[quote=soulfly,Apr 5 2007, 07:41 PM]
I think there's a gio 7-string that should be <RM1,000.[/quote]copied/quoted from another thread.
as far as i could recall... there's no 7-string Gio... really or not?
[/quote]
yes no more 7 string Gio. . . discontinued. . . but there is the Korea 7 stringer the RG7321 or you can also look at the S7, it's basically the S series in 7 strings
[quote=valkyrie1232,Apr 5 2007, 07:51 PM]
Yeah Air Norton FTW. The one and only God, Mr John something something Petrucci!
Just kidding.
I'm definitely changing the tuning to Standard B. Not really a dropped tuning kinda guy and I'm too darn used to the 9's gauge. Nvm, we happen to know a reputable techie around here who roams around Jln Gasing ...
But he's probably too busy to service my guitar for this month at least...

[/quote]
haha!!! Petrucci started the whole 7 string thingy. . . Cooley met him and he started the 7. . . same goes to fareri. . . and all those psycho 7 string fret melters. . .
well i guess it should be ok for you since you have someone to fix it. . . go for 9-52 then. . . i moving to higher 10's for my nxt restring. . . for better tone xD
but my fingers definately gonna bleed. . . the same when i play my damn Taylor. . . 13 gauge is a killer. . .
[quote=RustReaver4D1,Apr 5 2007, 08:15 PM]
Actually, I was already thinking of 2 X2N-7s...
Extra tension due to the B-string? No wonder... I'm not complaining though!

Maple/wenge and not bubinga? Are the dark stripes the wenge then?
Yes, I hope so... right now, the only new thing I can do is play damn low, muddy-sounding runs...

Ok, EQ777, since you've had a 7-string the longest amongst the 3 of us jokers here, what's a cool/brutal 7-string technique that you've learned so far?
Aiyah... Rusty Cooley no need to bother lah... DT also cannot play! and Korn, maybe Valkyrie can lah with his K7, I ain't got the tuning for it...

[/quote]
when you get the dual X2N's remember to call me! i wanna try it out. . . it'll look killer tho. . . bloody polepieces look damn macho xD
yea. . . i guess the 2 black stripes are the wenge. . . and low muddy runs make you play better. . . after you change pup your muddy runs will sound like a charm!
well honestly the 7 string doesnt make things harder but instead makes playing far easier. . .
a thing i noticed is scale runs have less movement. . . for example playing a G Aeolian mode with a 6 string requires me to start from the 3rd fret of the 6th to the 15th th fret of the 1st. . . with the 7 i just start at the 8th fret of the 7th string and move to the 15th of the 1st. . . this gives economy in doing long scalular runs. . .
anoter fun thing is you can have more octaves when playin appregios. . . try out those cool extended appregios from the 7 - 1st string. . . sounds bloody cool. . .
and if you play jazz you can play alot of new chords which previously with your 6 is near impossible to play. . . the 7 opens up countless possibilities in your playing and changes the way you approach your guitar. . .
what i recommend is that you restructure your playing again. . . try approaching the 7 like a beginner. . . it helps in preventing you from playing the same ol 6 string licks you used to play. . . you will notice your choice for notes and chords will also change to suit the 6. . . learn the new scale positions. . . ( not much to learn since its only an additional string which emulates the high B)
and you can just learn the song but play the Korn song with std tuning =)
[quote=Everdying,Apr 5 2007, 08:15 PM]
there is / was a 7-string gio.
but why pay for that when i've seen used RG7321 for RM1100+ also?
of cos the 7321 is fixed bridge, which imo is more preferable for 7-strings.
[/quote]
7 strings have tunign stability problems. . . even mine has problems when i play Vai tunes where i spam the whammy bar. . . the bar can't seem to go back to its original tension thus loss of tuning. . .
Std tuning are much favoured by 7 string users as most of them 7 slingers tend to play picking and heavy riffs instead of whammy bar tricks. . . even i hardly use my whammy bar for my 7 string. . . so yea it's more of like a + thing to have the bar there. . .
[quote=RustReaver4D1,Apr 5 2007, 08:17 PM]
Actually yeah... I think teh 7-string gio has been discontinued. A 2nd-hand RG732x would be a better deal, it's MIK I think.
[/quote]
the problem is it's so hard to find one . . . lolz been trying to get one to play dropped tunings and stuff. . . but nvr able to find one around here. . .
[quote=Everdying,Apr 5 2007, 08:18 PM]
the only 7-string that i want, if i manage to find it, is the epi LP standard.
they made a version about 5-6yrs ago.
[/quote]
i've seen that. . . ebay was selling the epiphone version a year or 2 back when i was looking for alternative7 strings. . . try lookin around for it. . . i'm sure you'll be able to get it =D