Syd G
post Apr 18 2007, 10:54 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Apr 18 2007, 10:41 AM)
then what's with the empty calories tic tacs, diet coke?
why are you eating that junk? It's a bad habit, drop it.
For the love of Diet, diet coke has neither sugar nor calories!

Added on April 18, 2007, 10:57 amfrench dont eat rice

This post has been edited by Syd G: Apr 18 2007, 10:57 AM
King83
post Apr 18 2007, 10:59 AM

I'm the guy your mother warned you about
5,237 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 18 2007, 10:54 AM)
For the love of Diet, diet coke has neither sugar nor calories!

you sure it's not some marketing strategy?
well if syd said so, then i guess it's true.
but even so, i ain't drinking that crap. Nothing goes into
my mouth if i don't need it. That's disiplin.
Syd G
post Apr 18 2007, 11:03 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

It's artificially sweetened with aspartame (Equal/PalSweet). So no significant cals, just bitter-sweet aftertaste.

In my book, oreos are crappier than diet coke tongue.gif
TSkirakracus
post Apr 18 2007, 11:07 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 18 2007, 11:03 AM)
It's artificially sweetened with aspartame (Equal/PalSweet). So no significant cals, just bitter-sweet aftertaste.

In my book, oreos are crappier than diet coke tongue.gif
Totally frustrated with the whole Diet Coke talk ... bah rclxub.gif

Exactly, SydG .. thanks. It's like a lesser of two evils. An alternative to sodas or even fruit juice at times.

It is an "empty calorie" item but it does not make me pig out after ... I don't get the whole empty calories concept really ... since they're saying if you take these things it'll make you hungry later? Dunno. So confused with what to eat or not eat at the moment.

This post has been edited by kirakracus: Apr 18 2007, 11:10 AM
Syd G
post Apr 18 2007, 11:16 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Okay maybe I should clear up the difference between empty calories and no calories.

No cals = Things that you consume that doesnt give you energy - water, diet soda, plastic, dust etc

Empty cals = Things with A LOT of energy and that's it - it doesnt make you full nor has significant nutritional values. Sugar, junk food, ice creams, pringles tongue.gif, sweetened drinks you get the dig

TSkirakracus
post Apr 18 2007, 11:19 AM

240 posts

Thanks SydG, that totally made sense.

You're just the super sensei of these forums for us girls smile.gif

King83
post Apr 18 2007, 11:25 AM

5,237 posts

pringles ain't empty calories....
it's made of real potatoes. flex.gif

edit: oooh... sudah tak mao flame saya?
ok, i pack my bags and leave tongue.gif

This post has been edited by King83: Apr 18 2007, 11:53 AM
elise_MOL
post Apr 18 2007, 12:07 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(kirakracus @ Apr 18 2007, 10:50 AM)
Thank you for the advice .. I will try that .. hence the goal of cutting back on Diet Coke and Tic Tacs. Though really I find it silly how you are focused on the bloody Tic Tacs. Having a mint to freshen my breath after breakfast @ 2 cals a pop, where I take 3 max = 6 cals .. is just nonsense.

With the diet .. I'm under the concept that it's just input vs. output. If I want to lose .. 1lbs per week, I need to cut 300 calories per day. If I want to lose more .. I burn it off with daily workouts. So the diet should be between 1,400 to 1,700 calories and with workouts it provides a safe weight loss of about 1 - 2 lbs per week.
I think its good that you have your foot firmly planted. While i do think its important to focus on eating healthy food, it is also important to have a diet which suits your lifestyle. The harder the diet is, the more likely u are to fall of it. As long a output is more than input, you should be able to lose weight, that is your main objective.

Just my 2 cents
TSkirakracus
post Apr 18 2007, 12:10 PM

240 posts

Updated the first post with measurements from last week - did not take them when I started.

Was thinking of posting my before pictures - much more flattering ones and I'm actually in a bikini and didn't look gross. Was actually 3 lbs heavier then .. which is ironic .. but think that pictures are just nonsense to be shown here.

Trying to look for a gym near my place .. but so far no dice. I have to wait until we move again - which isn't in the near future although the house is on the market.

King83 - that wasn't flaming you lar .. just discussing different opinions smile.gif Thank you for your input ...

Added on April 18, 2007, 12:19 pm
QUOTE(elise_MOL @ Apr 18 2007, 12:07 PM)
I think its good that you have your foot firmly planted. While i do think its important to focus on eating healthy food, it is also important to have a diet which suits your lifestyle. The harder the diet is, the more likely u are to fall of it. As long a output is more than input, you should be able to lose weight, that is your main objective.

Just my 2 cents
Thanks elise blush.gif I'm still learning though but just applying the old-fashioned concepts I've learnt.

This post has been edited by kirakracus: Apr 18 2007, 12:19 PM
simchi
post Apr 18 2007, 05:47 PM

Meanie.
820 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Apr 18 2007, 11:25 AM)
pringles ain't empty calories....
it's made of real potatoes.  flex.gif

edit: oooh... sudah tak mao flame saya?
ok, i pack my bags and leave tongue.gif
pringles ??? i feel cheated everytime i munch on it , addictive but tastes nothing like potato . sorry no flame lah , but DIET COKE ftw biggrin.gif
Syd G
post Apr 18 2007, 11:40 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Since we're on the topic of diet soda - I live on Pepsi Max. It tastes better than Diet Coke and Diet Pepsi and has zero cals n sugar too. Tastes sweeter due to another additional sweetener - Acesulfame Potassium that helps mimic the taste of sugar when coupled with Aspartame.

Downside - Bloody addictive. I could finish one 1.5l bottle in a day sleep.gif
King83
post Apr 19 2007, 09:07 AM

5,237 posts

tried pepsi max.... taste like crap.
if i wanna drink cola, might as well drink the real thing, WITH SUGAR drool.gif drool.gif
Syd G
post Apr 19 2007, 09:15 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Funny fact, I had A&W root beer float the other day. It tasted so sweet that I almost had a headache. My friend all looked at me one kind when I complained of the sweetness.

Apparently since I havent been drinking sugary drinks for so long, my tongue is so sensitive to sweetness that I cant tolerate non-diet soda drinks anymore. Which is a good thing, right? tongue.gif

I hope you choke on your Coke, Greg. They say "3 secs on your lips, 3 years on your hips" haha.
TSkirakracus
post Apr 19 2007, 09:41 AM

240 posts

Tried Pepsi Max once but it left a funny aftertaste. Pepsi Light vs. Coke Light .. sometimes i can't stand one of them and switch, sometimes i go off them completely. The aftertaste effect is strange.

I can't drink regular sodas too. A&W Rootbeer seems super sweet but think that rootbeer seems to be better in cals, or sugars .. in comparison to other sodas. Not sure if this is correct or not .. since it may be they're comparing it to "old style" rootbeer and not this one. I haven't had a Rootbeer float in ages .. wonder how many cals one of those will be!!!!

Oh yeah .. and Pringles are bad! Plus they're completely different from the ones few years back - the crisps have shrunk, and now it just seems they're peppered with the flavoring .. which is so icky.

This post has been edited by kirakracus: Apr 19 2007, 09:42 AM
Syd G
post Apr 19 2007, 09:50 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Waaaaa nobody loves Pepsi Max as much as I do? *cries at a corner*

1 scoop of vanilla ice cream has around 17g carbs, 8g fat. 1 serving of root bear has 29g of carbs.

So rootbeer float with 2 scoops of ice cream has a whopping 63g of carbs and 16g of fat which totalled up to almost 400kcals! Whoopee!
King83
post Apr 19 2007, 10:18 AM

5,237 posts

how do u count calories based on the grams above?
Syd G
post Apr 19 2007, 10:24 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

1 g of carbs = 4kcals
1 g of fat = 9 kcals

root beer - 29g of carbs
2 ice creams - 34 of carbs, 16g of fat

add them both, 63g c, 16g f.

63 x 4 = 252kcals, 16 x 9 = 144kcals

Total : 396kcals biggrin.gif

King83
post Apr 19 2007, 10:26 AM

5,237 posts

sheet weii...
i need to cycle 30 mins to burn off that 60g carbs i had for pre yesterday.
Syd G
post Apr 19 2007, 10:29 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Thats not good news given the fact that most people here dont do their cardio dues no? tongue.gif
TSkirakracus
post Apr 19 2007, 11:13 AM

240 posts

So just did the 7-minute workout (after mod = 8min?) - could only do it 1x and not continuously (supposed to do so until you surpass 30 minutes) .. but think it'll all add up .. in some manner at the end of the day. I'm not going to sacrifice my after-work workouts for this though .. so don't worry.

I modified it a little since I'd rather not be on the floor most of the time - have to modify the plank and side plank to something else ..

Bodyweight squat (20 reps)
Wall Pushups (20 reps)
Reverse Lunges (10 reps per leg) w/ kick/knee-up at end
Plank (30 second hold)
Close-grip Pushup (15-20 reps)
Reverse Lunges (10 reps per leg) w/ kick/knee-up at end
Mountain Climber (30 seconds or 20 reps) * can't do it in office clothes .. doh.gif
Side Plank (20 second hold per side) ** to mod, just to work obliques?
Plyo plie squats (10 reps)
Plyo std squats (10 reps)

@ 12:01 pm - done 2x (though not in succession)

This post has been edited by kirakracus: Apr 19 2007, 12:04 PM

16 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0218sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:03 AM