedal grips well. Was doing 20-25kmh on flat roads. Wanted to go faster but couldnt pedal too long with 53/11 (presume is the stuffiest). do you think i should reduce to 52/36T? hehe
for a foldie that is FAST!

i can only sustain 17-18kmh at best effort on my foldie
andrewhtf
post Jul 21 2020, 11:39 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Abin @ Jul 21 2020, 11:35 AM)
Hi sifus, I am currently looking for a folding bike. Currently eyeing on these models:-

1) Tern C8
2) XDS K2
3) Trx Bliss
4) Trinx Flybird
5) Raleigh Evo

My budget is below RM2k. Can anyone advice me with this kind of budget, what type of folding bikes should i buy?

FYI i'm new on this...Appreciate if anyone could help. Thank you.
what is your purpose of a foldie?

speed? tour? or just taman ride?
andrewhtf
post Jul 21 2020, 01:30 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Abin @ Jul 21 2020, 01:05 PM)
Basically just for a good exercise as well as maybe a longer ride (in near future maybe).
OK here's my thoughts :

1) Tern C8 - well it's Tern. I have no comment since i have no experience with it but in general, ppl say it's a good brand, specialising in foldies so it is backed by experience. However i have recently read of cases where there are cracks occuring on different part of the frames. again i cant provide an informed comment.

2) XDS K2 - also a common brand, it is most seen among MTB. from the spec it seems impressive, Sora FD RD, hydraulic disc brakes, 20-incher and comparatively lighter than others in the list.

3) Trs Bliss - 24-incher. larger tyre can say allow you to ride faster than smaller wheel foldies, but 24-inch tyres are hard to come by and choices are limited, if you are looking to source them from local shops. not as portable after folding compared to 16- and 20-inchers but if you hardly need to fold then it wouldnt matter.

4) Trinx Flybird - the frame shape reminds me of KHS. 16 speed . if around same price i would go for XDS K2 instead

5) Raleigh Evo - no experience but i have owned a raleigh Ugo with almost similar spec. it seemed touring ready with the rear rack, looks solid but i have to first tell you it is comparatively heavy. good if you're looking to train your legs. maybe you'll get used to it after a while and wont have issue with the weight.
andrewhtf
post Jul 21 2020, 04:39 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Abin @ Jul 21 2020, 02:46 PM)
For a foldie/bicycle, does the 'Brand' makes any different compared to 'specs'? -  for example, a higher specs of non branded phone does not necessarily feels better than a reputable brand ie iphone, samsung, huawei...
for bicycle, specs can be changed and upgraded. tambah duit saja mah.

go with the brand, with known manufacturer's support/guarantee.
andrewhtf
post Jul 28 2020, 03:28 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jul 28 2020, 08:31 AM)
aiyyaa..long time didnt post here. so here the picture two weeks ago

also finish setup my friend dahon dash. noticed anything different?
adoi, macam mana la korang boleh cycle 100km semua...
aku naik 30+ pun dah rasa letih2 lenguh2
andrewhtf
post Aug 4 2020, 10:08 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Aug 4 2020, 08:06 AM)
like all they said before,. saddle are subjective. however fizik does come a concept to determine what saddle are good for u

i know fizik saddle are a bit expensive, but u have an option such as selle royal or fabric that priced a bit lower than fizik and nearly identical to fizik design.
yesterday i was in an LBS, see selle royale smp, rm400+ bangwall.gif
andrewhtf
post Aug 4 2020, 05:31 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 4 2020, 03:46 PM)
menyibuk sini kejap. kenot pakai la this one... i could bend down n touched my toes. used arione. long ride painful lah.
read cervelo's article about saddles choice. followed their advice. best decision ever.
cheaper than that new spez saddle
mohon link pls
andrewhtf
post Aug 5 2020, 12:28 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(vhs1 @ Aug 4 2020, 11:41 PM)
I intend to change my saddle to Spez Power Arc
My current stock one causing chafing at my hind thighs when cycling longer distances

https://road.cc/content/review/259876-speci...c-expert-saddle
How does your current saddle looks like?
andrewhtf
post Aug 5 2020, 10:55 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(vhs1 @ Aug 5 2020, 10:01 AM)
M😊

How does it look like from top?
andrewhtf
post Aug 5 2020, 01:09 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(vhs1 @ Aug 5 2020, 12:51 PM)
Wah if this thin t-shape one also can cause chafing at the back of thigh, i don't know what kind of saddle could be of help...

Have you tried tilting the saddle forward down a little? Or move it half a cm to the back?

andrewhtf
post Aug 10 2020, 10:15 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(lerijiso @ Aug 10 2020, 09:16 PM)
Itulah pasal. Any other alternatives to recommend? I want to avoid litepro if possible.
Truvativ. I had one on my previous MTB after the stock seatpost went all scratched and paint rubbed off. Good quality.
andrewhtf
post Aug 15 2020, 12:32 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Aug 15 2020, 11:14 AM)
Just change pedal yesterday. I’m surprise by just changing small thing like pedals can improve the smoothness when u cycle. Changing from normal plastic folding pedal to lightweight seal bearing pedal
Plastic folding pedal are made with economical cost in mind.

Any seal bearing pedals are an improvement.

In fact if you use a platform pedal you'll enjoy the extra stability too although it would look odd on a foldie
andrewhtf
post Aug 18 2020, 05:41 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(alpocot @ Aug 18 2020, 04:58 PM)
Hi All,

Newbie here. I got this Java Ira after reading some recommendation from this long forum  sweat.gif I am using it mainly for exercise purpose. Have a few questions and appreciate it if all the experts can advice me.

1. After riding for almost 9 months. mostly on weekend, the paint on the rim touching the brake seems to came off.
    I notice the rim is DECAF. Most of the rim I saw on Java folding is DECA. What is the different? Is DECAF is knock off for DECA?

2. I am still quite puzzle about the 20" tyre size between 406 and 451. What i understand is 20" is outside diameter of tyre. 406 and 451 is inside dimater of the rim.
    Doesn't mater if you use either rim, the outside diameter is still the same. The 406 tire will be thicker. But when I browse for information some picture when they
    put side by side 451 is visibly bigger. Some say it's 22".

3. Since 451 is more difficult to get and more expensive too, is it recommended for me to I change to 406? Some say 451 will ride faster, but if 20" diameter is the same, I don't think there'll be different, or Am I wrong?. I am not really concern about faster ride since my route is all same 4-5 rounds taman TAR

Thanks in advance
Al

i have no idea about DECA or DECAF sorry there.

451 is bigger in diameter, that's for sure. the tyres are not interchangable. although you can forcefully strap a 406 tube into a 451 wheel, but why use the wrong tool for the wrong purpose?

with all things (gear ratio and leg output power) being equal, you will travel slightly faster on 451 than 406.
andrewhtf
post Aug 19 2020, 09:50 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(alpocot @ Aug 19 2020, 09:19 AM)
Thanks for the answer. Actually I was thinking if the size is the same, might as well change to 406 if it is easy to obtain. Looks like the size size is not the same.
nope. not same.

but as lucifah said, 451 tyres are not hard to find. but only lesser choice in models compared to 406 from what i see.

however if you put on a quality branded tyre, you dont have to change tyres often anyway so what's the concern? some bicycles i see has been owned 6-7 years and never change tyre since the day out from shop.
andrewhtf
post Aug 22 2020, 11:30 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Yijing1788 @ Aug 22 2020, 11:02 PM)
Hi guys,

I am looking for a 20" folding bike (mainly for exercise/touring), but emphasizing on speed as well. Currently, i am considering
bike below 2k,

1) Tern B7 or C8
2) Java Fit or Java Pro 5
3) Giant Espressway 1

Any suggestions? Thank you in advance guys.
You want speed? Tern eclipse x20

Oh below rm2k.... Java Ira

kthxbye
andrewhtf
post Aug 24 2020, 10:17 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(alpocot @ Aug 24 2020, 09:55 AM)
Thank for your recommendation. Actually I was looking for cheaper one, but I get quite good price for that. I read a good recommendation for Java Ira from this forum, and the color looks nice too  biggrin.gif. I think Taman TAR in Ampang have a decent track for my cardio. I can get around 15km for 5 rounds.
Ira is quite a worthy foldie actually, chromoly frame with carbon fork for less than rm2k even tern/Dahon don't offer such package at this price.

just that riding in Taman alone is not maximising the value only. As long as you're happy with the Bicycle, peduli apa orang kata.
andrewhtf
post Aug 24 2020, 11:50 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Aug 24 2020, 11:41 AM)
for frame/fork - chromoly materials is better then aluminium alloy materials? i see mostly in the market is 6061 aluminium? there is some 7005 also if not mistaken? I cant remember the number exactly. hahhaa
It was said that chromoly is stiffer than alloy and hence better efficiency in energy transfer, less energy loss in the long run from joints twisting with every pedal stroke.

Meanwhile carbon forks can absorb road vibes better than alloy/steel forks so less numbness to the palm and wrists

Anyway for a regular taman rider we won't be able to notice the difference immediately lah. Just buy whichever you fancy and pedal away.

Unless if you have intention to do serious mileages, then only we pay attention to different type of foldies and pricing
andrewhtf
post Aug 25 2020, 12:13 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Yijing1788 @ Aug 24 2020, 10:00 PM)
Thanks for the recommendation. How about Camp X-Lite ya?
i have not seen one live or test ride one so i cannot comment on it.

but see specs macam very impressive.
andrewhtf
post Aug 28 2020, 09:15 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Aug 28 2020, 08:04 AM)

if i were u and dont mind used bike,
i'll wait till oct until dec. saw many buying bike as a trend ad monotorium from the banks leaves some people got a lot of money. i dont think cycling lifestyle will be forever for trending follower.

lets hope we can get cheap quality bike for a jackpot price!
Betul betul betul

Raleigh Ugo that I bought in 2012 cost me rm650, yesterday I read on FB got shop asking for rm1.3k

Gila.

Kalau nak ikutkan hati, nak je aku jual that Ugo for some profit, and hold the cash for when ppl start selling. Upgred babeh!

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.1245sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:03 AM