148 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Guitars -The 7 String Sanctuary-, everything and anything about the 7!

TSEquilibrium777
post Apr 5 2007, 03:27 AM, updated 16y ago

1,228 posts

Hey there!

Rustreaver actually persuaded me to start this thread since a few of us are getting 7 stringers. . . This thread is open to all and we hope we can answer as many questions possible about the 7. . . feel free to ask us anything and we'll try our very best to give a good answer tongue.gif

valkyrie1232, on the issue of pups for your 7 depends on what you plan to paly with the 7. . . i noticed your previous setup has a PafPro and since you're getting the K7 you can just stay with the stock pups as the K7's use Paf. . . but it seems that the best DiMarzio all rounder neck pup is still the AirNorton. . . i'm getting the Norton for the neck. . . if you want less mids then go for the Blaze. . . these 2 are the top notch 7 string pups from DiMarzio. . .

RustReaver. . . good news for you. . . you may wanan stop with the X2N and get the new DiMarzio D Activators. . . it's a passive pup made to emulate an active. . . you need to change the pots for your guitar tho. . . its 500 ohms. . .wtf? lolz
the EQ is sick. . . it has L-4 M-5 H-8 for a Neck and a mroe balanced 6-6-6.5 for bridge. . . if i were you i may instead put the neck pup for the bridge and vice versa. . . now i'm thinking of changing the D-Sonic to the Activator. . . decisions decisions. . .

my friend from US says that the Activator is very much like an EMG. . . all power and kinda toneless. . . very head on. . . check out the new Ibanez Xiphos Demo's to get a rough idea how it sounds. . . the Xiphos uses the Activator. . . pointy gutiars not my cup of tea tho. . .
valkyrie1232
post Apr 5 2007, 07:42 AM

721 posts

Oh Hell Yeah! Kudos for starting this thread EQ777!

There are a lot of things I need to learn about the 7 string though, hopefully can learn from sifus like yourself.

Yeah I do like the 6 string PAF Pro for the neck but I'm not too sure on the 7 string models coz I've read a couple of reviews saying that the stock PAF7s on the K7 isn't really great. Or something like that.

Air Norton 7 or Blaze 7 does sound appealing though. Will check out more.
Btw, what string gauge do you guys use?
I'm pretty stuck in the range of 9-42, so I guess it'll be 9-52 huh?

Cheers!
RustReaver4D1
post Apr 5 2007, 11:32 AM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Apr 5 2007, 03:27 AM)
Hey there!

Rustreaver actually persuaded me to start this thread since a few of us are getting 7 stringers. . . This thread is open to all and we hope we can answer as many questions possible about the 7. . . feel free to ask us anything and we'll try our very best to give a good answer  tongue.gif

RustReaver. . . good news for you. . . you may wanan stop with the X2N and get the new DiMarzio D Activators. . . it's a passive pup made to emulate an active. . . you need to change the pots for your guitar tho. . . its 500 ohms. . .wtf? lolz
the EQ is sick. . . it has L-4 M-5 H-8 for a Neck and a mroe balanced 6-6-6.5 for bridge. . . if i were you i may instead put the neck pup for the bridge and vice versa. . . now i'm thinking of changing the D-Sonic to the Activator. . . decisions decisions. . .

my friend from US says that the Activator is very much like an EMG. . . all power and kinda toneless. . . very head on. . . check out the new Ibanez Xiphos Demo's to get a rough idea how it sounds. . . the Xiphos uses the Activator. . . pointy gutiars not my cup of tea tho. . .
Yeah, now we finally got our own little sanctuary... thumbup.gif The idea was your's mate, I'm just here for the ride! biggrin.gif

Not sure about this D Activator though. Actually, I was GASsing for the X2N before I got my EMGs... maybe I'll try an X2N-7 for the bridge and the D Activator for the neck... the L-4 M-5 H-8 seems interesting IMO... biggrin.gif

But first things first- I gotta source the CASH! laugh.gif

QUOTE(valkyrie1232 @ Apr 5 2007, 07:42 AM)
Yeah I do like the 6 string PAF Pro for the neck but I'm not too sure on the 7 string models coz I've read a couple of reviews saying that the stock PAF7s on the K7 isn't really great. Or something like that.
The PAF7 is supposed to be ok, just that it's very low output for heavy riffing I guess... If you get an EVO7 or other high output bridge pup, there may be a volume difference between neck and bridge. But since you pretty much only use the neck for leads, you can probably compensate on your GT-6. biggrin.gif

And K7 come with 9-52 standard I think.

For some reason, I find that I don't really have that much of a problem using 9-52s on the 1527 - previously for 6-strings (cheh-wah!), I found that 9-42 just didn't have enough string tension. Always had trouble with Valkyrie's TH-1 Stealth with 9-42s... hmm, maybe 9-52 is easier to play because of the 5-piece maple/wenge neck... (ehem!). tongue.gif

Anyway, anyone knows where I can get the definitive neck specifications for the 1527? The Malaysian Ibbie portal says it's an Ultra neck, the Jap portal says something else and Jemsite says it's Wizard7 Prestige. And if it's maple/wenge, does that mean the 2 dark stripes are not bubinga? rclxub.gif

I know I know, it's not really vital must-have information... but it's good to know. tongue.gif
TSEquilibrium777
post Apr 5 2007, 01:28 PM

1,228 posts

QUOTE(valkyrie1232 @ Apr 5 2007, 07:42 AM)
Oh Hell Yeah! Kudos for starting this thread EQ777!

There are a lot of things I need to learn about the 7 string though, hopefully can learn from sifus like yourself.

Air Norton 7 or Blaze 7 does sound appealing though. Will check out more.
Btw, what string gauge do you guys use?
I'm pretty stuck in the range of 9-42, so I guess it'll be 9-52 huh?

Cheers!
what sifu? where? who sifu? i wan meet him also!

sifu your head. . . i far from sifu. . . i'm just like you guys. . . smile.gif all equal here

the K7s stock PAF7 are just a clearer and more defined version of the original stock pup you get from the 1527 IMO. . . i tried it and its really good if you plan to play classic rock on it. . .

Air Norton FTW! tongue.gif i've done alot of research and that pup still comes out top smile.gif

you should use higher gauge as yoru using the K7. . . all K7's come stock drop 1 whole step to A. . . if you wanna play it in Std Tuning you gonna have to send to a really good guitar tech to fix a few stuff. . . Intonation, Height, Buzz, Truss. . . alot of work to be put into. . . so i suggest you stick with the A tuning and use higher gauge strings like the 10 sets. . . if you use 9 it may run out of tune and be really flabby at times. . .

QUOTE(RustReaver4D1 @ Apr 5 2007, 11:32 AM)
Yeah, now we finally got our own little sanctuary...  thumbup.gif The idea was your's mate, I'm just here for the ride!  biggrin.gif

Not sure about this D Activator though. Actually, I was GASsing for the X2N before I got my EMGs... maybe I'll try an X2N-7 for the bridge and the D Activator for the neck... the L-4 M-5 H-8 seems interesting IMO...  biggrin.gif

But first things first- I gotta source the CASH!  laugh.gif
The PAF7 is supposed to be ok, just that it's very low output for heavy riffing I guess... If you get an EVO7 or other high output bridge pup, there may be a volume difference between neck and bridge. But since you pretty much only use the neck for leads, you can probably compensate on your GT-6.  biggrin.gif

And K7 come with 9-52 standard I think.

For some reason, I find that I don't really have that much of a problem using 9-52s on the 1527 - previously for 6-strings (cheh-wah!), I found that 9-42 just didn't have enough string tension. Always had trouble with Valkyrie's TH-1 Stealth with 9-42s... hmm, maybe 9-52 is easier to play because of the 5-piece maple/wenge neck... (ehem!).  tongue.gif

Anyway, anyone knows where I can get the definitive neck specifications for the 1527? The Malaysian Ibbie portal says it's an Ultra neck, the Jap portal says something else and Jemsite says it's Wizard7 Prestige. And if it's maple/wenge, does that mean the 2 dark stripes are not bubinga?  rclxub.gif

I know I know, it's not really vital must-have information... but it's good to know.  tongue.gif
Well honestly since you're into high output pup's i guess yo could try the D-Act and X2N combo. . . what i can suggest is if you want a fatter tone why not use a D-Act (Bridge) pup for you Neck and then X2N for the Bridge. . . or for ultimate hardcoreness, 2 X2N. . shocking.gif

the tension is slightly increased thanks to the extra B string. . . the feel of the strings are still the same but there is added weight and tension to the strings as a whole . . . bending is slightly harder now if you notice compared to a 6. . . when i go back to my 6 i find bending and all so much more easier. . .

from what i gathered, our necks are Maple/Wenge instead of Bubinga. . . the 1527 has gone through slight changes so yea its wenge now. . .

Keep on playing with your 7 and im very sure that you'll notice improvements in your playing biggrin.gif

What songs are you playing now with your 7?

i recommend these songs to start up with a 7 stringer
Dream Theater- As I Am,This Dying Soul (heavy riffage and cool solo's)
Korn-(ny of their songs as they are simple and has no solos)

if you damn crazy hardcore pro thenplay Rusty Cooley laugh.gif
Everdying
post Apr 5 2007, 03:40 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

i get a feeling this thread is just gonna be between you two tongue.gif
TSEquilibrium777
post Apr 5 2007, 07:39 PM

1,228 posts

haha not really tongue.gif valkyrie1232 has already ordered a 7 string and i have 2 other friends joining in the fun smile.gif

also it's a thread for anyone to enquire about the 7. . . you can be a 6 string user curious about the 7 wink.gif we'll try our best to answer and give a better insight on the 7
soulfly
post Apr 5 2007, 07:41 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(RustReaver4D1 @ Apr 5 2007, 11:45 AM)
QUOTE(soulfly @ Apr 5 2007, 10:01 AM)

What is the cheapest Ibanez 7-string and how's the price like?
I think there's a gio 7-string that should be <RM1,000.
copied/quoted from another thread.

as far as i could recall... there's no 7-string Gio... really or not?

valkyrie1232
post Apr 5 2007, 07:51 PM

721 posts

Yeah Air Norton FTW. The one and only God, Mr John something something Petrucci! tongue.gif

Just kidding.

I'm definitely changing the tuning to Standard B. Not really a dropped tuning kinda guy and I'm too darn used to the 9's gauge. Nvm, we happen to know a reputable techie around here who roams around Jln Gasing ... whistling.gif

But he's probably too busy to service my guitar for this month at least... cry.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Apr 5 2007, 08:15 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Apr 5 2007, 01:28 PM)
Well honestly since you're into high output pup's i guess yo could try the D-Act and X2N combo. . . what i can suggest is if you want a fatter tone why not use a D-Act (Bridge) pup for you Neck and then X2N for the Bridge. . . or for ultimate hardcoreness, 2 X2N. .  shocking.gif

Actually, I was already thinking of 2 X2N-7s... whistling.gif

the tension is slightly increased thanks to the extra B string. . . the feel of the strings are still the same but there is added weight and tension to the strings as a whole . . . bending is slightly harder now if you notice compared to a 6. . . when i go back to my 6 i find bending and all so much more easier. . .

Extra tension due to the B-string? No wonder... I'm not complaining though! smile.gif

from what i gathered, our necks are Maple/Wenge instead of Bubinga. . . the 1527 has gone through slight changes so yea its wenge now. . .
Maple/wenge and not bubinga? Are the dark stripes the wenge then?

Keep on playing with your 7 and im very sure that you'll notice improvements in your playing  biggrin.gif
Yes, I hope so... right now, the only new thing I can do is play damn low, muddy-sounding runs... biggrin.gif

Ok, EQ777, since you've had a 7-string the longest amongst the 3 of us jokers here, what's a cool/brutal 7-string technique that you've learned so far?

i recommend these songs to start up with a 7 stringer
Dream Theater- As I Am,This Dying Soul (heavy riffage and cool solo's)
Korn-(ny of their songs as they are simple and has no solos)

if you damn crazy hardcore pro thenplay Rusty Cooley laugh.gif
Aiyah... Rusty Cooley no need to bother lah... DT also cannot play! and Korn, maybe Valkyrie can lah with his K7, I ain't got the tuning for it... tongue.gif

Everdying
post Apr 5 2007, 08:15 PM

30,735 posts

there is / was a 7-string gio.
but why pay for that when i've seen used RG7321 for RM1100+ also?
of cos the 7321 is fixed bridge, which imo is more preferable for 7-strings.
RustReaver4D1
post Apr 5 2007, 08:17 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 5 2007, 08:15 PM)
Actually yeah... I think teh 7-string gio has been discontinued. A 2nd-hand RG732x would be a better deal, it's MIK I think.

Everdying
post Apr 5 2007, 08:18 PM

30,735 posts

the only 7-string that i want, if i manage to find it, is the epi LP standard.
they made a version about 5-6yrs ago.
TSEquilibrium777
post Apr 5 2007, 08:36 PM

1,228 posts

[quote=soulfly,Apr 5 2007, 07:41 PM]
I think there's a gio 7-string that should be <RM1,000.[/quote]copied/quoted from another thread.

as far as i could recall... there's no 7-string Gio... really or not?

[/quote]

yes no more 7 string Gio. . . discontinued. . . but there is the Korea 7 stringer the RG7321 or you can also look at the S7, it's basically the S series in 7 strings

[quote=valkyrie1232,Apr 5 2007, 07:51 PM]
Yeah Air Norton FTW. The one and only God, Mr John something something Petrucci! tongue.gif

Just kidding.

I'm definitely changing the tuning to Standard B. Not really a dropped tuning kinda guy and I'm too darn used to the 9's gauge. Nvm, we happen to know a reputable techie around here who roams around Jln Gasing ... whistling.gif

But he's probably too busy to service my guitar for this month at least... cry.gif

[/quote]

haha!!! Petrucci started the whole 7 string thingy. . . Cooley met him and he started the 7. . . same goes to fareri. . . and all those psycho 7 string fret melters. . .

well i guess it should be ok for you since you have someone to fix it. . . go for 9-52 then. . . i moving to higher 10's for my nxt restring. . . for better tone xD

but my fingers definately gonna bleed. . . the same when i play my damn Taylor. . . 13 gauge is a killer. . .

[quote=RustReaver4D1,Apr 5 2007, 08:15 PM]
Actually, I was already thinking of 2 X2N-7s... whistling.gif
Extra tension due to the B-string? No wonder... I'm not complaining though! smile.gif
Maple/wenge and not bubinga? Are the dark stripes the wenge then?
Yes, I hope so... right now, the only new thing I can do is play damn low, muddy-sounding runs... biggrin.gif

Ok, EQ777, since you've had a 7-string the longest amongst the 3 of us jokers here, what's a cool/brutal 7-string technique that you've learned so far?
Aiyah... Rusty Cooley no need to bother lah... DT also cannot play! and Korn, maybe Valkyrie can lah with his K7, I ain't got the tuning for it... tongue.gif

[/quote]

when you get the dual X2N's remember to call me! i wanna try it out. . . it'll look killer tho. . . bloody polepieces look damn macho xD

yea. . . i guess the 2 black stripes are the wenge. . . and low muddy runs make you play better. . . after you change pup your muddy runs will sound like a charm!

well honestly the 7 string doesnt make things harder but instead makes playing far easier. . .
a thing i noticed is scale runs have less movement. . . for example playing a G Aeolian mode with a 6 string requires me to start from the 3rd fret of the 6th to the 15th th fret of the 1st. . . with the 7 i just start at the 8th fret of the 7th string and move to the 15th of the 1st. . . this gives economy in doing long scalular runs. . .

anoter fun thing is you can have more octaves when playin appregios. . . try out those cool extended appregios from the 7 - 1st string. . . sounds bloody cool. . .

and if you play jazz you can play alot of new chords which previously with your 6 is near impossible to play. . . the 7 opens up countless possibilities in your playing and changes the way you approach your guitar. . .

what i recommend is that you restructure your playing again. . . try approaching the 7 like a beginner. . . it helps in preventing you from playing the same ol 6 string licks you used to play. . . you will notice your choice for notes and chords will also change to suit the 6. . . learn the new scale positions. . . ( not much to learn since its only an additional string which emulates the high B)

and you can just learn the song but play the Korn song with std tuning =)

[quote=Everdying,Apr 5 2007, 08:15 PM]

[/quote]

7 strings have tunign stability problems. . . even mine has problems when i play Vai tunes where i spam the whammy bar. . . the bar can't seem to go back to its original tension thus loss of tuning. . .

Std tuning are much favoured by 7 string users as most of them 7 slingers tend to play picking and heavy riffs instead of whammy bar tricks. . . even i hardly use my whammy bar for my 7 string. . . so yea it's more of like a + thing to have the bar there. . .

[quote=RustReaver4D1,Apr 5 2007, 08:17 PM]
Actually yeah... I think teh 7-string gio has been discontinued. A 2nd-hand RG732x would be a better deal, it's MIK I think.

[/quote]

the problem is it's so hard to find one . . . lolz been trying to get one to play dropped tunings and stuff. . . but nvr able to find one around here. . .

[quote=Everdying,Apr 5 2007, 08:18 PM]
the only 7-string that i want, if i manage to find it, is the epi LP standard.
they made a version about 5-6yrs ago.

[/quote]

i've seen that. . . ebay was selling the epiphone version a year or 2 back when i was looking for alternative7 strings. . . try lookin around for it. . . i'm sure you'll be able to get it =D
RustReaver4D1
post Apr 5 2007, 08:50 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Apr 5 2007, 08:36 PM)
well honestly the 7 string doesnt make things harder but instead makes playing far easier. . .
a thing i noticed is scale runs have less movement. . . for example playing a G Aeolian mode with a 6 string requires me to start from the 3rd fret of the 6th to the 15th th fret of the 1st. . . with the 7 i just start at the 8th fret of the 7th string and move to the 15th of the 1st. . . this gives economy in doing long scalular runs. . .

anoter fun thing is you can have more octaves when playin appregios. . . try out those cool extended appregios from the 7 - 1st string. . . sounds bloody cool. . .
Yeah, you're right about the scale runs and more economy... although I'm still getting used to the pattern... If I start from the low B, I usually get confused at the A and D strings - my D aeolian will suddenly become like E aeolian for a while until I hit the G string and get my bearings right again... rclxub.gif

Haven't gotten around to learning 7-string arpeggios... though I'm guessing it'll be pretty fun to be able to hit like 3 octaves in one position! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Apr 5 2007, 08:51 PM
valkyrie1232
post Apr 5 2007, 09:16 PM

721 posts

Ala...6 string arpeggios pun i wanna die oredi... tongue.gif
Gotta start slow man...probably learn how to manipulate chords and riffs first.

Thanks for your advice, EQ777! You da man! cool2.gif

TSEquilibrium777
post Apr 5 2007, 10:59 PM

1,228 posts

QUOTE(RustReaver4D1 @ Apr 5 2007, 08:50 PM)
Yeah, you're right about the scale runs and more economy... although I'm still getting used to the pattern... If I start from the low B, I usually get confused at the A and D strings - my D aeolian will suddenly become like E aeolian for a while until I hit the G string and get my bearings right again...  rclxub.gif

Haven't gotten around to learning 7-string arpeggios... though I'm guessing it'll be pretty fun to be able to hit like 3 octaves in one position!  laugh.gif
it's a matter of getting used to. . . once you get the hang of it you'll be flying in no time. . . a good way to learn it is to actually only the 6 and 7 strings of the modes and then when you can remember that connect them together with how you would do with a normal 6. . .

yea. . .fun but bloody tedious lolz. . . damn stress to play. . . and alot of legato . . .

QUOTE(valkyrie1232 @ Apr 5 2007, 09:16 PM)
Ala...6 string arpeggios pun i wanna die oredi...  tongue.gif
Gotta start slow man...probably learn how to manipulate chords and riffs first.

Thanks for your advice, EQ777! You da man!  cool2.gif
haha sureo r not? suddenly when i meet you, you go do some 7 string 24 fret runs shocking.gif

chords are definately easy if you play power chords. . . cause it still uses the same fingering as the 6th string. . . no difference whatsoever. . .

welcome. . . glad i can help. . . hope the 7 string community here will grow. . . if you know anyone who uses the 7 ask them come here biggrin.gif can talk about it

gapnap
post Apr 5 2007, 11:56 PM

1,782 posts

well..

if i get a 7 string guitar..

i think my gauge will be -8-8-11-14-22-30-38

i will have 2 08s string..is that possible ? tongue.gif

i can create a new technique called sweep double tapping.. biggrin.gif
valkyrie1232
post Apr 6 2007, 12:32 AM

721 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Apr 5 2007, 11:56 PM)

I thought you already did ! tongue.gif
TSEquilibrium777
post Apr 6 2007, 02:10 AM

1,228 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Apr 5 2007, 11:56 PM)
well..

if i get a 7 string guitar..

i think my gauge will be -8-8-11-14-22-30-38

i will have 2    08s string..is that possible ?  tongue.gif

i think that is possible. . . but the strings will either be too flabby or too stiff and breaks at the tension dependin on how you tune it. . . i wanted the High A instead of the Low B and the string broke when i strung it. . . wasted my $$$ =.=

QUOTE(valkyrie1232 @ Apr 6 2007, 12:32 AM)
I thought you already did !  tongue.gif
ZOMG! gapnap pro. . . wonder what happens when he really has a 7. . . 10 finger appregio taps with 12 fret stretches!!!

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Apr 6 2007, 09:57 AM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Apr 6 2007, 02:10 AM)
i think that is possible. . . but the strings will either be too flabby or too stiff and breaks at the tension dependin on how you tune it. . . i wanted the High A instead of the Low B and the string broke when i strung it. . . wasted my $$$ =.=
ZOMG! gapnap pro. . . wonder what happens when he really has a 7. . . 10 finger appregio taps with 12 fret stretches!!!

notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Hehe, if he had a 7 he'll probably do 12 finger arpeggio taps across 8 strings... laugh.gif whistling.gif notworthy.gif

148 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:13 AM