19 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Guitars -The 7 String Sanctuary-, everything and anything about the 7!

RustReaver4D1
post Oct 31 2007, 06:34 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Oct 31 2007, 06:07 PM)
well. . . Bendetto guitars are damn famous. .. 7 string. . . but the cheapest is 5k USD =.=

heard a rumour that the  8string prestige will be moved to custom shop. . . meaning. . .those lucky bastards who bought it now. . . got it cheap. . . lol. . .

discontinued already =(

and i don't think there's any 7 string acoustics around in kl right?

mayb ask taylor to make 1 xD
Actually I think custom-shop would be a better bet anyway. Very few users, and it suxxorz if they have a production model like the RG2228 which is only available in BLACK!

"...no offense, Carl..." laugh.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 7 2007, 02:25 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Nov 5 2007, 11:52 PM)
it'll be replaced by iDiot
i7 mou...

... was clearing my junk the other day and I found a ciplak VCD plastic case for Children of the Corn 666. Opened it up and found 2 ori Korn CDs inside, the Blind album and Follow the Valkyrie Leader... laugh.gif

I've been hating Korn for the past oh... 7 years, or so... without actually being an active Korn listener. Guess a case of hating something without really knowing what you hate mou!

Anyway, the 2 CDs have been getting regular airplay in my CD player and I am surprised to say that my impressions of Korn were kinda misplaced.

First, I always thought that they were famous for having some really damn f***ing ultra-higain distortion coz they were using Uberschall and all... instead, for these 2 albums, it was low-to-medium gain only. No wonder the K7 comes with the low-output PAF7!

Second, I never knew that the drummer played double pedal. Always thought that the guy was a single pedal dude who plays weird stuff... doh.gif

Third, and the most embarassing to admit, is that I actually layan their songwriting. Ok, they tend to use a lot of weird weird sounds/effects... but the way they counter-point their parts, with one guy chugging away on the 7th string, and another guy playing way high up in the register, is kinda cool... sweat.gif

...and the lyrics are damn funny lah... I like one song on Follow the Leader where some black rapper guy raps "F*** the law with my d**k in my hand!"... damn bloody delinquent lyrics mou... laugh.gif

One thing that you can't take away from Korn, is that although Steve Vai was the guy who got Ibanez to start making 7-strings, but Korn probably is the biggest reason why 7-strings became more widespread in the past decade or so... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Nov 7 2007, 02:26 PM
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 7 2007, 02:48 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Nov 7 2007, 02:33 PM)
yeah man ...i have to agree..

Korn has awesome song writing skills

i hate to say this-lah , but i actually think they are a damn creative band , and their marketing ...pretty damn good also..

"selling out" for metal is damn tough , but they did it well..

oh yea..i kinda like Jon's voice also ..
His "singing" is... strange. laugh.gif

For a bunch of guys who look like theory/technique n00bs, they've got some pretty complicated sounding arrangements and parts. Maybe they're all actually a bunch of secret neo-classical composers who pose as dreadlocked nu-metallers... laugh.gif

I like "Shoots and Ladders" from the Blind album... starts out with some melody played by dunno what (bagpipe ke, fiddle ke, sax ke) and then the thrashy guitars kick in. Overall, they've got a bloody killer sense of syncopation.

Ok lah, power metal and groove metal are like sworn enemies, unless you're Kai Hansen ("Heal Me" verse mou), it's just not epic to mix dragons with 100bpm groovy riffs. laugh.gif

Still, they manage to write music for 2 guitars without having 1 guitarist being redundant (read: Metallica!). ...if only they can get some sick 7-string shredder to join them...

They should get Jeff Loomis to session for them. I think his songwriting is weird enough that he'll fit in just nicely... laugh.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 7 2007, 03:43 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(valkyrie1232 @ Nov 7 2007, 03:00 PM)
Why would you hate to say that? You've been saying that for god knows how many years!  tongue.gif
Jon's voice annoys me though, as much as it annoys me that the In Flames singer now sounds eggszackly like him!  biggrin.gif

K7 FTW!
But it makes damn nice cruising music... just roll down your windows, pump up the bass and trebs, and bob your head like some freak chicken... having an Uzi on your lap would also help... laugh.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 9 2007, 04:18 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Beatmasta @ Nov 9 2007, 04:05 PM)
But the universe 7 model was really pricey at that time to buy. heh.
Hehe... it's still too pricey! sweat.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 14 2007, 02:13 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Nov 13 2007, 11:10 PM)
well i guess 7 stringers shy from mahogany cause you dont want the B to go any fatter and rounder from what it already is. . .

it's preference but i prefer wood that will make the low B less boomy. . .
Hmmm... I always thought that mahogany had more bass whereas basswood has more low-mids?

Guess Ibanez just has a preference for basswood+RG shape...
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 14 2007, 03:23 PM

1,100 posts

Then the K7, Apex, RG7CT, RG7CST, RG2127X, RG2027X, and the J.Custom RG7s are all waiting to call you masta! laugh.gif

Damn... aside from the Universes, all the high-end RG7s are all Mahogany. Ibanez is giving you a hint, man. You're borne to play only top-of-the-line axes! notworthy.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 14 2007, 03:39 PM

1,100 posts

Apex AND J.Custom? holy Heimdall... shocking.gif

...target for next guitar? Since I've got no budget, I might as well dream of a Caparison Horus-7... since the chances of me affording it are probably the same as them building it... laugh.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 14 2007, 03:54 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Beatmasta @ Nov 14 2007, 03:48 PM)
Caparison Horus-7 thts a gud axe as well, have to order it from japan?
First have to ask Caparison very nicely whether they will make it or not... whistling.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 14 2007, 05:53 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(valkyrie1232 @ Nov 14 2007, 04:34 PM)
Hey never doubt of Caparison building a Horus 7 String. Let us just pray to Heimdall some 7 string guitarist would beg Caparison to build a Horus 7 (like what some dude requested for a Dellinger 7...why didn't he ask for a Horus 7 with Ebony Fretboard instead!  mad.gif )

Btw, Bro Beatmasta, your Puff Pro 7 should be ready soon, say anytime next week? wink.gif
Itaru Kanno is waiting for your e-mail bub... tongue.gif

AN7 mou...
whistling.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 15 2007, 10:47 AM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Nov 14 2007, 11:38 PM)
i may be offloading my S japan =.=

but damn keberatan =(

stress. . .

and if you really want get it off SG. . . got a few 2nd hand 7 stringers at those SG forums. . . friend sent me before. . .

you can try there. . . but of course you have to travel. . . the price is ok tho. . .

and anybody tried vigier guitars before?

and fretless. . . i want a fretless xD
EXCALIBURRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!! notworthy.gif

...what's an "S Japan"? Ibbie?

RustReaver4D1
post Nov 15 2007, 02:31 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Beatmasta @ Nov 15 2007, 02:19 PM)
off load one of my 7 axe? yea most prolly after i get the new one hopefuly next year.  hmm.gif
Hehe, you could probably have a warehouse sale considering the number of 7s you got! laugh.gif

Anyway, just curious, which axe are you installing the PAF7s into?
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 15 2007, 03:11 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Beatmasta @ Nov 15 2007, 02:45 PM)
aha gud question rusty, installing it into the korean one Rg7321 after having the stock pickup swapped for the PAF7 on the bridge man it sound delicious compare before. jst need the neck pu frm bro Val. After thats done next thing is change the selector 3way. order a new chrome color fix bridge n machine head its done.
roxxorz... thumbup.gif

...how do the RG7321 stock p/ups (AH1-7 and AH2-7) compare with the RG1527 stock p/ups (V7-7 and V8-7)? Always wondered why Ibanez put in "vintage sounding" p/ups in the 1527... rclxub.gif

Added on November 15, 2007, 3:14 pm
QUOTE(Beatmasta @ Nov 15 2007, 03:08 PM)
yea prolly i'd let go of the 1527.
How could you?!

EQ! Help! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Nov 15 2007, 03:14 PM
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 15 2007, 05:07 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Beatmasta @ Nov 15 2007, 03:37 PM)
well the AH1-7,AH2-7 pups.. I play numetal/metal genre and can get some crushing tones from it...i would recommend new dimarzio pickups but the stocks aren't that bad. good sustain and it sings man.

how could me let it go..cause so many ppl using it lol..no lah jst kidding, too many axe to maintain bankrupt me later.i've change the pu's on the 1527 using blaze7
Interesting... are they low output pups like the PAF7? Korn mou... low output pups through #&$(*# high-gain amps... laugh.gif

wow... blaze + basswood RG... UV-like mou... rclxms.gif

How's the Blaze neck pup? ...wait nevermind. I'm not supposed to be interested in pups with pole pieces.. hehe, I'm a rail whore... doh.gif

I'm kinda having trouble with my X2N-7 though. Can't seem to get a "tight" sound. First time I played it after getting it installed, I thought, "Wow, tight." It's tight compared to the stock bridge pup, but it doesn't seem anywhere as tight as my Jackson+EMG81.

Argh, guess I need more time to figure out the sonic characteristics of the X2N-7. I'm so used to dialing in massive gain with the EMG81 and still have the pup maintain clarity. I hate the thought of having to move my gain knob counter-clockwise... whistling.gif

But I love the high-end sizzle of the X2N-7... biggrin.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 15 2007, 06:03 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Beatmasta @ Nov 15 2007, 05:38 PM)
wah rusty i didnt knoe u love rails than pole piece pups..adeh man u shuld try blaze..its reasonable nice pickups on mids n high, lil bit on lows. i place a neck blaze7 on bridge postion so gives gud clarity n clean sound..gud crunch as well. I read bout the X2N-7 and hear bout their massive gain output these pups gives..wow talking bout extra raw crunch.
Hehe... the output is almost neck to neck with the EMG81... but it has more character to it. Only thing is I can't seem to figure out yet how to have all that output translated into usable gain... sad.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 16 2007, 11:03 AM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(asura_86 @ Nov 15 2007, 10:29 PM)
beastmasta, if you're really letting go of the 1527, let me know ya? i'm planning to get either the RG1527 or the RG1570 RG1527
Post edited for political correctness.

...you do realize that this is the 7 String Sanctuary, right? sweat.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 16 2007, 12:27 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 16 2007, 11:49 AM)
hasnt this been already discontinued?
No kidding. Supposedly going to be dropped in the 2008 line-up.

And Blacktrix, that guitar is like double the price of the 1527. Tells you just how much the low F# costs... laugh.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 16 2007, 03:56 PM

1,100 posts

Wei Val... it's not the length that matters, but the technique FTW! brows.gif

EQ... go through the FX loop and bypass the pre-amp!

The pre-amp, power amp and cabinet will all colour your sound. So when you run your GT through the AVT pre-amp, you'll be dialing your tone to take into account those 3 things, i.e. you'll be compensating for the AVT's pre-amp, power amp and cab.

When you swap amps, you'll have a bloody headache trying to figure out which parts of your tone came from the GT and which came from the AVT... e.g., you've got a kick@ss boomy sound. Is it from your GT settings or the AVT?

My caplang practice amp has no friggin FX loop so everytime I set my tone at home, I'm always going through the pre-amp. (And for a while I was using the dual pre-amp thing on the GT... so 2 GT pre-amps through amplifier pre-amp... = just shoot me. rclxub.gif )

The trix for me is to always have the output at Line/Phones so I've got access to the cab and mic sims. Then I balance between the GT pre-amp's direct level (i.e. no cab/mic sim) and mic level (i.e. with cab & mic sim sound). The end goal is for me to be able to get the same tone consistently... whether it's good tone or not is a different story lah! (consistently crap tone mou... sad.gif )

Anyway, I find that through "coloured" amps (especially Marshalls!), it's better to use more direct level whereas through amps like Hardcore Max half/full stacks, more mic level sounds better. YMMV.

Generally, the direct level will be very very sharp and fizzy (since it expects you to have a physical cabinet to soften up the high end) whereas the mic level will sound rich but a bit boxy, coz it's like having a (modelled) cabinet within a (physical) cabinet.

So when I swap amps, I can pretty much tweak the direct level/mic level balance to get back (most) of my home tone. And then tweak the global EQ a bit to compensate for volume.

Bottom line for me is having an easily tweakable tone... a portable tone lah. Essentially one that is not so ub3r-EQed (no pun intended!) or FXed so that everytime I plug into a different amp, I don't have to rebuild the tone from scratch...

Not sure about the volume being lower without the GT pre-amps on though. But it kinda makes sense because when you've got the pre-amp on, you are amplifying the signal...

...sorry for the short post. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Nov 16 2007, 04:10 PM
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 19 2007, 02:46 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Nov 19 2007, 10:31 AM)
cab and mike sim sound?

is it a GT-8 function only?

or you talking about the EQ function?

or the pedal preamp function?

and what preamp model you using on your pedal?
Nah... set your Output select (I think it's in your "System" button) to Line/Phones or Line/PA or Line/whatever-so-long-as-it's-not-Line6 laugh.gif

It's in the "Preamp" menu. Guess it should be something line Preamp Model>Gain>Bass>Mid>Treb>Presence>Preamp level.

After that, there'll be a selection of Cabinet sims (Original, 2x12, 4x10, 4x12, 8x12 etc) and after that Mic sims (FLAT, CND__, DYN421, DYN__, etc) then there's Mic On or Off axis, then Mic distance (0-10) then then after that should be the Mic Level (how loud the Preamp+Mic+Cab sim will be) then the Direct level (how loud your Preamp without Mic/Cab sims will be). You can set both Mic level and Direct level to 100 if you want, but it'll probably clip your sound... sweat.gif

Preamp model... well, depends on my mood lah. Started out with the 5150, then migrated to R-fier, then went to Heavy Lead (I think a Soldano variant), then went to Edge (H&K Triaxis variant I think), and now back to R-fier. So I'm fickle... biggrin.gif

I dunno lah, but I tend to use EQ only to compensate for volume and to knock off some of the high end fizz... icon_rolleyes.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 19 2007, 06:54 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(asura_86 @ Nov 19 2007, 06:16 PM)
u also want to sell your RG1527 rusty?

Huh what? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Nov 19 2007, 06:54 PM

19 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0543sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled