> AXIA spin again !

Zot
post Jul 31 2017, 09:03 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jul 31 2017, 08:59 AM)
When u lose steering assist while being in a corner.. GG
The assist is mostly pronounced at low speed. Even in expensive car the steering assist is at low speed only because it will be heavy to turn steering at low speed. At high speed, the steering assist function is disabled. Otherwise the handling of the car will become nervous
SUSadvocado
post Jul 31 2017, 09:03 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jul 31 2017, 08:52 AM)
Had the same Power Steering issue happen on the Peugeot. Damn scary suddenly no assistance and steering wheel judder itself
possible mechanic poured in wrong grade of fluid during change for both Steering & ABS causing damage to the pump.

or some electric component like fuse blew resulting loss of assistance on both steering & brake.
SUSadvocado
post Jul 31 2017, 09:04 AM

2,948 posts

at least your Pug did not engine cut during corner coz that is when you not just lose steering assist but also really have your steering locked (security feature).

also airbag will be off.

This post has been edited by advocado: Jul 31 2017, 09:05 AM
peja5081
post Jul 31 2017, 09:04 AM

291 posts

Can control but very hard especially when car too slow.experience this when my persona xcident and hydraulic tank bocor.have to drive without power steering to police station.in highway doesnt feel anything but when in town.feel like my arm will broke.
SUSadvocado
post Jul 31 2017, 09:07 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(peja5081 @ Jul 31 2017, 09:04 AM)
Can control but very hard especially when car too slow.experience this when my persona xcident and hydraulic tank bocor.have to drive without power steering to police station.in highway doesnt feel anything but when in town.feel like my arm will broke.
hi, if you compare old non-assisted steering vs assisted, you would realize it's harder to turn an assisted steering when the assist is not functioning compared to old cars, because when you turn, you not just have to turn the wheels itself but also what ever assist pump/motor connected to your steering. more resistance = harder to turn.

new cars have drive by wire system, but some cars like infiniti has a backup hydraulic system in case the electric system fails.

This post has been edited by advocado: Jul 31 2017, 09:07 AM
yattnana
post Jul 31 2017, 09:10 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jul 31 2017, 08:55 AM)
Wah! ... Anyway, it is only steering assist. You still have control of steering but just need to work harder  laugh.gif
It's very heavy...heavier than unassisted steering
Hiwatari
post Jul 31 2017, 09:12 AM

Think u're good enuff 2 beat me?
1,214 posts

QUOTE(@rleng @ Jul 31 2017, 08:54 AM)
meh .. lose steering ctrl,  then she got panicked and hit the accelerator pedal instead of brake pedal, then blame the brake system failure pulak. typical wimmen.
it's the shoes
got under seat tray...put 1 sparco in there
ni letak high heels doh.gif
Zot
post Jul 31 2017, 09:16 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jul 31 2017, 09:07 AM)
hi, if you compare old non-assisted steering vs assisted, you would realize it's harder to turn an assisted steering when the assist is not functioning compared to old cars, because when you turn, you not just have to turn the wheels itself but also what ever assist pump/motor connected to your steering. more resistance = harder to turn.

new cars have drive by wire system, but some cars like infiniti has a backup hydraulic system in case the electric system fails.
Yes. Cannot deny thins. The gear ratio is for Arnold Schwarzenegger for power assisted steering. When the tire is rolling, the car moment will resist the tire to turn. laugh.gif

Not sure if the design is being short-cut nowadays. There should be a fail safe system for automotive as far as I know
rcracer
post Jul 31 2017, 09:19 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(yattnana @ Jul 31 2017, 08:47 AM)
Some eps system are so sensitive that a loose battery connection can totally disable the electric assistance
Just know that the steering still can be used even without assistance

It's very unusual feeling as the steering suddenly is super super heavy but the car is still steerable and driveable

But if you have never experienced it, the increase in effort can be interpreted as jammed / locked .
alien13579
post Jul 31 2017, 09:19 AM

QUOTE(carsalesperson @ Jul 31 2017, 01:09 AM)
Use your brain to think
EPS even when the power is gone, it's still function like those old saga or Kancil. It's heavy when stationary but light once u got up to speed

The brake also die ?
Come-on, the brake is using Hydraulic, no way it would malfunction without leaking oil.

Another assumption, slamp brake hard and the tyre lock
there is a reason why proton dnt wanna go for EPS, and only implement EPS into their car now
this isn't the 1st case a p2 car crash because of its faulty EPS already
yet p2 say their EPS no problem laugh.gif

i personally dnt like EPS as well...specifically due to problem like this and the fact that it will make the steering no feeling at all
u dnt feel like you're controlling the car when the steering is EPS
alien13579
post Jul 31 2017, 09:21 AM

QUOTE(rcracer @ Jul 31 2017, 09:19 AM)

It's very unusual feeling as the steering suddenly  is super super heavy but the car is still steerable and driveable

But if you have never experienced it, the increase in effort can be interpreted as jammed / locked .
if the driver move from no power steering to power steering to EPS
thn maybe still have chance of survival
but if straight move to EPS, habis liao laugh.gif
SUSadvocado
post Jul 31 2017, 09:23 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jul 31 2017, 09:16 AM)
Yes. Cannot deny thins. The gear ratio is for Arnold Schwarzenegger for power assisted steering. When the tire is rolling, the car moment will resist the tire to turn.  laugh.gif

Not sure if the design is being short-cut nowadays. There should be a fail safe system for automotive as far as I know
when the car move, the resistance is less. it's hardest when car is standstill as weight sits on the wheels.

regarding fail safe, you lose power steering there is not really much fail safe to talk about but if you are traveling at certain speed the weight of the steering should still be manageable.

what needs to be addressed are 3 things:

1.Backup for Drive by wire system in case it fails: a.redundant wiring/system? b.Hydraulic system as backup (defeats the purpose of cost saving).

2.Steering lock when car loses power (stalled), a common anti theft features in most cars nowadays. VW & Pug has been known to turn off the engine while on the road, many cars also turn off engine when overheat to protect the engine, but this also means you risk locking the wheels while driving.

3.Brake assist backup when brake pump loses power (due to failure or car stalled).

Wheels & brakes are essential in emergency situation losing 1 increases your risk but it's common to lose both Steering & Brakes when your car loses power.
SUSadvocado
post Jul 31 2017, 09:27 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Jul 31 2017, 09:19 AM)

It's very unusual feeling as the steering suddenly  is super super heavy but the car is still steerable and driveable

you never tried you won't know.

you say folks who drove cars without power steering can manage better? maybe, but understand it's heavier to turn a faulty assisted steering than a non-assisted steering due to extra parts in the assist system like pumps/motors/hydraulics etc, those are added deadweight when the system is off.

also, some cars tend to lock the steering wheels, it's suppose to be locked when the engine is off to prevent theft, but jsut for you to know, like many things which can go wrong, it may just lock your wheels while driving.
rcracer
post Jul 31 2017, 09:30 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jul 31 2017, 09:27 AM)
you never tried you won't know.

you say folks who drove cars without power steering can manage better? maybe, but understand it's heavier to turn a faulty assisted steering than a non-assisted steering due to extra parts in the assist system like pumps/motors/hydraulics etc, those are added deadweight when the system is off.

also, some cars tend to lock the steering wheels, it's suppose to be locked when the engine is off to prevent theft, but jsut for you to know, like many things which can go wrong, it may just lock your wheels while driving.
Best course of action is to remove all power steering and anti theft for the axia , like kancil , million a of cars, not a single complaint sudden lock

Win win
latipbogiba
post Jul 31 2017, 09:31 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(Harold2009 @ Jul 31 2017, 08:43 AM)
Tinted so dark?  hmm.gif how she can passed JPJ regulations?  hmm.gif
no worries. her husband should be jpj oficer
SUSadvocado
post Jul 31 2017, 09:32 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Jul 31 2017, 09:30 AM)
Best course of action is to remove all power steering and anti theft for the axia , like kancil , million a of cars, not a single complaint sudden lock

Win win
still can't solve lost of brake assist part (brake pump).

if you remove the brake pump it will make braking alot harder compared to no power steering.
arza04
post Jul 31 2017, 09:33 AM

303 posts

Bullshit. All axia drivers never do mistake meh? All axia accidents owner simply blame power steering lock

U all can see lah how axia drivers behave on the road and judge yourself whistling.gif:

Me myself also drive axia oh wai
djandrew
post Jul 31 2017, 09:33 AM

236 posts

i still remember driving old saga manual 1.3 silver color original exhaust pipe slightly noisy that model. hand muscle feels so much tougher compare to now, driving those old saga/ old car without power steering feels like everyday u driving a car without tyre pressure laugh.gif have to play pandai pandai tekan minyak let the car move a little only start turn the steering will be much more lighter, when comes to reverse parking hell yeah exercise time. and when entering shopping mall entrance parking have to twist the side window handle like rowing a boat to grab the ticket biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by djandrew: Jul 31 2017, 09:36 AM
rcracer
post Jul 31 2017, 09:35 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jul 31 2017, 09:32 AM)
still can't solve lost of brake assist part (brake pump).

if you remove the brake pump it will make braking alot harder compared to no power steering.
Easy, make the master cylinder as big as the brake booster like a dinner plate, so little pressure enough to lock all wheels
loli_yat
post Jul 31 2017, 09:35 AM

275 posts

Tak kisah, asalkan sales figure trumps all whistling.gif

This post has been edited by loli_yat: Jul 31 2017, 09:36 AM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 

0.0193sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:40 AM