Grab Driver Discussion V3, Info and FAQ

starex80
post Oct 7 2017, 05:54 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(keretapir @ Oct 7 2017, 05:10 PM)
U referring to APU inside tpm?
If yes, grab app calculates the distance by cutting through the Astro HQ. That's why cheap fare.
It is the new APU in tpm.
Can we drive in astro and come oUT again to bukit jalil highway? Never try this before.

starex80
post Oct 7 2017, 05:57 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(kidZac @ Oct 7 2017, 05:49 PM)
Not sure if you try do a simple u turn before. Sometimes you realize your distance decrease a lot.
i use google map illegal turn out also need go through U turn at endah parade. also about 6km.

starex80
post Oct 7 2017, 06:46 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(kidZac @ Oct 7 2017, 06:37 PM)
There is a route from apu to astro that doesn't require you to go out from tpm via bukit jalil route. Ask the passengers next time pretty sure they should know. I always ask my riders if they know a shorter way when wade show me a longer route compared to fare.anything more than rm1 per km I will ask.
I m not go to astro. smile.gif
The destination is one south.
I m doubt if I can cut through astro to bkt jalil route.
If can it is really short.
but the foreign student dont know anything.

This post has been edited by starex80: Oct 7 2017, 06:47 PM
starex80
post Oct 7 2017, 08:58 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(keretapir @ Oct 7 2017, 08:27 PM)
Unless you got Astro employee tag, there's no way to do it. Take the other way around.

Must report this to Grab, or else APU students get cheaper ride to Mines area lol
Funny is I use the rider Apps to check from APU to one south. Price is $8, 9. How those fellow able book $4 on grab? Mod version of rider app from their end?

I email to the cs support asking them the actual route to use after they provide answer saying grab have algorithm to calculate fares based on distance, traffic condition at that time. Totally unacceptable.
starex80
post Oct 7 2017, 08:59 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(kidZac @ Oct 7 2017, 08:26 PM)
Picked up foreigner near kampung cheras baru. They going tbs. Fare rm16 .waze show 15km and 25 mins. When near tasik selatan lrt I tell them it's faster for them cross bridge from lrt station and save them time by 30 mins since it's jam. They very okay and happy and give tips some more after that. Save me more than 8 km driving .
hehe. u earn lot from here.
starex80
post Oct 7 2017, 09:04 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(NowhereMan @ Oct 7 2017, 07:57 PM)
Once i got delivery job  from low yat to damansara. Turned out it was mapren sending laptop to his friend. When i arrived, i called his friend almost 20 times unanswered. Same went with the customer. I started getting nervous of what should i do at that time. Luckily his friend answered after 15 minutes. Since that ive become deliveryphobic
i will tell them grab not allow deliver thing without people in the car. if they insist i will report to grab to suspend their account.
then will ask them to cancel. hehe
starex80
post Oct 8 2017, 08:09 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(nasirwhd @ Oct 8 2017, 02:02 AM)
Admittedly thats the problem of 3rd party booking. As i wasnt at the pickup point I couldnt tell what is the visible landmark there.

As I explained, i did call the driver when i saw the car was circling around. But because she talk faster and not letting me try to get better picture i let her ended the phone call.

'BEHIND' Well i guest the post guard of banjaria court is facing lingkaran tengah 2, then taman samudera is considered situated behind right?
Usually I will drive to the pickup point shown by grab. When reach only see notes as I suppose should be around. But yet sometimes I not able to find and wasting time. first pickup must be correct entered by the rider to avoid confusion. Rider need to really know where they are and confirm they are at the actual pickup point, blue pin show in grab when booking. The driver who come does nof really know the area and they very rely on waze or Google map to navigate to the pickup point. Once wrong it is hardly to find even though it is 50m but need turn here and there or the road is only one way but the driver pass through the place you put in note. You wont want the driver make another big turn to find right. End up will sure have arguement and time wasted.
starex80
post Oct 8 2017, 08:12 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(nasirwhd @ Oct 8 2017, 02:41 AM)
Gila kot. She already upset with me, now u want me to ask her to game the system.

By the way, if she is an incentive player I dont think she will accept rm11 fare within jammed area
i will. $11 still acceptable for incentive driver like me. imagine this is only the first trip.
starex80
post Oct 8 2017, 08:14 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(kidZac @ Oct 8 2017, 03:00 AM)
Haha. I'm just offering a suggestion to make her feel better. Better than getting nothing from driving and wasting 45 mins of her time right.

And if she isn't incentive player she would have cancelled long time ago I think.
grab will track the gps location of drop off.
starex80
post Oct 8 2017, 09:55 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(kidZac @ Oct 7 2017, 06:51 PM)
Why you need to go until endah parade? If I'm not mistaken after come out from apu then highway turn right go until the horse race track can then go to one South ? Not sure if that's the shortest route or not.
You see the APU at above.
The only shortcut to go one south is cut through astro which is not ppossible.
Either go inside tpm come out at bkt jalil highway or go out sg besi then U turn at endah parade.

Grab game us the distance by charging lower fare on rider.

starex80
post Oct 8 2017, 10:39 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(moosekaka @ Oct 8 2017, 10:31 AM)
Crazy place, terrible road access for non local driver...no wonder she lost. If coming from MRR2 going towards Batu Caves direction, no problem just follow the red arrow. If coming from MRR2 going towards UIA direction.....I guess the blue arrow is the correct way to u-turn???? Now I want to go see see investigate...biggrin.gif

Another place like this is the Cheras business center (Jln Cheras intersection with MRR2)....crazy area wrong or miss turn can end up 4km u-turn with jam....
Why will wrong in cheras business centre? If yout from roundabout, Turn from traffic light to the right below mrr2.
If you from pandan, follow Waze go down and make U turn, then turn from traffic light to right.
Waze show wrong?
starex80
post Oct 8 2017, 11:17 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(moosekaka @ Oct 8 2017, 10:42 AM)
I just made this mistake last night, want to go to Tesco, correct direction is the blue arrow....hard to see at night....very easy to take a left turn TOO left that will exit to Mrr2....(the red arrow)...then have to  make one big round thru Taman Connaught to come back to Jln Cheras (6km according to Google maps)....told the rider I accidentally entered MRR2....she understand and  cancelled.
Haha.
If your direction is from leisure mall to Tesco, no need go through that roundabout. It will be wasting time to queue there because below is traffic light and people queue up just want to turn to mrr2 towards ampang direction.

Solution is
Further up the flyover, and after go down before the tmn midah mrt station, turn left in.
It is the safest way and just take 200m more than your original route.

The only miserable place is taman pertama mrt station towards kl, it will have 3 lanes,
one is loke yew,
one is go to bdr tun razak with roundabout
one is go down to maluri.

You see from waze you may confuse as it almost joint together. you drive near only will notice some difference but too late with the speed 80km / hour.
Non local driver may take wrong turn smile.gif
Even I familiar that area sometimes will every make wrong twice on daytime. if night time than god better bless you.

Another super confusing place the interchange between KL sentral and muzeum.
if not mistaken got 4 - 5 lanes at almost same distance. It is even complicated show in waze so I definitely will ask the rider which lane is correct.
If the rider don't know then I just get bless from god jor.

This post has been edited by starex80: Oct 8 2017, 11:23 AM
starex80
post Oct 8 2017, 11:22 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(moosekaka @ Oct 8 2017, 10:53 AM)
Another tricky intersection....few times see cars almost get accident....if coming from Jln Dang Wangi (Sogo) direction is relatively OK, can still follow sign....most problem is when those coming from Sogo in the left lane have to cut all the way to the right to enter Jln Kuching (Utara) if want to go Kepong/MontKiara. Those busses dont care, you will have to watch out for them.

Problem is coming from Jln Raja Laut direction (White Arrow)...if you not sure which exit is which direction (should I take the first left or the second left to go south/north)???? First timers/non locals sure confused as hell if just following Waze. Especially at night, heavy traffic.

Notice that there is no sign at the ENTRANCE itself (HAD KETINGGIAN sign)  to indicate which direction the entrance is for....
I recognize this.
I make a wrong turn as waze ask me turn left at first hearing. so I follow.
then end up it is a U turn back to merdeka square.
Actually if go Kepong/mont kiara direction need drive further a bit, maybe 10m more then only turn left.

lesson learnt tongue.gif

This post has been edited by starex80: Oct 8 2017, 11:30 AM
starex80
post Oct 8 2017, 11:36 AM

623 posts

Pickup at mrt station is also another tricky part.

God damn it your follow wze it will direct you to the middle of the mainroad and below the mrt station.
Who know there is a road beside that can reach the pickup point.

Now, will you call the rider to cross the road beside pickup point and to the main road where you stop? And there is divider between both road and the cars are driving fast as well.
if cant, and the trip not canceled by you / passenger, then you need prepare to make a 3 - 4km U turn and need again find the correct route to go there to pickup.

I encountered many times with those mrt station and also the kinrara lrt extension, arriving at the middle of the main road.

There is no proper sign board to route us to correct pickup / drop off point.
Can the BN do something to make clear on signboard to turn correctly into route to the station pickup/drop off?

This post has been edited by starex80: Oct 8 2017, 11:39 AM
starex80
post Oct 8 2017, 11:43 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(moosekaka @ Oct 8 2017, 11:37 AM)
OK I see what you mean...so the pic I attached, Number 1 is go down to Maluri (Aeon side), Number 2 is to the roundabout and Number 3 is to Loke Yew right?
yeah,
don't go so fast when in interchange, drive 40km / hr and try to in middle in case still can cut out.
starex80
post Oct 8 2017, 11:51 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(moosekaka @ Oct 8 2017, 11:39 AM)
I learnt the most important thing about MRT entrances around my area already, if Gate A, means it is heading NORTH (towards Kepong), if Gate B, heading SOUTH towards Cheras.

If Gate C/D etc...is alternating with A(north), B(south), C(north) etc
but grab only shown XXX MRT station....
So you still need to call rider at which side they are at.

but if you at highway when ping come in you wont not able to stop and react fast enough to call.
if the rider is at the opposite direction where you heading to, then you hope they can cross opposite again... without rushing and give you a star later.

One of the typical example is the cheras sentral MRT station.
Imagine you get a ping before leisure mall and you are at the highway towards kl direction...
and you able confirm the rider is opposite cheras central pickup.

you start drive and manage make a U turn at leisure mall, this will be correct.
Subsequently if you follow waze to reach the MRT station, then bye bye lo. you will reach the main road.

starex80
post Oct 8 2017, 12:41 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(moosekaka @ Oct 8 2017, 12:06 PM)
I picked up from here yesterday...she put CIMB bank next to MRT...so luckily I can find it, I was also coming from Jalan Cheras side heading towards Kajang. If coming from other direction, seems like after U-turn at Cheras Leisure mall still have to make a big round thru the shoplots to reach there???
You can choose further bit to the Mrr2 roundabout near tmn midah, make U turn there. Just c which traffic is better and take that. I always keep choosing route after some distance.. sometimes Wade will show more fastest and shorter route against the original route
starex80
post Oct 8 2017, 12:44 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Oct 8 2017, 12:09 PM)
Well, I guess most MRT station now come with Grab @ MRT Gate XXX. If the rider selected the correct point, it will not be issue. Same goes to shopping complex. If selected Grab @ XXX entrance, just follow waze will do. It will direct you to the correct point.
if the rider donr know which gate and simply put and die lo we.
but seems last month the rider app dont have the gate for selection

starex80
post Oct 8 2017, 01:52 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Oct 8 2017, 01:50 PM)
Haha today break new record

Ignore 6 pings in an hour

92 drop ngam ngam 85 hahahaha

Bullet solid like fk

Now chasing back trips liao hohohoho
tomorrow you and me also cannot do like this....

Xian, I will drive less jor or really confirm I have > 4 hours time to drive
starex80
post Oct 8 2017, 02:30 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Oct 8 2017, 02:28 PM)
Today issue. I used grabpay. Turun from the grabcar, driver shout call me back "you need to pay rm9, sis".

I show my app screen "correct la. Rm9. Grabpay".

Driver still show confused, dissatisfied face. Wtf.
Small issue.
you can stay at the car first for 10 seconds.
Let him check and ask him confirm.

newbie maybe blur.
Then you tell him using credit card.

21 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.3895sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:43 AM