209 Pages « < 171 172 173 174 175 > » Bottom

LYN Official Honda CR-V (Gen5/Gen6) thread V1, Gen5 CRV is launched

Cavino
post Jan 13 2025, 03:44 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jan 13 2025, 10:17 AM)
thanks for the heads up. i am a more traditional wax and polish man.  not really into these ppf or coating. coz when one sell their old car, dealer won't give you extra for having ori paint also.  laugh.gif
The PPF are too expensive and have to be change after few years, I may as well save for repaint if needed. I am into car coating.

Wax and polish worked only for short while (a few washes, the wax protection will be gone). Polish just keep it shiny and that will be gone as well after a while. That means likely you will be driving around without the so-called paint protection after a few washes. Polish also remove a thin layer of paint every time while most coating especially ceramic coating generally don't. So the more you polish, the more layer of paint it took off.

Coating lasted much much longer than that and supposedly bond the coat into the surface of the paint giving it much longer shine (every time after wash car, the car will still looked like newly polished even after 6 months in terms of polish shine). Good ceramic coating will add a semi lasting layer on top of paint meaning those difficult to wash grime and black water drain lines and spots washed off easily like a newly wax car ever after months and a year. Any stain are likely more easily removed with coating on it, same with wax IF it is still there (which it won't after a few washes).

In general, you will likely coat once a year but have to wax and polish several times a year to maintain the same shine and protection. The fact that waxes wears off quite fast means you will be exposing the car (no wax protection) for sometime before your re-wax again. Also as mentioned, coat once, no paint damage, polish multiple times (if want to maintain that same all year long shine as coating), the paint will be worn thin after some years..

All my cars goes with annual coating....my oldest, 18 years, still shine like new. Paint won't look exactly like new, no way it will but since my olders cars are all bright silver, they still shine very satisfactory and wont feel "too" old to drive in. Hehehe.

And the satisfaction of seeing your old cars (that are till been actively driven everyday) still looks good and shiny especially after every wash is worth the price of annual coating and maintenance if you love to take good care of your vehicles like I did.

That is my own 2 cents to using coating instead of multiple wax and polishes. May be wrong or outdated if new polish don't take a thin layer of paint tho and latest wax tech don't wash off easily.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jan 13 2025, 03:56 PM
19 Degree South
post Jan 13 2025, 05:19 PM

1,682 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jan 13 2025, 03:44 PM)
The PPF are too expensive and have to be change after few years, I may as well save for repaint if needed. I am into car coating.

Wax and polish worked only for short while (a few washes, the wax protection will be gone). Polish just keep it shiny and that will be gone as well after a while. That means likely you will be driving around without the so-called paint protection after a few washes. Polish also remove a thin layer of paint every time while most coating especially ceramic coating generally don't. So the more you polish, the more layer of paint it took off.

Coating lasted much much longer than that and supposedly bond the coat into the surface of the paint giving it much longer shine (every time after wash car, the car will still looked like newly polished even after 6 months in terms of polish shine). Good ceramic coating will add a semi lasting layer on top of paint meaning those difficult to wash grime and black water drain lines and spots washed off easily like a newly wax car ever after months and a year. Any stain are likely more easily removed with coating on it, same with wax IF it is still there (which it won't after a few washes).

In general, you will likely coat once a year but have to wax and polish several times a year to maintain the same shine and protection. The fact that waxes wears off quite fast means you will be exposing the car (no wax protection) for sometime before your re-wax again. Also as mentioned, coat once, no paint damage, polish multiple times (if want to maintain that same all year long shine as coating), the paint will be worn thin after some years..

All my cars goes with annual coating....my oldest, 18 years, still shine like new. Paint won't look exactly like new, no way it will but since my olders cars are all bright silver, they still shine very satisfactory and wont feel "too" old to drive in. Hehehe.

And the satisfaction of seeing your old cars (that are till been actively driven everyday) still looks good and shiny especially after every wash is worth the price of annual coating and maintenance if you love to take good care of your vehicles like I did.

That is my own 2 cents to using coating instead of multiple wax and polishes. May be wrong or outdated if new polish don't take a thin  layer of paint tho and latest wax tech don't wash off easily.
good information ! thumbsup.gif coating is it expensive?
Cavino
post Jan 14 2025, 09:02 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jan 13 2025, 05:19 PM)
good information !  thumbsup.gif  coating is it expensive?
There are many car detailers out there using ceramic coating, can't comment which one is better.

Now, IMO, the coating materials are not as lasting as let's decade ago, they used to last at least a full year with full shine and water repellant but nowadays, the repellant features would wear off much much faster. Now if want to maintain tip top condition, 6 months will be better. I still do annual to keep within budget. The coating aka shine and easily wash of grime still worked....mostly for a year.

Normally the initial pricing of coating will scared off lots of ppl but over long term, it is actually cheaper than wax and polishing, IMO.

For eg. Initially application of coating and detailing inside/out will cost 2K+. That is very expensive vs wax and polish.

Some packages, give a so-called 5 years membership period. The first detailing are usually the hardest cost it started from your car having no coating and they have to remove/dim those minor scratches, etc.

The package can come with 2 free maintenance (these maintenance actually include reapplication of coating all over again and detailing inside your car like washing and cleaning cushion,etc). Normally I do once a year but the quality of coating is not like a decade ago. So some might go for 6 months maintenance.

So with annual maintenance, that means the 2K+ worked out for 3 years of annual coating and car internal detailing. Every year after that, you pay abt 500+ for annual coating and car detailing (internal and external).

I am assuming you will compare that to the price of detailer's polish and wax..(of course if you do polishing yourself, cannot compare price, can you compare a well made home made gun with a commercialized one....haha).

Anyway, I am not so sure what is rate of polishing and waxing package nowadays at detailers but I will be assuming it will average around RM 200 to 800 depending on car type. Now if you look from the perspective of coating protection that lasted from 6 months (outdoor) to a year (parked mostly indoor), the total cost of coating over 5 years are about 3.5K-4K for annual coating. These types of coating packaging usually comes with car internal detailing, dashboard polishing, car seat wash..

Now with commercial polishing averaging RM300 (you need to rewax about 3-4 months once to compare with coating shine and protection), that will cost about RM900 annual x 5 years. That is over 4K. Even if calculate RM200, that will be 3K...

For coating, we need to go once a year for detailing but you need to go 3 times a year for polishing (the time spend). The coating does not reduce on every wash but waxes do (generally). The maintenance package of coating already included car internal detailing but what about polishing package? Also the more times you polish, the thinner the layer of paint you get..

So if you looks from both financial, time management, all year round car shine and long term paint protection perspective, IMO, coating wins out in almost all perspective.

That is my 2 cents based on my management of 5 vehicles (ya....I took care of ALL my households cars, from 1 year old to 18 years old)...spend A LOT on maintenance but all tip top active running conditions both in engine AND car exterior looks.

Some might have differing opinions but that is how I experienced and feel so far. My coating understanding might be wrong tho...coz I feel the coating durability tech is not as lasting as previously (cost cutting, more profit margin!!!). Polishing and waxes tech might have improved but I already abandon that...so never bother to do more research on it....

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jan 14 2025, 10:02 AM
19 Degree South
post Jan 14 2025, 01:21 PM

1,682 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jan 14 2025, 09:02 AM)
There are many car detailers out there using ceramic coating, can't comment which one is better.

Now, IMO, the coating materials are not as lasting as let's decade ago, they used to last at least a full year with full shine and water repellant but nowadays, the repellant features would wear off much much faster. Now if want to maintain tip top condition, 6 months will be better. I still do annual to keep within budget. The coating aka shine and easily wash of grime still worked....mostly for a year.

Normally the initial pricing of coating will scared off lots of ppl but over long term, it is actually cheaper than wax and polishing, IMO.

For eg. Initially application of coating and detailing inside/out will cost 2K+. That is very expensive vs wax and polish.

Some packages, give a so-called 5 years membership period. The first detailing are usually the hardest cost it started from your car having no coating and they have to remove/dim those minor scratches, etc.

The package can come with 2 free maintenance (these maintenance actually include reapplication of coating all over again and detailing inside your car like washing and cleaning cushion,etc). Normally I do once a year but the quality of coating is not like a decade ago. So some might go for 6 months maintenance.

So with annual maintenance, that means the 2K+ worked out for 3 years of annual coating and car internal detailing. Every year after that, you pay abt 500+ for annual coating and car detailing (internal and external).

I am assuming you will compare that to the price of detailer's polish and wax..(of course if you do polishing yourself, cannot compare price, can you compare a well made home made gun with a commercialized one....haha).

Anyway, I am not so sure what is rate of polishing and waxing package nowadays at detailers but I will be assuming it will average around RM 200 to 800 depending on car type. Now if you look from the perspective of coating protection that lasted from 6 months (outdoor) to a year (parked mostly indoor), the total cost of coating over 5 years are about 3.5K-4K for annual coating. These types of coating packaging usually comes with car internal detailing, dashboard polishing, car seat wash..

Now with commercial polishing averaging RM300 (you need to rewax about 3-4 months once to compare with coating shine and protection), that will cost about RM900 annual x 5 years. That is over 4K. Even if calculate RM200, that will be 3K...

For coating, we need to go once a year for detailing but you need to go 3 times a year for polishing (the time spend). The coating does not reduce on every wash but waxes do (generally). The maintenance package of coating already included car internal detailing but what about polishing package? Also the more times you polish, the thinner the layer of paint you get..

So if you looks from both financial, time management, all year round car shine and long term paint protection perspective, IMO, coating wins out in almost all perspective.

That is my 2 cents based on my management of 5 vehicles (ya....I took care of ALL my households cars, from 1 year old to 18 years old)...spend A LOT on maintenance but all tip top active running conditions both in engine AND car exterior looks.

Some might have differing opinions but that is how I experienced and feel so far. My coating understanding might be wrong tho...coz I feel the coating durability tech is not as lasting as previously (cost cutting, more profit margin!!!). Polishing and waxes tech might have improved but I already abandon that...so never bother to do more research on it....
Good write up from you bro. kudos. learned something new.

KingArthurVI
post Jan 14 2025, 05:26 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,127 posts

Hnggghhh more huat promos now

ayamxxx
post Jan 14 2025, 11:38 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Jan 14 2025, 05:26 PM)
Hnggghhh more huat promos now

Need to ask few SA and sure they can put this HM rebates + SA rebates. Just as last time when Civic FE got rm25k rebates

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Jan 14 2025, 11:39 PM
MegaThroned
post Jan 15 2025, 12:09 PM

139 posts

I just collected my crv rs last saturday. Just curious about the battery level. Why is it never fully charged? Always around half bar or below that.

This post has been edited by MegaThroned: Jan 15 2025, 12:09 PM
KingArthurVI
post Jan 15 2025, 01:38 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,127 posts

QUOTE(MegaThroned @ Jan 15 2025, 12:09 PM)
I just collected my crv rs last saturday. Just curious about the battery level. Why is it never fully charged? Always around half bar or below that.
It's normal. Imagine if it's always fully charged, that means your engine needs to be running all the time to keep it charged, which burns fuel unnecessarily. It's a very small battery (around 1.0kWh unlike EVs with 50++ kWh up to 100kWh batteries). The goal of the hybrid battery is to recuperate energy as you cruise or go downhill, or brake, etc., so that you can use up the battery when you idle at traffic light, or it can provide extra torque boost as you get up to speed from a state of rest.

As long as your fuel economy is about 13–20km/L you're driving the hybrid right. My old Civic FC averaged 8km/L in the city lol but in the CR-V RS I can do 20km/L if I'm careful and use the paddles to regenerate the battery, and the CR-V is so much bigger and heavier too if you think about it. For it to achieve a smooth acceleration without needing engine to spool up is such an experience.

This post has been edited by KingArthurVI: Jan 15 2025, 01:39 PM
touristking
post Jan 15 2025, 02:57 PM

5,831 posts

Checking. How many of the new CRV owner already has their steering rack fixed?
19 Degree South
post Jan 15 2025, 05:14 PM

1,682 posts

QUOTE(MegaThroned @ Jan 15 2025, 12:09 PM)
congrats bro! may i know which brand of tinting you have on your car?
MegaThroned
post Jan 16 2025, 11:30 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jan 15 2025, 05:14 PM)
congrats bro! may i know which brand of tinting you have on your car?
They use Bellfort brand for tinted, with 20% vlt. Honda handled everything including ppf coating when I collected the car.
MegaThroned
post Jan 16 2025, 11:35 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Jan 15 2025, 01:38 PM)
It's normal. Imagine if it's always fully charged, that means your engine needs to be running all the time to keep it charged, which burns fuel unnecessarily. It's a very small battery (around 1.0kWh unlike EVs with 50++ kWh up to 100kWh batteries). The goal of the hybrid battery is to recuperate energy as you cruise or go downhill, or brake, etc., so that you can use up the battery when you idle at traffic light, or it can provide extra torque boost as you get up to speed from a state of rest.

As long as your fuel economy is about 13–20km/L you're driving the hybrid right. My old Civic FC averaged 8km/L in the city lol but in the CR-V RS I can do 20km/L if I'm careful and use the paddles to regenerate the battery, and the CR-V is so much bigger and heavier too if you think about it. For it to achieve a smooth acceleration without needing engine to spool up is such an experience.
Glad to hear that. My current fuel economy is 17km/L. Use econ and normal mode most of the time.

touristking
post Jan 16 2025, 11:44 AM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Jan 15 2025, 06:38 AM)
My CRV in town is about 8km/L. So may be you are more heavy footed or the 1.5L Turbo is now more efficient.

19 Degree South
post Jan 16 2025, 12:03 PM

1,682 posts

QUOTE(MegaThroned @ Jan 16 2025, 11:30 AM)
They use Bellfort brand for tinted, with 20% vlt. Honda handled everything including ppf coating when I collected the car.
Nice! I just collected my car this morning. Tinting not done yet! Even my trapo floor mat is not ready for collection. Lol
MegaThroned
post Jan 16 2025, 02:17 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jan 16 2025, 12:03 PM)
Nice! I just collected my car this morning. Tinting not done yet! Even my trapo floor mat is not ready for collection. Lol
I can totally feel the excitement! It’s such an amazing car to drive.
No regret. Enjoy your new car.

Old1030
post Jan 16 2025, 02:29 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Jan 16 2025, 11:44 AM)
My CRV in town is about 8km/L. So may be you are more heavy footed or the 1.5L Turbo is now more efficient.
My CRV Turbo getting
15.5 Highway, maintain 110 max 130
12 City Drive, stop and go from Cyberjaya to Mont Kiara, & Mont Kiara to Meru
KingArthurVI
post Jan 16 2025, 03:38 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,127 posts

Haha definitely more heavy footed when I was younger driving a Civic... sikit2 tekan already tongue.gif
19 Degree South
post Jan 17 2025, 07:56 PM

1,682 posts

QUOTE(MegaThroned @ Jan 16 2025, 02:17 PM)
I can totally feel the excitement! It’s such an amazing car to drive.
No regret. Enjoy your new car.
yeah bro.the drive is really smooth. still trying to get use to the 360 camera. laugh.gif
19 Degree South
post Jan 18 2025, 11:21 AM

1,682 posts

The bose sounds system is a let down! full tank city drive of 93km yesterday and it shows can go further 681km. good or bad? saw like 13.1 FC.

This post has been edited by 19 Degree South: Jan 18 2025, 11:22 AM
ayamxxx
post Jan 18 2025, 12:22 PM

4,061 posts

U terbalik for km/l vs L/100km?

209 Pages « < 171 172 173 174 175 > » Top

0.0240sec    1.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:25 PM