209 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Bottom

LYN Official Honda CR-V (Gen5/Gen6) thread V1, Gen5 CRV is launched

Yellow lemon
post Dec 28 2017, 09:32 AM

165 posts

Lousy SA or not.. As the car owner/primary driver, you are still responsible for reading the included manual. Take a couple hours off, grab the manual and learn stuffs about your car. I do hope you at least know the exact points to properly position the jack, in order to swap out a tire... tongue.gif
AA isn't officially supported with Smartphones in Malaysia yet.. Thank almighty Google for that.. So you have to install it from third party sources like APK Mirror... If your device is compatible, then it should work with minimal fuss..

[/quote]

Im not a new car driver lah bro, changing tyres all these small matter sure know. thumbsup.gif
only not so sure for some new tech features about this car, as it is not common for many types of car also.

hey hey, by the way thanks for sharing the Apps tips.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Yellow lemon: Dec 28 2017, 09:33 AM
Henry T
post Dec 28 2017, 10:48 AM

Having driven the Mazda CX5 2.5L I can say the CR-V 2.0's suspension is soft with very prominent body roll by comparison. Quick steering inputs easily unsettles the car. You can go fast on a straight road but you can't drive like the Mazda on a twisty road.

I wonder if the CR-V 1.5 TC's suspension is a little stiffer compared to the 2.0's?
ftan
post Dec 28 2017, 10:48 AM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Bigblock @ Dec 28 2017, 03:00 AM)
Hi guys, hows the CRV build quality and known issues so far? I did look through this thread of known issues. Are they slowly getting ironed out? Interested on a 1.5 TCP for my parents to purchase they are 60 y/o. Any good SA based in KL/Shah Alam?
So far the car seems solid. I’m still observing since my car is less than a week old.

I noticed a few micro scratches on the plastic tray in the compartment next to the driver side. It could be from the keys I happen to put there. I should put something like a cloth to cover its base.
Henry T
post Dec 28 2017, 10:51 AM

QUOTE(ftan @ Dec 28 2017, 10:48 AM)
So far the car seems solid. I’m still observing since my car is less than a week old.

I noticed a few micro scratches on the plastic tray in the compartment next to the driver side. It could be from the keys I happen to put there. I should put something like a cloth to cover its base.
There is one deep crescent shape scratch and many minor scratches on the plastic screen of my speedometer. Lousy QC. dry.gif

Yellow lemon
post Dec 28 2017, 12:22 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(Bigblock @ Dec 28 2017, 03:00 AM)
Hi guys, hows the CRV build quality and known issues so far? I did look through this thread of known issues. Are they slowly getting ironed out? Interested on a 1.5 TCP for my parents to purchase they are 60 y/o. Any good SA based in KL/Shah Alam?
CRV build quality is good, so far driven almost 1000km. no issue.
if you consider buying a car for 60/yo, you can also consider Xtrail, i find X trail seat is more comfortable.
Ivan_T
post Dec 28 2017, 01:55 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(Henry T @ Dec 28 2017, 10:48 AM)
Having driven the Mazda CX5 2.5L I can say the CR-V 2.0's suspension is soft with very prominent body roll by comparison. Quick steering inputs easily unsettles the car. You can go fast on a straight road but you can't drive like the Mazda on a twisty road.

I wonder if the CR-V 1.5 TC's suspension is a little stiffer compared to the 2.0's?
For the 1.5TCP that I have test driven, the body roll is quite acceptable for a CRV at this size and definitely better than the previous CRV. Not sure if CRV 2.0 suspension tuning is different or not and if the 17" wheel makes a different.

Having driven the CRV, CX5, Xtrail and Forester, none can match the Forester in this area, the boxer symetrical engine and AWD simply excellent in cornering.

QUOTE(Yellow lemon @ Dec 28 2017, 12:22 PM)
if you consider buying a car for 60/yo, you can also consider Xtrail, i find X trail seat is more comfortable.
Yes, the seat comfort was my 1st complaint to the SA. I used to get back pain for long distance drive on my Civic, was hoping the CRV seats to be much better but disappointed.
Eyuna3
post Dec 28 2017, 03:07 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Ivan_T @ Dec 28 2017, 01:55 PM)
For the 1.5TCP that I have test driven, the body roll is quite acceptable for a CRV at this size and definitely better than the previous CRV. Not sure if CRV 2.0 suspension tuning is different or not and if the 17" wheel makes a different.

Having driven the CRV, CX5, Xtrail and Forester, none can match the Forester in this area, the boxer symetrical engine and AWD simply excellent in cornering.
Yes, the seat comfort was my 1st complaint to the SA. I used to get back pain for long distance drive on my Civic, was hoping the CRV seats to be much better but disappointed.
no worries about comfort of seat. definitely better than camry and a250 base on my experience.
Yellow lemon
post Dec 28 2017, 04:01 PM

165 posts

Another sharing, HRV is not bad for old people as the height to walk in the car is very comfortable for old people.
quite a roomy car too.
only the back seat is a bit bumby, if only 2 of them, i think you can put this in list too.
Bigblock
post Dec 28 2017, 04:07 PM

|| F(R)έǎжy ||
2,275 posts

QUOTE(ftan @ Dec 28 2017, 10:48 AM)
Yes comfort and ease of getting in and out of the car is a serious consideration for me relating to my parents. They do not travel very long distances but I need current owners help to ease a decision.
Reason I was thinking about the TCP is that the power boot option is very necessary as well as Honda sensing.
Also my budget maxes out at 180k hence i don't have more options for them. Will look into the x trail also but the CRV is on the top of my list.

CX5 was a good option and both the 2.0 and 2.5 had shitty brakes. No pun intended. Maybe it was just me.

Yellow lemon
post Dec 28 2017, 04:08 PM

165 posts

[/quote]

I used to have bad backpain due to constantly long distance driving, after i bought myself a pillow put at the lower back, problem solve smile.gif You may go to DAISO to get those car seat back support Rm5.90 only. its really Help. After change to this CRV, the seat come with lower back support.

Attached image(s)
ftan
post Dec 28 2017, 05:57 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Henry T @ Dec 28 2017, 10:51 AM)
There is one deep crescent shape scratch and many minor scratches on the plastic screen of my speedometer. Lousy QC.  dry.gif
So fast got scratch on the speedometer screen. sad.gif

I’ve put a small cloth on the plastic tray first to prevent further scratches. I’m looking for some flannel or material which will fit. On the positive note, I’m happy with the storage space there where I can put keys, HP, handbag, tags, etc.

QUOTE(Eyuna3 @ Dec 28 2017, 03:07 PM)
no worries about comfort of seat. definitely better than camry and a250 base on my experience.
I found the driver seat is quite comfortable. Supports my back well enough.

QUOTE(Bigblock @ Dec 28 2017, 04:07 PM)
Yes comfort and ease of getting in and out of the car is a serious consideration for me relating to my parents. They do not travel very long distances but I need current owners help to ease a decision.
Reason I was thinking about the TCP is that the power boot option is very necessary as well as Honda sensing.
Also my budget maxes out at 180k hence i don't have more options for them. Will look into the x trail also but the CRV is on the top of my list.

CX5 was a good option and both the 2.0 and 2.5 had shitty brakes. No pun intended. Maybe it was just me.
For elderly drivers, then the Honda sensing would my top criteria. I knew two separate accidents by senior citizens (yeah, I know them) this year which could have been avoided. Luckily, no one got hurt.

Did your parents find getting in and out of the crv ok? I thought it was quite high for my mom. I considered installing the running board but the Honda package is expensive and doing outside will void warranty. I shelved the idea for now.

Henry T
post Dec 28 2017, 06:16 PM

QUOTE(ftan @ Dec 28 2017, 05:57 PM)
So fast got scratch on the speedometer screen. sad.gif
The scratches are already there when I received the car.

I will make a complaint but I wouldn't want them to replace it at the risk of them breaking something in the process.

Bigblock
post Dec 28 2017, 07:38 PM

|| F(R)έǎжy ||
2,275 posts

QUOTE(ftan @ Dec 28 2017, 05:57 PM)
For elderly drivers, then the Honda sensing would my top criteria. I knew two separate accidents by senior citizens (yeah, I know them) this year which could have been avoided. Luckily, no one got hurt.
Did your parents find getting in and out of the crv ok? I thought it was quite high for my mom. I considered installing the running board but the Honda package is expensive and doing outside will void warranty. I shelved the idea for now.
Same here, mom has issues with height but the test drive car has the running board installed hence it was not a hassle. And does it render useless during rainy days? But parents seem to prefer a higher car then a lower sedan as getting out seems easier. According to Honda website the running board alone is priced at RM 2620
Too much to think about when concerning parents. Even the simplest things become a necessity.

This post has been edited by Bigblock: Dec 28 2017, 07:47 PM
ftan
post Dec 28 2017, 08:34 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Henry T @ Dec 28 2017, 06:16 PM)

I will make a complaint but I wouldn't want them to replace it at the risk of them breaking something in the process.
Oic. Yeah, there is always a risk other things can be spoilt.

QUOTE(Bigblock @ Dec 28 2017, 07:38 PM)
Same here, mom has issues with height but the test drive car has the running board installed hence it was not a hassle. And does it render useless during rainy days? But parents seem to prefer a higher car then a lower sedan as getting out seems easier. According to Honda website the running board alone is priced at RM 2620
Too much to think about when concerning parents. Even the simplest things become a necessity.
Agree. Higher car is much easier for old ppl to get out by just sliding out. I guess you can consider getting the running board for them to alight into the the car. It’s still within your budget. smile.gif

Snoopycute98
post Dec 28 2017, 10:18 PM

407 posts

Hi. Am using a Honda CR-V RD1 JDM 1999 B20B 148HP and has oxygen sensor problem.

Where shoud I get one?

Only 1 oxygen sensor I saw in my car, before the CAT.

Not upstream and downstream model. Thanks.

This post has been edited by Snoopycute98: Dec 28 2017, 10:18 PM
ftan
post Dec 29 2017, 07:42 AM

2,532 posts

Good morning, all. smile.gif

Xtrail looks is quite nice. But I removed from my list due to two airbags only and the price about the same as crv.

QUOTE(Yellow lemon @ Dec 28 2017, 04:01 PM)
Another sharing, HRV is not bad for old people as the height to walk in the car is very comfortable for old people.
quite a roomy car too.
only the back seat is a bit bumby, if only 2 of them, i think you can put this in list too.
Agree on the hrv height. My col who bought the hrv also complained it is quite bumpy. Discarded the hrv from my list just because I liked the crv better. laugh.gif

Nevertheless, I’d be keen to know what’s the hrv facelift features for 2018.
Honto
post Dec 29 2017, 08:34 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(ftan @ Dec 29 2017, 07:42 AM)
Good morning, all. smile.gif
Xtrail looks is quite nice. But I removed from my list due to two airbags only and the price about the same as crv.
Agree on the hrv height. My col who bought the hrv also complained it is quite bumpy. Discarded the hrv from my list just because I liked the crv better.  laugh.gif

Nevertheless, I’d be keen to know what’s the hrv facelift features for 2018.
For the hrv if u replace softer tire like Michelin can make it less bumpy. Heard that facelift hrv come with sensing package.
Neo_Y
post Dec 29 2017, 11:29 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(Henry T @ Dec 28 2017, 06:16 PM)

Acrylic plastic used on the speedo lens normally come with some hairline scratches if you observe it with certain angle (with direct sunlight or any others light sources).

Unfortunately the CRV speedometer plastic lens is tilted up awkwardly so those fine-line scratches are quite obvious sometime, especially under direct sunlight.

I do agreed your decision to not replace it, since they might need to first remove the steering wheel, steering column, under and middle dashboard or so.

In the other hand, you may find some plastic polish product like Meguiars Plastx to get rid of the particular big scratches you mentioned. Do bare in mind, it does polish away the scratches, you won't be seeing the scratch anymore, but it also create even more hairline swirl mark upon the lens. Swirl mark are invisible to bare eyes, unless one observe with direct light source. The choice is yours, cheer.
ftan
post Dec 29 2017, 01:26 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Honto @ Dec 29 2017, 08:34 AM)
For the hrv if u replace softer tire like Michelin can make it less bumpy. Heard that facelift hrv come with sensing package.
If it comes with the Honda sensing package and the price is ok, I will consider as a second car. biggrin.gif
ftan
post Dec 30 2017, 02:54 PM

2,532 posts

I got the dvr installed from Sh@rty. It was fairly quick installation from him. Thanks, ya. smile.gif
The suction holder occasionally is making a bit of squeaky noise but I will try to adjust later.

I drove further to other areas mostly on the highway. The engine is quiet and there is no dashboard or steering wheel vibration. There is still some tyre noise and the wind noise during cloudy/rainy time.

My speed is around 90-110kmh. Average fc is 11.7 km/l as shown on the display. Is that ok?

Another thing, I find I’m reluctant to change from D to N during traffic light stops. I always do that out of habit for other cars. Maybe coz the gear located in a higher position and I’m still not used to it.

209 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0149sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:31 AM