Studying In New Zealand, Come on, Share your Expereince

fantagero
post Mar 31 2008, 09:47 AM

[ToFish4RepliesLikeYours]
2,723 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Mar 31 2008, 08:57 AM)
That probably applies to the whole of NZ. Doesn't leave much for people who simply don't enjoy clubbing.
waaa.. no kedai mamak here...
all shop close early than malaysia. sweat.gif

btw.. who ever in christchurch, if u miss roti canai.. u can get here in canterbury uni..
every sunday..
taste like malaysia one..

wahhahaa

http://roticanaichristchurch.blogspot.com/

ehmm this weekend, i got like 3 weeks of holiday..
u guys got any plan??

huhuuh edlina.. u must be very busy preparing tongue.gif
fantagero
post Mar 31 2008, 01:41 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Mar 31 2008, 01:37 PM)
Nz's the best place if you do somehow decide to study law. You want those long and cold nights when you're reading up on all those cases.

On a more random note, how was Earth Hour in CHC?
went to the city, bump on the event launching.. planning to take the beautiful cathedral with great lighting. but suddenly sweat.gif
the light turned off.. icon_question.gif
huhuh.. even while people eating, the nando's suddenly turn of their light.. sweat.gif

then got free movie... the 11th hour
fantagero
post Mar 31 2008, 02:14 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Mar 31 2008, 01:56 PM)
hey fantagero...
sorry, i have been busy lately..
yeah, preparing my stuff and all..
but im having trouble when i want to post comment here.
there will be some error..
so i couldnt reply your post..sorry!!

i have bought some windbreaker!! hihi.
nice one..got sales here..like 50 - 70%
huhu,,

and about the food..i think we should avoid McD of KFC or whatsoever..
still, they are using oil that we cannot take, right?
unless, they steam that fish..huhu.

i mailed to my seniors in IPC, which is Msian
he said that food in the canteen is HALAL..
so i dont have to worry about the food (i hope!!)
ehmm.. it's gonna be a long explanation bout that..
"berhukum dengan ape yang nampak."
and to add

source as attached.

well, depends on ur strictness..

Attached File(s)
Attached File  05048.rtf ( 21.98k ) Number of downloads: 6
fantagero
post Mar 31 2008, 04:36 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Mar 31 2008, 03:47 PM)
Be warned that some Kiwis have different ideas about halal from you guys. The hall of residence I stayed in claimed its food was halal and genuinely thought it was halal - all meat came from halal suppliers. The catch is, they also served pork. So if you have a problem about utensils etc...

My Malay friends back then were philosophical about it. It's either starve or eat so it was "pingan mangkuk never mind lah".

Other than issues with shared utensils, NZ unis/colleges really pretty good about catering to most dietary needs. Vegetarians get veggie food, people with allergies to gluten get gluten free food, there are signs in place warning about nuts, seafood etc for people who are allergic, options for Hindus who don't eat beef and pork, and halal meat for Muslims.

You'll never get the same consideration in Malaysia.
in malaysia, most probably only halal consideration.. not bout allergies sweat.gif shame on us..

true2.. 1st time arrived.. we "samak" the whole utensils, and then, we realised my flatmate eats pork.. so, discussed with him, he agreed to use his own plate to eat pork. bcoz in my flat, he's the only kiwis the rest 5 of us, are muslim. the rest of the utensils, can share..
we got our own sponge, frying pan, spoon.

well.. samak, depends on the thing it self.. if it is "samak"able, well. do it.. if not, like the whole kitchen, the whole oven, whole room.
there is rukhsah.
plus, rite now scholar is trying to make the samak process easier rather than the orthodox.

plus, in oversea.. u cant go into deeply detail.. where does the food comes from, shared plate or not, shared spatula or not.

if like that, sure starve to death. sweat.gif
but yet, u cant take it that simple.

if u see it served touches the pork.. dont take it.. if like that far-----------,, just eat it.. huhu dont tell me u going to ask the chef either he uses the same spatula sweat.gif
fantagero
post Mar 31 2008, 07:46 PM

2,723 posts

maybe bcoz vege, still not that common in malaysia.. at least in my place

and for hindu.. i already got mindset, if wanna share food with hindu. let say we making jamuan.. we wont order beef.. chicken at least.. no need to ask or realise,, it's already in my mindset..
but i noticed food serving shop starts to mention about beef in food..
in malaysia, if one need specific diet ie vege.. maybe the person must ask..

puasa? not that difficult.. compare to people go for haj.. the puasa even longer than half a day if i'm right. plus, they puasa in the airplane somore.
about the food.. ehmm well.. are u going to sacrifice ur good deed to a food... still can figure out a way rite.. for the believer at least..
like u can take the dinner as usual and keep it till buka puasa.. for the meal before sunrise.. u can take the breakfast.. keep in freezer rite.. that's the usage of technology sweat.gif then u got microwave oven to easily heat the food up..

huhu even in malaysia.. many skip their sahur (breafast b4 sunrise) bcoz sleep more important. hahha like me.

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Mar 31 2008, 07:19 PM)
thank God you came up with this topic..  notworthy.gif
i forgot about it..
ehmm..need to think lots more

how about if i bring my own utensils? huhu..  hmm.gif
yah..its kinda hard when we have to share things with other religions..
need to discuss with others and make them understand ..

and it is good that NZ is very particular with the food..
like for the vegeterian and who doesnt take beef and all that..

but still the time for fasting is not so different like msia right?
just having prob for sahur..
but maybe we can eat bread..
buy anything prepare for sahur..
actually we got lots of thing to eat..
bread and strawberry or choc jam..wow!
or with eggs and  add some mayo..fuuhh!! yummy~  thumbup.gif
utensil can buy here... huhuuh make sure every weight is for long term use here and for the stuff that is extremely expensive..

btw.. edlina.. the discussion with other religion.. that;s the main point u study oversea.. to open ur mind. icon_rolleyes.gif
hahah i also nervous b4.. plus my not so fluent english.. i was afraid my friend gonna misunderstood me.. sweat.gif but hey.. until now.. still ok
but u must explain smart.. tongue.gif

many of my senior staying with non muslim alone.. still can survive..
sometime they told us.. it's quite disappointing when people terguna ur plate to eat ham.. but just be patience.. that's the key.. u cant blame them 100%.. same like we in malaysia..

one of my senior female flatting with 5 male non muslim(omputih), and she's the only female. muslim some more.. still can survive till today..

later on u know how laa.. the definition of word "HARD".
the toilet no pipe.. use tissue only.. and then, gayung is not common thing here, and when u want to "uk uk", u must take water from the sink.. then u have to mop the floor.. bcoz the water is all over the place.. my friend's house, the toilet got carpet somemore..
then later.. if u got class that clash with ur solat time.. u have to pray at the hallway..
then have to use "hukum huff" bcoz of the water so sejuk, u cant tahan to take wudu..
then when u go shopping.. there is no surau... so u cant shopping the whole day.. but female still can pray in the breast feeding room.. but must bring telekung. for male.. pray anywhere la. just bring compass and sejadah

lucky u can think of these stuff before go here.. haha i also never think of these tiny mint stuff when arrived here.. especially the "uk uk" part.. hahha

dont forget bring compass k.. the kiblat compass one.. maybe u can buy the digital one.. tongue.gif i heard today's canggih handphone got compass

Added on March 31, 2008, 7:56 pmabout samak and rukhsah.. i'll ask forumer with better explanation to asnwer it here.. so.. hold it first

in brief.. dog and pig are under najis berat.. so.. need to samak to clean it

the word najis is what makes typical muslim feel disgust about both sweat.gif
the truth is.. the dog is still a dog.. many muslim also keep dog as pet too sweat.gif

i'm sure u seen the pic of malay student in upm posting with dog

Added on March 31, 2008, 8:03 pm
QUOTE(wornbook @ Mar 31 2008, 05:25 PM)
Also, no consideration for people of other religions in Malaysia. We take care to ensure no pork is served, but what about beef? Hindu's don't eat beef. What about vegetarians? They might as well not exist. A shame since we're a multi-racial, multi-religious society.

Excuse my ignorance but what's samak and rukhsah?

Ya when overseas you do what you can. Have you thought about the difficulties when it comes to puasa? Ramadan is in summer/late autumn now, ie very long daylight hours (not so bad in NZ compared to some places). And if you're in a hall or residence/hostel, you can't get them to serve you breakfast before sunrise and dinner after sunset. Actually dinner might be possible since many places do late dinners for those who have classes/sports. But breakfast is an issue.

My friends - they just did 12 hours puasa. 7am-7pm or something like that. To them, the important thing is between themselves and God, their hearts are sincere... no need to worry about what others think. Some other I know did the full sunrise to sunset thing... but they were flatting and handled their own meals.

Each to his own I guess.
baru teringat.. about beef.

i've never encounter with that problem.. i mean..if me, i will ask, is the food halal?? what's the ingredient....
so..same goes with the hindu i think..
from what ive seen.. many hindu will ask.. ade beef tak??

huhu it's not like the shop can detect ur religion by face only..

i mean. u can look indian.. but the fact is, u r muslim.. haha
i remember my roomate.. he got the indian looks.. but he's actually got Pakistan blood.. he said he encounter the situation where the shop tell him.. "ini ada beef, u takleh makan".. he was like sweat.gif

that's the advantage of flatting and self-catered. u can eat whenever, whatever u like tongue.gif
hahah dont let the food controls u brows.gif

This post has been edited by fantagero: Mar 31 2008, 08:25 PM
fantagero
post Apr 1 2008, 08:44 AM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Apr 1 2008, 07:15 AM)
Longer by a few hours cos of the longer daylight hours. But this year should be easier since Ramadan is earlier... September/October? The worst period was December/January...

Shrug, I'm not about to tell Muslims how to practice their religion. Was just giving examples of how some of my friends do it. Like I said, each to its own. I just find observing differing practices interesting.

Btw, for the sake of discussion - what would you do if you're in Greenland or something during summer, where the sun doesn't set for months? Assume that Ramadan coincides with that period? After all, the date moves around so it's not like it never happens.

Question is, why do we have to go overseas for that? Why can't we have interfaith discussions in Malaysia as well?

Shouldn't be surprising. Pakistan was once part of India.

ehmm about that.. i'm not very sure.. will try asking better person.. will post the answer later.. when i watch 30days of night.. also thinking the same.. whoa.. 30days of night.. sure geng.. can sleep the whole month sweat.gif

well i can say.. yes, that was i think.. rite now.. i think malaysian start to realize about that.. hope so...

Vegetarianism is not common here either. It's just that Western societies tend to make all sorts of accommodations for minorities.

In Malaysia, asking for vege only when you're out eating with friends doesn't always work. Unless you go to a vege restaurant. Too often, the veges are mixed with meat or cooked with animal oils. I know it isn't a perfect world... these problems exist in NZ as well. Bear in mind that my main reference was to schools/unis/colleges/hostels - probably hospitals and the like too - not to general society.

My reference to Hindus was mainly cos schools don't seem to bother. They ban pork from schools... fair enough... but don't care if school canteens serve beef. It would be nice to see similar consideration/acknowledgments for the minority here.
Btw a lot of Hindus in NZ don't eat pork as well. 
sorry for my ignorance... why cant serve beef in canteen?? the hindu also cant touch the beef?? or they feel offend???

really eyh, even in nz also not that common.. ehmm.
in malaysia. people still not that very sensitive about others need.. but idk.. i feel it's changing rite now.. even though it's slow, but it's there and starting.. u cant expect changes in short period sweat.gif rite

-bring enough adapter.
-bring the correct dimension international adapter*
-bring box extension
-bring wired extension

if not. u gonne end up like me hahhaa sweat.gif

*the international adapter that available in malaysia.. usually. gonna follow the british one..
  _  _

then gonna convert to the nz one

  \  /

but the thing is.. the wall socket is like this

/  \

so.. ur malaysian socket gonne be terbalik like in the picture sweat.gif

This post has been edited by fantagero: Apr 1 2008, 08:56 AM
fantagero
post Apr 1 2008, 09:10 AM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Apr 1 2008, 09:04 AM)
The same reason why they don't sell pork in canteens I guess. Out of respect. I'll admit that the circumstances are slightly different (they don't mind sharing utensils), but it's food for thought (no pun intended).

Hindus don't eat beef because the cow is sacred. See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cattle#Cattle...Hindu_tradition

Btw many Buddhists don't eat beef as well.
You can buy adaptors here for cheap - international to NZ conversion, made in China, $2. No need to buy from Malaysia... they're really expensive there cos they're meant for travelers.
ehmm i prefer buy the tough one.. i mean.. the made in china one is usable.. but i prefer the one with better quality.. especially for my electric appliance ie laptop. hdd. i bought mine at uni traveler.. hahha coz run out of time.. just grab 2. for rm30 sweat.gif

owh.. so, by serving beef.. mean we not respecting the sacred animal?? ehmm
later just serve chicken anywhere.. play safe

but hey.. what if the hindu attend the malay wedding.. huhu malay wedding must have beef ma like that..
do they feel offend too??

fantagero
post Apr 1 2008, 10:29 AM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Apr 1 2008, 09:20 AM)
Clubbing 24/7 is abnormal. i am doing psychiatry run and its amazing how someone can go real nuts from drinking alone.

Not to mention, you actually have to drink before going clubbing.... pipe = $ 9.00 lager, shot = $7.00, freakin ripoff....
some asian shops here close pretty late... most are in dominion road... i like the dumpling and the fried rice there... $6.00 for 20 dumpling... got deal ay
No break till Jun 2. But going down South Island on Jun 3 for 8 days
Yea, strict buddhist actually don't eat beef.... Sometimes, i really disrespect those who don't eat beef and keep babbling about how they keep close monitor to their action in regards to their sacred behaviour.... Here in grafton we can choose our food. If they cant eat beef, they eat other non-beef food. If the non-beef food is not delicious, they complain. When you told them to take beef (beef is delicious), they say they can't because its against their religion. man, stop eating then....
ehmm for me.. if not available.. eat roti la like that.. huhh no need to babble.. unless u already request it earlier..

waaa.. yesterday and today got i/national food carnival.. huhu thai popiah looks delicious.. the thai chicks invited me to buy some.. then asked bout what's inside.. its pork, and vege.. "no thank you, i dont eat pork" i replied.
the only food stall that i can visit. the malaysian, indonesian, arabian and islamic stall.. else.. quite hard.. many sell meat..
but today.. got twist at malaysian stall.. got free bbq.. then got two types.. "kiwis bbq" "muslim bbq" notworthy.gif
i observe the kiwis enjoy eating roti canai.. somemore wrap around big hot dog brows.gif

QUOTE(wornbook @ Apr 1 2008, 09:45 AM)
I've never had a prob with the made in China ones... but I understand why you don't want to use them.

Beef - I guess you can serve it... but show some consideration. To my experience, Hindus don't get easily offended when people eat beef, they just choose not to do so themselves. But in a school environment, it's good to show due consideration... especially in primary schools where kids eat first without looking/asking.

Weddings - like I said, I don't think they'll be offended. Anyway, they chose to attend the wedding.
But what about Muslims? Would you be offended if you attended a Chinese wedding and pork was served? Chinese wedding must have pork, right?
Not you personally, but I know of people who got offended in that situation.
I did papers on abnormal psychology... the stuff you read about is enough to turn you off drinking.

Among my friends is a pair of twins. Twin A's logic is that he can drink as much as he wants cos when his liver dies, well, he has a twin brother to donate the liver. Problem is, Twin B is doing the same amount of drinking, if not more.  tongue.gif
Go down to Otago. Back in the day, we could get $2 doubles.
Some are 24 hours too right? I've never been but I've heard.

Tell them to get the veggie option. Sometimes it's better than both meat options.
Anyway, people like that - if they could eat beef they'll complain about the beef as well. Cannot satisfy them.
my family also visits indian family during deepavali.. they serve on daun pisang..
ehmm for me at least, i wont get offend if they serve pork.. ur wedding.. u serve la.. huhuh.. no problemo tongue.gif

just attend only la if cannot eat. show respect. . if got thing that can be eaten.. just eat.. most probably.. people that invites other religion to the wedding gonna serve somthing edible. that's why malay wedding must have both.. tongue.gif chicken, beef.. if the tuan rumah kaya.. can cook something new.. rusa.. tongue.gif

edlina.. bring extra telekung just in case

This post has been edited by fantagero: Apr 1 2008, 10:31 AM
fantagero
post Apr 1 2008, 02:39 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Apr 1 2008, 11:31 AM)
bring 2 telekung and sejadah..
buy at least 2 converter (ok?)
Quran of course..
and what more heh...
how bout Milo? haha. but can get hot choc there, right?

emm,my uncle told me yesterday, dont forget to bring kicap..
haha! yeah, i also forgot about it..mybe when i miss Msia food..
just add some kicap on my food..and wallah~

fantagero, do you have any special request?
like 'mengidam' something in Msia..haha

Added on April 1, 2008, 11:42 am
keep in freezer..then sudddenly, ITS GONE!! haha  laugh.gif

so if things will be like this..we need to samak our plate right..bcoz its our plate..  tongue.gif
that is a bit hard..haha! we malay ppl are using gayung since we were kid..huhu.
no big deal for the pee..just the 'uk uk' thing..haha!
then got carpet also..wuuu!
x selesa lahhh..but must get use to it..  rolleyes.gif
milo. idk.. i heard expensive.. but it's available if u want..
i dont milo that much..

by converter u mean i/national adapter rite..
ehmm idk..i brought 3 of em..
1 for my hp. one for laptop..
another 1 can use for external hdd.. or keep it extra..

ehmm kicap.. i think available here.. Indonesian one.. damn thick.. try asking ur senior what's sort of food available there so that u wont bring that available here.. ask them whether got asian shop around.. what sort of stuff the sell.. what's hard to get there.. what's extremely expensive.
me?? idk.. i dont thing i need something from malaysia until mengidam state
maybe my friends in massey got la.. wanna me ask them.. brows.gif

if u downloading sort of person like me.. u might wanna consider bringing external hdd from msia..
but if u can wait.. just wait for harvey norman promotion.. but it's hard to wait.. once the promotion advertise.. crowd in harvey sweat.gif

when's ur flight??

This post has been edited by fantagero: Apr 1 2008, 02:43 PM
fantagero
post Apr 1 2008, 08:40 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Apr 1 2008, 07:13 PM)
what is HDD?
better buy extra..for safety  smile.gif

my senior told me dont have to worry about food..kicap is there..
there are also McD (which we can eat; fillet o fish only) and yah~ how bout their ice cream?? apple pie?
my fave..dont tell me i cant take that..waaaaaaa!!    cry.gif
for burger king, do they provide fish? chicken of course wa cannot take..
but from what my senior told me..
they just 'bedal' jer...huu..and there  is no chicken supplier  unsure.gif
bcoz he dont know anything about it..hmm.. 

and yeah...im kinda crazy with download video and movie stuff..ghee~

my flight will be on 11th of April, 8.40pm (local time) and arrive in Auck at 10.50am (local time)
from Auck (12th April) leaving at 2.25pm and arrive in Palmy at 3.30pm..  YAY!!!  rclxm9.gif

im so excited..this morning, i woke up..
am i really going to NZ....(??) blurr..
haha!  tongue.gif

hey, you got one friend in massey right?
mind telling him/her about me??  brows.gif
boy or girl? msian? muslim?
hdd.. harddisk.. external harddisk.. if ur laptop doesnt have big space..
ehmm both not my fav.. so dont know.. maybe can ask later.. but i think no meat inside both rite.. unless they use gelatin for the ice cream tongue.gif
rarely eat burger king.. maybe can ask for ur senior..

ehmm my senior told me that nando's is halal..
ehmm not halal chicken supplier in palmy ?? sure??
my friend said got la halal meat supplier there.. easy to get some more..

if u into downloading.. better get external harddisk.. idk.. depends on ur need.. my 320gb hdd full oredi.. sweat.gif

one friend?? i got many friends.. hahah one female. 4 male brows.gif icon_idea.gif
and not including their seniorS.. most of em muslim msian of coz.. huhuh

This post has been edited by fantagero: Apr 1 2008, 08:41 PM
fantagero
post Apr 2 2008, 10:00 AM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Apr 2 2008, 09:36 AM)
You can get Milo in NZ. Some say it does not taste the same as the M'sian one, but personally i cant tell.

Don't forget, a lot of Hindu's are also vegetarian. Try organising a meeting of doctors in M'sia. biggrin.gif

Personally, I have no problem with you not being able to eat certain foods. For some, its not that they want to be healthy; its due to health reasons. For others, its allergies. I can't go for most buffets. Can't eat sea food.

The thing is, I just don't understand why Muslims and Vegetarians in general are so radical in their eating habits. Not to generalize, but when I go out, I ask if there is any seafood in some food, and if there is I just have to avoid it. Sure, everyone says I'm missing out on the prawns, mussels, oysters etc, but I don't have a choice, and I don't complain. If there is meat, then don't eat it. Bring your own organic vegetables if you want, if the vegatbles we serve are tainted and/or not as nice. No one put a gun to your head and ask you to come.

Same for Muslims/Hindus/Buddhists. When I'm with some of my Buddhists friends we try to go to a place where they can at least get vegetables. We're sorry if the food is not halal, but it your choice of life. Sorry that steak is usually beef, but you'll just have to make do. We try to accommodate to your religious belief's, but no one ever considers accommodating my health issues! I don't say a thing, but while you guys moan its all about your religion, for me, the issue is more down to earth. I could end up in hospital.
There's bird flu to consider........
haya.. some muslim very particular about what they consume..
bcoz the food gonna make who we are.. ok,, no science for that.. but it's the religion.
maybe u can open a thread and very sure someone gonna reply u notworthy.gif

for me.. i try to avoid the non-halal one.. is that wrong???
i dont come to the food shop and ask them to serve me halal food.. most muslim will just ask "is the food halal,, what's the ingridient?" i think that all.. if not available.. just leave the shop, and find a halal one.. maybe can ask for fish based dish.
or maybe we just go to the known halal food shop.. that is.. no moan wut so ever.. if no halal beef available.. still got bread.. still got vegetable.. choosing halal food not gonna make muslim starve to death. it's the person it self choose to starve..
there are many ways to eat.
that's what occur during the food carnival. the malaysian club make 2 types of free bbq... the kiwi one..and the halal one...

i remember my lecturer told me.. he went to this country with some friends long time ago, korea if not mistaken and there was no halal meat.. so what he did was, buy live chicken. and slaughtered it himself.. no moaning, no complaining..
there is a will, there is a way..

and for muslim.. bear in mind.. in oversea (especially in west country), halal food is not a privilege..
use own effort to get one.. unless u gonna leave the restriction.. that's up to you rolleyes.gif

haya, why u say we are moaning?? it happened to you??

This post has been edited by fantagero: Apr 2 2008, 10:04 AM
fantagero
post Apr 2 2008, 12:00 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Apr 2 2008, 11:31 AM)
On the contrary, halal food is a privilege. Not a right (unless you do you own cooking). Ie, you can request for it but not demand it.

I'm not Haya, but I can tell you I wrote those posts/asked those questions cos of bad personal experience with some Muslims. It's fine that you won't want to eat what I eat, I respect that. But don't act as if I'm carrying plague or talk about how disgusting pork is, KNOWING I eat it. That frankly, is disrespectful.

Personally, I'm against schools banning all pork. Sure, I've no objections that the canteen does halal food. But don't prevent kids from bringing ham sandwiches to school or conduct witch-hunts for it. And before you say anything, that has happened. Prefects in my cousin's primary school search food containers as part of their spot-checks.

My reference to Hindus/beef/schools was mainly cos I feel that if they do that to pork, they should do that to beef as well. But of course, we know that it's not the case. Personally, I think schools should serve food acceptable to the community in general (and in Malaysia, it means giving due consideration to more than one religious belief). But they should have no say on what students bring from home.

Btw I second Haya on the hospital bit. I'm allergic to seafood too.
owh... ehm can u tell me which part i act disrespectful and disgust. i'm very sorry for that.. just tell me wich part.. i sometime dont know if my post disrespectful.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

ehmm bad personal experience.. i'm sorry to hear that. i dont know that kind of thing happen in malaysia. i dont have problem with my flatmate eating ham. we discussed and agreed to separate his ham plate. not bcoz of the disgust, but just bcoz to avoid the samak proccess that's all.. furthermore.. hard to do samak here as soil not easily available here..

true2 not a right, especially in oversea..

fantagero
post Apr 2 2008, 01:14 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Apr 2 2008, 01:10 PM)
hokey pokey drool.gif

into fresh milk here.
budget milk??
or pam's ??? tongue.gif hehehe
or meadow fresh ?
fantagero
post Apr 3 2008, 11:34 AM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Apr 2 2008, 12:23 PM)
Don't worry, you were not disrespectful. No offence given and none taken. icon_rolleyes.gif

As for bad experiences, I know not to claim all Muslims are the same just cos I've run into some 'bad' ones. That why I said 'some'.
thank you notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

i heard in autumn later.. lalat banyak? ehmm..
fantagero
post Apr 4 2008, 08:19 AM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Apr 3 2008, 09:38 PM)
from my conversation with my senior, he didnt looks like care about their food..
like what i said before, he just 'sebat' jer..
i told him about what you told me before,that Mcd is using vege oil..
he was surprised and said, then good-lah..
i asked for burger king then he has no idea about it!
he just eat what he wants..
man, that scared me..  unsure.gif

nando is halal?? yay! love that!  rclxm9.gif
got halal chicken supplier in palmy?
pls..pls..pls..and pls..let me meet your friend in Palmy  icon_question.gif

Added on April 3, 2008, 9:41 pm

how's the milk? is it nice?
hey, we can eat their cereal right?
but there are no coco crunch or honey star-lah, kan?  tongue.gif
milk??? it tastes like.... well.. milk sweat.gif

dont have to worry.. u can eat most all the things u desire.. just hav to know where to get it k..

well.. it's up to him.. notworthy.gif
u choose ur way..

well.. i'll ask my friend if he got time to help you.. because their semester just starting.. lotzz of assignmnet. i'll ask them,, and if green light.. i'll pm u their contact.

this 6th april must turn off the day light saving eyh?? man.. i still dont get it what;s the DLS

fantagero
post Apr 4 2008, 06:33 PM

2,723 posts

i like the internet connection here.. hehhee

Added on April 4, 2008, 6:46 pmedlina.. i've asked my friends there.. they said ok.. just contact them k.. YM or give them a call. ive sent u their contact.. maybe u can contact them..
hahha they wanna kirim perencah too i guess tongue.gif
my female friend also said ok.. she gladly to help u if anything k.

good luck..

This post has been edited by fantagero: Apr 4 2008, 06:46 PM
fantagero
post Apr 5 2008, 07:32 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Apr 5 2008, 02:21 PM)
what the........ internet good?
idk bout u.. but huuhuh at least for me... waaaaaaaaaay better than msia notworthy.gif
fantagero
post Apr 6 2008, 05:57 AM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Apr 5 2008, 07:37 PM)
guess u have a hostel internet.
but, cant torrent right?

as for others. all plans have quota limit to the download.
and the max uploadspeed is 128kbps , not enough to play online game.
not into torrent much.. but i tried bitcomet to download stuff lately... it worked..
i'm using snap via ilam village connection..

i dont mind the download limit, as long as i got the max speed...

here is my speed test.. how bout urs?

fantagero
post Apr 6 2008, 01:32 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Apr 6 2008, 08:41 AM)
How much is your limit?

Residential colleges usually have very generous connections. A friend of mine in Palmy gets 10GB/month for $40. And it wasn't that long ago that Otago gave its students unlimited use of their network.

[rant]
i curse the day the internet escaped from the labs to the masses. We were quite happy in our labs, with unlimited 5Mbit connections. Now we are reduced to a 750MB rolling quota, but they still tease us with 5Mbits of speed.

Its all those people on Myspace/Facebook/Youtube I tell you. People who think they are 1337 just because they can move some widgets around, but know nuts about PERL.
[/rant]

fantagero, how much are you paying for your place at Ilam Village per week? It seems like its the same company setting up the student accommodation here in QUT, Brisbane. (http://www.clv-kelvingrove.com.au)

And yes, once you've tried real fresh milk, it is hard to go back to powdered milk.
QUOTE(wornbook @ Apr 6 2008, 11:22 AM)
I don't mind the limit cos I don't dl much. The speed is so much better than Malaysia.
Don't they still have unlimited free use?
mine is snap... 20gb limit. $55/month..
but share 3 poeple..

but i think outside better package compare to ilam one.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by fantagero: Apr 6 2008, 01:33 PM
fantagero
post Apr 7 2008, 02:23 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Apr 6 2008, 09:42 PM)
hey fantagero!!
your friends are really nice!
thanks for your help..
i have been chatting with khuzai..
she did asked me to go to town with her next sunday..
along with my parents..haha!
got some more to bring..huhu
but im glad to help them..
so you're doing the same foundation year before..emm
glad to help..
hope u enjoy urself.. and be ready to experience new things biggrin.gif

Added on April 7, 2008, 4:32 pmbtw.. about the fasting in rare climate country like greenland..antartica..
should follow the nearest country. or mecca..
the details how to follow. idk.. never been to the country..
but at least there should be islamic community there that gonna set the fasting time, the prayer time accordingly

just like in NZ..
we got fianz
http://www.fianz.co.nz/

This post has been edited by fantagero: Apr 7 2008, 04:32 PM

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0501sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:12 PM