Studying In New Zealand, Come on, Share your Expereince

fantagero
post Jul 19 2008, 07:21 PM

[ToFish4RepliesLikeYours]
2,723 posts

WAhahhaha.. tips to live here.. especially in Christchurch

dont buy ur stuff in malaysia (laptop, hdd, digi cam. )
arrive here,, save a lil bit.. get a job, wait till super saturday in harvey norman.. heheh and save more tongue.gif

maybe not applies to everyone.. for me at least.. now regret edy buying laptop from malaysia

fantagero
post Jul 23 2008, 03:58 AM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Jul 20 2008, 09:46 AM)
And how many times  a year do you get Super Saturday?

Price aside, you have to admit, range in NZ is painfully limited compared to Asia.
but lol.. at least got la super saturday.. compare to the normal price which sometime pain in the ass... hahhaa..
yeap2.. it's limited.. damn.. i plan to build a desktop here..

QUOTE(Erroniouz @ Jul 22 2008, 02:20 PM)
I should say Masscom.

200k for everything. Phew~

Btw thanks haya.  biggrin.gif
masscom??? ehmm.. roughly, can i say uni of auckland???
not sure whether uoa offers this course..
try look on their web. coz i tried.. to many text rclxub.gif
maybe still early morning tongue.gif

what is 200k?? ur edu fees eyh?
fantagero
post Jul 24 2008, 07:38 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Jul 23 2008, 07:03 PM)
Probably Massey or Otago. Rent is very expensive in Auckland. rent in Dunedin (Otago) is about $110 (you have to pay for the whole year though, even the months you're not there) but heating and power bills will be the highest. Don't know rent and stuff in Palmerston North (Massey). 
Food comes to about the same, country-wide. Eating out is about a $1-2 cheaper in Dunedin, though. Again, don't know much about Palmy.
You won't need to spend on public transport in Dunedin. Everywhere you'd want to go is within walking distance. I hear transport isn't as issue in Palmy as well.

It doesn't mean much to some, but both Dunedin and Palmy are very student friendly. Unlike Auckland, which is really an ordinary city that happens to have 2 unis at its heart. Depends on what you want - city life or student town.

Between the 3 unis, Otago is considered slightly better, being one of the 4 major unis in NZ.
true2, otaga majority is student outside from otaga itself if i'm right..

hahah auckland.. true2 very city life..
i chose canterbury because enough already with city-like life in Uniten.. lol.. sure go shopping alot.. hahhaa
eventhough in christchurch kinnda the same.. but the lifestyle here not that busy.. plus.. got snow rclxm9.gif eventhough not for long sweat.gif
just to my kampung cent k..

plus in auckland, parking is very expensive.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by fantagero: Jul 24 2008, 07:40 PM
fantagero
post Jul 27 2008, 03:04 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Jul 25 2008, 08:16 AM)
It's OtagO. smile.gif Otago has about 75% of students coming from outside the Dunedin city limits. Note that Dunedin city itself is massive in terms of area, encompassing areas up to an hour's drive out of the city. The city itself is tiny, good for students and short term living, not ideal (at least IMO) for long term stay.

I think Canterbury is a pretty good choice. You escape from Auckland's traffic jams and but you get enough city life that you won't grow insane with boredom.

I think I somehow got brainwashed by the Kiwis into the 'hate Auckland' mentality. Funny, cos I'm living here now and come from busy busy busy KL.
sorry.. typo...

ehmm any of u guys know bout working during holiday..
it's like u are on holiday.. but permitted to work..
sounds great ...

fantagero
post Jul 28 2008, 06:11 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Jul 28 2008, 09:31 AM)
What do you want to know? You can work full-time during the holidays.
let say if my relative wanna holiday here for quite a long time.. can they apply for that???
is it hard to apply?? hassle-free??

i can work full time during holiday.. stated in the visa..

btw.. i'm sure many of u guys are permanent resident.. what's the qualification to apply for that ey??/

This post has been edited by fantagero: Jul 28 2008, 06:11 PM
fantagero
post Jul 29 2008, 07:34 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(huix @ Jul 28 2008, 09:33 PM)
to be applying pr in nz, there is a few ways. 1. refugee.... 2. business migration (2millions dollars in 5 years).... 3. high skills which require to have at least 100 points. with 100 points, u r entitled to get selected in a pool...if u have 140+, u will automatically selected from the pool to get access by the EOI (express of interest) officer.

there is a list that required in nz set by the government. there are some skills that get bonus if u have experience, for example, doctor, nurse, IT personnel, IT Project manager, engineer, consultants, teachers, carpenter, plumber (with proper qualification of trade skills)

age is a point factor, the younger the better (30-39 have 20 points smile.gif don't lose hope, middle age ppl hehe)

qualification - degree is around 25, master and phd are 30 points. studying in nz with 2 years+ get bonus. there is a list in INZ website, if your school is in the list, mostly u don't need to send your qualification to NZQA to access like my case.

working experience - 3 years ~ 10 years+ depends on range...i know that 10 years+ in It experience have 30 points (your degree or master must be IT related to claim points....masaleh concern about what u study relevant to your work). bonus if your experience related to the long term seeken skill list.

if u areworking in NZ, you basically get 50 points (this means u apply PR when u r in nz working)...

sure u need to declare ur english standard. IETLS 6.5 and above...i claimed this points coz my degree was USA and 4 years there, so I dont' need IETLS.

if your wife has a degree and have english proficiency IETLS 5.0+ (3 years experience in enlgish only school), u can claim extra 20 points as well.

having relative in nz get u 10 points...if u r not going 2 auckland, another 10 points if i m not mistaken biggrin.gif

my point was 140 with the bonus in my working expeirnece 10 years+ in IT, master degree, 30-39 years old, wife has a degree etc....

btw, the basic requirement before applyign the points are: 1. good health with medical report 2. police report that u r clean in criminal record, 3. english proficiency evidence
whoaa.. like that arr... rclxub.gif

thank you for the info.. notworthy.gif

fantagero
post Aug 21 2008, 08:08 AM

2,723 posts

anyone knows the cheapest way to transfer a lot of money.. (not that much acutally sweat.gif) to bolehland??
fantagero
post Sep 28 2008, 11:04 AM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(psyeo @ Sep 21 2008, 06:51 PM)
hmm, is a very long story, some minor problem occurs during the moment when i was choosing where to go....there seems to have some serious racist activities going on in Aussie during that period.., there are several other reasons that i do not wish to disclose smile.gif

any regrets?

yes, expensive and lousy internet service, Vodafone monopolized the GSM network = super expensive phone plans and phone..
Other than that, no other major regrets  tongue.gif

I met quite a lot of great friends and ppl here as well smile.gif

Added on September 21, 2008, 6:53 pm

never, I will never go Welly again tongue.gif
aiseh, Welly only got Duyung bar rite?  laugh.gif
man.. mine is different..
internet service damn fast.. notworthy.gif
later go back malaysia.. sure gonna cry cry.gif

QUOTE(psyeo @ Sep 22 2008, 09:07 AM)
one thing good about studying oversea is....we gain a lot of exposure smile.gif

man... u r so lucky.. notworthy.gif

Selamat Hari Raya.. wowowoowow cry.gif

beraya di perantauan
fantagero
post Oct 12 2008, 09:14 PM

2,723 posts

i heard my friend is taking biotech in waikato.. try to take a look at their biotech profile..

man.. was is auckland in 2 days..
damn tiring
sweat.gif dont have internet.. if not sure can yum cha with emperormeng.. lol
fantagero
post Oct 14 2008, 05:21 AM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Oct 13 2008, 03:56 AM)
i left my phone number in siggy.
didnt realise that..

well.. i cant say that auckland reminds me of KL.. i no i no not the same.. but still remind me of KL.. dang.. oe of my friends is staying at flat 14.. man.. journey to the class was like sweat.gif hilly summore

but queen st is great man.. didnt have opportunity to go many places.. so just yumcha with auckland fella
plus.. a lot of halal shop summore

but man.. the aucklanders really hates people especially asian.. hahha 5 minute on the street.. heard twice "fuc* *****, go to ***" doh.gif

empror meng.. i didnt go to the raya open house??

fantagero
post Oct 16 2008, 09:13 AM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Oct 14 2008, 07:40 PM)
so... good la laugh.gif

apa soalan bodoh itu gua tak paham
hahha sweat.gif doh.gif

sorry.. my keyboard.. the letter "u" n "i" so close..
stupid typo.. notworthy.gif
fantagero
post Oct 22 2008, 03:34 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Oct 22 2008, 12:25 PM)
Dictionary: Boring means tedious or not interesting. Which is pretty subjective.

You haven't even been to Dunedin yet and you have already made such conclusions. Like I've said, it is not exactly a boring location as there are probably more activities around the town compare to the other New Zealand universities.

You'd be surprised to find many Aussies complaining about Australia being bored even though many perceive it to be a more happening country than New Zealand. I find Wellington bored to be honest, despite it being the 2nd largest city in the country and the capital city of New Zealand.

Added on October 22, 2008, 12:26 pm* IF you are looking for a peaceful lifestyle, probably you should also consider places like Palmerston North, Christchurch as your destination
QUOTE(guest18 @ Oct 22 2008, 03:10 PM)
a boring place is a good place to me . if you are saying dunedin is not boring then I shall cancel my application and find some other more quiet and slow location sad.gif

you should come to dunedin then , there is alot of sport and bar for you to choose from . and if Im not mistaken there is bus service midnight going through all those bar location to bring you back home . if you are senior citizen , you can get free bus ride . and if you arent into sport or drink , you can alway go to one of the landfill location , if I remember correctly there is a second hand shop salvaging useable thrash . if you like cooking , saturday they have vegetable market where all farmer bring their freshest product to sell . if you want to fix car and stuff , ousa offer general car course and if you want more advance , otago polytechnic got courses for it and they are desperate for student cause the last enrollment for it is very poor. generally if you arent into typical malaysian kind of activity , dunedin would be fun .

well every one have their own definition of words inside them, if you can take boring as something positive why not ? laugh.gif
boringness, i think depends on how u interpret it ur self.. hey hey.. come to CHC.. if u r active person,, mingle around.. u can always go to the city... the city kinnda happening if the time is right.. especially when there is a match.. coz last time i went to the city around 12 sumthing.. man.. a lot of people on the road.. like riot.. sweat.gif

but if u want calm.. just stay around the uni area.. nutyn much happening here.. unless the uni organize something...
plus.. the city and the uni area got distance.. so.. it's like u can choose.. if u want happening/. go to the city i guess.. if u want calmness.. stay around uni.. summer.. u can always lay on the grass studying.. tongue.gif
plus.. in CHC..
u can drive biggrin.gif

just wanna share.. this video was captured when we want to do majlis berbuka puasa last time..
go there.. pay the owner.. catch it and slaughter..
lucky got this arab who owns his own ladang..

This post has been edited by fantagero: Oct 22 2008, 03:44 PM
fantagero
post Oct 27 2008, 05:48 AM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(lilytheng @ Oct 26 2008, 05:17 PM)
Is that true? 1119 accepted for a bachelor? Not stated in any undergraduate courses' catalogues so far......only saw them in foundation courses' entrance requirements... But, is it true? Anxious for an answer...
i think not the 1119 itself.. coz i got a2.. still have to take ielts.. coz my GCEO is not A damn sweat.gif
fantagero
post Oct 27 2008, 09:40 AM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(lilytheng @ Oct 27 2008, 08:34 AM)
Oh...I have both A1 for 1119 & GCSE O, everything will be much more easier if these results can be used instead of spending another RM530+- for IELTS. But it seems that...taking IELTS is still a 'must'...
canter i think accept 1119.. the gceo grade.. not 1119..

Added on October 27, 2008, 9:42 amcoz if i'm right.. i saw the requirement for english. gceo accepted in the book they gave b4 arrive here.. check with selset i guess

This post has been edited by fantagero: Oct 27 2008, 09:42 AM
fantagero
post Oct 27 2008, 05:54 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(lilytheng @ Oct 27 2008, 12:46 PM)
erm, canter... okay. but uni of Auckland and Waikato need IELTS...... not sure which uni to go yet, UEC result not yet available, only holding SPM result (which can only be used to apply for a foundation). haizzz...How I wish every uni in NZ accept GCE O... Anyway, thanks.
lai lai.. come to nz.. canter to b specific.. lol..

why not do the foundation here??

btw.. if u milo drinker.. for me at least.. milo here sucks.. dang.. doh.gif
just had a milo. need to put triple, even more the amount usually i made in msia, but the taste still tawar..
fantagero
post Oct 27 2008, 10:55 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(lilytheng @ Oct 27 2008, 08:37 PM)
Well, things may go wrong when it comes to an exam... but I have decided to take the risk.
I visited the link and thought about it. The main problem is, it is not listed by NZ universities as a supportive result to prove one's English proficiency (only IELTS & TOEFL are listed) . So instead, I will still go for the IELTS. Thanks a thousand for your sharing and the kind advices.
try to email then and ask bout that exam.. sometimes, they will consider to accept.. like my foundation that i did back in msia.. accepted.

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Oct 27 2008, 10:47 PM)
To be honest, even some of my Malaysian friends who can't even complete a simple sentence without making any grammatical errors can get 6.0, my cousin who didn't study for her IELTS got 7.0.

Even New Zealand universities encourage that students who got 6.0 to take up an English Proficiency Program because the requirement for the IELTS is too low.
lol.. same here... english not so good.. still passed..

but damn.. ielts format maybe a lil bit confusing..
one time, i wrote quite long essay.. got less mark.. short essay, more mark. i was like doh.gif rclxub.gif

lilredridinghood.. have u travel around north island??
damn.. my senior always telling me about their 1st year around south island trip sweat.gif

do other unis (welli, uoa, massey etc) got intranet??
like sharing files over the network in uni or unihall??

This post has been edited by fantagero: Oct 27 2008, 10:57 PM
fantagero
post Oct 28 2008, 03:45 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Oct 28 2008, 08:04 AM)
I've only been to both Rotorua and Auckland, stopped by Taupo just to take some photos, not many places. Although some Kiwis may say that both Auckland and Rotorua are the shit holes of New Zealand, in a joking manner, I still miss my trip back at Rotorua, a quiet town, not to mention the stinky sulfuric smell. Nevertherless, the trip to Whakarewarewa, the Agrodome, the hot bath museum, etc was quite a good one, and not to mention the clean air in New Zealand. I might be following one of my Kiwi friends to Taranaki and bunk at his place, overnight or what.

Oh yea, try Napier too.

I heard that South Island is a lot nicer than the North Island, whether is it fact of fallacy, I will get the chance to experience it this December. Even though I'm only staying there for 5-6 days, I'm gonna visit the ever popular Milford Sound.

I don't know about other halls, but mine doesn't and I'm moving out very soon. Can't wait to do that.
wow.. i plan to go to see the whale.. have u seen one??
i heard kaikora is the place.

are u coming to South island?? hehhe visit Christchurch on ur way back.. .
ehmm when are u going to milford??
plan to go there.. planning to get a "gun" 1st.. nz scenery is beautiful.. must get "gun" before going places.. can i follow?? lol

i did the academic witting test here.. but didnt pass the test..
then i need to attend english workshop.. surprisingly.. there's a lot kiwis, or i could say native speakers were there too

This post has been edited by fantagero: Oct 28 2008, 03:47 PM
fantagero
post Oct 28 2008, 05:19 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Oct 28 2008, 05:10 PM)
my flight's landing on Christchurch and I'll stay around there for 1 day at least, then I'll drive to Queenstown. I'm going with my family members tongue.gif

Kaikora indeed, but a bit pricey to my liking la.

The Kiwis can't really spell, I can guarantee you that most Malaysians can spell much better as well as write nicer sentences than the Kiwis
owh.. that's cool. for one day. u can stay at sudima hotel near the airport...

uni area got alot asian restaurants tongue.gif

fantagero
post Nov 4 2008, 05:40 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(fensiang @ Nov 4 2008, 01:47 PM)
anyone here study in victoria university in wellington?
i just receive my offer letter 1 weeks ago.
i don't know whether i need to take ielts b4 i go there or not?
my spm english got and A2.
if u got gceo a2 i think no need ielts.. remember not the 1119 paper.. the gceo grade should be a biggrin.gif

btw.. i heard there is time where we can play fire cracker.. when is that?? what's the day call??

fantagero
post Nov 5 2008, 10:44 PM

2,723 posts

i just got back from the guy Fawkes celebration.. damn..
got there a lil bit late.. so the fire works just started when we arrived..

now i kinnda confuse why other forummers in this forum keep buzzing bout "remember 5th november" when they are not celebrating it?? ehmm..

man.. at first it feels kinnda weird hanging out with my friends and speak English... but hey, it's getting better now.
at least i can speak with em with less stammer than before.
this summer.. plan to improve on my grammar.. coz i always got confused about grammar when i speak. to add "ed" or not, to add "s" or not. :confused:

btw lilred.. do need a ride here when u in Christchurch?? for dinner maybe??

晚安你们, 今天很冷

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0498sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:11 PM