Which college has the best reputation for a-levels, Come here and vote pls...
Apr 8 2007, 08:08 PM, updated 19y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,492 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Penang Island™ |
Is a-levels better compared to SAM and HSC?Is HSC same as AUSMAT?PLS reply thanks..
Apr 8 2007, 08:23 PM
229 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
obviously sam ausmat all shortcuts to degree like foundation
Apr 8 2007, 08:26 PM
I'm from Penang but i plan to go KL to take my a-levels...so which college has the best reputation for its a-levels and low living expenses(in their hostel i mean) if i were to study there...pls reply thanks
Apr 8 2007, 08:26 PM
2,353 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
The best reputation is taylor, with the numbers of excellent results topping the list, but the fees are
Apr 8 2007, 08:35 PM
Ic besides taylors how bout the second one?
Apr 8 2007, 09:52 PM
1,631 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Where Light Meets Day |
QUOTE(Vint @ Apr 8 2007, 08:35 PM) if u looking for cheap hostels or sharing a teres house..i think KDU though their not so acclaim to be good for a-levels. taylors in ur choice but the fees are pricey and to get a good hostel is abit susah..and the students there can be abit ignorant(was an ex-taylor student)sunway prolly would be good..hostels are far from campus..the prices are sky rocket oso..students are either super high class and show offs.. but if ur not worried bout the student enviroment and more leaning towards studies i guess its ur choice btwn sunawy or taylors |
Apr 8 2007, 10:24 PM
12,295 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(manutd304 @ Apr 8 2007, 08:23 PM) please do not make sweeping statements if you are unsure of your facts.......sam is based on the south australian sace, and sits for the same heavily moderated course work and final exams as the rest of year 12 students there......... ausmat is the same, but based on the western australian system (note that all australian states manage their own education system) it is NOT a foundation, but an actual final school exam, and used for entry into all universities in australia (scores converted into a TER)............ thus it is NOT a "short cut to degree"............ |
Apr 8 2007, 10:28 PM
2,381 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Narnia |
I have a few friends in Nilai, and apparently they say the lecturers there deliver their best, and the lifestyle there is pretty much slow, so you would not be distracted easily.
Apr 8 2007, 10:31 PM
229 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
ala private college as long as u have $$ everything goes
Apr 8 2007, 10:31 PM
391 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Puchong |
the best reputation for its A-levels? A-levels onli wo oso need the best college with best reputation?
Added on April 8, 2007, 10:32 pm QUOTE(manutd304 @ Apr 8 2007, 10:31 PM) wan the best pay more $$$. but at the end are u the best? This post has been edited by 606088: Apr 8 2007, 10:32 PM |
Apr 8 2007, 10:57 PM
3,170 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: the World Wide Web Status: Hacked |
QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Apr 8 2007, 10:28 PM) I have a few friends in Nilai, and apparently they say the lecturers there deliver their best, and the lifestyle there is pretty much slow, so you would not be distracted easily. Nilai College doesn't offer A-Levels. They have their own foundation into 3+0 at LaTrobe University in Australia or Oxford Brookes University in the UK. Besides that they also offer the Australian foundation in collaboration with LaTrobe University. And yes, I agree they have a nice campus, spacious and a lot of greenery, together with on-campus hostel facilities. These add up well for students who are serious with their studies. This post has been edited by MayAnne: Apr 8 2007, 10:58 PM |
Apr 8 2007, 11:05 PM
QUOTE if u looking for cheap hostels or sharing a teres house..i think KDU though their not so acclaim to be good for a-levels. taylors in ur choice but the fees are pricey and to get a good hostel is abit susah..and the students there can be abit ignorant (was an ex-taylor student) i believe u want to say arrogant? |
Apr 8 2007, 11:31 PM
1,190 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
It is possible that they are ignorant as well. Though back when I was in Taylor's, there were only a small bunch of them altogether, that it shouldn't be addressed as a problem at all.
Large names, though hard to say that they provide the best quality, can at the very least give you a peace of mind, for they have a stable standard. Is A-Lvls better than Ausmat/SAM? Well you do learn additional things, but it is after all generally an extra half year if you do it at the cookie-cutter institutions. There are ways to drop it to one year, IIRC, but that's beside the point. Another board of A-Levels (forgot which, London?) allows retaking of individual modules so at least you do not have to go for a whole year just for a failed sub. And otherwise, a point which a couple of forumers did mention was getting 4As is easier than obtaining a 99.xx TER (Medcine TER, roughly). So... take your pick. |
Apr 8 2007, 11:44 PM
AFAIK, only HELP and UCSI offer the modular A-levels (the London Edexcel GCE A-levels). All other colleges are offering the Cambridge A-Levels. I suggest TS read up on these two programmes before making a decision.
And if money is not a problem, you can choose between Taylors (Cambridge A-levels) and HELP (Edexcel A-levels). The less expensive A-levels programmes would be at INTI or TARC. |
Apr 9 2007, 12:09 AM
288 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Here |
Apr 9 2007, 12:48 AM
QUOTE(joe_89 @ Apr 9 2007, 12:09 AM) There were some discussion on this a while ago.Here ---> http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/430762 Maybe you like to check it out. |
Apr 9 2007, 11:40 AM
288 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Here |
QUOTE(MayAnne @ Apr 9 2007, 12:48 AM) There were some discussion on this a while ago. thanks! Here ---> http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/430762 Maybe you like to check it out. |
Apr 9 2007, 01:19 PM
I'm pretty sure i can still get their max scholarship for A-levels and all i'm worried about the cost of living their and their hostel only not vry sure how much exactly must pay..
Apr 9 2007, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(MayAnne @ Apr 9 2007, 12:44 AM) AFAIK, only HELP and UCSI offer the modular A-levels (the London Edexcel GCE A-levels). All other colleges are offering the Cambridge A-Levels. I suggest TS read up on these two programmes before making a decision. hmm.. whats the diffrence actually between the london a-lvls and the cambridge a-lvls?And if money is not a problem, you can choose between Taylors (Cambridge A-levels) and HELP (Edexcel A-levels). The less expensive A-levels programmes would be at INTI or TARC. the fees for the a-lvls if anyone is intrested Taylors - 21000 Inti- 14000 Tarc- not sure but must be <10000 |
Apr 9 2007, 01:31 PM
Yeah,what is the difference?Anyone know the living cost in their hostel+food+others?
| Change to: | 0.0431sec
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:23 AM |