Condo investment, How long to hold

SUShioniq
post Jul 7 2017, 12:37 PM, updated 6y ago

132 posts

Invested in one condo and collected the key recently, my main purpose to flip for quick cash but unfortunately market is bad and hardly to sell now to make profit.

So in your opinion how long do I need to hold it before I can sell it off with handsome profit? The condo is epic residence bukit puchong, studio unit 624sf.
SUShioniq
post Jul 7 2017, 12:50 PM

132 posts

Tough life, loan + maint fee 2k for this condo yet hv to serve car loan or existing house loan. Must tighten the belt every month
SUShioniq
post Jul 7 2017, 01:12 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(Fortezan @ Jul 7 2017, 01:02 PM)
How much do you plan to sell? What is your definition of handsome profit?
About 100k gain is handsome. Bought at 373k and target sell it arnd 450k. But I knew it is impossible now as still many left over developer units, so I can only hold for now. No plan to rent as I dun wan the hassle of managing tenant.
SUShioniq
post Jul 7 2017, 02:54 PM

132 posts

I got 5% rebate only and hv to serve interest. But developer gave better offer after with 10% rebate. Lucky the developer can deliver ahead of schedule and save us some interest. But the price quite steep and very hard to sell now.

Now I get tied up with this condo already and pray hard my job will be stable. Else once I lose my job I will bankrupt immediately.
SUShioniq
post Jul 7 2017, 03:37 PM

132 posts

Many told me property make more money rather than put your money in bank - inflation, low interest, currency dropped, blabla. Hence I also try to invest and hope able to gain in next few years. For now just tighten the belt and patiently wait. Tropicana city studio also can fetch 600k plus, why cant my studio get 450k? Just time only and it is freehold so no worry to hold.
SUShioniq
post Jul 7 2017, 05:04 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(damonjun11 @ Jul 7 2017, 04:55 PM)
Assuming RM373k 30yrs loan @ 4.5% = 1 month 1.9k installment. Saw in another thread saying management fee is RM0.42. so one month need to bleed RM2100++ (RM1900 + RM262).

If wait 5 years and sell @ RM500k. RM373k + RM126k (5 years installment and not renting out). Congrats. You will earn Rm1k nett **meaningful profit**
Ur calculation so funny, 5 yrs serving loan the loan amount already reduced. So how can u deduct the loan amount 126k from selling price 500k?? No one can predict the future, just patiently wait for few more years. The nilam putri built by bujit hitam also fetch handsome profit in case you dun know
SUShioniq
post Jul 7 2017, 05:17 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(Nikmon @ Jul 7 2017, 05:11 PM)
are you in IT industry?? loan serving is part of expenses, need to deduct out to get the net profit...
I not in IT, I hv faith to my own investment. Only time can tell.
SUShioniq
post Jul 7 2017, 07:27 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(rizts @ Jul 7 2017, 06:15 PM)
Can fetch 450k ? Now even a new condo in jalan ampang is only selling studio at 299k.
You cant compare 10 to 20 yrs old apartment with brand new mid end condo. The facade is nice and build quality is fantastic. Some of your opinions are useful, but we shall see in next few years depending how bukit hitam to develop this area
SUShioniq
post Jul 7 2017, 10:30 PM

132 posts

Ok ok, thanks all for ur advices. For now I prefer to go there overnight once awhile and use the facilities like my personal hotel. Can take my own sweet time to slowly renovate it bit by bit to make it as second home.

You think it is bad location and low end condo, but I like it. If cant sell then I can continue serve loan till end and move there after retire.
SUShioniq
post Jul 8 2017, 04:42 PM

132 posts

Ok, still need some time. Need to fix defects first and install basic things like fan and light. If I can find good tenant then I will rent, no plan to use agent as I will post ad at mudah and bilik. Got friend rent using agent and faced lots of issues as tenant default payment and refuse to move out.
SUShioniq
post Jul 8 2017, 07:52 PM

132 posts

Agent only wants commission and wont care the quality of tenant. Hence I hv bad impression on agents
SUShioniq
post Jul 8 2017, 09:12 PM

132 posts

I already plan for the worst when I bought this condo, as long as I am working I will hv no issue. But if I jobless I hv to fire sale it
SUShioniq
post Jul 9 2017, 07:31 PM

132 posts

Now any new vp condo can make profit immediately? I dont find any as condo is over supply, so we can only rent and hold to wait property boom again
SUShioniq
post Jul 10 2017, 09:36 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(twincharger07 @ Jul 9 2017, 08:56 PM)
It depends what kind of expectation you have and then determine what kind of property to go for..

I gave you an example:

Regalia Jalan Sultan Ismail launch back in 2007 with 500sqft studio cost RM202k, fast forward today, it is selling RM450k with rental price around RM2000/month
It took 10 years to appreciate from RM202k to RM450k... Gain ~RM250k
Fantastic pool view

Saffron Sentul launch back in 2006 with 1000 sqft condo cost RM225k, fast forward today it is selling RM650k with rental price around RM2500 fully furnish
Pretty good gain over 10 years ~RM425k

Setia Walk Puchong (845sqft) launched back in 2009 with RM320k, today selling at RM500k.. Gain  ~ RM180k
Zest Kinrara 9 (1205 sqft) launch back in 2009 with RM250k, today selling at RM550k.. Gain ~RM300k

What is observed is that small unit like studio tend to appreciate much lesser than bigger units
Bigger units which around 1000sqft are more attracted to buyers who want to buy for own stay and own stay property tend to have better appreciation as home buyers are willing to pay for home that they are happy with.
Smaller units are usually bought by investors for renting purpose. Not many buy for own use. Good rental yield but they tend to appreciate much slower.

Another classic example is Casa Mutiara in Bukit Bintang.. the 300sqft studio subsale was selling RM200k 10years ago but only appreciated to RM330k today (only RM130k gain over 10 years in KL city). However, rental is pretty at RM2000 per month.

there are gems around Klang valley like Scott Garden 775sqft with RM400k subsale, rental about RM1800 and i think old klang road still have plenty of potential

Now is subsale market... New launch prices are daylight robbery this days..

Bukit Jalil is another area to watch out.. some subsales are gems.. catalyst like paradigm mall 2 and pavilion 2.. if we only go in after these 2 malls are completed, then it will be too late..

I don't go around new launch gallery these days but rather driving around the neighborhood and searching subsales online..

cheers..
Very nice info, thanks for the sharing. Since I already bought it so I can only try my best to rent out and hopefully to sell at good price in next few years.
SUShioniq
post Jul 12 2017, 02:06 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(Fortezan @ Jul 12 2017, 01:40 PM)
Bukit Puchong is not really in the middle of nowhere, it is an ideal location for those who work in Cyberjaya, Putrajaya, KLIA/KLIA2...etc Not everyone in Klang Valley works in the city centre, different areas have their different target markets
No worry there is still market there, persons working in bandar puteri or puchong jaya, teachers in han ming, sin ming or secondary schools. And you will never know ppl working in kl/pj might stay here also. The existing nilam puri and heron also have many tenants and they might consider move to epic residence as it is new. Anyhow I agree the market here is smaller but it is possible to rent out depending on your asking price and targeted tenant.
SUShioniq
post Jul 12 2017, 02:27 PM

132 posts

Rate quite low like 1k only, unless I find good tenant else I wont rent. The rental might not enough to recover for the damage done and I hv to put in effort to manage the tenant. Not worthy. For now I feel the best is for own use only
SUShioniq
post Jul 12 2017, 03:50 PM

132 posts

Yalor, o buy that time property price already rocket high. Kl and pj area I cant afford, only this bukit puchong within my budget and developer not bad. So now I left not much choice too. If I am rich I will buy kl or pj. Those areas like cheras, old klang road, shah alam, cj or putrajaya not my liking...
SUShioniq
post Jul 2 2020, 11:01 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(stchoong @ Jul 2 2020, 10:11 AM)
Wow, interesting story, i crawl through this 7 pages thread + kopitiam's 13 pages on TS's story.

Btw, hioniq, mind to share what's ur actual plan for now? Studio only selling for RM330K on iproperty, with negotiation probably down to 300K.
And rental seems unfavourable and u don't want to manage tenants

Kopitiam that post already off-topic discussion, so i ask & kepoh here.
Cont hold and fully settle the loan, reserve the condo for own use
SUShioniq
post Jul 2 2020, 01:07 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(stchoong @ Jul 2 2020, 11:52 AM)
Well, seems MCO did not affect ur job, so u r able to continue to pay for the next 10 20 30 years. Keep it up.

Anyway, if u have children, it wont be a good choice for own use too
Luckily no, my fund can sustain 30 months installments if loss job so no stress at all
SUShioniq
post Jul 2 2020, 01:56 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(JoeK @ Jul 2 2020, 01:40 PM)
already 3 years liao. at 2k per month, you already spent 72k just purely on holding the property only.  shocking.gif  shocking.gif

if want to sell, need to make sure your original price (373k) + your cost (72k) = 445k then only can breakeven  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
Impossible, if I can offload this I will buy landed with hoc20. But I think nearly zero hope, so just cont hold condo and build up cash pool

0.0150sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:34 PM