8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Condo investment, How long to hold

SUShioniq
post Jul 7 2017, 12:37 PM, updated 6y ago

132 posts

Invested in one condo and collected the key recently, my main purpose to flip for quick cash but unfortunately market is bad and hardly to sell now to make profit.

So in your opinion how long do I need to hold it before I can sell it off with handsome profit? The condo is epic residence bukit puchong, studio unit 624sf.
SUStikaram
post Jul 7 2017, 12:44 PM

10,722 posts

QUOTE(hioniq @ Jul 7 2017, 01:37 PM)
Invested in one condo and collected the key recently, my main purpose to flip for quick cash but unfortunately market is bad and hardly to sell now to make profit.

So in your opinion how long do I need to hold it before I can sell it off with handsome profit? The condo is epic residence bukit puchong, studio unit 624sf.
Lower down profit by 20% maybe can sell within 1 year
SUShioniq
post Jul 7 2017, 12:50 PM

132 posts

Tough life, loan + maint fee 2k for this condo yet hv to serve car loan or existing house loan. Must tighten the belt every month
David_77
post Jul 7 2017, 12:51 PM

In a hurry to make up for lost time!
2,396 posts

If total rental can cover, say 70%-80% of yearly commitments (i.e installments, management fee, estimated repair etc), maybe can keep for at least 5 years?

Anyway, that is my plan.
Fortezan
post Jul 7 2017, 01:02 PM

473 posts

How much do you plan to sell? What is your definition of handsome profit?
SUShioniq
post Jul 7 2017, 01:12 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(Fortezan @ Jul 7 2017, 01:02 PM)
How much do you plan to sell? What is your definition of handsome profit?
About 100k gain is handsome. Bought at 373k and target sell it arnd 450k. But I knew it is impossible now as still many left over developer units, so I can only hold for now. No plan to rent as I dun wan the hassle of managing tenant.
AskarPerang
post Jul 7 2017, 01:49 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

wah if you dont plan to rent then you should buy a landed property and hold.

anyway, can see agent start posting rental for studio RM1100. probably with minimal furnishings.
x132755
post Jul 7 2017, 01:56 PM

How To Own A Property Without Spending Your Money? Got 1 Way....
13,313 posts

After 5 yr good timing
twincharger07
post Jul 7 2017, 01:58 PM

4,788 posts

Either rent it out to minimize lossses (although it will be negative cash flow)

Or sell it off to at least breakeven

The next cycle of prop booming will take some time given the average income is not growing fast..

There are still chances to grow if the location is upcoming with future amenities, not sure about Bukit Puchong
x132755
post Jul 7 2017, 02:01 PM

How To Own A Property Without Spending Your Money? Got 1 Way....
13,313 posts

Rent it out asap.
Cover more than half is good now
Nikmon
post Jul 7 2017, 02:01 PM

1,780 posts

Nobody have the crystal ball to predict the future lah, but wise man say the longer you hold, the higher return you can get, property price will only go up base on history, property price is resilience bad economy and financil crisis, no worry....haha
lamode
post Jul 7 2017, 02:05 PM

anything could happen!
3,902 posts

QUOTE(hioniq @ Jul 7 2017, 01:12 PM)
About 100k gain is handsome. Bought at 373k and target sell it arnd 450k. But I knew it is impossible now as still many left over developer units, so I can only hold for now. No plan to rent as I dun wan the hassle of managing tenant.
what's the net price after discount from dev for same type?
I sold my both soho units about 10% below their price in CBJ last year, found buyers within 3 mths from VP.
my rational is that if it is not performing well, then ditch it asap, save the opportunity cost.

This post has been edited by lamode: Jul 7 2017, 02:07 PM
Donald Trump
post Jul 7 2017, 02:06 PM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(hioniq @ Jul 7 2017, 12:50 PM)
Tough life, loan + maint fee 2k for this condo yet hv to serve car loan or existing house loan. Must tighten the belt every month
haha....u r very right ....tough life
so when mkt gd u see people with properties most people so hot and so keen....so when market down is all the way tough life....very few people will want to have this kind of life...what is the point...life is to enjoy
aaron1717
post Jul 7 2017, 02:07 PM

Chui Shui in Property Manyak Best!
10,188 posts

rent it out for around 1300 and wait for developer units to clear out.... otherwise sell at no gain no loss (inclusive of your expenses)..... handsome profit... u bought ur hse to flip at wrong time bro... towards the end of property bull run... lol
HELLO HELLO
post Jul 7 2017, 02:08 PM

5,436 posts

Oh... epic jialat susah. I pigi survey the place And surrounding Liao. Impossible to flip. Developer sell Premium price tag from start. Go for cheap rental first to hold as long as you can until bull run again.

This post has been edited by HELLO HELLO: Jul 7 2017, 02:09 PM
mafa2801
post Jul 7 2017, 02:38 PM

765 posts

u can still try...
Allow buyers to markup loan to minimize their deposit. (most of buyers fell for this)
and if prop is less than 5 yrs, dont 4get to pay RPGT. good luck!
BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 7 2017, 02:42 PM

20,146 posts

TS you obviously missed out the entire (hidden) chapter of property investment.......

1. Not all properties will make u money, lets along handsome profit
2. Locationx3
3. One bedder in non commercial area

Good luck. Please join the queue of many investors to cut losses.
HarpArtist
post Jul 7 2017, 02:51 PM

3,838 posts

buy condo but dont want to rent?? why not buy land

This post has been edited by HarpArtist: Jul 7 2017, 02:51 PM
SUShioniq
post Jul 7 2017, 02:54 PM

132 posts

I got 5% rebate only and hv to serve interest. But developer gave better offer after with 10% rebate. Lucky the developer can deliver ahead of schedule and save us some interest. But the price quite steep and very hard to sell now.

Now I get tied up with this condo already and pray hard my job will be stable. Else once I lose my job I will bankrupt immediately.
BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 7 2017, 02:55 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(HarpArtist @ Jul 7 2017, 02:51 PM)
buy condo but dont want to rent?? why not buy land
His intention is to flip roti canai and pocket 100k...

Like many of his friends did before him.

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0211sec    1.07    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:31 AM