6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

UK Working & Holiday , Any one heard about this visa??

yangsangfook
post Jan 12 2008, 07:54 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Jan 11 2008, 07:22 PM)
Thanks~!

Actually yangsangfook i've seen that webiste but i can't really find the requirements, is there any academic requirements?

I've actually read the thread all over and yangsangfook are you in London now? What are you working as, how is the life there?
yes in london for about 2 weeks now.. currently still jobless..
academic wise they dont specify, as long u have financial prove and convincing travel plan, i think u are alright.

QUOTE(simon_wks @ Jan 11 2008, 08:49 PM)
yeah... but the local brits have been telling me to go further away from central of London where things are much better at a more reasonable price...

even though my office is in central London Zone1, however I'm not expected to be around office most of the time cause I'm normally needed at project's client site.

I'm gonna go and get myself so nice clothes around Oxford Street tomorrow, since it's the fantastic sales period here...

p/s: what sort of work you are looking for?

regards,
simon
simon, if u earn the money here and u do cook at home, i can tell u everything is cheap in their money.
well in that case if you dont get to your office all the time, try to get a place where you'll be going often.
anyway if we can find a nice house, me and my friends will move in there but depends on the price.. so if u interested maybe can include u.
i'm looking for any job now, money running low man.. london dont work can die very fast.
i got degree in computer science but got no IT working experience, only transportation line..
here susah for me to find office job sad.gif

QUOTE(simchi @ Jan 11 2008, 08:57 PM)
Heh , health-wise , I got a problem there . So maybe after I'm fully recovered .
Will PM you .
what kind of health problem?
is it itchy whole body? coz i have this problem..
my friend say its normal coz its cold..
got friendster add me also la..
yangsangfook@hotmail.com
yangsangfook
post Jan 12 2008, 07:34 PM

282 posts

errr.. better come here to experience ownself la..
else you wont know what i'm talking about.. haha..
well 1st time here its cold but now its ok..
the ppl here is more mind their own business can be very polite can be supreme rude sometimes..
if you like to see a place with hundred of different races, here is the place..
yangsangfook
post Jan 15 2008, 04:19 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(s8678 @ Jan 14 2008, 07:29 PM)
hi, i plan to go at 22/02 but still havent book the air ticket yet. Very expensive for ticket to UK.. hmm.gif 
i'll land at Birmingham, cos i have frien over there.

Yang_
is there still cool?
yea its always cool here.. lol.. i mean for me its not that cold but when u got blown by the wind, yea it is..
Birmingham i never been there yet.. but i heard its alot quiet than place like london.. good though since u got a friend there..
i got a friend studying there too.. about the flight.. i tried emirates, so does simon, for me its good.. though u got to wait transit for 4 hours.
there is qatar airways too.. and uzbekistan airway.. not sure about the recommendation..
yangsangfook
post Jan 15 2008, 07:51 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(s8678 @ Jan 15 2008, 01:20 PM)
I found Kuwait is cheapest, only RM1475 (included Tax) but 1 way. Is that 1 way ok for us? i have call UKvisa to ask there say ok, but just want to comfirm tongue.gif .

Added on January 15, 2008, 1:28 pmwho else have expriece for Kuwait flight? my family said it very dengerous  mad.gif ... are there still dengerouse? tongue.gif
yea thats very cheap instead but i'm not sure its good or not, emirates is about 2700 one way now.
one way is fine, i get mine one way too... unless u are really sure that you are going back for good or visit in a year time, get a return.

Btw anyone in London know is there any job vacancy? cry.gif
i'm in need of a job soon.. money running low man..
yangsangfook
post Jan 19 2008, 12:39 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(4agze @ Jan 16 2008, 02:03 AM)
yangsangfook, try search via internet... what sort of job that your looking for? if no choice go and work in restaurant first
yea i give up on office job for now..
so i'm looking for restaurant or mall job by going shop by shop with vacancy sign.

QUOTE(simon_wks @ Jan 18 2008, 07:16 PM)
well, have you tried the job agencies around London? It's surely easier to hunt for a job through an agency. If I'm not mistaken, they don't charge you but your employer.

If not try places like jobplus center where they have this computer counters that you can view and print out vacancies.

Good luck to you in your job hunting. Wish me luck for my house hunting too wink.gif

Regards,
Simon k.S. Wong
well i tried agency, but one of the agency member did advise me to get any job 1st in UK as most agency need u to have 6 months references in UK.
so she ask me to go find directly to company will be better..
now what i do is just get a job and later see if there is any opportunity.. cant wait without income..
wish u luck for ur house hunting.. actually we here about 5 or 6 malaysian wanna rent a house but too bad we cant get a letter from a company for that.

QUOTE(s8678 @ Jan 18 2008, 09:50 PM)
Yang if u don't mind work as waiter, then u can try to search in this website hoohoohoo.com
haha.. thanks for too bad i dont read chinese..
anyway tmr i got an interview with a bakery shop near my house.
so its good if i get the job as its walking distance to where i stay..
yangsangfook
post Jan 20 2008, 04:04 AM

282 posts

finally got a job in the bakery shop..
no need to worry how to survive here dy..
so many ways to find a job, best is still walk in..
since i'm new and have no reference in UK..
yangsangfook
post Jan 20 2008, 09:42 PM

282 posts

dont always think the grass here is always greener..
its only 200 a week.. minimum pay at 5.52 per hour..
but at least i can survive here.. hard to save for my travelling expenses dy.. will take longer..
yangsangfook
post Jan 21 2008, 09:18 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(Felice821 @ Jan 21 2008, 07:34 PM)
how many hours per day and how many days per week you work??

Btw, i m going to apply for the WHM, can i get you as 1 of my reference?

Added on January 21, 2008, 7:35 pmOh yeah!! What is the minimum amount that i need to have so that my WHM can get approve????

Is that RM15k enough?
well i just started today and i doubt its gonna be my long term job
and i dont have any NI yet.. so defitnitely me being a reference is unconvincing..

yea.. i think yourself 15K is enough, well try to get someone as a sponsor
he or she dont have to pay u anything, just willing to be a sponsor if anything happen, u know something like guarantor
yangsangfook
post Jan 24 2008, 08:47 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(simon_wks @ Jan 23 2008, 06:59 PM)
so, where do you live and where do you work? How much rent (inc council tax) do you pay?

£200 a week is all right, you will just hate to see the amount after tax deduction... it hurts...

when I was studying in Portsmouth (4 years ago), I worked a bartender for £5 per hour....

Regards,
Simon K.S. Wong
well the pay is alright i guess since looking for a job in london is not that simple.. i guess really too many ppl flock in here.. 7 million is stated in the tube.. anyway i dont enjoy this job.. probably this week i will quit liao.. unless i still can tahan for awhile more..

QUOTE(crystal_kit85 @ Jan 24 2008, 03:58 AM)
Some basic tests on your spelling, grammar, typing test as well as proficiency in Microsoft word. Well not all agencies has test only this particular one has.

Well i am currently working inside the Newcastle University at their Medical Faculty. I just sort out the letters, filling and etc. The pay is 6.30 pounds an hour
any vacancy? wahahaha..
yangsangfook
post Jan 24 2008, 06:35 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(Felice821 @ Jan 24 2008, 12:07 PM)
Really have some question here. Actually what is the living expenses needed for a month?

As i call to embassy to apply for WHM, they say at least my fund can survive for 3 months without working, so i wonder whats is the MINIMUM fund that i needed??
my experience here for the 4th weeks is you better make sure you can pay rent for 3 month which depend where u stay..
if you are staying together with bf, i assume u get a double room from about 100-150pound a week, might be cheaper if u stay further away from central london. Remember most require you to give deposit for 2 weeks, must include that in your budget, alright, next thing will be your transport expenses.. since u will be hunting for job, ask yourself which zone would u like to work in london, then get a 7days travel card where u can move around that zone, for example u want to look for job in zone1 and zone2, get a travel card covering zone1 to zone2 for tube, this way u get to take the bus for free, else without a travel card, everytime u take a bus will charge u 90p.
Another very important thing is open a HSBC passport account, u got to pay 6pound a month or a one off 60pound for a year.. try to open in Malaysia b4 u come here. If you want to open here, remember bring all your prove of address in Malaysia, eg Bank statement for few months, preferable document in english.. and dont forget to ask them post to the UK address as my HSBC debit card had flew to Malaysia already..
The last thing your food expenses... you know yourself very well how much u eat.. the cheapest is definitely cook yourself... nothing beat that..
eating outside you will spend money real fast.. trust me.. i did that .. and i got panic when my money runs low.. now almost every meal i cook..
maybe about 30pound for 2 person if u cook everyday.. very cheap..
One more important thing i really wanna tell u guys is.. Wanna look for job here, prepare CV (Look in the example in internet, type England CV or London CV) and not resume, do this in Malaysia and print lots of copy to use here.. photostate here cheapest i could get is 5p a piece, can be 20p a piece.. save on that...

yangsangfook
post Jan 25 2008, 03:04 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(Felice821 @ Jan 24 2008, 08:05 PM)
Thanks!

Let assume that accomodation 100pounds per week. Then will be 400pounds per month. 3 months already 1200pounds. Wow!!!almost RM8k.

For meal, assume that cook myself. Then will be 30pounds per week. 120pounds per month. 3 months 360 pounds.

Other things, assume that 50pounds per week. Another 200 per month. 3 months 600 pounds.

Add on all, 2160 pounds at least???
yea.. thats quite realistic budget..
unless u are really save.. like get a room at zone 3 or 4, like me zone 3 share with another malaysian guy 85 a week.
thats why for a person its advise to show in between 10-15k like fiolsn said..
yangsangfook
post Jan 25 2008, 09:50 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(4agze @ Jan 25 2008, 04:29 AM)
yangsangfook, where you working in london? central?? you work in the weekend ka? we can come out lim teh, eh no, lim beer haha
i work and live in stratford but this week only i work coz cannot tahan the job, so quit liao..
well sometimes we have some small malaysian gathering, if you wanna join you can leave me your number in PM ok.

QUOTE(Felice821 @ Jan 25 2008, 05:57 AM)
OMG, all you just calculated is based on individual???? i though is for 2 ppl.... sigh!
yes, one person must at least show more than 10k

QUOTE(ohserena @ Jan 25 2008, 09:42 AM)
Thanks for all the information sharing.

I saw in the newspaper is that now for everyone that enter England, we need to pay 1000Pound as Deposit to England Home Office. The money will be refund if we leave within the allowable staying during, for WHM case is 2 years. If longer than staying period, 1000 pound will not be returnable. Is this already been enforced?
heard that too... not sure whether its already enforced or not..
always check with VFS officer if have doubt.. they are ready to help, its their job anyway..
yangsangfook
post Jan 26 2008, 05:27 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(simon_wks @ Jan 25 2008, 11:24 PM)
how's Stratford mate? I've set up an appointment to view a flat on Saturday in Stratford.

I'm also keeping an eye on Canada Water and Canary Wharf areas too.

Regards,
Simon
stratford like i said got more black ppl.. if its near the stratford station and stratford centre, its quite busy there..
flat? u live by yourself?
yangsangfook
post Jan 27 2008, 02:46 AM

282 posts

i'm in stratford lor.. 10-15 minutes walk to the station, in front of west ham park.. 85 per week include all, still expensive, thats why i sharing with another person.. sure can meet, if u want can sms me at 07517212274
yangsangfook
post Jan 30 2008, 01:30 AM

282 posts

everything must have originality la...
if i'm the officer i will ask alot of question if i doubt you..
if you dont know what u write, you dont wanna waste your money dont u..
well whoever want to apply just apply.. get it or not its not the worst thing in your life.. never try never know..
yangsangfook
post Jan 30 2008, 11:11 PM

282 posts

ive told u alot of times to get a sponsor, a letter and their account information is sufficient.. u dont wanna listen...
yangsangfook
post Jan 31 2008, 01:11 AM

282 posts

i know u are worried.. no matter how many times u ask..
its still financial prove and travelling plan and fill up the forms they require you to have... and all documents being certified true copy if its photostated.. they wont have any reason to fail you if you have all these.. and like i said, the travelling plan you better prepare yourself and make yourself know where u want to travel.. it would be alot easier even if u kena interview.. since you know well where you want to go.. important is u must know alot of place in UK, dont concentrate on europe even though u can include some.
yangsangfook
post Feb 1 2008, 11:51 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(keithcky @ Feb 1 2008, 09:58 PM)
Hi all,

I've got my Working Holiday Maker in 2003, went to london for a month then came back. However i'm 28 this year and planned to apply again and flying to UK with my gf. Do you think they will give this Visa twice to a same person who have applied before? Pls advice. Thanks in advance

Hi there slimmestleg, i'm really keen to join you. Btw what do you do at london now? Found yourself a job already?
QUOTE(crystal_kit85 @ Feb 1 2008, 11:28 PM)
No, you can't apply for the same visa twice as it has been stated at the website itself. If you are keen in getting into UK again, it would be to apply for a work permit which again proves to be difficult.
yea.. second that.. very clear it was stated no 2nd time.
yangsangfook
post Feb 2 2008, 08:23 PM

282 posts

yup, in london now. not sure about crystal location now, as b4 he said he flying to paris 1st..
yangsangfook
post Feb 3 2008, 08:25 PM

282 posts

crystal kit, you mean you havent work since u came here?
if u come to london let me know.. if i'm not working we can meet.
its my 6th week here.. now jobless again.. but also got interview next week.. hope i get one of it which is near my house.. can save alot..
i gonna put chinese restaurant as the last option as i heard its long hour and no life but just working... but can save alot since no tax and provided accomodation n meal.. means u have less experience living life here..

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0399sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:47 AM