hahaaha .. ei . i hv one huge problem .. aiko and chika seem doesnt like me much since i got akira .. maybe about the smell ? what to do ? bath everytime i touch akira ?
~* Sugar Gliders *~ V3, Marsupials with character
Jun 28 2007, 09:09 PM
3,158 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Planet Earth |
hahaaha .. ei . i hv one huge problem .. aiko and chika seem doesnt like me much since i got akira .. maybe about the smell ? what to do ? bath everytime i touch akira ?
Jun 28 2007, 09:21 PM
12,047 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Setapak |
QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Jun 28 2007, 09:09 PM) hahaaha .. ei . i hv one huge problem .. aiko and chika seem doesnt like me much since i got akira .. maybe about the smell ? what to do ? bath everytime i touch akira ? I think they know it's a predator smell.... so you may need to bath everytime hahaha... or.... put a tshirt that has Akira's smell in their cage to let them get familiar loh. |
Jun 28 2007, 10:04 PM
hmm . akira mattres also can la right . as long it has akira smell .. haih . troublesome !
Jun 28 2007, 10:13 PM
As long anything got Akira's smell can lah heheheh. Akira.... reminds me of the movie Sumolah.... one of the character's name is Akira heheheh.
Jun 29 2007, 01:19 AM
4,538 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Singapore |
i'll post felix pics once i borrow cam from fren. he is doing fine and doesnt crab anymore... he has 3 owners before me. haha
Jun 29 2007, 11:11 AM
2,047 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Ampang, UK Side ;) |
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jun 28 2007, 08:25 PM) Luna still needs more time in adjusting.... does she take food from your hands? Yeah, I know she still needs time, she has only been with me for a month and a half... But it's kindda frustrating at times cuz Iggy bonded and behaved very fast.Kiah doesn't like Cherry tomatoes LOL.... Jarrah bite bite a bit only. Well, both are huge fans of my mix heheheh. Kiah was a naughty girl. She stole a piece of my Cream Cracker(big square Jacob brand) and hid it in my bookcase.... I thought I ate the cracker but then found her hiding and munching LOL. Yeah, she does take food from my hand, but then quickly run away. Previous owner said he always hand feed also last time. Anyhow, the biggest improvement would be that she doesn't crab anymore I'm still trying to train her to come to me cuz even if she's frightened, she won't come to me, but run elsewhere and try to hide even underneath a piece of paper This morning, did some training again with Luna and it really amazes me how Iggy will try to show her things too Haihh, ofcourse lah Kiah & Jarrah huge fan of your mix, if they aren't sure you smack their butt Wahh, Kiah so cheeky lah, can curi-curi your food QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Jun 28 2007, 09:09 PM) hahaaha .. ei . i hv one huge problem .. aiko and chika seem doesnt like me much since i got akira .. maybe about the smell ? what to do ? bath everytime i touch akira ? Hmm, I also think it's the smell lah... In the wild, ferret family, cat family are predators to suggies, that's why they don't like. Remember when you said you played with cats last time and Chika also don't like you? Same case lah I guess.It's either you mandi everytime you play with Akira or intro Akira's smell like Hun said, but I think that would take a while too. Hmm, Hun, since they are considered predators to suggies, will they ever be able to accept them?? Is Kiah okay with your cat? Ohh, Hun, what's the name of the powder you recommend that day? Gonna get some stuffs this weekend KP |
Jun 29 2007, 11:58 AM
i think i just might intro akira smell to them. since akira cage is in my room also . they will get used to akira smell sooner or later.
This post has been edited by coldfusionpower: Jun 30 2007, 06:23 PM |
Jun 30 2007, 06:24 PM
yesterday, chika had a fight with akira . hahaha .. akira was at the bottom of the cage, and chika jump down to akira. they started to sniff each other and aiko making weird crabbing or sumthing sound that is high pitch but short. even i take chika put at his pouch, he jump back and start making that sound again .. hahaha .. funny ..
Jun 30 2007, 07:04 PM
828 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Malaysia |
Shurie and Shadow gets along very well. But Shadow seems to take longer to bond to me than Shurie.
Yesterday I almost had a heart attack, Pixie (my rat) got out of the toilet and hide somewhere in my room. Suddenly, I heard Shurie's crabbing coming from the corner of my bed. I went and check and saw Shurie fighting with Pixie. Luckily Pixie ran and hide again once she saw me while Shurie immediately jumped onto me. Seriously, both of them gave me such a fright. I caught Pixie this morning when she came out of her hiding spot and place her back in her cage. Thank goodness there wasn't any injury on the both of them. |
Jun 30 2007, 08:02 PM
Jul 1 2007, 12:56 AM
2nd glider sometimes slightly more challenging to bond.... I can see that in Jarrah hahahh.... but all it takes is patience and being consistent with the bonding.
KP, The powder is called New Age puppy grooming powder.... RM18 at Pet Safari.... You can use any powder lah, as long it is safe for cats and dogs. My cat doesn't come into my room.... so Kiah has never been with my cat before.... my cat is normally in his cage outside or in our living room area lah. But sugar gliders can feel insecure if there are predators about.... Jarrah is insecure about everything LOL.... scared of Chelsea.... but Kiah, I think ferret also she don't mind since she not scared of my other pets too. Snow ah, luckily Shurie is alright..... becareful next time, rats are stronger than gliders... |
Jul 2 2007, 02:56 AM
Jul 2 2007, 10:34 AM
407 posts Joined: May 2005 |
My frodo was having diarrhoe problem on saturday. Got me worried like crazy as when I got home. The whole cage smell really bad then I realised frodo backside was very very dirty with his "thingy" sticking out. I quickly take him out and wipe it. Then realised his has had really bad diarrhoe.
So I try to monitor him till late night. Then next morning. I cannot tahan. Took a small bowl of warm water with a warm face towel. Dip him in the bowl..and wash it throughly. His "thingy" still sticking out. But the thing is, although he is having all this..he is still very active...... Thanks to hun's advice. I got some sweet potato and pumpkin. boiled it up and feed him with it. He seems okay today...... |
Jul 2 2007, 01:32 PM
Snow, I think 2nd glider that is introduced to another glider without fully bonding with the owner first will be slightly tougher to bond with the owner and takes more time...
This applies to even if the 2nd glider is not placed in the same cage with the other glider, but has been introduced or allowed to play together with the other glider. I think they are less attracted to human once they know there is presence of another glider around. That's my theory according to what has happened to me and happening to others right now Alamak Hun, I didn't have net to check your reply over the weekend, so went already to PS, and didn't get the powder cuz not sure. Mebbe I go again next week. Ohh, I was looking for the RM290 white cage I told you, wanted to take pix and all, but memang dah tak ada Didn't have time to enquiry to the sales person there cuz they were busy and I'm in a hurry Haihhh, still would love to get the RM450 black cage, but so damn expensive and damn huge Sighh, like pening thinking to upgrade their cage now. I have been thinking to DIY like CFP, but I don't really like the idea of it not being able to dismantle cuz I need to when I wash it thoroughly... (Washing thoroughly is when I take the whole cage into the shower, scrub with mild soap, shower it, then pour with hot water and bleach.) Hmm, CFP, been meaning to ask you long time already about your cage, 1) What tray do you use for the litter? 2) How do you clean your cage thoroughly? Ohh, about the ants also, I put some vinegar on the legs of the shelf to the cage like proposed before, but still got ants lah... The only thing now, is every week, I'll move the shelf and cage, wipe the whole area and wall, wipe the shelf, then spray with Sheltox underneath the shelf before putting the whole cage and all back KP |
Jul 2 2007, 03:47 PM
Jul 2 2007, 04:24 PM
Ya lor, I think sold lah, but I wanna ask if they can get stock for that one when I go PS again.
Hun, I did the vinegar thing, didn't work lah like I explained to CFP... Have to clean the area everyweek... Wahh, powder also you can make About the way Pets Wonderland keep their gliders, memang like that. Remember I posted about a similar one at Pets Wonderland One Utame? They keep 2 adult gliders in one small hamster like cage size with bedding in it and a small toy house where both the glider are huddled together to sleep. And this small cage pulak is placed in the big glass display with light like they put the reptiles one. They had 2 of this small cage with 2 gliders in each... It was heartbreaking, I wonder how lar the gliders wanna exercise or stretch themselves But what can we do? I had thot of giving away some sleeping pouches to Pets Wonderland, specially for the gliders, but I don't think it will do much good as they wouldn't want the gliders to hide in it sleeping... After all, they want people to be able to see them so they can sell them KP |
Jul 2 2007, 07:21 PM
QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Jul 2 2007, 02:32 PM) Hmm, CFP, been meaning to ask you long time already about your cage, 1) What tray do you use for the litter? 2) How do you clean your cage thoroughly? aluminium tray . right at the bottom of the cage . how ? i just clean the tray, leaves,vines,pouches, fleece stuff. vinegar doesnt work . those ants just kep coming ! . This post has been edited by coldfusionpower: Jul 3 2007, 01:28 AM |
Jul 2 2007, 09:30 PM
Wah... the ants you guys have must be super ants LOL.... Then I suggest a ring of baking powder lah.... sprinkle some baking powder around the cage and see....
Jul 3 2007, 01:30 AM
put baking powder ? hmm . i afraid later akira will sniff sniff and lick .. before this the tray is at the floor , there water inside, akira saw the water and take a dive !
so how arr ? |
Jul 3 2007, 12:26 PM
Ooo, tray like that...
Hmm... Still debating... I think I'm gonna enquire about the cage first, if cannot get, then I'll DIY You glue every connecter ke? If don't glue can tahan also right? Thinking-thinking Umm, if lick baking powder can get sick ar? If not then shud be okay right? Anyhow, mebbe try spraying underneath the cage with Sheltox once in a while, should be okay if not directed to the cage, spray the floor only. KP |
| Change to: | 0.0361sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:59 AM |