~* Sugar Gliders *~ V3, Marsupials with character

TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 22 2007, 09:08 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Goodness... looks like everything has been said.

Anyway, last say from me. The diets that you quoted are used by zoos or big time breeders who must find a way to give a high protein diet without the need of a mix. So they get the protein from the dogfood or kittenfood.

It is possible to give dogfood or catfood but only 2 brands that are suitable, which is Orijen or Innova Evo, which I don't think you can get in Malacca since it is one of the high end expensive dogfood and catfood. but the kibble should never be given more than 2 pieces. Why? Gliders teeth are not like rats..... their teeth is built by nature to chew bark and eat sweet sap. And why I mention those 2 brands? Coz they are softer than normal dogfood but I can easily say, gliders do not like the smell of the Innova Evo or Orijen. So conclusion, no dogfood for them. Why we are all saying to get a decent mix is coz the mix is the best substitute to tree sap.

Commercial breeders in Malaysia have a very basic diet that can cause a lot of damage to the health of the gliders but it saves cost for them and saves time. Suppliers only feed their gliders dogfood, apples, sunflower seeds.... only some will go to the extent of boiling eggs for them and mealworms. This indeed will produce fat gliders but not healthy ones..... so that is why most commercial breeders will say dogfood and apples.

Another note. Grapes and apples and pears, all seeds should be taken out.

The 1st page is already a good basic guide. Following what can be given and what to avoid is good enough already.

About the mix.... it cannot last long without a fridge, it will go sour in half a day. So if you are thinking to make it daily, then it will be a slight waste for you but if you got no choice, then just do it.

I won't share my recipe but I will give you a guide of what can be used.

Nestle baby cereal, Only the Wheat and Honey can be used.
Heinz babyfood is better than Gerber babyfood
Oatbran and wheatgerm
Hardboiled egg

Joeys should not be given honey since some joeys are allergic and can get diarrhea after eating alot of honey.

As for the calcium powder, only Repti Cal can be used. I don't trust commercial breeders or suppliers coz what they use like the diet and nutrition is quite wrong so what they give can cause harm. You may not see the effects in a few years but the glider may not live up to 15 years.... maybe 6 years then up to heaven.

I will clean the thread a bit but will leave some of the informative postings. The lesson is researching fully first, if something is not right then only ask. Not every breeder knows what is good since commercial or supplier breeders do not follow through with glider nutrition from proper websites. Even me, the recipe for the glider mix did not fall from the sky. It took a lot of research till the correct mix is achieved.

Added on May 22, 2007, 9:17 pm
QUOTE(JonYeap @ May 22 2007, 07:47 PM)
i still have the innova cat food u gave to me. left around 1 container of tau fu fa. and the inova kitten one. well, not planning to feed them coz later get flamed. errr... i know canned food are a no no to them. according to a website, gerber baby food has high protein and also recommended. but i not sure now, guess its not in the 1st page, its a no no again rite.
Gerber babyfood... let me list down what it contains.... then you will only get the picture since Gerber babyfood in Malaysia is different from overseas since not all of Gerber products are Halal.

Gerber 2nd foods, Pear flavor as example:

Fat= 0g
Fiber= 2g
Sodium= 5mg
Sugar= 13g (more sugar than in 1 can of cocacola)
Potassium= 140g
Carb= 20g
Protein = 1g(is this high in protein?)
No Vitamin A
45% Vitamin C
0% calcium
0% Iron

The high protein is Gerber Chicken babyfood but it is non-Halal so Malaysia doesn't sell it. It is not pork, just that they chicken used is not slaughtered in the proper way, that is why it is not imported here.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: May 22 2007, 09:17 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 22 2007, 10:34 PM

12,047 posts

Ok lah... enough already.... let's get back to glider discussion....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 22 2007, 11:47 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(ebo249 @ May 22 2007, 11:39 PM)
Hey there

Woohoo.. my first post!

I've noticed the commotion caused in this particular forum for the past two days or so and I hope that whatever it is that I will be asking will not stir up the people in here again.

But anyway...here's the story. I have done some reading through some other sites and came across the knowledge that gliders in the wild lives in a colony which means they prefer the company but I was just wondering if anyone here actually has a single glider.

I read through V2 and I know that misa has a single glider 'baby boy' or something...but other than that...oh and KP too but now she has Luna...erm... anyone else?

Keep up the good work people....and don't be hating and burning each other.

Peace
Welcome here.

Well.... gliders are social creatures and they do need their own kind. I actually own a single glider but will be getting a partner for her soon. Already 1 year with her. It is possible to own a single glider but the commitment is huge. At first it's fun with a single glider.... but I keep thinking, if I need to go somewhere for study or work for a few months overseas then what will become of my glider? It will of course be terribly lonely.... so a pair of gliders is better. At least they got each other to keep company while I'm away so they won't be too depress.

But when you are about to get gliders as pets, get 1 first. Get 1 joey, bond with the joey and after 2 to 3 months, get another one and bond with the 2nd one.... this method will give good results as both gliders will bond with you first and get used to you.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: May 22 2007, 11:51 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 22 2007, 11:55 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(kubiz @ May 22 2007, 11:50 PM)
hi ebo249 yah.. most there are alot of us having single gliders... wild gliders live in colonys because they take care of each other that way and they are bonded together .. but home breeds are different.. they are attached to their owner and most of the time single glider owners devoted 80%- 100% of their time to their gliders.. rite?
Not correct ler.... most of us having single glider is coz we want the joey to bond first before getting another. Not everyone can commit 100% of their time to a single glider for 15 years.... so the best is a pair. Getting one glider at a time is a good way to bond but keeping a single glider forever is just gonna be a lot of work if you think of going vacation or overseas when you cannot bring a glider with you. It will be terribly upset.... it can show stress signs and even die from being lonely. The loneliness is from separation from the owner....

Gliders are naturally social.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 23 2007, 02:19 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(cheaka @ May 23 2007, 11:46 AM)
I have been away since Sunday..so my husband had been a great help in taking care of them...

Got back last night..noticed Gollum's tail was curled up...any one know the reason ah?......i tried to pull back..he curl it up back...

As for Eowyn...i noticed some marking at her pouch??..is she bleeding....is she having her PMS ah??

Kindly advice.  hmm.gif
Gollum curled his tail? Hahaha.... it could have been he was excited about something.... Kiah did it a few times when she gets over excited with something.... but not sure is it the same reason or not.

Markings? What type of markings?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 23 2007, 09:21 PM

12,047 posts

OK, I guess everything cooled down.... now don't let anything start again.... I'm just so tired of seeing such things go on and on.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 23 2007, 10:48 PM

12,047 posts

Not necessary male must pair with female. If your glider is young, you can introduce a male glider to it provided there are no female gliders around.

It is possible but only male joeys can be together. Say an adult male with a younger male, it may fight.... or a male that has been with a female then a new male in introduced, a fight can occur... there are only the rare cases where the males get along fine, like Cheaka and she has a female with them.

But it is not wise to share cages if the gliders do not belong to 1 person but 2 person. That is why we advice to separate.... and small cage can lead to fights. The best cage is a whole room but I don't think anyone would let their gliders roam freely in a room but me LOL. A pair needs alot of space to avoid territory disputes. But be aware, males are quite smelly.... they will scent mark everything. This is why it is Wise to get 2 females if you do not plan to breed. Females have very little smell and has no need to scent mark. If you do not plan to breed, then should get 2 females, safe bet.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 24 2007, 12:19 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ May 24 2007, 10:07 AM)

Last night something bad happend to Luna sad.gif You see, on top of the cage is my smelly shirt, so I always put the bonding pouch on top of the shirt, even with Iggy. It has always been fine with Iggy, however, I didn't quite know yet that Luna likes to put her little arm out and try to grab things... So right before I went to sleep, Luna was making a lot of noise by jumping here and there in the cage, when I approached, I noticed that she had actually got herself caught in the bonding pouch's string... Goodness, it was already twisted and tangled due to her jumping around. I quickly try to grab her to release the string, she crabbed and started biting my hand, had to bear with it while telling her that I was just trying to help. She finally calm down and I managed to free her. Then she sat quietly at the bottom of the cage. I slowly stroke her and massage the are where the string was caught, she relaxed a bit and looked pretty scared. A few minutes later she was up and jumping again. Pheww, I was scared she injured her leg. So people, don't go hanging or placing the bonding pouch within your suggies reach, you'll never know what they'll do...

KP
Wah, lucky you found her fast. Last time such a thing happen to Kiah but it was overnight and I did not notice. Her leg was so badly bound by the string in her old pouch that I thought her leg gone useless. It was purple in colour and when I release the string, it was swollen and she couldn't move the leg.... but luckily nothing bad happen in the end.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 24 2007, 01:27 PM

12,047 posts

Hahah... Chiwek got no eyes for other females liao.... he just want his wifey Oshine.

Anyway, here is a pic of Kiah hahaha.... really hard to get such a pic since she kept jumping away.

TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 24 2007, 04:54 PM

12,047 posts

HAhaha... yah, people say Kiah has a white chest... clean chest lah heheheh....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 24 2007, 05:14 PM

12,047 posts

HAha... once Glider likes to go into shirts and clothes, it will like to do it forever... like my Kiah. Anyway, now I have loads of free time from Kiah since she sleeps most of the day away... but early mornings and late night, I must be her play mate and also her tree LOL.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 24 2007, 05:25 PM

12,047 posts

I wonder, the gliders you guys have, are they afraid of plastic bag sound? Coz when I babysat InfiniteVoid's gliders, they go crazy and jump everywhere in the cage when I crumple up plastic.... but Kiah don't care. Kiah is like so immune to sounds.... dog bark, screeches, motor noise, blender noise..... if someone played drums next to her cage I think she will just go on sleeping LOL.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 24 2007, 09:21 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ May 24 2007, 09:08 PM)
my suggie goes crazy of plastc bag thingy coz they know food is coming their way  laugh.gif
Ah, used to food in plastic bags hahha.... Kiah likes box drinks.... don't care what drink, she will attack the empty box.... dangerous glider LOL.

Some pics of her hanging.

Great news, Kiah has accepted her cage. No more running around like a maniac in the cage anymore. She is calmer and sleeps in her tissue box but I only cage her during the day. At night she gets to roam anywhere she wants around my room heheheh.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 24 2007, 09:45 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ May 24 2007, 09:38 PM)
i wish i can let them out also but .. the baby ferret are coming .. so .. afraid the ferrets gonna kill them .. dangeroussss

Added on May 24, 2007, 9:39 pmeh hun .. how ur kiah drinks from the ice lemon tea box arr ?
Hahaha... she knows what to do with the straw.... tongue.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 24 2007, 11:40 PM

12,047 posts

TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 25 2007, 12:24 PM

12,047 posts

Wahahah.... glider spa coming up heheheh... not bad LOL... can be my part time job during holidays LOL.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 25 2007, 10:23 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(suiteng @ May 25 2007, 06:37 PM)
Video still with me haha.. have to filter those sounds la coz my colleagues are like cheering so loud tongue.gif
Mine too! Will go crazy and jumping around the cage with flying poo!
Definitely.. so damm smelly. How could I babysit him last time. Aduh.. he was so cute, but now.. he's so man liao..
Can my benben join?
Hahah... BenBen wanna join? Can also wan heheheh.

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ May 25 2007, 08:37 PM)
see hun ... everyone want u to open the suggies spa ... we support u in any way we can . about ur fridge, i didn't hv any time to ask the shop yet . u wait another day or two yaa . i will keep ya updated .
Ohh... nevermind, take your time lah. I will also look around for a normal fridge just in case. Heheheh....

Oh, good news to everyone. I just went to Cold Storage, they got a new brand of jar baby food which is Organic.... called Healthy Times. RM4.89 for 1 bottle but guess what is interesting........ they got 2 Chicken Flavours!!! Made with organic chicken... I bought 1, haven't try.... it's called Litter Bear's Chicken Stew... another one is something called Chicken Luau... A bit expensive but something different. Has about 3g of protein, so far the highest in jar babyfood.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 26 2007, 08:22 PM

12,047 posts

Hehhe.... suggie spa... later lah, you guys look at Garage sales hehehe....

A single glider won't make a lot of sounds... coz so far from Kiah it is only hissing, barking, a sound that sounds like crabbing and hissing together, and chirping during eating.... I believe chattering could be another communicative sound...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 28 2007, 11:13 PM

12,047 posts

Barking is a way of calling it's friend.... be it another human or glider.... it is their communication sound if they want to be heard from a distance. It sounds like a little puppy yapping... quite cute.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 30 2007, 03:01 PM

12,047 posts

The average price for a joey is about RM250 to Rm320.... but please do not ask about sales here since it is not allowed. You want to find, go to garage sales and look.

But please read up more on SG.... gliders really need a lot of time and attention. They require the same attention as a baby human....

21 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0481sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:24 PM