> AXIA spin again !

alien13579
post Jul 31 2017, 09:19 AM

QUOTE(carsalesperson @ Jul 31 2017, 01:09 AM)
Use your brain to think
EPS even when the power is gone, it's still function like those old saga or Kancil. It's heavy when stationary but light once u got up to speed

The brake also die ?
Come-on, the brake is using Hydraulic, no way it would malfunction without leaking oil.

Another assumption, slamp brake hard and the tyre lock
there is a reason why proton dnt wanna go for EPS, and only implement EPS into their car now
this isn't the 1st case a p2 car crash because of its faulty EPS already
yet p2 say their EPS no problem laugh.gif

i personally dnt like EPS as well...specifically due to problem like this and the fact that it will make the steering no feeling at all
u dnt feel like you're controlling the car when the steering is EPS
alien13579
post Jul 31 2017, 09:21 AM

QUOTE(rcracer @ Jul 31 2017, 09:19 AM)
Just know that the steering still can be used even without assistance 

It's very unusual feeling as the steering suddenly  is super super heavy but the car is still steerable and driveable

But if you have never experienced it, the increase in effort can be interpreted as jammed / locked .
if the driver move from no power steering to power steering to EPS
thn maybe still have chance of survival
but if straight move to EPS, habis liao laugh.gif
alien13579
post Jul 31 2017, 10:45 AM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 31 2017, 10:41 AM)
Unfortunately all new cars today all EPS...

Love my fake Lancer Hydraulic power steering.

Old skool is da best!!! rclxm9.gif
hands down hydraulic wins
dat feel when u steer it, EPS is just no feeling at all
toyota one, so soft can even steer using pinky

not to mention hydraulics are reliable

This post has been edited by alien13579: Jul 31 2017, 10:46 AM
alien13579
post Jul 31 2017, 10:58 AM

QUOTE(rcracer @ Jul 31 2017, 10:50 AM)
I like EPS more

- can vary assistance according speed , super light  for parking , heavier for highway
- no grinding , whining at full lock
- no oil and pump drag on engine , rubber hoses that crack and leak after a while
- lane keep assistance  as comfort feature on long highway drives , no need keep making corrections to stay in lane
- more expensive EPS can even have variable ratio , parking one turn lock to lock , highway more turns
- more horsepower , less drag on engine
i know hydraulic vs EPS has their own pros and cons
ultimately i still prefer hydraulics over EPS
it just doesn't have that feel when you're steering it laugh.gif
and if its done right, alignment is correct, lane keep on highway can be comfort and no correction needed as well
proton is the prime example of hydraulic steering done right
now their EPS also not bad based on review
alien13579
post Jul 31 2017, 11:18 AM

QUOTE(rcracer @ Jul 31 2017, 11:08 AM)
I have EPS now and when in drive a hydraulic, the hydraulic is rubbish , too heavy at low speed, too light at high speed 

Unless speed varying hydraulic but that only on high end cars

Day to day, the non varying hydraulic is compromise between low and high speed but tend towards low speed light steering
im now using EPS as well
but i had fun when i went back to my hydraulic car
alien13579
post Jul 31 2017, 11:33 AM

QUOTE(rcracer @ Jul 31 2017, 11:30 AM)
It's psychological and hype, hydraulic doesn't feel any better , EPS is a lot more precise , hydraulic is shotgun , hydraulic is scoped rifle
its not better or worst or precise
ppl who love hydraulic is because of that feeling when u steer it
EPS is just dead, no feeling of steering the car at all
in simple word, its too soft, toyota one is way way way too soft laugh.gif
alien13579
post Jul 31 2017, 11:42 AM

QUOTE(rcracer @ Jul 31 2017, 11:38 AM)
There's No such thing as feel, you turn the steering it turns the wheels , a lot of it comes from the tyres not the steering

Just motoring journalism hype that consumers bought into , lol

If you can't steer a car properly because of a system , you shouldn't be driving .

It's all hype
not hype
drive a myvi vs saga
both with hydraulics
the saga will wins, myvi's steering is just too soft

thats the feeling that ppl want
alien13579
post Aug 1 2017, 08:08 AM

QUOTE(tallrice @ Aug 1 2017, 05:45 AM)
i hv first batch persona going to be 10 yrs old next 2 months and also just bought an axia last months...
personally i like EPS more than hydraulic simply coz:

1. hydraulic use the same turning inertia all the way while eps is light at low speed and heavy at high speed...
2. steering feedback i feel is almost the same just axia is very minimal force feedback...
3. i prefer no force feedback at all so i can hv total control of the steering wheel...

but axia EPS ratio is higher at 1.75 than persona hydraulic jist at 1.25 full turn
all have their own pros and cons
depends on what the driver is searching for
BTW, your axia no such problem as mentioned in this thread?
sudden loss of power or the steering won't turn back to middle under certain circumstances?

my current car uses EPS as well, during low speed...it won't turn back to the middle, i need to turn it myself
alien13579
post Aug 1 2017, 10:22 AM

QUOTE(tallrice @ Aug 1 2017, 10:18 AM)
it turn back at low speed but not fully...
i still need to do some adjustments...
but for me no problem coz the steering is light and easy to turn...
yes, its turn back until like 1/4 of a round thn u have to turn back manually
common problems of EPS which doesn't happen in hydraulics
which shouldn't happen as well

0.0205sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:42 AM