LYN Official Honda CR-V (Gen5/Gen6) thread V1, Gen5 CRV is launched
Bigblock
Dec 28 2017, 03:00 AM
Hi guys, hows the CRV build quality and known issues so far? I did look through this thread of known issues. Are they slowly getting ironed out? Interested on a 1.5 TCP for my parents to purchase they are 60 y/o. Any good SA based in KL/Shah Alam?
This post has been edited by Bigblock: Dec 28 2017, 03:01 AM
Bigblock
Dec 28 2017, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(ftan @ Dec 28 2017, 10:48 AM) So far the car seems solid. I’m still observing since my car is less than a week old. I noticed a few micro scratches on the plastic tray in the compartment next to the driver side. It could be from the keys I happen to put there. I should put something like a cloth to cover its base. QUOTE(Yellow lemon @ Dec 28 2017, 12:22 PM) CRV build quality is good, so far driven almost 1000km. no issue. if you consider buying a car for 60/yo, you can also consider Xtrail, i find X trail seat is more comfortable. Yes comfort and ease of getting in and out of the car is a serious consideration for me relating to my parents. They do not travel very long distances but I need current owners help to ease a decision. Reason I was thinking about the TCP is that the power boot option is very necessary as well as Honda sensing. Also my budget maxes out at 180k hence i don't have more options for them. Will look into the x trail also but the CRV is on the top of my list. CX5 was a good option and both the 2.0 and 2.5 had shitty brakes. No pun intended. Maybe it was just me.
Bigblock
Dec 28 2017, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(ftan @ Dec 28 2017, 05:57 PM) For elderly drivers, then the Honda sensing would my top criteria. I knew two separate accidents by senior citizens (yeah, I know them) this year which could have been avoided. Luckily, no one got hurt. Did your parents find getting in and out of the crv ok? I thought it was quite high for my mom. I considered installing the running board but the Honda package is expensive and doing outside will void warranty. I shelved the idea for now. Same here, mom has issues with height but the test drive car has the running board installed hence it was not a hassle. And does it render useless during rainy days? But parents seem to prefer a higher car then a lower sedan as getting out seems easier. According to Honda website the running board alone is priced at RM 2620 Too much to think about when concerning parents. Even the simplest things become a necessity. This post has been edited by Bigblock: Dec 28 2017, 07:47 PM
Bigblock
Jan 7 2018, 04:49 PM
How are the seats for G5 owners here? Its quite firm indeed
Bigblock
Jan 8 2018, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(ftan @ Jan 8 2018, 04:28 PM) I find the firm part (cushion like) behind my back is good. Supports my posture and it's quite comfortable. Have you decided on your car choice?  Just noticed the seats. Booked the crv 1.5TCP today. My mazda SA was not too happy tho. Still selling me the 2.2 diesel. In the end he did ask me to compare the CRV against the previous facelift CX5. WTH right QUOTE(Henry T @ Jan 8 2018, 11:44 AM) Firm is good. You don't want seats which you can sink into.  Was a tad firm but i hope its fine for long distance. Too spoilt for choice thats why This post has been edited by Bigblock: Jan 9 2018, 08:08 PM
Bigblock
Jan 9 2018, 05:36 PM
QUOTE(ftan @ Jan 9 2018, 01:01 PM) Congrats. When will you get the car? Hehe. Maybe he got nothing else to say since you already made up your mind. End of the day we make the call on what we feel comfortable. Thanks bro. Should receive end of the month according to SA
Bigblock
Jan 16 2018, 08:10 PM
A friend of mine told me its a bearing and knuckle problem. The issue exist but some SC are either pretending to be unaware. So half baked. I spoke to a technical guy and he also told HM wont do testing above 110km/h.
Bigblock
Feb 18 2018, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 17 2018, 11:36 PM) Problems, problems and more problems. Honda, just recall the car already. When i booked mine, I clearly asked them about the 140km/h above humming noise. Salesperson unaware, spoke to the sales tech guy and he denied the problem. Showed them the screenshots on FB still deny 10% cars effected. Bollocks not everyone knows the sound exist as NVH quite noticeable into interior. Cancelled and took the cx5. Imagine owner that is unsure and goes unnoticed, not everyone is active on FB too. Agree with you, HM needs to recall this car and regain some trust from existing owners
Bigblock
Feb 19 2018, 02:00 AM
QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 18 2018, 06:09 PM) Exactly.. It's only a fraction of the buyers who go and join FB groups, car forums, etc.. Normally, some say ignorance is bliss. That it's "normal" for CKD cars.. I've been told as much. But we aren't taking about a TV or Samsung's Note 7 battery here... A moving car is a mobile instrument of death, not just for the driver, but for the occupants and other vehicles. Come to think of it, why does it have to be normal for CKD and not for CBU? Why aren't the same standards set here too? It's not like our cars are cheaper or that we have lemon laws. Anyways, this is Malaysia..I reckon HM will either quietly figure out the problems and fix as the reports come in or someone (god forbid) eventually gets into a fatal accident as a result of the overlooked manufacturing defect. As we know, then only the authorities will all come out and claim that they have the public's interests at heart. I've read at least 2 cases where the car suddenly seized up in motion.. alerts everywhere.. I shudder to imagine such a system freeze happening at high speeds on a winding road. For now, guess we have to trust them when they say they are gathering intel of all the issues first. Don't know what else can be done at this time. Completely comprehend your words, We are handicapped without lemon law's. I wish the current owners would be able to find a way out, cars must serve us and not the other way round. Nothing is perfect and we make our choices. Just not refined to be honest. No pun intended